129 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Trading Card Games Magic the Gathering, a TCG by WOTC

cheezzzz
post Oct 14 2006, 12:01 PM

610 posts

hey guys came upon this thread cuz I just played a game of magic yesterday and I thought maybe I could start getting serious in it again..

was a player around the millenium beginning with the age of urza's saga, and moved on to nemesis, mercenaries, prophecy, legacy and stopped at onslaught if not mistaken..

anyways, was wondering, are there tournaments for old decks? and do they still divide it by the 'type I' and 'type II' thing?

i've only one deck left breathing...

green deck with quick 1/1s.. 4 rancors... giant growths.. scent of ivys... blastoderms... hunted wumpuses.. basically fast stuff.. but i doubt it can take what the new cards have to offer nowadays.. even if it can.. the game as i heard it is, has diversified way more from its olden days..

glad to see it still being alive though!
ashburn98
post Oct 14 2006, 02:04 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Oct 14 2006, 12:01 PM)
hey guys came upon this thread cuz I just played a game of magic yesterday and I thought maybe I could start getting serious in it again..

was a player around the millenium beginning with the age of urza's saga, and moved on to nemesis, mercenaries, prophecy, legacy and stopped at onslaught if not mistaken..

anyways, was wondering, are there tournaments for old decks? and do they still divide it by the 'type I' and 'type II' thing?

i've only one deck left breathing...

green deck with quick 1/1s.. 4 rancors...  giant growths.. scent of ivys... blastoderms... hunted wumpuses.. basically fast stuff.. but i doubt it can take what the new cards have to offer nowadays.. even if it can.. the game as i heard it is, has diversified way more from its olden days..

glad to see it still being alive though!
The current mtg format will be like this (after Oct Rotation):
Type 2: Ravnica block (2005), Coldsnap set (2006), Time Spiral block (2006) and 9th Ed (2005)

Extended: Invasion block (2001) and up (Odyssey, Onslaught, Mirrodin, etc)

Type 1.5 or Type 1 : Everything.

=======================================

Local tourny scene (generalization) is:
One year = 10-11 months Type 2 and 1-2 months Extended

Or you can play Casual. If you are in KL near Low Yat or Ampang then we can meet up and have some Casual games.
Ah Shawn
post Oct 15 2006, 03:02 PM

512 posts

hi guys,i'm new ere.i juz wanna ask if there r any places offering tournament's based on old blocks in kl???thx
cheezzzz
post Oct 16 2006, 06:41 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Oct 14 2006, 02:04 PM)
The current mtg format will be like this (after Oct Rotation):
Type 2: Ravnica block (2005), Coldsnap set (2006), Time Spiral block (2006) and 9th Ed (2005)

Extended: Invasion block (2001) and up (Odyssey, Onslaught, Mirrodin, etc)

Type 1.5 or Type 1 : Everything.

Local tourny scene (generalization) is:
One year = 10-11 months Type 2 and 1-2 months Extended

Or you can play Casual. If you are in KL near Low Yat or Ampang then we can meet up and have some Casual games.
arghh... my green deck would be useless by now! no matters, i'll still try to enter a local tourney.. i live around pj area... going to the closest MTG tourney area.. comics corner! thanks for the info ashburn98! really appreciate it!

evofantasy
post Oct 16 2006, 07:06 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Oct 16 2006, 06:41 PM)
arghh... my green deck would be useless by now! no matters, i'll still try to enter a local tourney.. i live around pj area... going to the closest MTG tourney area.. comics corner! thanks for the info ashburn98! really appreciate it!
still can play extended though...
its is fun playing extended as its totally different from standard...

i ran a extended redblack deck with oversoul cemetary, gravepact and sieggang commander...
combo is sieggang + gravepact...
sac tokens to deal damage and with gravepact effect opponent sac a monster...
btw tokens goes to grave before RFG...
so this combo is legal...
fat_lip2525
post Oct 18 2006, 06:42 PM

we can be heroes, just for one day...
676 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 12 2006, 05:25 PM)
ya so blue is getting the boost now sadly...
i'll make a deck with 4 char and 4 blast =p
then use magnivore to win maybe...
blue red counterbalance =p
the blast is good as its 3 mana cost thus can use it in counterbalance...

any other good colours besides blue?
i kidna like black...
love sudden death a lot!
the land artwork nice as well (love the swamp)
Wah shocking.gif 4 char and 4 Blast is gonna cost you a lot tongue.gif

BTW, how does sudden death/shock works ah? Pardon my n00bness for I have stop since Torment sweat.gif
Holi^oNe
post Oct 19 2006, 01:06 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(fat_lip2525 @ Oct 18 2006, 06:42 PM)
Wah shocking.gif  4 char and 4 Blast is gonna cost you a lot tongue.gif

BTW, how does sudden death/shock works ah? Pardon my n00bness for I have stop since Torment sweat.gif
The Char's won't be too expensive. The Psi Blasts *ahem*.

Sudden Death / Shock works like this.

If any split second cards are played. They have upmost priority and will resolve first. You can't play instants or non-mana abilities in response to a split second spell.
fat_lip2525
post Oct 19 2006, 04:08 PM

676 posts

QUOTE(Holi^oNe @ Oct 19 2006, 01:06 AM)
The Char's won't be too expensive. The Psi Blasts *ahem*.

Sudden Death / Shock works like this.

If any split second cards are played. They have upmost priority and will resolve first. You can't play instants or non-mana abilities in response to a split second spell.
Oh thanks for the explaination...So both of the cards can't be countered and misdirected is it? Seems like a very good card.
evofantasy
post Oct 19 2006, 06:50 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

actually ppl can make good decks using suspend...
kidna found a way to make full use of suspend...
suspend something then clear field with cards and boom win...
but if ppl have counter spell haih...
wasted only like remand!
btw split second is an awesome keyword for cards...
well timed sudden death totally pwns!

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Oct 19 2006, 06:51 PM
afosz
post Oct 21 2006, 04:32 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

split second can't be countered is it?what about suspend?if can be countered, when is it?during pay the suspend cost or after all the time counters have been removed?

there are good decks with suspend, extended or legacy maybe but not type 2..suspend Durkwood Baloth and Greater Gargadon with some land accelerator like Yavimaya Elder, then Obliterate!!

ashburn98
post Oct 22 2006, 08:26 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Oct 21 2006, 04:32 PM)
split second can't be countered is it?what about suspend?if can be countered, when is it?during pay the suspend cost or after all the time counters have been removed?
Split Second can be countered. Morph up cards like Voidmage Apprentice and Willbender (timeshifted) can deal with it. You can counter via Counterbalance as well.

Suspend can be countered at the upkeep it comes into play (when the last counter is removed)

Imho, Suspend (as a theme) won't make it in Extended or Legacy. One or two individual card might be decked but not as a theme for the whole deck (Affinity or U/G madness)

This post has been edited by ashburn98: Oct 22 2006, 08:27 AM
battousai_yiting
post Oct 22 2006, 10:27 PM

705 posts

hmmm i wonder what kind of deck will avatar of woe be played in haha

interested to see that card come back

same goes for akroma

i am totally out of ideas for type 2

altough i have tons of ideas for |fun| decks haha
fat_lip2525
post Oct 24 2006, 09:18 AM

676 posts

Anyone letting go some psychatog, isochron scepters and mana leaks? Prefer 4 of a kind. Very hard to find backdated cards these days sad.gif
battousai_yiting
post Oct 24 2006, 10:48 AM

705 posts

i have 1 psychatog lost the rest

3 isochron scepters 1 foil

and 4 mana leaks

pm me

why dun u use remand ???
counterbalance
post Oct 25 2006, 02:56 AM

Is there anywhere that i can play magic at nite beside wolf's shop? as in standard games or drafts perhaps? May be extended as well coz the upcoming season will be extended season until begining next year..
carlsuen
post Oct 26 2006, 03:56 PM

838 posts

yeah i have 4 mana leaks too.. PM me with pricec if u want them.. they're in mint condition..
retep
post Oct 27 2006, 03:22 AM

30 posts

I've just repickup this game again few days ago after many years of not playing. I've not yet played a game yet but I've already constructed a black-red, type 2 deck. Where/what time do you guys usually play?
ezralimm
post Oct 27 2006, 01:53 PM

LGBTQQIP2SAA+
2,715 posts

I wanna start playing magic again. Stopped when i went to college. Now im on a 4 month break smile.gif

Started at Tempest.. Stopped at Nemisis.

Looking for some casual play but dunno where. My usual friends are no longer around (no, they are still alive.. but somewhere else lar). Hmm, i think i'll start a thread on this.

ashburn98
post Oct 28 2006, 03:32 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(ezralimm @ Oct 27 2006, 01:53 PM)
I wanna start playing magic again. Stopped when i went to college. Now im on a 4 month break smile.gif
Started at Tempest.. Stopped at Nemisis.
Looking for some casual play but dunno where. My usual friends are no longer around (no, they are still alive.. but somewhere else lar). Hmm, i think i'll start a thread on this.
While a Casual player myself, Shah Alam too far for me. Good luck to you finding 'kaki' smile.gif
retep
post Oct 28 2006, 09:49 PM

30 posts

Anyone knows if there's any shops still running the Friday Night Magic event?

So far I've been told that the Wolf's have theirs on Wednesday nights, though it seems there's more Warhammer than Magic players in that small shop. I've the Wizards' website and sadly, it seems that Comic Corners no longer runs the event (someone please tell me it's not true), and ironically there's more emphasis on Pokemon in that store. Damn kids.

129 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:07 PM