Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

tailtwist
post Jun 24 2012, 06:26 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(omg528 @ Jun 24 2012, 05:16 PM)
Guys, need help from you all...
I alr got my EP and still looking for a room in SG.
Budget around 500SGD and I'm working in Chinatown that side.

Is there any advise to rent a room? which place is nearest and of course if can get nearby MRT, would be good enough.
Maybe i suggest any area along the North East Line(NEL - purple line)....hougang/kovan/serangoon....if you're lucky enough then u may even nearer towards town..potong pasir/little india....that way u dont have to do a 'transfer'
tailtwist
post Jun 27 2012, 09:34 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jun 27 2012, 09:29 AM)
ya lor ...if still want all day connectiivty ..then need postpaid lor ...
but prepaid should more sms to play with bah ...
gahmen become more strict after public outcry ...but no harm trying ...
ya ya ....the more the merries.
specifically they want males mah....NS n so on
tailtwist
post Jun 27 2012, 11:10 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jun 27 2012, 11:02 AM)
Haha, then i shall consider take a new line d,the nicest phone now is SIII? any suggestion? icon_idea.gif
Add another SGD25 for topup data? how many GB given? i tot is SGD5.25 per GB if i not mistaken inside thread mentioned b4?
data/3g plan comes with 12GB liao...unless u take the most expensive 3G plan which comes with 30GB!!...12GB should be good enough
tailtwist
post Jun 27 2012, 11:49 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jun 27 2012, 11:47 AM)
Oo...What i mean is when it change to 2GB, that the top up price?
Btw, i know Singtel confirmed will execute it's 2GB plan, but how bout M1 and Starhub? i asked my colleague seem like they dunno that M1 and Starhub will do the same. Can anyone share any info regards this matter?
i just checked from singtelshop.com.sg website lor
tailtwist
post Jun 27 2012, 04:40 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jun 27 2012, 04:38 PM)
I called them this morning, transfer rate is 2.48 with S$10 processing fee (can be waived if you transfer more than 10K back to malaysia)

anyway, transfer rate is slightly higher than exchange rate based on what my friend told me, try call them for the best rate smile.gif
more than 10k...RM or SGD?@@
tailtwist
post Jul 4 2012, 11:00 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(stanleysi @ Jul 4 2012, 10:51 PM)
Guys - I read somewhere in this forum (from 2009) that Malaysians with employment pass and staying in Singapore can drive a Malaysian registered car if :

- Have Employment pass
- Only for the first 12 months of holding employment pass
- Have a valid malaysian license

Can anyone advise if this is still true and send me the link to some official website? Can't seem to find it

Thanks!

Added on July 4, 2012, 10:55 pmOh nvm sad.gif .. shucks .. we are only talking about license here. Not a Malaysian registered car. Guess it's still a no go to drive a Malaysian registered car in Singapore with an employment pass sad.gif

Read somewhere someone did this for 3 years and paid about SGD440 a month ... wonder how he managed to ?
taking bus/MRT here on a monthly..at MAX SGD150 only!!......unless your hiring company pays monthly for that...else its a no brainer...SGD440 a month!!
tailtwist
post Jul 6 2012, 02:20 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(frozenintime @ Jul 6 2012, 01:07 PM)
I scanned all and have soft copies with me all the time. Even under situation like this I will still be able to print out, at least better than nothing. smile.gif
yup..been doing that all these while
tailtwist
post Jul 10 2012, 07:27 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(alvin8866 @ Jul 10 2012, 12:51 AM)
I'm frustrated recently. I appealed the applications twice, unfortunately, got rejected.

Does anyone here manage to get PR status via SP ( year 2012)?
my wife got it..applied in April got a POSITIVE replied in June
tailtwist
post Jul 10 2012, 09:00 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(alvin8866 @ Jul 10 2012, 08:23 AM)
Congrats, bro

Is she a S-pass holder? How long she holds the s-pass before applying PR application?
sorry...i didnt know SP means S-Pass...nope..she was holding EP all these while....moved to another job after her 1st year working(2years EP validity)...then after her 1st year with another company(EP) worked in that company for 1 year++...then she applied for her PR

This post has been edited by tailtwist: Jul 10 2012, 09:19 AM
tailtwist
post Jul 10 2012, 12:03 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(sapapa @ Jul 10 2012, 11:54 AM)
Hi guys, would like to ask if Malaysian work in Singapore for more than 183 days but didn't stay in Singapore(everyday commute) still taxable? How much?
Yes..it whether u will be taxable based on the residents rates or the non-residents rates...where can avoid taxes one....its worst if u work/stay in Singapore for less than 183 days...because its a FLAT tax rate...in which you can claim back the income tax rebate the next physical year....

Source
IRAS tax rates for both residents & non-residents
tailtwist
post Jul 10 2012, 01:06 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 10 2012, 12:41 PM)
Just get a JPJ transcript (dont get from JB else they sort of black list you or extort money from you), sit for theory and you are done.

I hv both Msia & Singapore driving license. Sg driving license is an international license hence evem if they treaten not to renew your license you can still drive any car.
SG driving license isnt an international driving license...u will still need to apply for an international driving license....goes the same for malaysia driving license who wants to apply/get an international driving license...
This is what I got
International Driving Permit(IDP)

This post has been edited by tailtwist: Jul 10 2012, 01:09 PM
tailtwist
post Jul 10 2012, 01:23 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 10 2012, 01:18 PM)
Is it? Somehow I got the impression that Sg is an international license.
U will still need to apply for it....no country will accept another diff country's driving license...like my bro-in-law in UK....applied for International Driving permit....using MY driving license...goes the same for singapore driving license as well

This post has been edited by tailtwist: Jul 10 2012, 01:24 PM
tailtwist
post Jul 11 2012, 03:03 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 11 2012, 02:55 PM)
But i thought with or w/o Co broke, we still need to pay agent half month commission if we get the room thru agent?

Added on July 11, 2012, 2:56 pm
So from what i understand for your sentence, if they state welcome Co-broke, mean they allow agent to help them? right? rclxub.gif
Nope...if no agent...then no need to pay agent fees....welcome co-broke doesn't means cannot be direct tenant/owner mah....
tailtwist
post Jul 11 2012, 09:35 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 11 2012, 05:51 PM)
4 months on and you think of subletting?
good that you see far ahead, but bad you do not see the present.

like what yhoong mentioned, PR allows better work opportunity.
on top of that, CPF by employer.

to buy a HDB flat for PR, you need to be PR along with your spouse.
furthermore, the initial payment for buying a hdb is ...   
until you have enough dough to cough up for the initial payment, it is still a few years down the road (well, unless you are loaded..but if you are loaded, go condo)

edit: forgot this is sublet
cannot sublet hdb, sublet condo lo. laugh.gif laugh.gif
yeah..my rough calculation..u will need around SGD100k CASH worth of dough....but then again...on the long long term..its still worth it..let your CPF pay for your monthly repayment...and one wouldn't need to come out with cold hard cash to pay for the monthly unit/room rental!!
tailtwist
post Jul 12 2012, 07:18 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 11 2012, 11:55 PM)
Part of the downpayment can be cpf. So need about 60k cash exclude renovation.

Sg legal fees is lower compare to 5 digit legal fee in MY.

I don't believe the hdb price will remain strong for the next 8 years if the gov keep its stand on PR and FT policies.
dont forget u need to include the CoV!!easily another good 20k+++!!
tailtwist
post Jul 12 2012, 08:50 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 12 2012, 08:45 AM)
If you buy hdb yes. No cov for condo.
Yes...tell me the people in here..how many can afford private housing?i would say max maybe 20%? Even if one can afford private housing..the build up space is so SMALL!!
tailtwist
post Jul 12 2012, 09:10 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 12 2012, 09:08 AM)
Beggars can't be choosers. Want big house in sg, work harder lor.
That's not my point...my point is that how many % of the people(MYsian working/PRs in SG) owns a private housing?

I guess you're one of the luckier ones....owning a private condo......must be big time earner/salary.....

This post has been edited by tailtwist: Jul 12 2012, 09:12 AM
tailtwist
post Jul 12 2012, 10:28 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 12 2012, 10:16 AM)
Nothing to do with luck, I definitely didnt born with a silver spoon in my mouth. And all my investment are from my own pure savings. Never took any single cent from parents after I left uni, infact I gave them and my sister monthly allowance.

The luck that I have are

- I knew a job wont get me rich, so I settled for a position that wont drained me mentally and physically.
- I invest money and time in business and property.

- I network with like-minded people, rule of thumb from books I read, is that, mingle with 6 people who are eaning more than you do.

- I am frugal with my spending.

- I bought a car in Sg (cause of the business I have), but the installment comes from the excess cash from rental income in Msia.

You just have to be smart in handling your money. Okay I sound as if I am preaching Robert Kiyosaki Rich Dad Poor Dad but yeah I believe in delayed gratification.

I know of an investor in his mid 40s, his salary isnt much and lower than mine, a family man, but he has got multiple properties, palm oil land and condos in Singapore. How he does it? He save and invest.

The only naysayer always reminds me is that, "you wait, if the market crash, you'll suffer when all your properties are not rented". Oh well, wait I shall then. Worst case, I go bankrupt. I rather try than sitting by the fence not doing anything but blaming not being lucky.
This is the little bit of luck that i'm saying....lotsa hard work as well
tailtwist
post Jul 12 2012, 10:52 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(ff7yta @ Jul 12 2012, 10:51 AM)
Where is the best place to get a good exchange rate from sgd to myr? I can only find the highest of 2.85 at jurong point (boon lay mrt)
http://www.raffles1.net/contact.asp

Raffles Money changer?

Added on July 12, 2012, 10:53 am
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 12 2012, 10:52 AM)
2.85 so nice????!!!!
ya...we all wished don't we? 2.85!!!

This post has been edited by tailtwist: Jul 12 2012, 10:53 AM
tailtwist
post Jul 12 2012, 10:56 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(ff7yta @ Jul 12 2012, 10:54 AM)
Yes, just been there yesterday night. Second highest is 2.81 in holland V in the mrt tunnel there.
2.81....typo bro?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0465sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:36 AM