Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

TSdeodorant
post Jun 22 2012, 07:55 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jun 21 2012, 10:37 PM)
I am just concerned that if the interview doesn't turn out great I would have wasted my trip down to Singapore. No?

When you go interviews in KL, do you get a 100% success rate? No, right? Do you then say "I wasted that 30 minute drive to KL to attend that interview?"

Same thing mah. If you're not willing to "waste that trip" then don't bother coming lor.
TSdeodorant
post Jun 23 2012, 09:01 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jun 22 2012, 11:01 AM)
was surveying on long term pass thingy,
for info  smile.gif 
http://www.ica.gov.sg/news_details.aspx?nid=12665

Only for Singaporean families lor ... aren't all of us here still holding Malaysian passport?

Couples who have at least one Singaporean child from their marriage will be eligible to apply for the LTVP+.

TSdeodorant
post Jun 25 2012, 08:12 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Jun 24 2012, 08:57 PM)
Now still trying to check out if there are any room availability for Malaysian female (dont mind sharing), max $350...

For your budget of $350 a month, you will pretty much have no choice but to share.
TSdeodorant
post Jun 25 2012, 06:49 PM

5,691 posts

^
can be 24 hours, can be 2 weeks, can be rejected then your company need to appeal icon_idea.gif

after approve you get IPA. come in start work get your HR to sign on the IPA, do medical check-up, make appointment, go submit all your documents then few days later get EP card.
TSdeodorant
post Jun 27 2012, 08:00 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jun 27 2012, 01:15 AM)
i would like to ask ah, anyone knows the requirement of applying and obtaining the PR?

http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=151
TSdeodorant
post Jun 27 2012, 10:44 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jun 27 2012, 10:42 AM)
Should i signed another line for the 12GB? tongue.gif  it shocked me when one of my fren told me he used up to 11GB, so garang meh?haha rclxub.gif

Well, according to the telco statistics, they say that only 10% of us use more than 2gb/month *shrug*
TSdeodorant
post Jul 4 2012, 10:05 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jul 3 2012, 12:50 PM)

Some of these figures makes me go hmm.gif ...

Example Chief information officer/ Chief technology officer is listed as $7,000 as median salary. dafuq? 7k?
TSdeodorant
post Jul 4 2012, 10:50 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Sayid Kasturi @ Jul 4 2012, 10:10 AM)
In Singapore, IT jobs are highly paid. May be higher than 7k, depending on the company.
Similarly to the finance industry.
Also depends on your skill sets.

I don't get what you're trying to say. Are you saying that 7k is "highly paid?" For a CIO/CTO?
TSdeodorant
post Jul 4 2012, 11:26 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Sayid Kasturi @ Jul 4 2012, 10:56 AM)
Seriously?
I thought he meant why so high.
Maybe I got it wrong.

I meant why so low. $7k median for a CxO-level staff sounds wrong to me, especially since the same data, other management staff like IT service manager, Research and development manager, Software and applications manager, all earn more.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 6 2012, 02:50 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 5 2012, 04:31 PM)
I used to think I wont need a car, but saw some car adverts last year, price too good to miss, ichy backside and bought one. No regrets!

Wah one of the founding fathers (mothers?) is back in the thread biggrin.gif
TSdeodorant
post Jul 6 2012, 03:42 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 6 2012, 03:23 PM)
saw u other day at the Bedok community centre Hans  cool2.gif 
food there sux to max u know:shakehead:
move there recently, any good food u can recommend around bedok  rolleyes.gif

lol you should have come say Hi mah biggrin.gif

actually i don't think there is any much good food around here. And some more the food court underneath my unit got fire a month+ ago and until now still haven't re-opened. so ... Han's got air con, not too expensive, even tho food sucks also hantam the chicken chop only lor.

supposedly bedok interchange got a few famous and nice hawker food but uhhh ... maybe if u got singaporean taste buds then ok lor.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 9 2012, 10:46 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(maika_chan @ Jul 9 2012, 09:50 AM)
1. Any recommended telco plan for calls, 3G data (mobile) and wifi broadband bundle?  Or is it better to get a mobile phone plan and broadband separately?

Since you are here only short term, no point signing up for a postpaid contract. Just go with one of the prepaid cards like Starhub Green. Where are you staying while in SG? On such a short term thing I'm assuming your company is posting you here? Shouldn't the hotel/service apartment have wifi internet?
TSdeodorant
post Jul 9 2012, 11:38 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 9 2012, 11:16 AM)
Yes, i get my approve from MOM , long waited 6 days biggrin.gif , so next step is find hr?

Assuming HR applied for you, they should give you the IPA (In Principal Approval) letter. With this letter you can enter Singapore (use that normal 30 day white card) and start work liao. When you're working you may need to do Medical Checkup, then get HR to sign your IPA, then schedule an appointment with EPSC (Employment Pass Service Centre) to do the fingerprinting and process your EP Card.

Enjoy your stay here!
TSdeodorant
post Jul 9 2012, 01:50 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 9 2012, 12:50 PM)
The EP need take photo? on the spot or give them passport size photo?
sp means medical checkup must done in this week?  sad.gif

when you enter singapore you get a 30days white card. by the end of this 30 days you need to do the medical checkup, get HR to sign your IPA, and complete your formalities at EPSC. photo taking, just turn up at EPSC 15 min early, next to the office got photo taking service if u no have your own photo
TSdeodorant
post Jul 9 2012, 03:48 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(maika_chan @ Jul 9 2012, 03:10 PM)
Oh, then what are my options if i need internet on the go?  Thethering via my mobile phone?  Please and thank you smile.gif

What I did in my 1st month in SG was use starhub green and then buy add-on data packages.

rates here http://www.starhub.com/support/mobile/faq/...lueprepaid.html

Main problem is that they don't give you any sms or notification when your package expires, so got few times I kena didn't notice my package expire then the pay-as-you-go pricing kicks in and owns my $$ balance.

Added on July 9, 2012, 3:50 pm
QUOTE(bradshaw6861 @ Jul 9 2012, 03:45 PM)
I only have to save up for the first couple of mths for the sg rental-deposit

get soft loan from parents and/or relatives to fund the deposit then return it to them later lor.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jul 9 2012, 03:50 PM
TSdeodorant
post Jul 9 2012, 05:12 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Ern3st @ Jul 9 2012, 05:06 PM)
Hi Guys,
May I know what is the minimum expenses (SGD) that I would need if I'm working in Singapore? I would appreciate if anyone could mention some major cost such as rental, transportation and food.

1st post already list a rough estimate
TSdeodorant
post Jul 10 2012, 09:39 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(alvin8866 @ Jul 10 2012, 12:51 AM)
Does anyone here manage to get PR status via SP ( year 2012)?

I believe our very own JBKing fits this description. Not sure if it was 2012 or late 2011 though.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 10 2012, 03:08 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 10 2012, 01:23 PM)
U will still need to apply for it....no country will accept another diff country's driving license...

Errrr most countries make exemptions for tourists lah. Like Malaysians driving in SG, they drive with Malaysian license what. I've also rented (and drove) cars in Australia and UK using my Malaysian license.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 11 2012, 02:01 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 11 2012, 09:38 AM)
Should put this in the first thread. Useful info.

Done. Well, 2nd post, still 1st page tongue.gif
QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jul 11 2012, 12:39 PM)
i did that!
and they said too high sad.gif

Early on in your career, your bargaining power tends to be on the low side. The best way would be to find out what is the pay range for somebody in Singapore in your industry with your skills/experience, and use that as a guide.

Added on July 11, 2012, 2:02 pm
QUOTE(7up @ Jul 11 2012, 01:41 PM)
Guys, do you realise that malays here don't really like to talk BM? Have to always programme myself to talk english with them which is weird...

My landlord is Malay auntie. I speak to her in BM also she automatically reply me in English hehe.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jul 11 2012, 02:02 PM
TSdeodorant
post Jul 11 2012, 02:48 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 11 2012, 02:42 PM)
Co-broke means, tenant hv to pay commission (half month) to agent (agent represent yourself astenant) and landlord will pay half to his. Note that in Sg, agent not suppose to act for both parties. They can only take commission from one party.

not really leh. "Co broke" on a listing isn't really a message for the (prospective) tenant. It is a message to other agents that this particular listing already got tenant and landlord agents, so a "third" agent is not welcome.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0409sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:39 PM