5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V33, Official ICS for Non-G and G! First Post

mtxx
post May 11 2012, 10:01 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(afad @ May 11 2012, 04:42 PM)
for now ive been using resurrection remix as my daily driver,
gotta love the aokp features man,
it's been a few weeks already without any hiccup for me rclxms.gif
What are the aokp features you talking about?
Do elaborate.
mtxx
post May 12 2012, 08:31 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(puppydogpoo @ May 12 2012, 07:58 PM)
Hi! I've been using my SGS2 (G) for about a month I think. Bought for RM1520 from Fotomiami before SGS3 officially announced.

Anyway I just wanna ask does anyone here have problems playing Flash video in the stock browser? With my phone any Flash video sure crash the browser... Looks like the player loads and Flash is running, but when start to load the video - crash sad.gif

Stock OS 2.3.6.

Appreciate any feedback, thanks!
Uninstall and reinstall your flash player and see.

mtxx
post May 13 2012, 12:21 AM

5,011 posts

Can you guys help me out?

Hand itchy wana flash rom to try, since tomorrow Sunday.
But can't find any nice ones. The description at xda seems never update one.

My criteria is,
- no lock screen vibration
-working FM radio,able to play from loud speaker. Spirit FM need pay if wan play from speaker.
-wifi direct working, I need this, often use it.
-usb otg working
-able to skip songs with volume button
- bug free crt off effect.

Aokp roms seems stuck with lock screen vibration
Aosp and aokp seems no FM radio n wifi direct
Miui can't skip tract with volume button, only can shake
Litening rom got crt off bug, screen flashes after animation

Am I too choosy?
I still on check rom, getting bored waiting for ics checkrom. But so far the ones I tried not satisfied my desires. Sigh...
mtxx
post May 13 2012, 08:30 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(SilverCrimz @ May 13 2012, 12:29 AM)
I think you just stick to what you're using now since your criterias are fully met by most of the roms. If you really want to flash a different ics rom then u have to prepared to live without some of those criterias.
I am sticking with current rom. smile.gif
Don't really feel like compromising those features, tongue.gif

But then, reality is cruel.
Seems current ics all can't satisfy. Sigh.

I think my bet bet is Sammy's ics rom. Hope one of them will get the skip track with volume keys feature soon.

Added on May 13, 2012, 8:32 am
QUOTE(destEX @ May 13 2012, 12:34 AM)
go flash one of those GB roms, best go for the good ol checkrom revolution v6, everything you want is working
Thank you, I am indeed on checkrom v6. Great rom indeed.
I'll continue to observe in xda for any new roms. rclxms.gif

Added on May 13, 2012, 8:34 am
QUOTE(noien @ May 13 2012, 01:25 AM)
but the non g version is hard to find
The garage sales there got. Now, peak season for s2 sale.
Once s3 available here, expect even more people sell s2.

This post has been edited by mtxx: May 13 2012, 08:34 AM
mtxx
post May 14 2012, 11:07 PM

5,011 posts

You should post this in the official sgs2 forum.
The g version has more probs than the non g.

All the good things you hear about s2 are the earlier non g version.
G version tend to have more weird issues, hangs occasionally, and very little custom rom.

Buy a non g s2 and don't buy at all. Look for 2nd hand or ap sets.
Or consider note or nexus.
mtxx
post May 14 2012, 11:15 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ May 14 2012, 10:40 PM)
antt00 on CM9 known issues it stated wifi direct as 1 of the known bugs. what exactly is wifi direct? hmm.gif
Wifi direct is awesome man!

You should try it. Its like Bluetooth on steroids.
Send files between supported device with wifi speed, talking about 1.5-2MBps.

Let's say you have 300+ pics or a 700MB movie, you can send to your friends s2, nexus, android tablet using wifi direct in less than 5 minutes.
Cool stuff. It does not require both device to be connected to a router, can straight send, hence the name wifi direct.

One of the sad reasons why I don't use aokp aosp. Cos no wifi direct cry.gif

Added on May 14, 2012, 11:23 pm
QUOTE(dunhill1410 @ May 14 2012, 07:11 PM)
You guys know something funny ? The ICS update for GT-I9100 in Malaysia is available right now, besides for a while. But for some reason, not through Kies. You can update it by taking the phone to the Samsung service center. Where the heck is the service center ? And why ? I guess they're not releasing it because the ICS for GT-I9100G isn't ready yet.
You know something even more funny? laugh.gif
You can get ics one 2 months ago in your house.
Just download Odin, and the official firmware from xda,
Its non wipe and won't add yellow triangle,won't ruin warantee. icon_rolleyes.gif

If you bring to service center, I think they'll just do the same.
They'll take ur phone, Plug your phone to their com, and flash away using Odin.
Same procedure, why waste petrol go sc? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mtxx: May 14 2012, 11:36 PM
mtxx
post May 15 2012, 12:06 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ May 14 2012, 11:53 PM)
ACTUALLY hor, wifi direct, is just using wifi as a LAN, the receiver acts as a modem/router while the sender connects to the receiver and send files using wifi LAN speed.

so by using the same concept, it can be done between laptop and phone, just by using wifi or wifi hotspot to connect with the computer, which method(s) you can find in the first page

edit: ok, the first page none, you need to find back the old uncle benny's thread, this new one lack alot of guides sweat.gif

pc <connectify> phone
pc <wifi hotspot>phone

wifi hotspot can use swiftp, wifi file manager, es file explorer or any file manager that supports Local Area Network, kies air, allshare
Wifi direct between phone and PC?
I don't think possible la. You manage to do it?
Using air droid, kies air or similar app is not consider wifidirec.

Wifi direct works even when both device is not connected to the router.
Example, if me an my friend s2 on a bus, both not connected to wifi router.
I can still send files using wifi direct.

mtxx
post May 15 2012, 10:52 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(del_Piero10 @ May 15 2012, 10:41 PM)
yeah, wipe thru odin and it will wipe your current data. so back up back up back up!!
Isn't all official firmware non wipe? Even through Odin?
Last time I flash lpq is non wipe.
mtxx
post May 15 2012, 11:05 PM

5,011 posts

issit? yaya, the LPQ i download is from intratech

is non wipe.
i thought all official firmware is non wipe. cos i read in jayce ooi blog say that is official firmware, which is non wipe.

thanks antoo for clearing the air.
luckily i din download from sam firmware
mtxx
post May 16 2012, 08:29 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ May 16 2012, 12:41 AM)
Here are some of the screenshots of the problem I'm facing during restoring my data from KIES after upgraded to ICS...

The 3rd pic shows that my SGS2 is connected, but KIES doesn't shows any info of firmware I'm using...

Whats wrong here? With KIES or the setting of my SGS2?
Or perhaps thats a way to retrieve back those backup data from KIES using others softwares / apps?

[attachmentid=2842795]

[attachmentid=2842800]

[attachmentid=2842801]
happen to me before. i was so pissed off.
my backup file was about 1gb i think, it keep restore faill

after my accident, i did a experiment.
i backup just my contact only, it was very fast, since contact is so small file size.
then try to restore, it says restore fail.
useless piece of junk software, cant even do simple thing.

luckily contacts are sync to google contacts,
my sms are gone too, but luckily i got do titanium backup, when restore hancent sms app, it restored all my sms also. haha

in short, kies not reliable. use titanium backup.
mtxx
post May 16 2012, 11:20 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ May 16 2012, 09:43 AM)
SC used odin  biggrin.gif  cos kies dun have update yet.  tongue.gif
lol...
if so, just do it at home la. no need go all the way to sc.
mtxx
post May 17 2012, 12:03 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ May 16 2012, 07:24 PM)
For those people who still have problem with G version, please try these actions:
1. Settings > Location > untick Use Wireless Network
2. Uninstall the updates of Adore Flash Player. Use the default version.
3. Use another good web browser (not sure about this, but I am certain that original browser is buggy and is the cause)

I have done the first and second steps two weeks ago. Now I didn't face hang issue or camera fc issues. Current using original browser and sometimes it hangs and, if lucky, a fc massage will pop out.

AND, I am quite hate those people who felt like, all problems only comes from G version, blah blah blah...

Edit: Please don't let your phone suffer with those useless apps too. Those people who use pirated apps and markets please, STOP!
regardless. non G still better.
no need to do step 1,2,3
can use memory card, camera NEVER hangs, in fact, the phone NEVER EVER hang.
apps do force close very rarely, but the phone never hangs. there'll never be a need to plug out your battery.

not that i support pirated apps.
but pirated apps doesnt cause any problem or performance or hang issue or s2 non g.
my cousin's S2 non G practically full of cracked games, no hang or lag also.
whereas my friend's S2 G stock unrooted, also will hang.
whole phone jam and not responding kind of hang, need plug out battery.

for existing G users, if you guys not happy with the comments,
think, if you are offered a chance to change to non g for free, you will obviously take it no? instantly lots of ics custom roms to try out. no more hanging issues what so ever. you have nothing to lose and everything to gain. is there any strong points that g has over non g?
so dont persuade new users to buy the g version one, or keep insisting the g version is same as non g. its not.
mtxx
post May 17 2012, 02:28 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(bananalow @ May 17 2012, 12:56 PM)
After one month of using ICS , it is good for overall except gaming ~~ sad.gif when play games like temple run and samurai vs zombie , sometime it will freeze my phone and i have to hard reboot it ~~ but normal usage like browsing, listening song, social networking(tweet,whatsapp,fb), etc is great ~~ smile.gif

Just hope that game developers can optimize the games for ICS ~~~ ^^

Just one question for Hydrogenic user, do u all receive fb chat notification when chat using fb messenger? mine just vibrate without showing any notification on top~~ Just want to know is that my problem or Hydrogenic problem~~ THX~~ smile.gif
i dont think your phone hang, or freeze as you call it.

i notice in ICS, when i was using litening rom which is based on official sammy ics,
when app force close, the screen will freeze, sometimes turned completely black with only the status bar remains,
after waiting 10-15 seconds, only a notifications pops out "opps, unfortunately XXX app has stopped" tap the notification and the app will close and you're phone runs normally again.

kindda weird, on gingerbread, if app force close, instantly you get a error message and you can dismiss it.

next time you get a "phone freeze" issue, try waiting more than 20 seconds and see.
i think ics force close error message takes 10-15 seconds only appear. scare the shit out of me. haha.

mtxx
post May 17 2012, 08:09 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ May 17 2012, 07:30 PM)
Anyone know of a good off-line dictionary app for ICS? Thx
diodict english dictionary is the best in my opinion, but this only works on samsung based rom.

if you using cm9 etc, download color dict, free, and got a cool feature that can pronounce out the word.
but the detail and organization lose to diodict la. my 2nd favourite
mtxx
post May 17 2012, 10:08 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ May 17 2012, 08:33 PM)
Somehow diodict free version does not appear in play store.  rclxub.gif
Diodic I get from Samsung app store for free. Its a paid app if from market I think.
Antoo mention before working on aosp aokp.

But every time I restore wit tb, tb will hang when restoring it.
mtxx
post May 17 2012, 11:38 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ May 17 2012, 11:02 PM)
Thx bro. Got it from Samsung apps rclxms.gif
Are you using Samsung rom or aokp?

mtxx
post May 18 2012, 04:52 PM

5,011 posts

destEX, you little cute piggy,

you mention turning on wifi hotstpot to send files to laptops,

just tried it today
this idea really works man. just realize my phone can send and receive any files from all existing laptops. awesome!

basically, turn on wifi hotstpot. let laptop connect to your phone.
launch air droid, it will work like it usually do.

oh ya, if you dont have 3G internet plan like me, remember off data network before you do this.
mtxx
post May 18 2012, 11:43 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ May 18 2012, 11:18 PM)
Guys, is it possible to use my KIES backup file from GB version to restore the memo into another SGS2 with GB version, then backup those "restored memo"i by 3rd party apps and restore it into my ICS SGS2?

Possible to get it done in this way?

I already have my Call Log, SMS and Contact restored, just left the Memo.
dear friend,

i dont think KIES can restore to another phone. i remember i need to key in a name and all my files are backed up to a specific folder. if use another phone, maybe will be in another folder.
not confirmed.

if its important to you, no harm trying it.
after this troublesome experience with memo, i highly recomend you try 'color note'
its a much better note taking app then samsung memo.

practically all samsung apps are badly made, there are better alternatives out there.

"file manager" app is way better than "my files"
color note much better than memo
airdroid way way better than kies air
hancent better than stock sms

mtxx
post May 18 2012, 11:45 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Positron @ May 18 2012, 09:10 PM)
Hey, for those people who said that Samsung Galaxy S3's design is no good, please, Samsung said it is made for humans, so if you don't like it, you are not a human..

I saw this quote somewhere, and I think it's wonderful..
tongue.gif
hello, this is sgs2 thread.

S3 please go here.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2333161
mtxx
post May 19 2012, 10:30 AM

5,011 posts

all this while i'm using perfect keyboard.
but lately i found out it has kindda a 'bug' with numbers

when i want to type numbers, example rm1.
since 'rm1' is not in dictionary, it will save into custom dictionary.
the next time i want to say rm2, it will auto correct to rm1.
pretty stupid right? other example includes time, such as 8am, 9pm etc...it will auto correct them. haiz.

whats more serious is, it treats numbers as words. if i type 100, sometimes it auto save it, and when i want to write 200, it auto correct to 100.

i usually have to look through my custom user dictionary and delete any numbers that it have saved.
but i'm getting tired of this.

thought of changing to other keyboard like swiftkey.
does it have this prob? other keyboards?
or is this prob common across all device with auto correct?

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0538sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:48 AM