15 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Nokia Lumia 800 V2, The first real Windows Phone!

danielcmugen
post Aug 11 2012, 02:43 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(Fhaarkas @ Aug 11 2012, 01:48 AM)
I'm mainly looking for something thin and unnoticeable with full coverage (GadgetShieldz is 0.2mm thick, reportedly has little, if any, of the infamous 'orange peel' effect). How's Zagg? Looks like it costs an arm sweat.gif. GS is like 3 times cheaper..

Nice thread with user experience @xda - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1552518
Why not just use the rubber case that came together?
danielcmugen
post Aug 11 2012, 01:25 PM

5,538 posts

So later when I buy it, all also select Singapore right? Anything else I should do?

Added on August 11, 2012, 6:01 pmBought edi! rclxm9.gif TS add me in the user list, black colour.

Added on August 11, 2012, 6:53 pmHehe, made a signature. Simply chop chop 1. U all can use la. blush.gif
CODE
[IMG]http://i1096.photobucket.com/albums/g322/clearscreenprotector/done.jpg[/IMG]

This phone is so far so good but...
1) Stock keyboard sucks, so need to download new 1.
2) Stock browser sucks, also need to download.
3) Camera I dunno why quite hard to handle, shots always turn out shaky and I dunno when to take....it's like it focused edi then suddenly go back to non-focus. Need some time to get used to it.

^Update: They don't suck, it's just that I wasn't used to it. Now ok edi.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Aug 14 2012, 04:16 PM
danielcmugen
post Aug 11 2012, 10:16 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 11 2012, 07:38 PM)
where got hard

Eh dint know dragonfly also got suck the pollen thing! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
I try and upload the pics to com and see 1st.

Oh, how to know whether I'm on the latest OS version?
danielcmugen
post Aug 11 2012, 10:54 PM

5,538 posts

Is Malaysian marketplace okay? Or it is fully recommended to choose SG?

Nvm, just searched and Malaysian marketplace does seem really bad. I guess I'll go for SG.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Aug 12 2012, 12:02 AM
danielcmugen
post Aug 12 2012, 12:35 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 11 2012, 11:58 PM)
go to setting > about see your version

Latest for Lumia 900 and 610 is 8779

For Lumia 800 is 8773

Added on August 11, 2012, 11:59 pm

weird i never had such issue. Shouldnt heat up and restart. Any running apps that might cause this?
ok thx, mine is 8773. yay!
danielcmugen
post Aug 12 2012, 12:40 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 12 2012, 12:38 AM)
go download camera extras.

Its better to get SG marketplace

No.1  its in english and not in BM
No.2 you have access Xbox games.
No3 Cons you need pay in SGD
Pay in SGD no prob right? Just that the exchange rate is weak now...
danielcmugen
post Aug 12 2012, 02:40 AM

5,538 posts

What??? Secondary skl student can't use marketplace??? I registered an account and put my actual birth date, then I wanted to download apps and they said "Your account indicates that you're a kid, then dunno wat dun allow and all that". So now I'm trapped and the only way out is to reset the whole phone????? shakehead.gif doh.gif

Actually to be honest I'm not mad, but instead find it really funny...lulz. They think we still behave like kindergarten kids. laugh.gif

Ok done resetting.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Aug 12 2012, 02:41 AM
danielcmugen
post Aug 12 2012, 04:19 PM

5,538 posts

1) Whatsapp is asking for my phone number and I need to select the country. If I choose Malaysia, will it affect my SG marketplace?

2) How to monitor 3G data used?
danielcmugen
post Aug 12 2012, 06:05 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Aug 12 2012, 04:30 PM)
1) No, no purobelem, I'm using this also.

2) 3G data monitor? Go to Nokia collection and find Nokia Counter, else google search Nokialabs for that app.  smile.gif
1) Thx

2) How come I can't find it? rclxub.gif How to know whether I'm really in SG marketplace?
danielcmugen
post Aug 13 2012, 12:08 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Aug 12 2012, 06:09 PM)
head to http://www.windowsphone.com/marketplace and see the top right, it will jump you to your correct marketplace, provided that you have login.

Nokia Beta Labs
http://betalabs.nokia.com/
It stated there US. So can use Malaysian credit card buy apps straight away? Or still must use the "How to link Malaysian credit card into your Singapore Windows Live account" if I dun want local marketplace?

Hmm...before registering, firefox allowed me to surf in betalabs. But after registering, firefox keep sangkut. rclxub.gif I'll try it on other browser, thx.
danielcmugen
post Aug 13 2012, 05:25 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Aug 13 2012, 08:34 AM)
If you're login and you're directed to US Marketplace, and you have a working credit/debit card, by all means go ahead and purchase your app. But please do this on your browser to "test water" first.
I'm confused now, why does this guide exist?

Why need to susah2 change to SG and all that? Since by default it will bring u to the US marketplace, I'm not sure where it will head u to if your live account is registered under Malaysia since mine is SG. And...why the need of step 2 onwards? rclxub.gif I've only done step 1 and those xbox live thingy looks complete to me.

Let's say u register under Malaysian live account and it brings u to US marketplace by default. Assuming the user have never seen this guide, he would click "buy" to purchase an app. I've tried that and it asks u to add a credit card. Once u click "Add a credit card", it will ask u to sign in to your live acc and then key in your credit card details. It recognizes u as a Malaysian(mine SG since I registered under SG) user and got mastercard visa blablabla.

If can I wanna switch back to Malaysia liao, since still can use US marketplace. Unless after the credit card part, the marketplace switches to Malaysia? Anyone tried? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Aug 13 2012, 05:29 PM
danielcmugen
post Aug 14 2012, 03:49 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Aug 14 2012, 08:59 AM)
A long long time ago...

Malaysia marketplace is not there yet and doesn't live up to other more WP focused country thanks to the local rules and regulations, many apps have to resubmit their apps in order to be display in Malaysia Marketplace specifically so during the early days of WP7, we have to register a SG or US account to get the most out of the Marketplace.

For example, moBudget can be seen in US market but not in MY market because the team behind moBudget didn't really update their app on Marketplace, the same goes to many many other apps out there so you won't get the complete one. There are many restrictions for WP7 in Malaysia, stuff like the Bing audio search(not sure if this still exists), local scout, zune market, xbox live and some others.

Selecting an app on the US marketplace under a MY registered account will teleports you to MY marketplace.

And speaking of MY Marketplace, it's in bahasa malaysia.  laugh.gif
Thx. But how come selecting an app in the US marketplace under a SG registered account doesn't bring me to SG marketplace? sweat.gif

Added on August 14, 2012, 3:53 pm
QUOTE(David900924 @ Aug 14 2012, 02:34 PM)
what materials that make the phone heavy? kinda curious about it biggrin.gif
Poly carbonate body?? Not sure. But I was really surprised that this phone is heavier than iphone.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Aug 14 2012, 03:53 PM
danielcmugen
post Aug 14 2012, 04:14 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Aug 11 2012, 01:25 PM)
This phone is so far so good but...
1) Stock keyboard sucks, so need to download new 1.
2) Stock browser sucks, also need to download.
3) Camera I dunno why quite hard to handle, shots always turn out shaky and I dunno when to take....it's like it focused edi then suddenly go back to non-focus. Need some time to get used to it.
I pull back my words. Regret using the word "sucks" when I'm just not used to them. sweat.gif

1) I'm starting to get used to the keyboard now, athough I still miss my old swype keyboard(not cuz of swype, but the position of keys and all that). Can't find a replacement keyboard like it anyway.

2) I like the browser now, just wasn't used to it earlier.

3) Camera getting used to it and loving it! Although I couldn't take a macro shot as close as I used to on my ace. Dunno why aspire can go until so near, aspire ... icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Aug 14 2012, 05:56 PM
danielcmugen
post Aug 16 2012, 01:23 AM

5,538 posts

Am I the only 1 finding "the how near your phone can go in macro shots" not that good even on macro mode? Both scene and focus put macro also same. I tried 8mp, 7mp and 3mp also same. rclxub.gif

I see aspire's shots can go so near, it's meant to be like that or mine is defective? Or need gooding skill like aspire to make it work? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Aug 17 2012, 01:15 PM
danielcmugen
post Aug 16 2012, 02:27 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Aug 16 2012, 01:46 AM)
same here. if go near, it will blur and focus behind the thing. but if far a bit, can focus it.
Far a bit but small object also it focus on the background, haizz...shutter button or tap on object also same.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Aug 16 2012, 02:29 AM
danielcmugen
post Aug 16 2012, 03:16 PM

5,538 posts

-removed-
Dint check properly sorry.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Aug 16 2012, 10:31 PM
danielcmugen
post Aug 16 2012, 10:28 PM

5,538 posts

Aspire, close up mode = macro right?

Wait nvm, I just re-looked + tested and I think a few of them managed to focus as close as some of yours. But why that pic of 2 small flowers so hard to focus? Small objects... unsure.gif
danielcmugen
post Aug 16 2012, 10:49 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 16 2012, 10:36 PM)
the smaller the harder to focus because the camera do not have a macro lens it only have close up.
But from quite far away wor...
danielcmugen
post Aug 17 2012, 01:14 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(mutt @ Aug 17 2012, 12:47 PM)
New user here thumbup.gif
Welcome welcome! thumbup.gif
danielcmugen
post Aug 19 2012, 01:22 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(hottemper @ Aug 19 2012, 01:08 AM)
I got two questions~

1.Any recommended APPS for WP7?
2.Can play RMVB file?
1) Errr...

-Whatsapp
-Flashlight
-Barcode scanner
-Adobe reader
-Facebook
-Sticky tiles
-Stopwatch / Timer
-Youtube