LENOVO Y480/580 feel the need for SPEED, lowest price at higher specs cpu

chopin
post Sep 6 2012, 08:55 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Sep 6 2012, 08:53 PM)
onekey recovery, create factory default recovery disc(4 DVDs)...
huh, factory default? means all my programs and settings will not be included?

also, i bought dos ver, installed my own win7 wor. so what factory default is there?
chopin
post Sep 7 2012, 07:50 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Sep 6 2012, 11:47 PM)
Follow this link / youtube...

No disc required....just a ssd / hdd / software

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BWM79HCzdDA&feature=related
this is great!!

tqvm thumbup.gif
chopin
post Sep 7 2012, 01:42 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Sep 7 2012, 12:37 PM)
thx bro...how much the hdd caddy...
very hard to find it locally, many buy from here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2363123

chopin
post Sep 8 2012, 07:15 PM

234 posts

wrong post...

Added on September 8, 2012, 7:16 pm
QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Sep 8 2012, 01:44 PM)
Now I'm using both 4GB CL11 DDR3-1600 RAM, dunno will upgrade or not coz now system very speedy due to SSD...
if you have got a pair of same specs, i dun think u should spend extra $ to change the ram to vengeance, the difference will be too small, unless you change to even higher MHz (that also I doubt the difference is worth the $ or not).

This post has been edited by chopin: Sep 8 2012, 07:16 PM
chopin
post Sep 8 2012, 08:47 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(alex_angelus @ Sep 8 2012, 08:33 PM)
So there wont be any problem with 4gb corsair vengence 1600 MHZ and the stock 4 gb ram 1600 MHZ? If there won't be any compatibility issues then i wont change.
my previous machine was having one stick 1333Mhz, one stick 1600 mhz, also working perfectly, only thing is they will operate at whatever lower grade between them - at 1333mhz. if one is CL9, one is CL11, they will run at CL11. so u dont really need to change - unless if you can sell one of the sticks at very little loss, then buy another stick that is same specs with the other one. dont waste too much $ on this, might as well save it for SSD - the difference will be SIGNIFICANT, very....
chopin
post Sep 8 2012, 09:42 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(alex_angelus @ Sep 8 2012, 09:22 PM)
Ooo. Thanks! If no problem i wont change! Already upgraded to 256 ocz vertex SSD.

Added on September 8, 2012, 9:25 pm

I cannot check yet. The laptop is with my brother, i am currently out of town. Will check the ram timing and chipset, when i get my hands on it! Thanks for the feedback!

Just worried if there will be a problem, if there is, i can try to nego with the seller now to top up for another corsair 4gb vengeance.
haha, i guarantee you no problem! as long as both sticks are ddr3, they will work, even at different frequencies, since your both rams are 1600mhz, don't waste $$$ la.
chopin
post Sep 8 2012, 11:35 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(alex_angelus @ Sep 8 2012, 10:34 PM)
I wanted 8 gb ram but my laptop onli had 4gb. The seller offered upgrade of adding a 4gb ram for RM 89 and coincidently it was corsair vengeance.
it's a good deal. u go and check out vengeance prices and you will know.
chopin
post Sep 8 2012, 11:44 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Sep 8 2012, 11:38 PM)
The Vengeance price is like moneyflies.gif if compare with normal RAM price....lol
haha, yeah we don't really need vengeance, basically any of those good brands will do.
chopin
post Sep 10 2012, 11:19 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(meninblk @ Sep 10 2012, 10:07 AM)
This is the backpack I use.
It is a Targus MOTOR Laptop Backpack.
Holds up to a 16" notebook.
It has lots of room and cushions and it was $19.99 through the Cheapskate @ cnet.com.
http://www.targus.com/US/productdetail.asp...=7&sku=TSB194US
$19.99? sure?
chopin
post Sep 10 2012, 05:59 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(jammerlee711 @ Sep 10 2012, 05:15 PM)
i use LUDASHI quite nice =)

[attachmentid=3042981]
tongue.gif  rclxms.gif
me too using LuDaShi, my screen is 2011...
chopin
post Sep 10 2012, 10:00 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(jammerlee711 @ Sep 10 2012, 09:04 PM)
FACEPALM doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

Added on September 10, 2012, 9:04 pmyours is LG too? FHD?
mine is LG, but HD only.
chopin
post Sep 20 2012, 01:01 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Sep 19 2012, 07:40 PM)
why don't u install mSATA SSD instead?
1. you no need to remove anything
2. u have 2 harddrive
i think they move the hdd to odd using caddy is to solve the heat problem...

Added on September 20, 2012, 1:06 pm
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Sep 20 2012, 12:57 AM)
get dirty very fast, especially to oil stains, power socket hole on the right side.. speaker no subwoofer...
to avoid it getting dirty, i bought a piece of laptop protector (rm5? 10? forgot) and stick it on the top cover - solved. abt subwoofer - so far i know only Asus N56 got, which else laptop give you subwoofer wan? also, even if you have one, will you actually lug it around everywhere u go? actually, the speakers of Y480/580 are one of the best already on laptop, other than Asus N56.

This post has been edited by chopin: Sep 20 2012, 01:06 PM
chopin
post Sep 21 2012, 08:41 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(mengfart @ Sep 21 2012, 06:42 PM)
Hi guys..
can you please tell me whats the difference between these two ?

Y480(5934-7549), i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M (GDDR5) @RM2599 [JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, freeDOS, 2 yrs warranty, P950 headset
Y480(5934-1372), i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2699[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, W7HB, 2 years international warranty

3430QM ? 3610QM ? GT650M ? GT650 ? freeDOS ? W7HB ??

I have no idea what's the difference.
ok,

3430QM is the newer i7 processor that's a bit faster than 3610QM - but not really much.
GT650M - it is the Nvidia graphics card used - very good for gaming even though not the best. not sure abt GT650 - u sure u wrote it correctly?
freeDOS - the unit will come without any OS - u have to buy and install windows yourself.
W7HB - Windows 7 Home Basic Edition.

i'd say, both units are pretty ok (and I own the 1st one, just without the p950 free gift).
chopin
post Sep 23 2012, 06:47 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(mengfart @ Sep 21 2012, 11:37 PM)
Uhm im not that sure where did i write wrong or not because i copied it from here

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2026498

and btw , in comparison which is better for gaming wise ? i mean which graphic card is better ?

for these two, the graphics card is the same, both are good for gaming. at the same price, get the newer one. but the current one is not bad at all. up to you.
chopin
post Sep 27 2012, 08:00 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Sep 26 2012, 09:08 PM)
Second batch will be open after settle all first batch thing, BTW also got accept some item like laptop skin, screen protector, keyboard, mouse, HDD Caddy bay bulk..... tongue.gif
any idea if got any product that can made our glossy screen become matte?
chopin
post Sep 27 2012, 10:22 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Sep 27 2012, 08:53 AM)
U need this!
It's call 酷奇防眩防反光屏幕膜(Anti-glare screen protector), it cost RM30 if u wanna buy
this looks good, have you tried it before? i have a 24" (1920x1200) mon that is very nice but the screen is glossy, wonder if can use this sort of product to make it non-reflective too, do they sell such a big size?
chopin
post Sep 27 2012, 01:20 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(Stephenkhoo @ Sep 27 2012, 12:08 AM)
guys, i mostly will buy Y850 in this coming weekend in low yat,  have any shop to suggest me to go?  As the dealer price RM2,999,  i can get how less than this ?  anything i should notice it while negotiate and checking on my notebook after the deal is done?

any recently new Y580 owner here?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2496915&hl=

you can try the above seller who provides free delivery. his price is also very competitive - RM2848. there are other sellers around in http://forum.lowyat.net/Notebooks&Tablets. you should do some homework to get the best deal.
chopin
post Sep 27 2012, 03:46 PM

234 posts

Hello every y480/y580 owner:

Who has upgraded the warranty to 3 years?

I'd like to know how much $ you guys paid, and whether you do it through the seller/shop or through Lenovo Malaysia directly? Let me know too whether it's on-site or not.

TQVM
chopin
post Sep 27 2012, 03:52 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Sep 27 2012, 03:48 PM)
BTW the 22" screen protector I found got one, but price is RM60, dunno u want or not..... sweat.gif
my mon is 24" 16:10 wor... => 1920x1200

This post has been edited by chopin: Sep 27 2012, 03:54 PM
chopin
post Sep 27 2012, 04:17 PM

234 posts

i have just got the hdd caddy from skycrawler, and moved the hdd to the dvd slot - wow!!! hdd temp drops from 45++ to 32-35 (in air-con)...

highly recommended to all owners! this investment (<rm50) alone will extend the laptop's life by 1-2 years i estimate rclxms.gif

Added on September 27, 2012, 4:19 pm
QUOTE(kwcheah @ Sep 27 2012, 04:10 PM)
I have upgraded to 3 years warranty. The package was 3/3/3 on site-warranty. Price forgot liow... I did it on the spot at the same time I bought my Y580.  rclxms.gif
bro, pls check it up for me...

This post has been edited by chopin: Sep 27 2012, 04:19 PM

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0310sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:31 AM