5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

chess_gal
post Jul 11 2012, 12:08 PM

1,006 posts

Notice a lot IT related people here, wonder any website developer here? need to revamp my website. got a few quote from freelance, wonder if anyone keen to do a barter trade.

designer redesign website in exchange of advertisement on the website + free real estate maps + real estate books (Milan Doshi, Ho chin soon & Faizul's WTF books) + free invites to all Alpha events + personal coaching in real estate matters by one of our panel speakers/investors + free entry to any future paid seminar organised by Alpha.

chess_gal
post Jul 11 2012, 02:02 PM

1,006 posts

when i first came to sg, I didnt know singaproean cant speak malay cause their national anthem was in malay! Only found out when I was having lunch with my new singaporean colleague when I casually use some malay words in my conversation. They couldnt understand me, then only did I know they dont speak Malay. Even malays here speak English.

Just last month, I went to Punggol point for a walk, pretty popular fishing spot. I saw a few funny looking trap, and asked them what was it (in English), then they mentioned crab. The malay boy jokingly mentioned to his other friend "budak ni tak pernah tengok perangkap ketam".

Then I took a pic of it and replied "Boleh ker? Ni boleh tangkap ketam? Ada ketam kat sini?". The boys looked at each other and started laughing cause I speak malay! Before I left, I told them, "I orang Malaysia la"

chess_gal
post Jul 11 2012, 02:42 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 11 2012, 02:37 PM)
Hi, recently i look through the room for rent website, and i found out that there is a option call co-broke... anyone have any idea what is this about?
Co-broke means, tenant hv to pay commission (half month) to agent (agent represent yourself astenant) and landlord will pay half to his. Note that in Sg, agent not suppose to act for both parties. They can only take commission from one party.

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jul 11 2012, 02:37 PM)
what do they usually check for?
blood test (HIV test to be exact), & lungs.

chess_gal
post Jul 11 2012, 03:04 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 11 2012, 02:48 PM)
not really leh. "Co broke" on a listing isn't really a message for the (prospective) tenant. It is a message to other agents that this particular listing already got tenant and landlord agents, so a "third" agent is not welcome.
Yes, you are right. I thought he meant for tenant. if mentioned "Already co-broke". But Co-Broke to tenant doesnt it also mean, commission is payable?

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 11 2012, 02:55 PM)
But i thought with or w/o Co broke, we still need to pay agent half month commission if we get the room thru agent?

Added on July 11, 2012, 2:56 pm
So from what i understand for your sentence, if they state welcome Co-broke, mean they allow agent to help them? right? rclxub.gif
Under the new law, if I am not wrong, agent not suppose to take commission from both parties. Not sure does it also cover rental or only for sales & purchase.
chess_gal
post Jul 11 2012, 05:29 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 11 2012, 04:37 PM)
drool.gif  drool.gif ...high exchange rate is good..hehe..going to exchange it soon..
Yeah, suppose to be good news but unfortunately, I got some savings and rental income in Msia that i remit back to SGD. Rate not that good.

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Jul 11 2012, 05:34 PM
chess_gal
post Jul 11 2012, 05:44 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 11 2012, 05:35 PM)
at least you have rental income by having property
...most of us
apa pun takdak ...

rclxm9.gif

cheer up !
Thats hard earn money okay. But now that the ex-rate is so high, should consider investing in KL Commercial property. Last 3 years, Sgd wasnt that strong and I lose converting into MYR, now opposite pulak. With the volatile ex-rate, even make money in cap appreciation might also lose in conversion.
chess_gal
post Jul 11 2012, 05:49 PM

1,006 posts

PR - Pro
Get you a job and you can own ONE (first) private property without having to pay ABSD (additional buyer stamp duty).

Else, convert to Sg citizen, lotsa priviledge, grant from HDB, can own landed property, priority to school admission.

chess_gal
post Jul 11 2012, 10:14 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 11 2012, 09:35 PM)
yeah..my rough calculation..u will need around SGD100k CASH worth of dough....but then again...on the long long term..its still worth it..let your CPF pay for your monthly repayment...and one wouldn't need to come out with cold hard cash to pay for the monthly unit/room rental!!
Actually more than 100k if you buy anything more than 500k. 20% downpayment + 3% Stamp duty, 2.5k legal fee + 500 mortgage. And yes, let your CPF to clear the installment.
chess_gal
post Jul 11 2012, 11:25 PM

1,006 posts

It's required for you to get an EP. Avoid importing spoilt products haha

Added on July 11, 2012, 11:28 pm
QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 11 2012, 10:13 PM)
How much % downpayment for getting a HDB/private condo?

I think with the rules effective, hardly got ppl able to follow it as you can see the demand for room rental is high and if the owner can't let out the room, the room rental will boost up higher due to increase in demand and decrease in supply. Besides, lot of sgrean earn their income base on sublet the room and if the rules not allow to do so, i can't imagine how will these impact to them, or even the whole sg.
First condo 20% subsequent property 40%
If buy hdb cannot buy any private prop be it in sg or overseas within 5 years of MOP.

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Jul 11 2012, 11:28 PM
chess_gal
post Jul 12 2012, 12:05 AM

1,006 posts

15% Cpf 5% cash
chess_gal
post Jul 12 2012, 08:45 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 12 2012, 07:18 AM)
dont forget u need to include the CoV!!easily another good 20k+++!!
If you buy hdb yes. No cov for condo.
chess_gal
post Jul 12 2012, 08:54 AM

1,006 posts

Unless combine CPf. As for myself, I hv CPf but not my bf, he just turn PR last month. Bought the condo under his name as I am reserving mine for another. We utilized all cash we have, refinance some property for the Downpayment.

One advice, if you plan to invest in Sg, don't use joint name in your first private condo cause both of you would only hv one chance of getting 80% loan. Reserve the other name for another cOndo. I heard the government is trying to clamp down on speculation by disallowing use of CPf for second property.
chess_gal
post Jul 12 2012, 09:08 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 12 2012, 08:50 AM)
Yes...tell me the people in here..how many can afford private housing?i would say max maybe 20%?  Even if one can afford private housing..the build up space is so SMALL!!
Beggars can't be choosers. Want big house in sg, work harder lor.
chess_gal
post Jul 12 2012, 10:16 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 12 2012, 09:10 AM)
That's not my point...my point is that how many % of the people(MYsian working/PRs in SG) owns a private housing?

I guess you're one of the luckier ones....owning a private condo......must be big time earner/salary.....
Nothing to do with luck, I definitely didnt born with a silver spoon in my mouth. And all my investment are from my own pure savings. Never took any single cent from parents after I left uni, infact I gave them and my sister monthly allowance.

The luck that I have are

- I knew a job wont get me rich, so I settled for a position that wont drained me mentally and physically.
- I invest money and time in business and property.

- I network with like-minded people, rule of thumb from books I read, is that, mingle with 6 people who are eaning more than you do.

- I am frugal with my spending.

- I bought a car in Sg (cause of the business I have), but the installment comes from the excess cash from rental income in Msia.

You just have to be smart in handling your money. Okay I sound as if I am preaching Robert Kiyosaki Rich Dad Poor Dad but yeah I believe in delayed gratification.

I know of an investor in his mid 40s, his salary isnt much and lower than mine, a family man, but he has got multiple properties, palm oil land and condos in Singapore. How he does it? He save and invest.

The only naysayer always reminds me is that, "you wait, if the market crash, you'll suffer when all your properties are not rented". Oh well, wait I shall then. Worst case, I go bankrupt. I rather try than sitting by the fence not doing anything but blaming not being lucky.

chess_gal
post Jul 12 2012, 10:54 AM

1,006 posts

First get a banker to evaluate your credit and give you an AIP (approval in principle), using that you know how much can you loan.

For HDB, ensure that you do not have a long term plan to invest anywhere elase for the next 5 years. For PR, you can only buy resale HDB/EC.

i suggest you to buy EC (5 year old EC), those will be a full fledge condo after 10 years.

2 bedder are very hot, if you want very dirt cheap, check out Melville Park, 750k for 2 bedder. But downside, its a little india there. Price stagnant for very long.
Else, airstream, just TOP this year, but 2 bedder there very small, hardly a real 2 bedder. Or Beacon Height, newly TOP too, hovering around 1.1m

Or places like changi or flora drive, mostly still below 1mio for 2 bedder and spacious. One thing all these are very far from MRT and a distance from bus stop.

Usually can appeal for extension from govenment but also depends, if its a prime area, very likely gov will take back.
chess_gal
post Jul 12 2012, 10:56 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(ff7yta @ Jul 12 2012, 10:54 AM)
Yes, just been there yesterday night. Second highest is 2.81 in holland V in the mrt tunnel there.
2.85??? are you kidding?? Post contact and address here!
chess_gal
post Jul 12 2012, 11:36 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jul 12 2012, 11:22 AM)

How long is the validity period for this AIP before I need to be reassessed? Will different banks give different loan amounts? Typically how much is the charges?

If I happened to purchase HDB, would I be restricted on overseas home purchase?

Once the lease expires, is the government reimbursing the tenants based on market value or is it a communist showdown with bulldozers and detonators?
The AIP only an in principal approval at the point of submission, you need to get a new ones after you sign your OTP (option to purchase).

while Sg govern restrict the purchase of foreign property, just pandai pandai dont get caught. However, if you do, you will get heavy penalty to the point of repossession of your HDB. I just attended RES course (real estate sg course) and most of the repossess case are reported by neighbours and friends (jealousy).

No reimbursement for expired leasehold, you are buying a leasehold property hence value correspond with the lease tenure. Maybe reimburse you the balance of lease according to market value.

AIP is free. But banks should give the same AIP. remember to get valuation as well!

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Jul 12 2012, 11:37 AM
chess_gal
post Jul 12 2012, 12:40 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 12 2012, 12:33 PM)
just asking,  with the completion of RES course can you provide your service to do valuation for HDB?
Noler. just can be an agent only biggrin.gif
chess_gal
post Jul 12 2012, 01:10 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(alanaw @ Jul 12 2012, 01:02 PM)
Hi Ches_gal,

I can see from your avatar that you're a Malaysian Investor in SG. Just out of my curiousity to know are you a PR?  hmm.gif
Yes.
chess_gal
post Jul 12 2012, 01:46 PM

1,006 posts

Yeah. 9-6pm job not enough. Need side line to supplement.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0461sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:12 PM