CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center

podrunner
post Jan 9 2018, 09:39 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 9 2018, 04:28 PM)
That's what you would expect with super high income tax, 20% VAT and a national health insurance financing scheme.
But read about the winter pressure crisis, and I can only imagine it's hell for the healthcare workers and the patients.
podrunner
post Jan 27 2018, 05:32 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 27 2018, 10:53 AM)
http://www.pulsetoday.co.uk/your-practice/...0036044.article

something for students and junior doctors to think about....especially those in uk...
Lots of opinioms on twitter feed...very interesting comments. There’s also some crowdjustice thing happening to get an independent legal opinion on her case, over £58k pledged of target £75k in less than 48 hours. The repercussions will be interesting.
podrunner
post Sep 20 2018, 10:45 AM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Sep 19 2018, 05:18 PM)
That's interesting developments ........
No issue with visa ?
Their employer would be HEE, so shouldn’t have any issue with visa, and it would be a tier 4 two year visa.
podrunner
post Sep 20 2018, 11:56 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Sep 20 2018, 04:53 PM)
Congrats to those guys from Numed ...

I suppose they are on Tier 2 visa podrunner, as IIRC Tier 4 is student visa.

Jckc, mind elaborate further on 'standalone' post ? ......

Do they have equal opportunity as UK trained in securing further traning post FY2 ?
Tier 4 visa for F1-2. Then you apply for CMT/CST jobs towards middle of F2, and once you have a job, you’ll be issued a Tier 2 visa for the duration of that job, 3 to 4 years.
podrunner
post Sep 22 2018, 07:57 AM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Sep 21 2018, 05:04 AM)
this is for the standard recruitment for local graduates.

Application for specialty training does not just consist of core medical (3 years) or core surgical (2 years) but can be run through programmes such as paeds, o&G, neurosurg, or other core training such as ACCS, core psychiatry, core anaesthetic.

The duration of tier 2 visa will be given based on your duration of training but I heard is usually 5 years and youre allowed to renew once (?). After that, you need to apply for ILR (aka PR) or go back to your home country to reapply again.
Again, only time can tell how the visa application will change.
Thank you.
podrunner
post Sep 24 2018, 11:44 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Sep 24 2018, 04:04 PM)
As clarified by Jckc, btw has your relative managed to secure a CMT/CST post of his/her choice ?
Still in F2, applications start next month (for academic pathway) and November for the regular pathway, if I’m not mistaken.
podrunner
post Sep 27 2018, 08:50 AM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Sep 26 2018, 03:39 AM)
Specialty applications usually opens at November with interviews in January February. Academic might differ.
Academic earlier, according to relative.
podrunner
post Sep 27 2018, 09:00 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Sep 27 2018, 03:05 PM)
what is he/she aiming for at the moment?
Academic, but of course will apply for both.
podrunner
post Jan 6 2020, 10:41 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 1 2020, 11:22 PM)
beggars are not choosers....want it fast, go borneo...
Poor Borneo, or lucky Borneo? wink.gif

podrunner
post Jan 7 2020, 09:58 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 7 2020, 07:58 AM)
Still poor Borneo....still last choice mostly....but at least the tantrums of the past is no more: appeals against going when posted to Borneo in the past....
Yes, and I noticed Paga sometimes write in such a way that a posting to Borneo is the worst thing that can possibly happen to a medical graduate. Oh well...
podrunner
post Jul 13 2020, 10:47 AM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jul 4 2020, 11:05 PM)
If possible, try to get the USM-KLE.

About your other question, if you really determined, you can start your way to become a specialist (in certain fields) even during your housemanship training by taking and passing certain professional exams. It is faster than doing Masters degree in Universities but.... you will have to fork out the fees yourself.

For example, MRCP (UK) if you are keen to become a physician.... MRCPCH for pediatrician... MRCOG for Obgyn specialist... MRCGP for family physician...
If you manage to pass all the required papers, you can apply to KKM to be registered as a specialist after you have undergone a certain period of training known as 'credentialing' in suitable departments.

See here for recognized specialist qualifications: https://www.nsr.org.my/Qualifications.html

On the 10 years bond... that is not necessarily the case nowadays... new medical doctors are hired on contract basis now... only a fraction of them will be absorbed into permanent work force...
MRCP = specialist in Malaysia?
podrunner
post Jul 13 2020, 06:52 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Jul 13 2020, 04:47 PM)
Yeah, what I've heard and read is that if you passed your professional examination and undergo a period of gazettement/observstion, you will be deemed fit to be a specialist in malaysia.

(Which in my opinion is kinda surprising and scary as people who've passed MRCP are only SHO level/pre-registrar going into higher specialty training in the UK)
ya, because if I understand correctly, MRCP is only a pre-req to enable one to apply for specialty training in the UK. It is scary indeed!
podrunner
post Jul 17 2020, 05:35 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Jul 17 2020, 02:54 PM)
With the equal opportunity given to IMGs now, as long you work hard and boost up your CV and polish your interview skills, i believe it's much easier than Malaysia hence why I'm staying put.
But you're not considered an IMG, having graduated from medical school in the UK. IMGs still need to do PLABs on top of MRCP right? What's the difference between a training post and a non-training post? The latter is called a trust grade doctor? The latter is easier to get into, yes? Do correct me if wrong. Thank you.
podrunner
post Jul 17 2020, 05:49 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jul 17 2020, 10:09 AM)
Btw, are you sure you are working in the UK? The info that you have shared is actually wrong

CMT in the UK is now replaced with Internal Medicine Stage 1 training, which is only 2 years (for single CCT). You are expected to have full MRCP by the end of 2 years.
Then, you can choose to enter either single CCT or dual CCT

Single CCT for example GIM, is only 3 years.

So in summary
GIM pathway in the UK: 2 years of foundation training + 2 years of Internal Medicine Stage 1 + 3 years of GIM = 7 years postgraduation
GIM pathway in the Malaysia: 2 years of housemanship + 4 and 1/2 years of Internal Medicine training including gazettement + 1 year post gazettement for NSR registration = 7 and 1/2 years postgraduation

Source

Reference for UK training pathway

One thing I agree though, Malaysia Boleh! as our training is longer and more demanding in terms of procedures required to learn and workload
Is there just a GIM pathway in the UK? I understand with IMT + ST training, you will for example, get your CCT for gastroenterologist-internist. So 2 yrs (F1&F2) + 3 yrs (IMT) + 4 years (ST) = 9 years, after graduation.

This post has been edited by podrunner: Jul 17 2020, 05:55 PM
podrunner
post Jul 17 2020, 05:54 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jul 17 2020, 05:36 PM)
No. If you have full MRCP, no need to do PLAB
Thank you.
podrunner
post Jul 18 2020, 11:02 AM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 18 2020, 05:33 AM)
I agree. The idiots that voted for Brexit and Boris Johnson would otherwise be up in arms and march to the turn of Anglo Lives Matters!
I am sure every country will prioritise their own graduates first, after having invested in them. Do we not prioritise malaysians first here?

13 Pages « < 11 12 13Top

0.0294sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:23 AM