Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

Bearheart
post Oct 7 2012, 09:29 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Oct 7 2012, 06:05 PM)

Hehehe......good one bro. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Oct 7 2012, 07:11 PM)

Agree with SKYjack. Good one!
I'm enjoying this forum!

Btw guys, can a start/stop button be fixed on our Lion? Wanna make it faster to start the car at night, ;-).
Bearheart
post Oct 8 2012, 12:04 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Oct 8 2012, 09:29 AM)
And she has even given a guy the GTFO.......superb.... hehehe! But this fellow so dum la,still poking his nose in our backsides!

Actually, I think it's OK to have criticisms mah. It's good to have multiple viewpoints which will broaden our perspective. We're all adults here. We can take dissenting views and accept them.

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Oct 8 2012, 09:29 AM)

Added on October 8, 2012, 9:44 am
Possible,you can also add brake  pedal auto lock. As soon as you hit the brakes the doors lock automatically. The only problem here is it will affect the 5 year warranty.
Thanks, where and what brand of start stop button is that?

At the moment, the doors do lock automatically after starting to drive off. That's adequate for me already.

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Oct 8 2012, 11:15 AM)
Well, I choose to skip certain posts that I don't like. Haha!  Just don't wanna spoil my mood over here just bcoz somebody's post.

Regarding the warranty, still rmb the plug and play OEM I mentioned before? I checked with the front desk of SC last weekend. They can't gave a confirm ans whether it void the warranty.
Thanks for the feedback. Do update if there's any news.

And true, no need to get too upset. Just ignore if I don't like to read something. :-P

Bearheart
post Oct 8 2012, 10:43 PM

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Oct 8 2012, 10:34 PM)
B e w a r e ! Owning a Peugeot has side effect... Picking up the infamous French temperament !!! You get the snobbish n arrogant,the sensitive , the sensual and occasionally the very feisty French- dare I say-maid. N suddenly everyone developed a big cat tail n before u know it I step on yours u step on mine all hell breaks loose.  Any way I have sum thing depressing to report. Hit my week old pug on the KESAS highway on some stupid lorry's torn out big lump of tyre rubber thread. Now my front bottom fencer suffer some considerable damage . Am sending to 4s tomorrow morning to assess the damage n pay for it... What a bummer
Aiyo, really a bummer. Sakit hati.

Added on October 8, 2012, 11:36 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 8 2012, 06:44 PM)
Btw, do u know why the Peugeot Malaysia Facebook page only has less than 63K likes?
63K 'likes' are surprisingly more than I expected to see, eh? Hehe.

Hypothesis : possibly cos most Peugeot drivers tend to be a more mature lot who tend to express their 'like' for FB pages infrequently?

This post has been edited by Bearheart: Oct 8 2012, 11:36 PM
Bearheart
post Oct 9 2012, 08:53 AM

QUOTE(Termibait @ Oct 9 2012, 07:27 AM)
Read about Kwan thai's predicament. His 508 won't start engine (start/stop engine press type). Peugeot sent a technician and after 10 hours of repairing, the car was not spared to be towed away to sc. Now it has been sitting there for a mont or so I think with peugeot giving no assurance when it will be returned to owner in working condition.
Kwan made numerous calls and postings on Peugeot fb only to be deleted and banned by peugeot fb administrator. Mind you, his car was less then 1 week old when it broke down. He was asking for a brand new 508 as a replacement as the sc could not make it works.
Any lawyer here who knows that if a car less than 30 days old is not moving and can't be repaired given stipulated time allows car owner to demand for a new car for replacement? Kwan asked.

Pity him.....Jessyeo, u better think twice before modifying the engine start stop button. Somehow rather I am quite pestered by kwan's predicament.

Added on October 9, 2012, 7:32 amLinked to kwan's fb.

Added on October 9, 2012, 7:32 amhttp://www.facebook.com/kwan.hanzai
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 9 2012, 07:50 AM)
Sorry to hear. But u might wanna check outside spare part shops for this. Not really worth going to Peugeot and spending big bucks since warranty wont affect.

Added on October 9, 2012, 7:52 am

Just click on his name in FB and his post is there. But he didnt really put alot of details. But it would be good for all Peugeot owners to keep track since its a potential problem on all Peugeots. Plus it would give you an insight into how efficient Nasim's after sales service really is.
Thanks for the info. All of us should pay attention to the way that the problem is being handled. That will make them sit up and act on consumer complaints. It's the way a business handles complaints that shows its true colours.

P. S. That was me asking about the start-stop button.

Peugeot Malaysia, are you listening?

Added on October 9, 2012, 9:01 am
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 9 2012, 07:50 AM)
I would say that for BMW, Merc or Audi but maybe not for Peugeot. Many of the current Peugeot lineup is catered for the younger generation.
I think that you might have confused matured with luxurious.

This post has been edited by Bearheart: Oct 9 2012, 09:01 AM
Bearheart
post Oct 9 2012, 09:49 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 9 2012, 09:06 AM)
Nope no confusion. It just so happen that those are also luxury brands but nevertheless not lacking in maturity either.  biggrin.gif
Just so happens that some people think that having a luxurious brand is synonymous with maturity. Haha.

Btw, what's your take on why there are ONLY 63K likes on the Peugeot Malaysia Facebook page?
Bearheart
post Oct 9 2012, 11:27 AM

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Oct 9 2012, 10:42 AM)
Let's be fair though, 3 weeks and no response or solution is still really quite bad. At the very least, if his SA offered him a courtesy car, it would have at least generated less ill will. I really pity the owner, no one wants to get a lemon and it's quite unfortunate he's been hit with one.
Yup, at least a courtesy car and better communication please.
Bearheart
post Oct 9 2012, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Oct 9 2012, 01:42 PM)
Wow damage is rm2.6 k  initial assessment by balakong actually cheras jaya centre. Got to wait for parts n leave car for 4 days... But need to get  parts arrival first.  Workmanship n spraying alone cost RM950.00!  If opt to replace the whole front bumper will cost 4k++ (just parts alone)
Wow, ok... That reminds me to drive more carefully.

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 9 2012, 01:48 PM)
Just get it done outside. Its pointless spending so much of your own money on this.
I'd get it done outside too. Is there some sort of special material in the original?
Bearheart
post Oct 9 2012, 11:56 PM

QUOTE(Termibait @ Oct 9 2012, 11:29 PM)
Dear bearheart and Jessyeo,
My apology for the mistake. smile.gif

Now I have phobia of thinking will my car breakdown halfway.....aiyoooo...buying this car should make me worry less and happy more...
No problem, looks like I'm more interested in modding the inside than out. :-P

Not yet though, cos dunno what will void the warranty.

Added on October 10, 2012, 12:22 am
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 9 2012, 11:57 AM)
Maybe demand driven?  hmm.gif
Hmmm... You're not trolling, are you?

Facebook likes :-P

Kia Malaysia 135k
Mercedes Malaysia 89k
Peugeot Malaysia 63K
Proton 60k
Honda Malaysia 58k
BMW Malaysia 41k
Hyundai Malaysia 14k
Toyota official FB page is nonexistent, but the sum of vios, altis and hilux page likes is 60k.

By eyeballing these figures, I don't think it correlates with demand in terms of cars on the road. Probably just means that it appeals more to FB users.

Plus, apparently 63K is no small number.

This post has been edited by Bearheart: Oct 10 2012, 12:22 AM
Bearheart
post Oct 10 2012, 06:54 AM

QUOTE(jessyeo @ Oct 10 2012, 12:47 AM)
No problem, just be peace of mind. 5 year warranty is good enough la. Car are mean like tear and wear. Its sure breakdown 1day. Just hope that wont breakdown during rainy days only. haha..

Added on October 10, 2012, 12:50 am

wah, you really go search 1 by 1? Normally I just ignore some people post nonsense stuff. btw, if you manage to modding inside. Share with us ya.  smile.gif
Lol, it made me curious. Hehe. Sure will share.
...and will also share whether it killed the electronics :-P

Added on October 10, 2012, 6:55 am
QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Oct 10 2012, 05:40 AM)
All in All no buyer remorse. Car is really fantastic...
+1!!

This post has been edited by Bearheart: Oct 10 2012, 06:55 AM
Bearheart
post Oct 10 2012, 07:36 AM

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Oct 10 2012, 07:12 AM)
Good sets of number but
Since when we need FB "likes" dictate anything in our life... Our choice? If I care too much what other likes or don't , I won't b driving a fantastic car today, would I?
Yup, my point exactly. *thumbs up*

Added on October 10, 2012, 7:50 amEven I like the Kia Malaysia page, the admin did a good job of sharing items that interest motoring enthusiasts. A good example of a well run FB page. ;-)

This post has been edited by Bearheart: Oct 10 2012, 07:50 AM
Bearheart
post Oct 11 2012, 01:55 PM

QUOTE(victor_hoh @ Oct 11 2012, 01:15 PM)
Last time, when I called Careline for my battery problem, a guy from a shop in Old Klang Road came all the way to my place in Kepong. I asked him how come not someone nearer is coming, because I waited more than 1 hour for him. He told me a reason that I am not going to share, and I think it is valid. You guys take a guess.

P/S: It has something to do with what SKYjack has mentioned, which is the outsourcing of the support job.
Cheapest izzit?
Bearheart
post Oct 11 2012, 10:21 PM

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Oct 11 2012, 08:39 PM)
...but I still can't beat the great feeling of anticipation whenever I step into my car like it is going to take me to great places...
What a feeling!!
Bearheart
post Oct 15 2012, 11:59 AM

QUOTE(rnans @ Oct 14 2012, 11:03 PM)
Dear SkyJack

I own a 408 Turbo too
Ist service is due in another 500 km

My car doesnt pull to the left and I have no rattle i the door
But I am extremely unhappy with the gear changing behaviour and I do agree that there is no adaptive component to the gearbox. My car changes gears at a ridiculous fixed interval of 15 Km /h

IE 1st to 2nd at 15kmh, 2nd to third at 30 kmh , 3rd to 4th at 45 kmh, 4th to 5th at 60 kmh and 5th to 6 th at 75 kmh
( the central locking activeates at 15 kmh and youll find 1st to 2nd gear changes accompanied by the locking at the exact same time!!!)

and depending on the exact gear ratios the rpm from 1st to 2nd on levell ground is around 2000 rpm, 2nd to 3rd around 2.1k and the most irritating is waiting for the 4th gear which will invariably be around 2500 rpm, wasteful and the engine labors for nothing. THis in turn makes my 408 rather thirsty since these gear changes mentioned above, are for light and gentle driving, drive the engine harder and they will change even slower, forget about trying sports mode its even ghanges at 3500 sometimes. Adaptive means its supposed to learn your driveing style and change gears accordingly, this one doesnt do that at all, its all fixed speeds and if you are on a slope or pressing down hard it'll be slower.  the 14 l/100 km someone quoted is very accurate. I also own an old MB CLK 230 K(2000 model year), This car changes gears at 1800rpm if u drive gently, and every time my wife uses it for a few days my car will behave differently when I use it again, gear change speeds etc, seems that women tend to drive nore agressively, But with the peugeot no diff when I use it after some time being used by her...
Conclusion, car is designed without taking into consideration the low end torque which maxes at 1400rpm to 6000 rpm
Transmission control module if any should be retuned to take advantage of the engine characteristics, seems that the current D mode should be renamed as sports mode. THey should program a D which is eco friendly and which takes use of the good low end torque of the engine, what a shame
I am sure they will turn a deaf year on me regarding the "auto-adaptive" complaint

Take care
Hi rnans,

I read your previous thread and I agree with you. The engine revs higher than my usual driving style. It's great for a while cos it's exhilarating. :-)

However, for the long run, I'd like the gears to be a bit tamer. :-P

So, how does one scientifically show that the gears are non-adaptive?

Added on October 15, 2012, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(SKYjack @ Oct 15 2012, 09:33 AM)
Hi bro rnans. Tks for informing me of our non adaptive gearbox behaviour. Glad to hear your car is free of the small QC problems most of face. The left pull and little rear rattle are still there on my car. Will report again on my next service.

Yes I think nearly all of us face this gearbox behaviour. To be frank I hardly notice the RPM during each change cos the gears are very smooth. It was only after  reading about this that I decided to check and found our so called adaptive gearbox is actually non adaptive.

Had reported it on the 1st inspection. You are right it only fell into deaf ears. This was at Geoauto in PJ. The guy at the front desk did not even understand the word adaptive gearbox. I suppose you can't blame him,he's only front desk clerk. An older Indian gentleman came along to his help,at least he understood technical language. The claimed fix is not a fix. My gears still behave in the same manner. IMO it needs a TCU update. But when you have people who don't understand the complaint,maybe it would be better to leave it as it is. The gears are so very smooth,I fear they'll screw it, then I endup in a worst situation. So this is a  dilemma for me if I want address it or just live with it! It is not a problem,but a loss in effeciency!

Try Balakong, it being the nerve Center, chances of a fix is probable.If you do get it fixed,let us know. I'm sure all bros with 408t will be keen!  Take care and good luck bro.
What's TCU?

Yup, keen!

This post has been edited by Bearheart: Oct 15 2012, 12:56 PM
Bearheart
post Oct 16 2012, 08:52 AM

May I declare that my Toyota Innova's auto gearbox is the smoothest?

Cos it is. Just go easy on the throttle. VERY easy.

Ok, maybe next to Honda City's CVT.

:-P

Added on October 16, 2012, 8:56 am
QUOTE(Termibait @ Oct 16 2012, 08:51 AM)
Same thing happen to my 408t. Sometimes feel a bit embarrassed with passenger on board due to the not so smooth gear changing that create jerkiness...
Credit is given to Kia for the smooth gear change at forte. The gear changes at well below 2k rpm and is very smooth. Power/throttle is at hand if u feel like overtaking other car. Just went up to getting using forte(terlalu saying Kay my 408t). smile.gif I can say it was a smooth drive and I don't feel heavy dragging the car. Gear changes at the right time and going up hill after a corner was not a problem at all..it's 153hp with 198nm. The car is very light but not so stable if above 140kmh...thinking of doing soundproof and inject autofoam.No regret buying forte.of cos I still very much love my 408t which carries different characterics. It's more fun to drive in 408t.
Wah, changed car d? What happened to your 408T?

This post has been edited by Bearheart: Oct 16 2012, 08:56 AM
Bearheart
post Oct 16 2012, 09:32 AM

QUOTE(Termibait @ Oct 16 2012, 09:21 AM)
Not changing car la. smile.gif 408t just clocking 5k km....don't want to drive up to getting yet. Wait after 1st service. Hehe
Wow, really Sayang.
Bearheart
post Oct 16 2012, 03:00 PM

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Oct 16 2012, 11:06 AM)
Here's some factual experience for you

1. As a co-owner of the new FB Civic 9th gen, the 5 speeder is by far the smoothest I've driven so far. It doesn't jerk or drag and the car never feels slow despite it being having only an NA engine. Acceleration is nicely linear and robust, this is a very nice car to drive if you don't mind the loud road and wind noise that kicks in once you hit 120km/hr and beyond.

2. Every once in awhile, I'll drive my relative's Audi Q5. The 7 speed S-tronic (DSG) is silky smooth when I drove it. But I've been told during the 1st few months of ownership, the car also jerky at low speeds. However, these days the car has much less incidence of jerkiness at low speeds because it has since adopted to the driving style of the owner. He has never complained the car feeling draggy at low speeds.

3. My own Passat - This car is noticeably more draggy and jerky at low speeds, particularly on 2nd gear when it appears more frequently during the 1st 2 months. I've owned my car for nearly 4 months now and the incidence has reduced although it is still appears every now and then especially in start stop traffic. Like the Q5, I believe the onboard computer is learning and adjusting to the owner style of driving and likely such incidence will reduce as time goes by.

4. The family Polo Tsi which my parents drive (owned for slightly over 2 years) - This car too comes with a 7 speed DSG like the Passat but unlike the Passat, I have not noticed any drag or jerk at low speeds whatsoever. And I drive this car when I just want to go out for a quick errand especially in places where there are lots of cars and parking can become a problem. The only thing I hate about this car is how it will roll back/forward on an incline because there isn't a hill assist/hold mode.

5. My old Corolla Altis 2008 current gen pre-facelift - Like the FB Civic, the gearbox on this car is fairly smooth but since it is only a 4 speeder, accelerating from the 40km/hr mark is a little slow. It's a competent car but when you need speed, the rev counter will jump to 4k and up which isn't that nice since the engine roar is louder at high revs.

Btw, the jerky and drag on the DSG is something you will notice at low speeds. In my experience, it most appears during start stop traffic but surely not something that is difficult to adjust or ruin the whole driving experience. The jerk only happens for a second or so while the drag is something that can go on until you can accelerate faster. There are no loud engine noises or vibrations just in case anyone is wondering.

The FB Civic gear change is definitely the smoothest overall but I'd still prefer my 7 speed DSG anytime because nothing beats the feeling turbo torque and the quick shifts of the DSG to bring in that power.
Thanks for sharing your experience, man! Ok, that settles it. My next car will be a Q5. ;-)

Hmmm... Seems that I should drive for a couple of months more before complaining. Have just driven 1.5k km. :-P

Bearheart
post Oct 16 2012, 04:34 PM

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Oct 16 2012, 03:05 PM)
Q5 has a different DSG gearbox compared to the regular Passat/Golf/Polo. It's a wet clutch but it too suffers from mechatronic failure although it is very much less common. The newer FL models are all using 8 speed AT (Tiptronic), DSG is not longer offered as a standard.
So 8 speed AT > DSG?

Well.. tech evolves :-) Whatever's an improvement at reasonable cost gets adopted. thumbup.gif
Bearheart
post Oct 17 2012, 12:22 PM

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Oct 17 2012, 11:33 AM)
To clarify:

The DSG gearbox behavior responds to how you put your foot to the accelerator. More specifically, it senses when you lift your foot off the pedal or ease off the accelerator and that's when the gear shift occurs. In my case, my gear changes will always usually occur under 2000RPM, if the speed is fast enough to go to a higher gear then it will switch when I ease off the accelerator. If I were to find fault with the DSG, it's definitely in start stop traffic, at slow speeds, the 2nd gear always feel draggy especially when i ease off the accelerator, you can feel the car slowing down because of the gearing. Other than this, it just works and feels great.
Sounds like it's simulating a driver's behavior in manual transmission. We ease off the accelerator and step on the clutch and change gears mah. Probably needs some refinement.
Bearheart
post Oct 23 2012, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(Kanasai79 @ Oct 23 2012, 02:33 PM)
New Camry 2012 still using 2.0L VVTI with 4 speeder while price is RM 149,900 ?
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Wow, you're right! Didn't see that.

The 408 2.0 is using the proven reliable tech of 407. Still very good value for money.

This post has been edited by Bearheart: Oct 23 2012, 03:00 PM
Bearheart
post Oct 28 2012, 06:15 AM

QUOTE(KLTEOH @ Oct 28 2012, 01:00 AM)
Today very bad luck. Take my holiday with my family to kl. Make refill at bhp petrol station at r&r tapar. Their feul mix with water. After refill, drive my call from there neare reach sungkai tol. My call pop up error (engine fault,need repair ) my car no more power and turn off automatically. I call for peugeot customer support, tow my to ipoh peugeot service center. I really thank to the service manager and the senior mechanic because waiting for me and really fix my problems. Because today their Work just for half day. Finally arrived kl for my holiday. Thx nasin peugeot. Did a good job. Just beware refill at bhp station at r&r tapar,ipoh to kl side. After repaired my car,i pass the bhp station again, the station total close. Before me i also saw the new mecs s class, new vios and toyota sec on tow. I think they all also kena like me.
Wow, that is serious. What sort of damage did that cause? How did they repair it?

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0465sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:26 AM