Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

TSdeodorant
post Jul 11 2012, 03:09 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 11 2012, 02:55 PM)
So from what i understand for your sentence, if they state welcome Co-broke, mean they allow agent to help them? right? rclxub.gif

well, for example a landlord engage an agent, let's call him Agent A. then this agent go and pakat with his friend (also agent, called Agent B). Agent B then goes and lists the property on some website somewhere and he says "sorry agents, already co-broke" on the listing.

now enter you as the prospective tenant. If you see the listing, you call up Agent B, then if the deal goes through, Agent B will represent you and Agent A will represent the landlord.

or let's say that you lazy to do your own searching, and you engage an agent (agent C) to help you search. This Agent C will not even consider this property at all, because Agents A and B have already agreed to co-broke the deal together.

On the other hand, if the listing says "co-broke welcome," then it's a different scenario. In this case, Agent A has not made any exclusive arrangement with any other agent, so Agents B and C (and D, E, F ... Z) are all welcome to bring their prospective tenants to deal.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 13 2012, 09:59 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 13 2012, 09:54 AM)
Simei? The newly launched condo beside Simei mrt? Where to find $200k? blink.gif

seantang is the #1 elite in this thread lah, he where will buy $200k hdb?? he was just saying that the rest of us peons need to target $200k flats that are 10 mrt stops and 10 bus stops away from town biggrin.gif
TSdeodorant
post Jul 13 2012, 10:52 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 13 2012, 10:28 AM)
Simei IS 10 stops from town leh. It's all the way in the East, physically right next to Expo.

Yeah, 10 mrt stops from town is OK. I live in Bedok, 8 mins walk from MRT, just need 30mins to town, 35-40 to Orchard, which IMO is "close enough."

But 200k HDB's ... you'd need to stay 10 mrt stops plus 10 bus stops away, no? that would lengthen the journey considerably.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 13 2012, 10:55 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 13 2012, 10:53 AM)
It's better to get condo than you buy a hdb i think

It's also double the price for similar square feet tongue.gif
TSdeodorant
post Jul 13 2012, 03:21 PM

5,691 posts

I'm paying $2.3k/mth for my HDB rental now. It's worth maybe 450k on open market (guesstimate). 30 year loan on 390k at 1.5% (which is crazy high) is $1.345/mth. THAT much difference? hmm.gif Or am I miscalculating somewhere hmm.gif ...
TSdeodorant
post Jul 14 2012, 12:15 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jul 14 2012, 10:08 AM)
From your experience and generally the network of people you constantly have discussion with, do they make purchase based on current or potential income?

I would imagine the limiting factor for most people isn't the monthly repayments, but the amount of cash you need to save up for the downpayments for each property. I mean, like a HDB, I'd say most couples could easily afford the 1.5k or whatever monthly repayment. It takes a lot more discipline and financial planning to save up the (close to) 100k to actually buy it in the first place, though.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 14 2012, 01:37 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Jul 14 2012, 12:50 PM)
i) You can really see people even singaporeans themselves going with this move of buying landed here and travelling to SG everyday for working purposes. Logical thinking: would I live in a bird nest or in a landed property with gardens or bigger area FOR the same amount of money or lesser?

Depends on work place and work timing. To me doesn't make any sense to stay in JB if it means an extra 2-3 hours lost daily in the commute.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 17 2012, 05:26 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(johnnywzm @ Jul 17 2012, 04:40 PM)
can share how u guys here back KL by bus?
is it safe? trip took how long? suggested method to buy ticket? thx

Yes, it's quite safe. About 5 hours from SG to KL. Buy ticket online lor, popular/common bus companies are aeroline, transstar and first coach.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 19 2012, 09:36 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(masshimo @ Jul 18 2012, 10:43 PM)
Hello forum-er,
I remember I saw someone posted a link on the steps/procedure in application of employment pass in SG.
Any kind soul can share the link to me?

You don't apply for it. The company needs to apply for you.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 20 2012, 02:31 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Jul 20 2012, 02:00 PM)
If compare the living cost Singapore so much much much  better than malaysia la... Salary earn is about the same figure but the stuff in singapore half price of malaysia.. DAMN!! why the hell am i born in malaysia.. im so angry after see how good singapore is compare to malaysia..

obviously you haven't compared housing and car prices.

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 20 2012, 02:14 PM)
Seriously i wont do that...haha, get a portable bed since the place is only for sleep. noneed so nice bed..haha

Eh, for me, bed is damn important. Must have a nice comfortable one so that can sleep well and wake up next morning refreshed for work or whatever. Plus, lousy beds give you poor back support, neck support, etc and could cause all sorts of long term problems.

when i rented my current apartment i told the landlady i dun want any beds cos i wanna buy my own.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 20 2012, 02:57 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 20 2012, 02:44 PM)
there's things more important that housing and car prices. Like securities, political stabilities, corruptions index, health services, educations ....

Was commenting directly on wintersun's blanket "wah everything in SG is half the price of MY" statement. Just telling him / her to open eyes and look properly before jumping.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 20 2012, 05:26 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 20 2012, 05:12 PM)
in your opinion, where is a place to live comfortably as fresh grad ?

live in home town quite comfortable cos can stay in parents' house? biggrin.gif
TSdeodorant
post Jul 21 2012, 04:33 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jul 21 2012, 04:20 PM)
I applied on 17th (Tuesday).. Until now Saturday still pending. So sad

My EP application was pending for two weeks before it got approved. No point worrying yourself to death.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 23 2012, 10:25 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jul 23 2012, 10:12 AM)
i have no time to wait anymore after end of this month.

Why not? Money issue? Company won't wait? No matter what also you have to wait for approval of a Work Permit before you can start work what.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 24 2012, 02:26 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 24 2012, 12:29 PM)
Wow, some newbie here has been checking me out, just 5 post and trying to flame me?
Anyways, thank you for the compliment.

You sure it's not somebody you know IRL? That poster seems to have more ... personal information than any random forumer would have.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 24 2012, 05:09 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 24 2012, 03:41 PM)
the excitment will wear off then u back to malaysia most probably in 6 month time rolleyes.gif

lol so fast want to pour cold water liao ah? biggrin.gif

TSdeodorant
post Jul 24 2012, 06:06 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 24 2012, 05:31 PM)
eh time to organize another round of bbq since lot's of newbies going Sg work force this year.

Ask our resident singkaporean to book Costa Sands? The last round when we split two pits very mahfan have to keep walking up and down.

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 24 2012, 05:39 PM)
i dont think things in singapore are too expensive. Aside from car and housing, rest is very decent and affordable.

housing itself is enough to give a 'culture (wallet?) shock' to unsuspecting malaysians. my biggest mistake in coming over to SG was assuming that my GF (now fiancee) would get a job quickly and easily, so we happily decide to rent an entire hdb. turns out it wasn't as quick and easy as we expected icon_idea.gif ... in hindsight i would have gone for 2x rooms first, but oh well.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 25 2012, 09:48 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(elvenchou1987 @ Jul 24 2012, 09:46 PM)
Guys, wanna know what are the odds of getting PR approval without a sponsor?
Thinking of getting PR so that I can change job easier by next year. Is it a good idea?

PR chances are based on how long you have worked in SG, your salary & work pass type, employer, education credentials, and the mood of the particular person processing your application at the time.

For me I think you need to decide whether you plan to be in SG in the medium- to long-term. If yes, then PR application makes sense, otherwise not so much.

Do note that for West Malaysians, you can't get back your CPF until you 50 or 55 yrs old even if you renounce PR way before that.

Added on July 25, 2012, 9:53 am
QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jul 25 2012, 09:36 AM)
hi.
so if i get EP now. i don't have to pay EPF like in Malaysia? i can get the full salary every month?
i heard from some of my friends that they don't get the full salary every month.
please advise.
thanks.

No, you don't pay EPF. You should get your full salary every month. SG doesn't even have PCB (income tax deductions).

Although some ppl in this thread have said in the past that they kena 15% deduction from their company for first 6 months of work or something like that.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jul 25 2012, 09:53 AM
TSdeodorant
post Jul 25 2012, 11:11 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jul 25 2012, 11:02 AM)
made appointment with few agents ... this saturday going down singapore to look for room.
400-450 $ single small room hard to find ?

At that price range you're looking at REALLY small rooms in non-prime areas.

[edit] http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/ ... click "For Rent," set max price $500 then you can see an idea of what kind of location / size you will get for that money.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jul 25 2012, 11:13 AM
TSdeodorant
post Jul 25 2012, 02:38 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jul 25 2012, 02:35 PM)
ya. i thought i would be able to get the full salary every month.
then i saw some people in this thread said that they didn't get it.
guess i'll find out when i start working.
thanks.

This kind of crap normally only happens if you start work in the 2nd half of the year. If you work less than 182 (or 183? forgot) days in the year, you supposed to pay non-resident tax rates i.e. 15%, and some companies will automatically withhold that from your salary just in case you after few months cabut back to Malaysia. I guess they are then liable for the tax? I dunno.

Before you ask, even if you kena non resident 15% tax rate in your first (partial) year, the following year you can claim it back after you get tax resident status.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0468sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:38 AM