CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center

Jckc
post Feb 8 2017, 03:37 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 7 2017, 09:20 AM)
Queen's is one of them. But Glasgow fee is the same for all 5 years. At 42k pounds per year now is a bit crazy with our depreciating Ringgit.
some unis do preclinical clinical divide like queens as you said and mine.
yeah, one of my friend is studying in glasgow atm and its insane expensive.
Jckc
post Feb 9 2017, 03:58 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(confirm @ Feb 8 2017, 10:21 AM)
What are the current competitive UKCAT and A level scores to secure offers from UK schools ?  Is SPM/ O level result and medical related experiences critical ?
each medical school has their own criteria to how they accept applicants, which can be found on each of their website.
As above, thestudentroom is a good place to ask current students, other applicants to see how strong your application is/how likely it is to get in.

A levels is just a formality, in a sense 3A's is the min req (some require A*, A in chemistry and etc). it does not have any impact on how strong your application is.

SPM/O levels results has no value whatsoever, except the English 1119 component which might exempt you from IELTS.
Voluntary work + medical experience is critical but its not only about the amount you did and wrote in your personal statement, but what did you get out of it overall and reflected over it.
Jckc
post Feb 9 2017, 04:01 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(confirm @ Feb 8 2017, 03:26 PM)
From reading The Student Room ,UK locals usually disclosed hospital attachment  and volunteering activities in their application. For Malaysians ,these are not so easy to obtain...are they important ?
yes, relatively harder in a sense, its the norm for them to go for volunteering and medical shadowing experiences.
However, this should not deter you from seeking out opportunities if youre passionate in it.
Jckc
post Mar 19 2017, 08:21 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Mar 19 2017, 02:36 AM)
It won't be an issue if he plan to go to Singapore or do HO in UK before being an MO in rural Aussie/NZ.
not recognised in sg i believe

HO in uk quite impossible due to visa issue.

so... chances are very slim honestly
Jckc
post Apr 17 2017, 07:26 PM

330 posts

I highly doubt SMC will recognise monash imo.
But again anything can happen haha.
I wonder when will sg stop recruiting aka close its doors hmm..
Jckc
post Apr 18 2017, 02:12 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 18 2017, 12:17 AM)
the ntu/imperial med school only graduate their first batch in 2019...and then in small numbers....spore obviously has no intention of training enough doctors themselves....so they will continue to take in img...and they know they have a steady supply, all ready and paid for by others (gov, parents), queuing up to "volunteer"....

tpleong's question being representative of so many....eyeing and wanting to go work in spore...lol

but as ntu ramp up the numbers, the need for img will ease....and they may even be more selective....eg may drop um/ukm, as they appear to have problems with these graduates....
There are alot of bursaries and scholarships as well for singaporeans doing medicine overseas so alot of opportunities for their locals to come back and fill the spaces.

As what you mentioned, care to elaborate what problems they are hmm.gif
I thought UM and UKM produce good quality students.
Jckc
post Apr 19 2017, 02:21 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Apr 18 2017, 07:37 PM)
Beginning 2013/14 academic year,NTU/Imperial took in about 50 ish students, so first batch would graduate by  mid 2018, albeit small numbers.
SMC used to recruit about 600-700 fresh MBBS graduates per year, including 300-350 or so of NUS and Duke-NUS combined.
Overseas trained non-citizens was about 300ish.
Where do you get the stats for this smile.gif
Jckc
post Apr 21 2017, 02:43 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Apr 20 2017, 11:45 PM)
While we have a surplus of doctors (untrained), the UK has the opposite problem. I've just watched "Confessions of a Junior Doctor".

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/tv/2017/04/19/c...yone-cares-nhs/
haha DGHs like northampton are facing tons of pressure due to fewer junior docs and rota gaps.
Personally I havent been there yet but the other DGHs around east midlands (and whole of uk potentially) face similar issues such as one HO and one reg does the on call for the whole hospital and etc

This post has been edited by Jckc: Apr 21 2017, 02:43 AM
Jckc
post Apr 21 2017, 11:03 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Apr 21 2017, 01:25 PM)
What's the difference, if any, between DGH and university hospitals?
Personally, there are pros and cons to each, thats why deaneries in foundation years do 1 year in DGHs and 1 year in main uni hospitals to give you different range of exposures.

DGH-wise, you play a bigger role and you have more responsibilities with patients overall. In general, You can be the only junior doc in charge of 4-5 bays of patients. You are also responsible in making more management plans which you can discuss with your reg/cons. You also could even lead the ward round some days when there are no seniors around (especially like ortho)! In a nutshell, you get alot of experience doing things and also familiarise yourself with the ward work in a smaller scale with less workload in comparison to main hosps.
You also have more chance to pursue your interest since you have more time. (so like assisting in surgery and etc)
the main cons is that you often feel the lack of support and find it hard to cope with the workload if youre the only one available. (especially when youre on call at night or on weekends! its can be quite dreadful)

Main hospital wise, youre very well supported and there are plenty of helpful hands around (if youre nice). and plenty of exposure to tertiary, more specialised conditions and management, like neuro surgery or major trauma surgery for example. You also have more opportunities to develop a professional network with doctors to do research projects and be the front of upcoming technology or breakthrough research.
Cons wise can be hectic workload since you handle more patients and cases. the pressure of beds really hits as well and the turnover can be really fast and drastic. (DGHs too but not as bad imo). ALOT of your work early on is admin work and doing TTOs/discharge summaries with tons of other jobs. So you could turn into a machine after awhile.

(this is just my opinion as a med student observing and listening to junior docs)

This post has been edited by Jckc: Apr 21 2017, 11:04 PM
Jckc
post Apr 23 2017, 05:54 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 22 2017, 11:08 PM)
i would suggest that all medical students survive and complete the housemanship first, before talking about anything further into the future...current statics shows 30% cannot complete housemanship on time (ie retained in one of more postings)....and 5-10% actually failed to complete...ie dropped out....
30% is alot..
i wonder what is the main reason for this.
I have not heard of doctors in the UK being retained or delayed in their foundation years unless personal issues.
Jckc
post Apr 23 2017, 04:21 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Apr 23 2017, 09:44 AM)
Just to share my experience during my last on call:
All the bloods results are delayed for at least 2 hours.
It wasn't because the delay in sending to the lab, or the lab delayed the process. The house officer on call delayed them.
The blood which was supposed to be taken at 10.45pm, was only received by the lab at 1am. Then another blood was ordered to be taken at 3am.
At 5am, I called the lab asking whether they have received the sample.
No, the sample was not received. I went back to the ward to check if the blood sample was lying on the counter.
To my surprise, The house officer was just about to take. She gave a lot of excuses there were many blood taking (there was only 5 patients whose blood need to be taken that night) and cannula settings.
The blood I was chasing was a coagulation profile.
Both patients had Lung Ca with SVCO, had stenting (Day 0 and Day 1). One recently had an UGIB due to anticoagulation. They were just started/restarted heparin infusion that day.
Thanks for the insight.
Is there enough HO to cover wards or on call or isit really oversaturated as what has been mentioned.
(Or isit just due to limited post available )
I would have expect a lighter workload and hence, more time due to the number of HOs.
Jckc
post Apr 23 2017, 04:23 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 23 2017, 10:09 AM)
A significant portion of msian medical graduates lack the intellectual ability, the interest, the mental attitude, the mental fortitude etc to be doctors...Many are there for 3 simple reasons...Their parents want them to, they have the money, and it is easy to enter medical school....

Because this will be the natural course of events, if left to the free market, most countries regulate tightly at the most important step in the pathway: at entry into medical school....

Msian decided not to....For political reasons...

Hence you have the current situation.... Unfortunately, people have spend a lot of money already when they realise/decide they can't/don't want to do it....

But that's the whole point.... Someone made a lot of money....
It's kinda sad when people spent 5 years and ended up even more miserable but that's the reality now in Msia.
Hopefully things will improve soon. (Or else I won't be returning anytime soon :/)
Jckc
post Apr 25 2017, 12:12 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 24 2017, 12:27 AM)
it is worrying when 4th year medical students have very poor knowledge about the profession they will soon be a part of....

hunther has refused to answer what he means by "masters overseas", but from the context of the question, he probably means postgraduate training overseas, and assumed it's also "masters" like msia....and from the question, he is likely from an ipta...

fact 1: doing a "masters" somewhere overseas is NOT a specialist qualification....

fact 2: the majority of msian medical degrees are not recognised out of malaysia....

fact 3: medical postgraduate training is NOT attending a course like undergraduate medicine, but a full time work and part time study commitment....key word is WORK...

fact 4: if you are not registrable, you CANNOT work as a doctor....and if you cannot work, you cannot undergo postgraduate/specialist training....

a good read at pagalavan.com will be useful, maybe buy his books...will clear up all the misconceptions....
yeah.. thats why undergraduate degree recognition is really important..
saves you alot of hassle..
Jckc
post Apr 25 2017, 12:15 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Apr 24 2017, 06:56 AM)
No. just study hard, bring your brain and heart....
to be honest, alot of it also comes down to experience and how much hands on you've done or been exposed to during your med school days.
You can study as much and be as passionate as you can but in the end, experiences and being safe play a bigger role here imo.
Jckc
post Apr 26 2017, 02:18 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Apr 25 2017, 09:19 PM)
Oh... now I understood.
It depends on what you mean by "hands-on". If your "hands-on" means history taking, examining patients, getting physical signs, figuring out basic investigations and drafting treatment plans (perhaps a little difficult), yes, I agreed with that completely.
But if your "hands-on" means procedures, I think should leave that till housemanship training.

Study hard, gives you knowledge.
The eyes can't see what the brain doesn't know.
Without knowledge, even there is an gross sign staring in front of you, you may also miss it.

Bring your brain, asks you think.
Without thinking, that's just something like monkey see, monkey do.
You saw something, you followed, but you didn't think. Eventually, you didn't really learn anything.

Bring your heart, ask you to have passion in this medical career, be both physical and mentally present.
Get your own initiative to see more patients, not to avoid difficult cases, that's how you learn.
The same applies to during housemanship, after becoming MOs or even speciality training. (sounds like cari pasal masa kerja)
Interesting points you mentioned there.
i definitely agree that plans are hard to make esp when youre worried of making a mistake.
But drafting a management plan should be part and parcel of medical school, at which it is the best time to practise what you have learnt into clinical practice. (since you will be supervised), especially in admission units where you will see and clerk the patients for the first time and the nurses will be chasing after you regarding management plans. The seniors will be busy seeing other patients as well so they have a level of expectations on you. sweat.gif

depends what you mean by hands on procedures as well, venepuncture, cannulation, catheter, iv lines, abgs are all necessary procedures to know and practise before you start imo. The faster you get better at them, the less time you spend doing them and your work doesnt pile up. (im struggling getting cannulas into frail old ladies in geris with thin veins which collapses easily and multiple needle puncture sites from daily bloods. rclxub.gif defo need more practice)

This post has been edited by Jckc: Apr 26 2017, 02:20 AM
Jckc
post Apr 26 2017, 11:34 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 26 2017, 09:32 PM)
procedures are not important....in any case, other than venesection, there isn't any other procedure students will be allowed to do....most places will not allow catheterisation even...

a lack of apprenticeship denotes a poor medical school....apprenticeship is the close observation of how senior doctors think, behave, interact, manage, communicate, mentor etc...and the close observation of how patients progress through the entire encounter with the health delivery team....

factual knowledge is NOT important...

because it is a given in good med schools with carefully selected students, that they WILL have acquired all the necessarily theoretical knowledge freely available in text books and online...because if that is even a problem, you have chosen the WRONG student...

hence in uk, many junior doctors will have already obtained their mrcp part 1 easily within the fy years...with some completing paces in pgy3....
For clinical skills well, we have to do quite abit. It's just that the nurses do them as well and opportunity comes and go depending on patient. So we have to fight for them to be done. sweat.gif

Tbh, I have to agree about how little factual knowledge actually helps.. In a way.
Knowledge is generally something you pick up and experienced over time. It's about knowing what's safe or dangerous and when to seek help it's important.

Yea, many fy1s are doing their part one now haha.

This post has been edited by Jckc: Apr 26 2017, 11:36 PM
Jckc
post Apr 27 2017, 08:13 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Apr 27 2017, 12:59 PM)
Care to elaborate further 'all' the 'hands on procedures' med students in your school 'could' have physically handled as opportunities/circumstances/discretions arise (probably under supervision), granted not all students get exact similar exposures ...........
that's officially/unofficially allowed/permitted by the stake holders (like attending nurses,fully registered medical officers,hospital admin,med schools etc) concerned ?

I'm speculating the extent of 'hands on' involvements (procedures included) during clinical years , single handedly has the greatest impact on the confidence levels, competency, delivery outcomes of a typical FY1/housemen in relation to his/her contemporaries , no ?

Edit:Granted legality and ethics are concerns.
The gmc has guidance on what we must be competent by graduation. (32 in general but my medical school has 8 extra so 40)
http://www.gmc-uk.org/Outcomes_for_graduat...df_61408029.pdf
(its at the last few pages which they have listed)

Its mandatory for students to be provisionally registered with gmc and graduate safely.
( and yes, we SHOULD be observed doing the procedure. However, due to certain simple procedures, such as bp or pulse rate OR time constraint of junior doctors, its always difficult to get someone to supervise you. We always try to do so if we're not comfortable or competent with the skill. For me, im comfortable doing bloods/cannulas/abgs and etc without supervision as long i know my limits as a student and not harming the patient whereas otherwise ill like to get the junior doc to supervise and comment on my technique and etc)

Yes and no imo. Practice makes perfect but as long youre willing to learn and improve throughout your career, you can be on par or be better in them than your peers. (a lot of europe-trained docs do not do much hands on skills so they have to learn from scratch when they work here)

Jckc
post May 6 2017, 09:05 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 6 2017, 06:11 PM)
this is at proposal stage but will likely go through....a few observations...

1. Interesting uk finally decided to adopt the North american nomenclature of calling gen med "internal medicine"...

2. But they are NOT adopting the american (and some european) system of residency training...but retains the tried and tested general->specific pathway...ie, they expect all physicians to be a competent generalist first...in fact the proposed 3+4 system devotes 4 years to gen med training...

3. this makes the training long...9 years...longer than the american system's 4-6 years...but have shorten the process from the past (12-15 years) and more in line with european standards, and they are still quoting european guidelines, despite brexit...

4. finally, looks like gen med as a specialty is dead...they are not running a pure gen med programme anymore...
lol so cmt has become 3 years in a nutshell.

there always been a acute internal med speciality but people tend to do both general and internal med that it becomes a combined speciality which you can do in 4 years if im not mistaken. (each requires 3 years and then you can spend an extra year to do the other).

Jckc
post May 25 2017, 03:28 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ May 25 2017, 02:50 PM)
Time really flies. Last trip there was at the beginning of the 5 years. This time just squeezed 3 weeks in.

Good that all graduates got placement and not like couple of years ago where there was worry that there may not be enough places available.
There is still an excess this year but hopefully they can allocate them with no probs.
Awaiting the report from fpas.
Jckc
post May 26 2017, 05:00 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ May 26 2017, 10:12 AM)
Relative working hours will be morning till 9pm Monday to Friday and off over the weekends except that once every 3 or 4 weeks have to work over the weekend.

And after every 4 months will be given 2 weeks leave.
the 2 weeks can be taken any time within the rotation. its just getting the approval from the rota manager.

sounds like an acute medicine/surgery admission rota. if he/she doesnt have nights, bless him/her lol.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0657sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:24 PM