4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V34, Official ICS for Non-G and G! First Post

mtxx
post Jun 12 2012, 11:25 AM

5,011 posts

romtool box is working during GB only wor.

last time when in GB i use font changer, and the description in the app say not working for ICS since its different.

anyway, dreadsoul110,
you tried in GB or ICS?

oh and what is the font used in fox hound rom? looks very clean and tidy.
mtxx
post Jun 12 2012, 11:28 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jun 12 2012, 11:26 AM)
Samsung base roms just install the flipfonts you want. AOSP/AOKP like others said use rom toolbox.
thanks antoo, i am on samsung rom.
i just did a google search on flipfonts, got lots of results, later tonight i slowly see what nice fonts to install.

thanks alot rclxms.gif
mtxx
post Jun 12 2012, 11:35 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jun 12 2012, 11:31 AM)
I got a collection of flipfonts i download somewhere from XDA forgot where already. But now no use cos on CM9.  tongue.gif
ya, in XDA got,
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=894397

its in galaxy S1 thread.
not really a nice place to preview the fonts, but at least got QR code, can directly download to phone.

mtxx
post Jun 12 2012, 05:28 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jun 12 2012, 02:47 PM)
Hmm,u got ur point there.If that's the case I will let her use it for a month and see how.The reason I wanna flash it right out of the box is because the official ICS sucks big time for my Note.It drains battery like vampire XD Not sure about S2 though biggrin.gif
there are many versions of official ICS.

the first that came out was LPQ, super suck and buggy.
then LP7, LP whatever.

the last i tried was LPF.
now i'm on LPG, i think this is the latest?

LPG is very good, no hang, very very few force close,
speaking of which, already using for 1 week d i think, just nova launcher force close once.
so LPG is not bad.

custom roms sometimes tend to have some weird shit happening. if you are not a person that likes to google how to solve weird bugs, then better stick to official rom.

for my gf s2, she still in gingerbread checkrom. girls are simple, she is super with her pinkish go launcher theme and such. no point flash to ics and if anything screw up i get the blame.

sometimes, the less they know, the better.
i explore custom roms because its kindda like my hobby.
most people dont really care, they just want a phone that works, for these type of people, best not to mess around their phone.

Added on June 12, 2012, 5:30 pm
QUOTE(barca96 @ Jun 12 2012, 05:17 PM)
Is it better to buy battery charging bank or charger case?

I dont really like charging bank because I wont be able to talk on the phone while charging.

How about for charging case? Will we be able to talk or type?

Because when I am charging the phone, I sometimes get a shock when touching the phone.

There are 2 deals at the moment on Groupon;

http://www.groupon.my/deals/national-deal/...-less/716121525

http://www.groupon.my/deals/national-deal/...ncept/716126862

Or if we buy a extra battery, can we charge the battery while the other one is in the phone or can we only charge it while the battery is in the phone?
not all charging banks are bulky.
try google about MiLi Power Star,
its an amazing small 2000mAh device.
no external wires needed, all built in.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Jun 12 2012, 05:30 PM
mtxx
post Jun 13 2012, 09:07 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(noien @ Jun 13 2012, 08:30 AM)
S2 SME only RM 1288 now
should I buy it now or wait a while. I need to buy 4 set @@
you wait awhile somore then no more stock lo
mtxx
post Jun 13 2012, 10:52 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Chan320 @ Jun 13 2012, 10:42 PM)
Can anyone help me?
Use Odin flash again.
Maybe just unlucky got a bad flash.
mtxx
post Jun 14 2012, 04:26 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Jun 14 2012, 01:30 PM)
S2 is great but thinking of jump ship to S3. The direct call features is marvelous. Siyah also jumped to S3, so the last workable kernel is SiyahKernel SGS2 v3.3.2?
actually the direct call is not good at all for your health.
usually when i make a phone call, i dont put it near my ear,
wait for it connect only put to ear.

the initial moment you make a call the signal is the strongest and most hazardous.
that is the time you don't want it to be near your brain.

go to Settings>call>call alert, and tick answer vibration.
this way, after dailing, you dont have to look at the screen also.
when the person pickup, your phone will vibrate, just put it to your ear then.

by the way, if you're using hancent sms, just tap the person face, or the call icon at the top to call that person.
not that hard.

mtxx
post Jun 15 2012, 02:30 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(vaio pavilion @ Jun 15 2012, 01:52 PM)
sad... no more screen capture after updated...

Added on June 15, 2012, 1:54 pmby the way, any good recommendation to root the latest non-G version ?
its the same key, home + power, hold it longer.
alternatively press volume down + power also can
mtxx
post Jun 15 2012, 02:45 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(gheyfriend @ Jun 15 2012, 02:35 PM)
can help to disable the camera shutle sound? after update the sound so loud..
tq
http://www.whatsthelatest.net/how-to/disab...und-android-40/

above will just delete shutter sound. focus beep still got.

http://s2tip.blogspot.com/2012/03/howto-re...-sounds-in.html
this one totally remove all camera sound. but it seems to work when i use LPF.

after i upgrade to LPG, doesn work anymore, it even delete my camera app.
have to cwm restore to get it back

This post has been edited by mtxx: Jun 15 2012, 03:19 PM
mtxx
post Jun 15 2012, 03:13 PM

5,011 posts

Guys, this is IMPORTANT.

just read this from gsmarena
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_responds_t...m-news-4394.php

This problem would surface if the user tried to flash a custom ROM or kernel that used MMC_CAP_ERASE. Thankfully, developer Chainfire came up with an app that would let you know if your device was shipped with a faulty eMMC.

to check whether yours got problem or not, try chainfire app.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1693704
install and run his app to check your emmc got problem or not.

mine is proven to be dangerous. so scary.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Jun 15 2012, 03:25 PM
mtxx
post Jun 15 2012, 09:15 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 15 2012, 07:49 PM)
Bear in mind the slightly less mod-friendliness of the non-G. Exynos is virtually issue free modding wise.

Plus you can always buy spare batteries, even extended ones. Can you switch the processors? Though the less heat thing IS true, the non-G can even dual function as a pants/thigh heater.
are you rooted? if so, underclock your phone to 1GHz, use romtoolbox or set CPU
its really much less warmer. better batterylife also.

for non g, i dont really feel any difference in speed, still very fast and smooth.
but the difference is heat dissipation is very very obvious.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Jun 15 2012, 09:17 PM
mtxx
post Jun 16 2012, 08:56 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(meazurali89 @ Jun 16 2012, 08:09 AM)
i underclocked to 1100 last night...still no hang when play blood and glory,maybe try to underclock to 1000 and try asphalt brows.gif .is it normal that my s2 feel so much lighter when i uc it?when normal.it feel heavy,i can feel it in my hand but after uc i just can feel it..haha sweat.gif
I use at 1000 all the time. No problem for asphalt. Very smooth.

mtxx
post Jun 17 2012, 11:27 AM

5,011 posts

share a weird experience with romtoolbox.

someone mentioned underclock to 800MHz also can run HD games smoothly, also underclock to that freq can have screen on time 5+ hours. sounds good, so i try lo.

ended with romtoolbox hang and auto restart the moment i set it to 800. after restart, romtoolbox will be loaded as startup program and it instantly hang and auto restart again.

so i'm kindda stuck in a loop of restarting.
almost resorted to cwm restore of my most recent backup.

but then i realize its kindda overkill move just to get rid of one rogue app. i suddenly have an idea, and i'm so glad it worked.

during restart, before romtoolbox is loaded, i have a couple of seconds before the phone restarts again.
1. launch romtoolbox and instantly press homebutton to go back homescreen.
2. long press homebutton to bring up ics task manager
3. long press romtoolbox icon at task manager, 2 option appear, quickly press app info
4. quickly press uninstall app.

i wasnt fast enough, and only the 3rd time manage to uninstall it in time before the phone restart again.

fortunately after it was uninstalled, the phone able to function normally. then use titanium backup restore back romtoolbox with my original settings.

i'm using NEAT rom LPG, jkay framework, vertumus theme.
if you're using same configuration as me, dont attempt to use romtoolbox set to 800. almost cause me heart attack yesterday
mtxx
post Jun 17 2012, 12:51 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(nehalem176 @ Jun 17 2012, 12:23 PM)
what kernel did u used, mate? mine extremely uv and of coz uc 800 and not all of our samsung is the same. previously i mention the uc and uv performance may be vary. UC to 800 then tuned -25mv until you got better perfomance. of coz need to restart many times to try and error. personally i dont use rom toolbox. like you mention, it's just mess up the startup to load the setting. better uc and uv with app that comes with the kernel like siyah=extweaks pro, fluxi= xxtweaker, neak= neak configurator pro, thoravukk=nah i dun remember but do have it's own app. your rom is samsung based so im guess not same as our league for aosp and cyano. cheers!
i thought overclocking will cause issue and underclocking is harmless.
guess i was wrong tongue.gif

its true better to use app that comes with the kernal.
but mine is CF root kernal. dont think got dedicated app for it.

anyway i just wanted to test for curiosity.
dun dare do again already. haha...
mtxx
post Jun 18 2012, 09:49 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(shlimsk @ Jun 18 2012, 08:55 AM)
Disappointed with ICS sad.gif

issues:
1) battery seems dry out faster
2) sometime cant type sms
3) signal is weak
4) the response is slow
5) RAM is lesser than GB
6) overall nothing special & improve phone performance
7) still cant connect to KIES!!
LOL....

last time alot people always spam here:

when ics ready?
ICS arrive already?
ICS available?
etc...

now its finally available, complain not good.

actually original stock firmware not that good also.
i dont really like it.

try custom ICS roms la,
or custom GB roms.

you always have a choice.
happy exploring your phone:-)

This post has been edited by mtxx: Jun 18 2012, 09:51 AM
mtxx
post Jun 18 2012, 10:27 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Jun 18 2012, 09:56 AM)
Right bro, can you kindly recommend any stable custom roms.. non G.
non G? fortunately for you there are many choices.

if you like galaxy nexus pure ICS feel,
try CM9 or paranoid rom.
paranoid rom has tablet mode which is kindda cool, but i find it confusing,
anyway you have the option to turn it off.

if you need features like wifi direct, FM radio,
stick to samsung roms, got custom ICS roms like wanamlite

or you can flash NEAT rom, its the same as official samsung rom,
just been deodex so can install themes.

and try out jkay framework, this mod adds alot new features and functionality to your phone.
~features like long press volume button skip track
~double tap screen to unlock
~long press back to close app
~customizable lock screen
~customizable status bar
~and alot more.

one more option is try MIUI.
the UI is really different. see whether you used to it or not.

mtxx
post Jun 18 2012, 11:33 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 18 2012, 11:18 AM)
Seconding the Wanamlite recommendation. On V12 here + Siyah (not the latest "castrated" one). Stable as a rock and smooth like water while being relatively easy on the battery.

No regrets moving up ICS at all. I'm partial to the smartdial so AOSP/AOKP/MIUI is not really an option fer me, and Wanam has been a great choice so far where Samsung Framework ICS ROMs are concerned.
hi wanamlite user.
i have some questions for you.

i'm currently using NEAT rom, so its consider deodex stock rom.
so should be more or less same with wanamlite.

reason i dint choose wanamlite is worry got issues with JKAY mod.
you got use JKAY mod in wanam? got problem?

what advantage or extra feature that wanam have over stock samsung ics?
the changelog in xda seems never updated.

hope to hear feedback from you.
mtxx
post Jun 18 2012, 11:48 PM

5,011 posts

Proudly presents zero shutter lag for s2. Well, sort of :-)

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...burstcameralite
mtxx
post Jun 19 2012, 08:07 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Jun 18 2012, 10:37 PM)
sabar~ you've ad waited like what? 8 months?  laugh.gif
no way to do it, its one of dropbox's flaws, even google drive cant do it too
google drive can do it.
use webbrowser access the desktop site. tick the folder you want, tap the option button top of the screen, download, it will be in a zip file. can download multiple files also.
mtxx
post Jun 19 2012, 10:03 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 19 2012, 09:57 AM)
NEAK kernel is sh*t piece of kernel if you asked me.Just to reduce the size of the kernel the dev removed too much of kernel parts.Plus I always had some performance issue with the kernel.

I'm not a frequent rom hopper also.I'm using some funky VK-Rom.Using it because when I visit the xda site months ago that ROM page was 1st on the thread page.Updated maybe 2-3 version.Did modding to make the ROM to suit my need.I hate the need to personalize the everything back everytime I flash the phone.

BTW Eiraku,I'm buying a N900 back.The force of linux is too strong with me.Android just not going to cut it for me.
I remove everything except Samsung Apps.I'm cheapskate who love free apps.
Some of the Hubs never work properly in Malaysia.Kies browser view DAMN SUCK (yes,you guys can screenshot this & email to Samsung.I'm more than willing to explain my comment to Samsung.AirDroid is way better.

So yeah,I second Eiraku's comment.You guys can remove the Samsung Applications.
It'll be.Mr Checkrom was waiting for JKay to release v14 of his mod so he can start to work on his ICS ROM.He already mention that it'll be based on Samsung ROM & not AOSP/AOKP.

BTW I'll like to suggest someone to open another SGS II thread just specifically to discuss ROM flashing.It's hard to discuss/find anything like self modding/hacking etc2 here with all the ROM discussion.
God,I miss my Nokia N900 days...
N900? wasn't that extinct already?
that OS is more less used compare to symbian.
if not mistaken thats a resistive touch screen right?

oh the nightmare of resistive touch screen....
once you try capacitive touch screen, its not possible to go back,
>80% of the touch wont register anymore. need to poke really hard hard only it detect.

oh ya,
Jkay already release v14 quite some time.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Jun 19 2012, 10:07 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0443sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:03 AM