125 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V33, Official ICS for Non-G and G! First Post

mtcc
post May 14 2012, 11:03 PM

183 posts

hi all i want to find out is there any difference between the g and non-g versions of the phone? i know they are using different processors but what i want to know if i purchase right now does it matter which type i get?
mtxx
post May 14 2012, 11:07 PM

5,011 posts

You should post this in the official sgs2 forum.
The g version has more probs than the non g.

All the good things you hear about s2 are the earlier non g version.
G version tend to have more weird issues, hangs occasionally, and very little custom rom.

Buy a non g s2 and don't buy at all. Look for 2nd hand or ap sets.
Or consider note or nexus.
antt00
post May 14 2012, 11:13 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ May 14 2012, 10:40 PM)
antt00 on CM9 known issues it stated wifi direct as 1 of the known bugs. what exactly is wifi direct? hmm.gif
if you dunno then its not an issue. tongue.gif Wifi direct is allow you to transfer files between 2 devices using wifi. Of cos both device must support it in the first place.
mtxx
post May 14 2012, 11:15 PM

5,011 posts

antt00 on CM9 known issues it stated wifi direct as 1 of the known bugs. what exactly is wifi direct? hmm.gif
Wifi direct is awesome man!

You should try it. Its like Bluetooth on steroids.
Send files between supported device with wifi speed, talking about 1.5-2MBps.

Let's say you have 300+ pics or a 700MB movie, you can send to your friends s2, nexus, android tablet using wifi direct in less than 5 minutes.
Cool stuff. It does not require both device to be connected to a router, can straight send, hence the name wifi direct.

One of the sad reasons why I don't use aokp aosp. Cos no wifi direct cry.gif

Added on May 14, 2012, 11:23 pm
QUOTE(dunhill1410 @ May 14 2012, 07:11 PM)
You guys know something funny ? The ICS update for GT-I9100 in Malaysia is available right now, besides for a while. But for some reason, not through Kies. You can update it by taking the phone to the Samsung service center. Where the heck is the service center ? And why ? I guess they're not releasing it because the ICS for GT-I9100G isn't ready yet.
You know something even more funny? laugh.gif
You can get ics one 2 months ago in your house.
Just download Odin, and the official firmware from xda,
Its non wipe and won't add yellow triangle,won't ruin warantee. icon_rolleyes.gif

If you bring to service center, I think they'll just do the same.
They'll take ur phone, Plug your phone to their com, and flash away using Odin.
Same procedure, why waste petrol go sc? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mtxx: May 14 2012, 11:36 PM
SUSdestEX
post May 14 2012, 11:25 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

doh.gif if you have another galaxy note/s1/s2 around this feature is awesome
Shizuru
post May 14 2012, 11:36 PM

3,699 posts

so wifi direct can only be done with another supported phone/tablet only? how about phone to PC and vise versa?
do I need to get an app for it or its on the phone settings? sweat.gif

::noobiemode::
SUSdestEX
post May 14 2012, 11:53 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ May 14 2012, 11:36 PM)
so wifi direct can only be done with another supported phone/tablet only? how about phone to PC and vise versa?
do I need to get an app for it or its on the phone settings? sweat.gif

::noobiemode::
ACTUALLY hor, wifi direct, is just using wifi as a LAN, the receiver acts as a modem/router while the sender connects to the receiver and send files using wifi LAN speed.

so by using the same concept, it can be done between laptop and phone, just by using wifi or wifi hotspot to connect with the computer, which method(s) you can find in the first page

edit: ok, the first page none, you need to find back the old uncle benny's thread, this new one lack alot of guides sweat.gif

pc <connectify> phone
pc <wifi hotspot>phone

wifi hotspot can use swiftp, wifi file manager, es file explorer or any file manager that supports Local Area Network, kies air, allshare

This post has been edited by destEX: May 14 2012, 11:58 PM
bryant601
post May 14 2012, 11:59 PM

grrrrrrrrr
1,066 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ May 14 2012, 10:50 PM)
wont work on chrome beta
hmm.. which website needs flash player? i tried tgv.com.my it seems like running fine with all the stuffs.. rclxub.gif
mtxx
post May 15 2012, 12:06 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ May 14 2012, 11:53 PM)
ACTUALLY hor, wifi direct, is just using wifi as a LAN, the receiver acts as a modem/router while the sender connects to the receiver and send files using wifi LAN speed.

so by using the same concept, it can be done between laptop and phone, just by using wifi or wifi hotspot to connect with the computer, which method(s) you can find in the first page

edit: ok, the first page none, you need to find back the old uncle benny's thread, this new one lack alot of guides sweat.gif

pc <connectify> phone
pc <wifi hotspot>phone

wifi hotspot can use swiftp, wifi file manager, es file explorer or any file manager that supports Local Area Network, kies air, allshare
Wifi direct between phone and PC?
I don't think possible la. You manage to do it?
Using air droid, kies air or similar app is not consider wifidirec.

Wifi direct works even when both device is not connected to the router.
Example, if me an my friend s2 on a bus, both not connected to wifi router.
I can still send files using wifi direct.

Shizuru
post May 15 2012, 12:10 AM

3,699 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ May 14 2012, 11:53 PM)

pc <connectify> phone
pc <wifi hotspot>phone

understood! using it now. Nice! thumbup.gif

Added on May 15, 2012, 12:12 am
QUOTE(bryant601 @ May 14 2012, 11:59 PM)
hmm.. which website needs flash player? i tried tgv.com.my it seems like running fine with all the stuffs.. rclxub.gif
youtube vid wont work on chrome browser

This post has been edited by Shizuru: May 15 2012, 12:12 AM
-kytz-
post May 15 2012, 12:13 AM

12,573 posts

Any dropbox user here? Wanna ask is it safe if I put my files in the main page of dropbox...NOT inside the picture/document/public folder?

Shizuru
post May 15 2012, 12:17 AM

3,699 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 15 2012, 12:13 AM)
Any dropbox user here? Wanna ask is it safe if I put my files in the main page of dropbox...NOT inside the picture/document/public folder?
the main page is still private right? only stuff on the public folder can be shared. That's what I understand at least hmm.gif
dunhill1410
post May 15 2012, 12:18 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(easternred @ May 14 2012, 09:36 PM)
I update to ICS thru kies last week.
Umm what ? What's your baseband version anyway?
-kytz-
post May 15 2012, 12:22 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ May 15 2012, 12:17 AM)
the main page is still private right? only stuff on the public folder can be shared. That's what I understand at least hmm.gif
Haha I think so too. Btw, I got an offer from a FB contact to have my free account boosted to 18GB for RM30. Tempting biggrin.gif Me lazy person also hahahaha
SUSdestEX
post May 15 2012, 12:23 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ May 15 2012, 12:06 AM)
Wifi direct between phone and PC?
I don't think possible la. You manage to do it?
Using air droid, kies air or similar app is not consider wifidirec.

Wifi direct works even when both device is not connected to the router.
Example, if me an my friend s2 on a bus, both not connected to wifi router.
I can still send files using wifi direct.
yep, its possible nod.gif
you can use those apps even if you're not connected to a router/modem.
for instance, the place where i worked a month ago does not have internet, so no router, so i use wifi hotspot, and my laptop connects to my phone. both are assigned an ip, and the phone acts as the router and client at the same time. if you i es file explorer in ur phone, the ip of my laptop appears and anything i shared in my laptop is accessible just like as if i;m using LAN at home. same case if i use swiftp and access my phone from my laptop, although the ip of my phone will not be displayed in swiftp if i use wifi hotspot, you can know your phone's ip if you look at the settings>wifi area. knowing that i just type in the ip in my laptop and i can access my phone, the ip is permanent and never changes so i could make a shortcut easily to access it.

of course all these is not actually wifi direct since wifi direct is actually a simplified process of all these.

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 15 2012, 12:13 AM)
nobody tried google DRIVE?

This post has been edited by destEX: May 15 2012, 12:26 AM
bryant601
post May 15 2012, 12:35 AM

grrrrrrrrr
1,066 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ May 15 2012, 12:10 AM)
understood! using it now. Nice! thumbup.gif

Added on May 15, 2012, 12:12 am
youtube vid wont work on chrome browser
u mean embedded youtube video? it opens my video player when streaming.. wonder why i can see the embedded youtube video but it wont load hmm.gif
-kytz-
post May 15 2012, 12:43 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ May 15 2012, 12:23 AM)
nobody tried google DRIVE?
Nope. How's it compared to dropbox? biggrin.gif
SUSdestEX
post May 15 2012, 12:44 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 15 2012, 12:43 AM)
Nope. How's it compared to dropbox? biggrin.gif
dunno, i got dropbox but never used hmm.gif
game4life
post May 15 2012, 12:46 AM

1,943 posts

QUOTE(bryant601 @ May 15 2012, 12:35 AM)
u mean embedded youtube video? it opens my video player when streaming.. wonder why i can see the embedded youtube video but it wont load hmm.gif
chrome beta doesnt support flash
-kytz-
post May 15 2012, 12:47 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ May 15 2012, 12:44 AM)
dunno, i got dropbox but never used  hmm.gif
Easy. Very straight forward to use. Btw:

Google seems to have another disadvantage - you get to have the documents that you put on your Google Drive used by Google for any purpose the feel fit - see the terms of service:
"When you upload or otherwise submit content to our Services, you give Google (and those we work with) a worldwide license to use, host, store, reproduce, modify, create derivative works(such as those resulting from translations, adaptations or other changes we make so that your content works better with our Services), communicate, publish, publicly perform, publicly display and distribute such content. The rights you grant in this license are for the limited purpose of operating, promoting, and improving our Services, and to develop new ones"

First comment in the comment box below on this site: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/goog...comparison.html

This post has been edited by -kytz-: May 15 2012, 12:48 AM

125 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:15 PM