5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

chess_gal
post Jul 12 2012, 07:42 PM

1,006 posts

Yes, seems like impossible now for those who just started in Sg, but if you start saving now then put some cash into some investment like msia prop (that generate rental income of course), when appreciate, refinance to cash out.

Thats one way to get cash.
chess_gal
post Jul 13 2012, 12:34 AM

1,006 posts

Congrats! Where did you bOught!? Katong? New or resale?

Added on July 13, 2012, 12:43 am
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 12 2012, 09:16 PM)
izzit possible to put d name under 1 person but apply for financing with a couple of names?

but there's a risk he might lari with d asset while u r joinly financing it right?
beli kat jb.. rumah kos rendah  rclxms.gif
Yes for private, hdb I am not sure.

WOnt lari one. You just gotta trust if you want to jointly invest. I also enter a few jv for commercial property in kl, they trust me, I trust them. Of course I do my due diligence before jv w them. Surround yourself w successful ppl so that least yOull make mistake.

Added on July 13, 2012, 12:44 am
QUOTE(cless^alvein @ Jul 12 2012, 08:18 PM)
Hi, probably out of topic, but wanna ask, any nice place for dinner at clarke quay area?
Cafe iguana, beside brewerk. Nice Mexican food.

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Jul 13 2012, 12:44 AM
chess_gal
post Jul 13 2012, 08:55 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 13 2012, 08:38 AM)
The one I asked you about in Simei. Supposed to TOP in 2014. Was sold on it when I stepped out of the MRT. Took 3 minutes to walk the 80m from platform to project entrance and 1 minute to cross the road to shopping mall. Figured it was a sure rental or resale.
Congrats! Yay!
chess_gal
post Jul 13 2012, 09:59 AM

1,006 posts

I think too late to enter the bubble tea scene, too saturated. 4 years ago, I also started my bubble tea shop at KL, Wisma Cosway, but close after 6 months cause dispute with my insane partner. An *******. Then I have wanted to open one in Sg but then didnt get the approved license to operate in a friend's palce. Fire hazard issue.

However, looking at the competition now, we have Gong Cha, Cup Walker, Koi Cafe, Sweet Talk and many more other small players.. My colleague told me, the trend is in again, back in her school days, there were a lot more brands of bubble tea around. Then slowly one by one close down. Reason? Rental is the number one killer and also the operating overhead cost. You need volume, substantial volumne

So, invest in property la, every retail business needs space. So be the landlord. Infact I am looking for ppl to JV with in my next commercial purchase in Sg. Not now, but perhaps next year after I accummulate my bullet.

chess_gal
post Jul 13 2012, 10:51 AM

1,006 posts

Every business also can make money, of course I know retail business is way to go, thats why I tried but didnt succeed cause not willing to forgo my corporate ladder.

Good luck in your business venture!
chess_gal
post Jul 13 2012, 11:49 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jul 13 2012, 11:13 AM)

Is OTP = TOP? I have been seeing TOP in all new condo launches and wondering what it means. I was looking at those condos pricing and you were right, the newer and yet within reach ones are launched in Flora Drive. Simple screening is obvious enough that it is too far from the existing MRT. Infact, the downtown line is still not within walking distance from Flora.

Then I was looking at Tampines, Punggol and Sengkang HDBs. Tampines is obviously overpriced. 30 year old property is selling at the same price as Sengkang (10 y.o) and Punggol (5.0). In terms of proximity to CBD, they are relatively the same. But obviously, Tampines is a matured town, and I am surprise so much premium are priced into a property in a crowded place. This simple scenario is enough to intrigue any inexperienced buyers. How does this 99yrs leasing works? The price seems to be in anti-gravity mode.

Technically, how is this 20% down payment being phased out for HDB and condo purchase in resale market? What about new launches?
Yes, those within affordable level are Pasir Ris/Flora Drive.

Flora Drive
Carissa Park
Estella
The Gale (TOP soon)
Ferraria
Dahlia
Avila
Azalea

City Fringe/Boon Keng
Airstream
iSuites @ Tani
Vetro
Callista
Beacon Heights
City Regency

I have seen most of the above for the past 6 months. The above are all resale units (existing condo) and are within 900-1100psf depending on your size and freehold/999 leasehold. I bought one of the development in the list.

My criteria of selection, the current rental must be able to cover the installment and the lowest psf within that area. You must be fast though, ppl buy property here like beli sayur, a few that I missed out cause my bf PR was still pending. The day he got his PR letter, I straight call the agent and pay him the 1%.

HDB procedure

1) View property, pay SGD1K (Maximum deposit) can negotiate but max is SGD 1K.
2) Then the rest can ask HDB agent. Not familiar

Condo procedure
1)1% downpayment sign acceptance letter (Seller's name)
2) 4% downpayment (to seller's lawyer), execution of OTP (within 14 days) (Option to Purchase) (TOP - Temporary Occupancy Permit - means can move in and stay, something like CF in Msia)
3) Another 3% (minus SGD5.4K) for stamp duty - pay to lawyer
4) Balance of 15% before signing of SPA (2 - 3 month from signing of OTP) - You can apply for CPF if your CPF is enough.

chess_gal
post Jul 13 2012, 01:09 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(ntick @ Jul 13 2012, 12:06 PM)
Just 2 ask....what r the blue chip /CARG>20 share in singapore that i can invest?

I am familiar in malaysia investment stock market but not in sg....
and which securities would you suggest?
i am long term and dividen type invester....

i had went through finance report from singtel.....it seems that their profit is droping...

My target is for dividen type...and monopoly industrial....
SMRT is one of my choice..what do u think?
what is the name for singapore power electric like TNB?i want buy that share also....
Singapore Power & Seraya Power (this own by YTL power).
chess_gal
post Jul 13 2012, 03:31 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 13 2012, 02:34 PM)
yeah. mine only rebates back 40%.
SO nice!

Added on July 13, 2012, 3:33 pm
QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 13 2012, 03:30 PM)
shocking.gif  why shave , dont scare me  blink.gif
jungles are not allowed.

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Jul 13 2012, 03:33 PM
chess_gal
post Jul 13 2012, 03:52 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(johnnywzm @ Jul 13 2012, 03:43 PM)
how is the market for fresh grads looking for audit job in sg now? seems so hard, none respond to my email since last week.
Last week??? wait la dude. My first application took me 2 weeks. My friends took 6 months, until I submitted hers to my Partner to cut queue.

chess_gal
post Jul 13 2012, 05:35 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 13 2012, 04:47 PM)
HAha.. Can help me to refer too?... flex.gif
QUOTE(johnnywzm @ Jul 13 2012, 05:12 PM)
one 2weeks and one 6month? maybe i should wait a little bit longer..  rclxub.gif
btw, any chance anyone here can help me cut queue too?  hmm.gif
Sorry ya, only experienced (4 years) applicant can jump queue. Junior level need to follow the normal route. But I think the new recruits should be in already. For KPMG Sg, I think the recruitment starts in March - June, orientation in July.
chess_gal
post Jul 22 2012, 10:08 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jul 14 2012, 02:38 AM)
should aim Boon Keng la, the strategic one

Added on July 14, 2012, 2:41 am

why did you join IKEa? I always think you have the ability to become an audit partner in your 30s.
Nope. I am not meticulous enough and I cant drink. Too many smart people in the den and time too precious to keep climbing the corporate ladder where I can never see the top.

In IKEA, it is slightly different. Only 2 more ladders to become a CFO, but problem is WHEN would that vacancy be available as people never leave! At the meanwhile I am enjoying the free time by building a little business at the sideline.

Added on July 22, 2012, 10:41 am
QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 20 2012, 11:31 PM)
First couple of years, spend a bit more to live comfortably so that you don't get increasingly pissed off having to "sacrifice" your lifestyle in order to work in Singapore. Treat yourself better, live better and you'll work better.

If you do well at work, you will get larger jobs, get promoted and draw higher and higher salaries. That's why you're here in Singapore in the first place.

So, in the first couple of years, don't concentrate on saving a big % of your salary. Just ensure whatever you spend on is worth it and contributes towards making you better than your peers/competitors. Concentrate instead on making your salary bigger. My starting salary was 1300 when I graduated. That's crazy low, ok. But the next year, it was 2500 with a promotion. Third year 4500 when I qualified professionally and promptly changed jobs. Since then... expenses (reasonable expenses) have not really been an issue anymore. Get ahead of the curve... and things will work out.
I agree with you seantang, the first year in Sg, I hardly save a dime, but slowly as you progress and jump a couple of ships, money will start to roll in IF your boss thinks you are worthy enough. It would only work if your boss could appreciate what you do. Some ppl hated singapore simply cause their work sucks, they couldnt click with their local colleagues, home sick and away from their love ones.

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Jul 22 2012, 10:41 AM
chess_gal
post Jul 22 2012, 10:54 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 22 2012, 10:18 PM)
If you're the new guy who's late, who arrives all sweaty and smells the rest of the day, the guy who's always complaining about how little he can afford or the guy who's anti social (eg avoids having lunch with his colleagues if they are not going to a food court or after work drinks)... you're not doing yourself any favours. You're well positioned to be the first one on the list.

So save if possible, but not at the expense of giving yourself a negative stigma/reputation at work.
Actually it depends, if you know your progress in a company is pretty stagnant, better save up instead.. In a way, am speaking from experience, I didn't mingle well w my colleagues back in audit, I didnt suck up to managers or partners and was constantly in loggerhead with them, and since I don't drink, I always excuse myself from after work party cause it's too taxing. It proves to be a CLM, but that's because I lost the desire to dabble in dirty back lashing politic games and I don't see myself of being an audit partner. I save up and invest in business and property instead.

If you hv no desire to run your own business then put a good front but not to the point of overspending to fit in. Else save up as much as possible. Am thankful my current job isn't as taxing as in audit. Pay is reasonable and boss is very nice and humane. Everyone in office including my staff know I am extremely frugal, in fact I always advise my staff and boss to invest and suggest them how to leverage. Everyone is so busy making the company rich but no one knows how to make themselves rich. That's just my thought cause I'm really hoping to run my business full time before hitting 35 and by 40 I can let go of everything and see my kids grow up.

chess_gal
post Jul 22 2012, 11:23 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 22 2012, 11:06 PM)

Since then, I do the complete checklist... buy tidbits for the pantry when I travel, contribute "managerial amounts" to baby showers, marriages, funerals, kids birthdays, retirement etc, pay for lunch ever so often, buy birthday cakes, have several lunch gangs/partners, never miss family days/annual dinners, go to every company function to stand around, shake hands, small talk, group dinners etc.
Haha yeah. Couldn't agree more.
chess_gal
post Jul 23 2012, 08:26 AM

1,006 posts

Yes, Conclusion is, work hard to get to seantang position, good job very great pay. Or save up and invest. Afterall, all if us are here for one simple reason, money.
chess_gal
post Jul 23 2012, 05:33 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 23 2012, 05:21 PM)
Stamp duty is calculated base on higher of both.

Is that normal that agent fee is imply to both seller and buyer? Any chance buyer don't pay the agent fee when purchase a property?
For HDB i think both have to pay (if both engage separate agent). But for private property usually agent gets from seller's agent.

chess_gal
post Jul 23 2012, 06:01 PM

1,006 posts

PUB - public utilities bills - water/electricity etc.

try roomsdb.net

chess_gal
post Jul 23 2012, 11:32 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jul 23 2012, 08:39 PM)
To become manager in Big 4 needs 7 years, but to become Manager in MNC is very uncertain. In MNC, although it is 1 more ladder, you have to wait your FD to leave the company and they don't auto promote you.
True. thats why I hv my business as back up.
chess_gal
post Jul 24 2012, 12:29 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(St. Petersburg @ Jul 24 2012, 11:05 AM)
You always have backup  rclxms.gif  . Like the time you dumped your non-secure boyfriend in no time after getting a better deal with you business partner. Real sleek move there  cool2.gif
Wow, some newbie here has been checking me out, just 5 post and trying to flame me?

Anyways, thank you for the compliment.
chess_gal
post Jul 24 2012, 02:52 PM

1,006 posts

Probably he read my blog.
chess_gal
post Jul 24 2012, 05:39 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 24 2012, 05:31 PM)
your excitement would probably die down when you noticed how costly things are in Singapore.
i would say 3 months top  smile.gif

Added on July 24, 2012, 5:33 pm

eh time to organize another round of bbq since lot's of newbies going Sg work force this year.
i dont think things in singapore are too expensive. Aside from car and housing, rest is very decent and affordable. I can still get 2.50 chicken rice and 1.50 nasi lemak at neighbourhood mall.

Welcome to Singapore. I hv been here for 6 years, still excited to be here, though occassionally I am home sick.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0469sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:04 PM