CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center
podrunner
Aug 25 2017, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(confirm @ Aug 25 2017, 08:46 PM) Wait list candidates did not take up these places could be the reason...a distant relative was in wait list in one of the two but is now in IMU PMS.[4 A* in A level] How do they know they're in the wait list? Were they told?
podrunner
Aug 28 2017, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 25 2017, 10:50 PM) finally.....congrats....  Yes, the sponsors are much happier! LOL Thanks! This post has been edited by podrunner: Aug 28 2017, 11:56 AM
podrunner
Aug 31 2017, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(confirm @ Aug 31 2017, 09:06 PM) New med schools accepting one year foundation programme... https://www.kingseducation.com/university-p...e-at-kings.htmlManchester med and dent have been accepting NCUK foundation which is also one year. It is expensive with fees exceeding RM 100k excluding living cost but still cheaper than doing A level in UK. And yet 4 A* students are rejected. No guarantee one will get into the program...still need to be invited for an interview. "After consideration of the students' UCAS application and the conditions set out above, students may be invited for an interview by Aston University."
podrunner
Sep 5 2017, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Sep 5 2017, 10:04 AM) I am surprised UK is increasing the number of medical places for locals. I doubt there is a shortage but I think its the working conditions that need improvements to make doctors stay. Maybe the consequences arising from Brexit will make more doctors quit the UK. If I am not wrong, sometime back they are also starting to recruit Filipino nurses due to the expected shortage of nurses in the next couple of years. There is a shortage, especially GPs. Eventually they will have enough doctors, and FYP places will likely be given to home students first, like what is being practiced in Oz.
podrunner
Sep 28 2017, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Sep 28 2017, 09:33 AM) MMC probably waived it because of the oversupply of graduate doctors now. I also wonder how she can perform her duties as an MO when she has only done 3 rotations as what you said. I have 2 relatives as graduate doctors, one locally and one in UK. I would say that the housemanship training locally is so much more intense compared to what is in UK. The NHS practices a super defensive type of medicine, so no unnecessary risks. However when an F1 has to run wards solo on on call days/nights, training is full on. But at least no such thing as 36 hour shifts, even when doctors are short in the UK. Am in a house with 2 F1s now. Life seems pretty decent here, as far as I can see.
podrunner
Sep 28 2017, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Sep 28 2017, 05:18 PM) Yeah, compare to bolehland, its pretty decent in UK in Year 1 and the hours tend to be more or less fixed. The only complaint I have is that if working on Sunday, the trains doesn't start running until 8.30 am. And the taxi fare is not cheap. They use uber for those times, around £4.80 to £5.20. They reckon it's not bad.
podrunner
Sep 28 2017, 07:59 PM
QUOTE(Jckc @ Sep 28 2017, 07:22 PM) I feel this more in district general hospitals more than centralised ones. (its understandable but it gets ridiculous if youre getting patients to have unnecessary blood samples/imaging if it doesnt change your management imo) haha, a max 12 hour shift here is enough to make the doctors wear out.  Whereabouts are you at? They're in a 700 bed hospital in Merseyside. One's in medical and the other in surgical rotation.
podrunner
Sep 29 2017, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Sep 29 2017, 03:02 PM) She pays 20 pounds one way. Will suggest her to use Uber. How far away is she from the hospital? That is a lot of money one way!
podrunner
Oct 4 2017, 05:56 AM
QUOTE(Jckc @ Oct 4 2017, 01:35 AM) cant decide where to apply to for foundation jobs next year. urgh The struggle is real. cant believe sjt will be the main decider on where you go.. Do you have a preference or a favourite? Relative got his first choice. I think your decile helps too?
podrunner
Oct 5 2017, 03:22 AM
QUOTE(Jckc @ Oct 4 2017, 08:55 PM) so far deciding between south yorkshire (aka sheffield) and northwest (liverpool/manchester) areas. decile does help but its only a max of 43 whereas sjt is 50 which is variable based on how you answer the questions. Good luck, and all the best!
podrunner
Nov 16 2017, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(foreignbornmd @ Nov 16 2017, 04:53 AM) Thank you! My only problem is to get connected to those who are serious about coming to the US for residency. I am available if anyone wants to PM me about specific questions or details. I have worked hard for 10+ years, and I am seeing evidence of my success (net worth = > 2 million!). However, it is definitely getting harder for international graduates to get into residency programs because Medicare did not increase residency spots when there are more US medical students graduating. As such, there are a lot of preparation ahead of time in order to be a competitive candidate. The good thing about United States is once you get into residency + pass Boards = attending. Even in family medicine or internal medicine, that means a guaranteed income of minimum 175-200K, most of the time, you can earn more if you work hard. Especially with challenges in getting into specialist slots in UK and we all know the issues trying to become a specialist in Malaysia, this is a good option for many medical school graduates. Anyway, I hope this is helpful to you all.  Please elaborate further on "challenges in getting into specialist slots in UK..." Thank you!
podrunner
Nov 18 2017, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(foreignbornmd @ Nov 18 2017, 03:02 PM) Thanks. The Irish scenario is not new. Re BMA’s article, I read it differently...as it seems to have the effect of doctor shortage, with some EU doctors leaving and likely continue to leave.
podrunner
Dec 13 2017, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Dec 12 2017, 04:32 PM) When I previously talk about ROI on my kids medical career, I was blasted and told not to look at that angle. They were correct and I agree with them. Lawyers and engineers share the same situation as medical doctors. If you are good, have the networking and interact well, you will do financially well. As for you, with an IT degree earlier and now with everybody talking about IoT, industry 4.0, blockchain and digital media, your options are much greater and you can find some spare time to enhance your earnings.  How are locum opportunities for F1s in Glasgow?
podrunner
Dec 15 2017, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(Syd G @ Dec 15 2017, 09:44 AM) Actually I know someone who was forced to do medicine and now wants to make his way to the tech industries. Like me, but different order I strongly believe in medicine as a graduate degree. There are pros and cons of course  You are probably right. The grad students do better as well. When my relative graduated with 286 others (in one of the U.K. unis), 27 graduated with honours, and 22 of the 27 were grad students. 2 of the 5 undergrads with honours were Malaysians. 😉 This post has been edited by podrunner: Dec 15 2017, 10:30 AM
podrunner
Dec 17 2017, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(Jckc @ Dec 17 2017, 07:56 PM) I believe graduates are eligible for training if they complete their postgrad exams. I know a msian doctor from UM who is currently on the paediatric training programme in the UK after completing his MRCPCH in Malaysia. Is this training "limited" in the sense that once you're done with training, you have to leave the UK, or do you get to apply on equal basis with the locals to continue working?
podrunner
Dec 19 2017, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Dec 19 2017, 09:36 AM) Found out from her that in her hospital, she thinks there are opportunities for locum but probably for F2 and above. Not sure about other Glasgow hospitals. She doesn't sound keen at the moment and is more interested in planning where to travel. Just before starting work, she went to Italy for 2 weeks and another 2 weeks in US. She went to Greece during the recent break and has her plans set for CNY and May 2018 as well.  I think F1s can work in the same hospital that they're attached to, IF there are locum spots. I could be wrong. I think one can get £25/hour, but of course less after taxes.
podrunner
Dec 20 2017, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Dec 20 2017, 09:16 AM) Quite a good rate indeed. Is your relative doing locum now? When many doctors going for Xmas and New Year leave, there is a need for additional assistance.  He has done one only, hopes to find more if I understand correctly. Managed to get leave over CNY, so will be back.
podrunner
Jan 8 2018, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 8 2018, 09:10 AM) Was informed by relative that they are getting emails asking whether interested to work as locum due to winter crisis resulting in bad flu and apparently the ineffective flu vaccine. She's not keen because she said newbies will be typing a lot of discharge work  HAHA! Smart move. Medical consultants were called in, some in the midst of their NY Eve's dinner...they were not happy. But the F1s were very impressed at how everything was sorted though the night. Asked relative if NHS is still the best, the answer is still a resounding yes. Sigh! This post has been edited by podrunner: Jan 8 2018, 05:59 PM
podrunner
Jan 9 2018, 04:22 PM
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 9 2018, 12:09 PM) If a comparison is made between UK and ours, then no doubt UK win liao. Maybe still early days until after completion of F2. I'm hoping eventually he will consider the red dot, much nearer. Anyway, it's their life now.
podrunner
Jan 9 2018, 09:37 PM
QUOTE(zeng @ Jan 9 2018, 07:45 PM) Red dot kind of no 'rural' posting ... Uk might be moving like a nomad post F2 , just speculating. If red dot happens, it probably will not be for years. Who knows. What do you mean by "nomad post F2"? All I know is they will need to apply for CT jobs at the end of F2.