Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

azbro
post Jun 30 2012, 10:24 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Jun 30 2012, 10:13 AM)
I think all are busy enjoying their ride now.

I would like to ask, how do we raise the wiper so that it won't be in contact with the windscreen? It seems that the hood is blocking the wiper if we don't want the wiper to be in contact with the windscreen.

Please also share your fuel consumption. Mine indicate 9.2 km/l, 50% town, 50 highway.
You mean those type R wiper lifters? I also wanna know.

Anyway, during car wash, I've seen ppl purposely on the wiper until it is vertical and quickly off the engine, that way can clean the bottom windscreen easier.
azbro
post Jul 20 2012, 10:47 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jul 20 2012, 08:33 PM)
Apparently if you run your new engine hard during the break in period,it is claimed the engine moulds in to a better fit and improves performance.

Added on July 20, 2012, 9:04 pm
A question for sifus:
Mine is the turbo. I found the car quite bumpy at speeds above 130kph. I know the sports tuned suspension is stiffer and undulating roads conditions may cause this effect. Can this effect be reduced by normal tyres,at the moment it's on low profile. If so,what would be best tyres. I don't mind the handling compromise,if any, in this case.
Goodyear F1 Asymmetric 2 ?

And check your tire pressure again.

But since i drive my 308 very fast, I never set the pressure lower because rear of car will be bottoming quite hard at high speed / uneven highway (like Pasir Gudang ). But I think in KL are mostly smooth highways. Example, some set the car to F36 R36, some like F36 R34, SC sets the car to F40 R40 (!). But in the end, the psi sticker shown at the door is the best one to set it to.

This post has been edited by azbro: Jul 21 2012, 05:31 AM
azbro
post Jul 21 2012, 05:41 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(kevinboey86 @ Jul 21 2012, 12:31 AM)
Hi guys....bad news...my 408 turbo central locking is causing so much problem now......when in the car i cant lock the car with the central locking button at the center panel. It will say front right door open when its obviously closed. When i off the engine and get down from the car i cant lock the car with the remote. It will not lock. If i use my key to lock it manually only the driver's door is lock but the back pessenger door can stillĀ  be open

So now currently my car is consider unlock. Really bad luck with this car.......either is bad unlucky or really peugeot car quality is really terrible....car just 1 month but already 2 times masuk SC
Try pressing the remote (lock) about 6~7 secs. Let go, Then press again (lock) for a few seconds.
Works?

Added on July 21, 2012, 5:46 am
QUOTE(lowpro @ Jul 20 2012, 06:54 PM)
as for the slight left veering, it is normal for psa products. citroen has this mentioned in their promo brochure in singapore. they added that if it were to be corrected, it could lead to pre-mature tyre wear.
For the veering left issue, it's the same with 308, so far I send to Plentong JB to repair it and I can say they did a good job. I dunno what they did. But it's nothing to do with alignment or tire pressure. The Service guy tell me they known how to solve it, even I remain sceptical, after I try the car it's true they solved it. But I dunno other SC.

Other thing is for those that get crazy vibration on the steering wheel above 130kmh, and it still happens after balancing and alignment, what you do is 'cross' the wheels.

This post has been edited by azbro: Jul 21 2012, 05:48 AM
azbro
post Aug 9 2012, 09:13 PM

4,403 posts

Seriously, I do not trust the FC meter smile.gif

Try filling the car to full....lets say it will show 460km to go. Also, reset one of the trip meter to 0. Now drive...after a few days...check and see whether the km left + trip meter = 460..hehe..mine half tank oledi drop to 420 smile.gif
azbro
post Aug 11 2012, 06:08 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Aug 11 2012, 05:59 AM)
My previous car (1.6cc, carburetor engine) does not have FC indication. What I did was, when I filled up the tank to RM50, average km it will go is 250. I did the same when driving my 408 as it provide me with a better picture of FC rather than relying solely on FC indication. And guess what, I get around the same figure (220 - 250 km) when my RM50 filled tank on 408NA is empty (not including reserve tank).

But I make it a habbit to view the FC indicator to gauge how my driving style is affecting the FC.
RM50 = 200~250km?...must try on my 308...I fell my car is freaking thirsty.

thx
azbro
post Aug 11 2012, 03:13 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Pogostik @ Aug 11 2012, 02:54 PM)
My 308T fuel consumption is also around that figure. I always re-fuel from the first low fuel warning till the tank is full. That would cost me around RM95 for RON95. I would get around 400 ~ 450 KM of mileage. 100% city driving.
Trying to get those figures...currently 420km if plus km left and mileage meter...will update when there is a fuel low
warning
azbro
post Sep 2 2012, 08:42 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(ken_twh @ Sep 1 2012, 05:48 PM)
http://www.autoworld.com.my/v2/news/nb_det...=RT.ATC.CAR.BTW

While it is probably fair to assume that the crowd looking at a 308 Turbo is likely to put cornering prowess above comfort in their list of priorities, but the fact is that the Focus sacrificed a lot less comfort than the 308 to achieve similar levels of handling levels.

308 is never a smooth car to begin with, engine feels very 'mechanical' and suspension is bumpy, not as bumpy as those modified suspension using hard springs and absorbers...but still..bumpy
azbro
post Nov 2 2012, 04:59 PM

4,403 posts

Those at JB that have 'pulling to the left' issue can go to Nasim Plentong to do....when I sent my 308 there, the service man very confident how to solve it...it was actually done without any balancing or alignment (I know because there dun have tire service)....and its got nothing to do with tire pressure,
azbro
post Nov 2 2012, 05:26 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Nov 2 2012, 05:14 PM)
Bro care to explain how it was done. Maybe we can try here in KL!
I didn't ask him blush.gif

Anyway, next month when I sent to them for service I ask him.

What I know is its nothing gotta do with Alignment and Balancing or tire pressure.
azbro
post Nov 14 2012, 09:40 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(dashot @ Nov 14 2012, 09:30 PM)
jfcheong, Thanks for the info!
Is your car adapted to your driving style now?
You can actually 'force' it to adapt to your driving style!
Its called 'Gearbox Reset' whatever..

It works on many peugeot...not sure the 408....on my 308 works like a charm.

I hope some 408 owners can try it out...
1. Go back home....off the engine
2. Wait for ALL the lights to dim down completely....most of the time, it will be the center dashboard display that will dim the last.
3. After all the interior lights are completely off...quickly press the accelerator fully down for 15secs.

Next day, drive the car aggressively...you will notice the gearbox is more 'flexible'

Not sure it will work on the 408T because I heard it changes gears at a pre-set speed.

azbro
post Dec 14 2012, 03:30 PM

4,403 posts

Just sharing some info between Pug brothers,

There have been many cases of 308 gearbox becoming jerky after going through a puddle or flood....

Reason was found out that the gearbox is NOT actually sealed, there is a small opening for dunno what (some call it filler, some call it breather)...water can go through it...need to change GB oil.....anyway, the cure was to fit a RM7 (!) hose to it, make it its at least 1.5meter long so that can go into the engine compartment. SC will do everything....
Later I upload pictures....Not sure if 408 also have similar GB issues. Just sharing info...

Cheers

Pictures are only of the Hose that was added leading into the opening of the GB
They simply tie with cable tie..but it works
But pictures of the hose at the GB end was not taken

Pictures taken from FB Peugeot 308 Club of Malaysia...thx to Jeffrey

This post has been edited by azbro: Dec 14 2012, 11:55 PM
azbro
post Dec 14 2012, 11:46 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Dec 14 2012, 11:26 PM)
Please upload picture. 408 shared a lot of DNA of 308... Am sure we will sense something similar... So far for me, after driven thru a puddle of water.. After making stop the acceleration makes funny airy sound.. And if I stop completely and depresses my brakes... It makes funny gas sound.. And yes the sound emits from the gearbox
Added pictures...not sure if your case is related or not...but most complain its jerky...some of us are shocked to know our GB aint 'waterproof'...and bad news is if you do google (search "Peugeot gearbox flood) for it, you'll find its an issue not only for the 308T..even the AL4 kena

This post has been edited by azbro: Dec 14 2012, 11:53 PM
azbro
post Dec 18 2012, 11:04 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Dec 18 2012, 10:52 AM)
I'm quite surprised by the comment. 301 is a lot smaller than the 408. Looks like a baby 508,thought it's a good 207 sedan replacement!

Btw, future Pugs will end with the number 1 or 8. 1 indicates budget model while 8 indicates luxury! Hence 301 steering looks plain.
Probably my dad gonna get the 301, gonna replace his 207, hope got 5+5 same like the 207
azbro
post Dec 19 2012, 01:16 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 19 2012, 12:04 PM)
Well said. I agree completely!  rclxms.gif
Sad to say, our Pugs fare no better with locally assembled
azbro
post Dec 22 2012, 08:38 PM

4,403 posts

[quote=RON408,Dec 22 2012, 07:40 PM]
If they charged u for the light bulb for 1st 2500 km inspection. Then tear down their 5 year warranty claim banner before u pay them. Some folks here have their battery change FOC because it is unnaturally to have light bulb burnt so fast and battery so per-maturely burnt out

[/quote]

Just sharing my 1st 2500km inspection checklist:

(1) bulb (RHS) replaced amounted RM6.20. sad.gif
(2) rattle sound came from left passengers - discovered screw for sun visor was slightly un tighten. (No rattle sound anymore). smile.gif
(3) ask for checking battery condition - was checked n in good condition. smile.gif
(4) scratching sound when applied break pedal (break pad) - still exist. sad.gif

Check-in at 10.30am n finish at 1pm. Balakong SC

Cheers.

[/quote]

My 308 battery was also all good...that's until after 10K KM...then all hell broke loose, I've used the car for 10 months...3rd battery oledi...lucky its still free

The scratching sound will go away...i'm sure..dun worry

This post has been edited by azbro: Dec 22 2012, 08:38 PM
azbro
post Jan 1 2013, 12:46 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ Dec 31 2012, 06:07 PM)

More than a dozen people have fitted the tuning box to their thp140 and thp156, but no thp163 yet as far as i know..
I've been in a 308T with tuning box....vs my stock 308T.....my opinion...Unless you put your foot down (hard acceleration and overtaking)....there are little or no difference...slight difference is the cars feels lighter... tongue.gif

Buy it if you like to drive fast...get the tuning box. Its the easiest mod...only thing I would recommend while using the Tuning box is using Total oil, better plugs, K&N filters, VW BOV and better brake pads...
azbro
post Jan 3 2013, 10:16 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Jan 3 2013, 05:18 PM)
Oil leak from the pcv hose on the end connecting to the intake manifold. This is common for prince engines
same with my 308T...even after cutting and using Clips...same also..but there is nothing to be worried about...
azbro
post Jan 5 2013, 10:52 AM

4,403 posts

I tot got sms saying Peugeot 408 1.6 turbo discount 8K with euro kit (new price 128888)?
azbro
post Jan 5 2013, 12:20 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(RON408 @ Jan 5 2013, 11:05 AM)
Seems like not much difference on appearance except spoiler & slightly on skirting.

Yeah, there are a few 308T running around with Euro kits, bought directly from UK...must say, there are not very visible...very thin looking skirtings...unlike those "in your face" type of Beng Wira Spoilers were normally see here biggrin.gif

Anyway, not sure if its similar looking...

Here is a picture of 308T using Euro kit
Thx to Aaron Low from FB for the image

Looks quite similar I think, but not sure of the materials used, afaik, Nasim will not fit anything that doesn't get approval by Peugeot France:
Picture from Peugeot Malaysia

This post has been edited by azbro: Jan 5 2013, 12:25 PM
azbro
post Jan 15 2013, 07:58 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jan 15 2013, 07:28 PM)
First day owning 408T? Straight pump full tank at Caltex, excited ya. Slowly slowly drive back to home, was wonder how can I drove so carefully. Yet, no time to explore much after reach home as it was already night time. Just take my wife and son for a ride near my house.

Took leave on the next day, touch here touch there, read trough the owner manual: p
My 308T loves BHP...smooth when idling

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0571sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:27 AM