Superbike for begginers

lucifah
post Aug 12 2012, 12:21 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(henry1201 @ Aug 11 2012, 05:23 PM)
Thanks bros for the info..well the loan rate is 4.5% be it 5 or 7 yrs. that is the info given by the shop..5 yrs with 30% dp and 7 yrs with 20% dp. I can afford the dp and monthly commitments just that 30% dp is a bit too steep. so I just want to know what i'm up against and consider the pros and cons before making the important decision.
just to give you an idea for a beginner big bike, the er6

chain & sprocket - RM 600+ = every 30,000km
tyres - front (300+), rear (500+) = every 10,000km or so
servicing using cheapest oil + ori filter + labour - rm 110 = every 3,000km
petrol consumption = rm 20 for 200km = 10 sen per km

a simple fall - for a naked er6-n = rm 500+, for a faired er6-f rm 2,000+

to replace any parts of the bike, it's costly. even the humbe gear paddle changer cost rm 95.

gears - most apparels can only last you a year or so, or after you got into an accident. so replacement is frequent

good full face helmet (not made in china or malaysia or thailand) = RM 800
riding boots = rm 300+
jackets = rm 300+
gloves = rm 100

insurance = rm 1,000 per year (no, u cannot use your car's NCB to transfer)
road tax = rm 250 per year (semenanjung) rm 40 per year (sarawak)

anything i missed out?

if you think the DP is too steep, it just means the bike is a bit too expensive for you. that's the simple truth

not to mention the poison from your riding peers - you tend to do upgrades after a while. i my self thought i would be the few ppl who would be immune to the poison, but sadly the scorpion exhaust is very tempting (rm 2,800+). a pair of frame sliders installed (rm 280) and bobbinn pin (rom 75) and paddock stand (rm 300).

not to forget chain lube (rm35 per can can last 1 yr) to spray every 500km

henry1201
post Aug 12 2012, 01:23 AM

53 posts

Thanks for the breakdown of what to expect bro lucifah.the reason why I think the dp is steep is cos I am allocating funds for 2 project cars hence I need to budget wisely.
Riding gears which are essential must not be missed out..I have allocated a rough amt for that.
How is the bike insurance calculated btw?
Upgrades..ah the beauty and downfall of it..sometimes it can't be helped but until my project cars are done I will only upgrade what I can afford I guess.
Bro lucifah,what was the financial status at the time when u got your er6?aka loan interest rate and all.

lucifah
post Aug 12 2012, 09:20 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(henry1201 @ Aug 12 2012, 01:23 AM)
How is the bike insurance calculated btw?

Bro lucifah,what was the financial status at the time when u got your er6?aka loan interest rate and all.
insurance dunno how they calculate. i just shop around and ask for quotes from the insurance companies and choose the lowest one. most have the same coverage.

3rd party insurance is cheap though. rbout rm 200

my financial status? i paid the bike in cash... blush.gif

henry1201
post Aug 12 2012, 10:29 AM

53 posts

i see..should not be a problem there then..guess it should be pretty standard in terms of coverage and pricing (perhaps a little variance) for new bikes.

ah yes..forgot that u got the bike with an full upfront payment.

I guess i will most prolly go with the 5 yr loan with the 30% dp. thanks for the advice so far bro.
hamster9
post Aug 12 2012, 04:19 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

Hi guys... Saw a gang of those mini superbikes.. Wonder what model r those n from what brand? The frame like bicycle but thicker, exhaust below t seat n tyres r wider than kapchai...sounds nicer than er6n too...

Wonder what cc r those?
sanosizo
post Aug 12 2012, 05:55 PM

4,553 posts

that must be the kawasaki ksr 110 bike

regarding the topic, I myself hold back a few years before jumping into owning a big bike. took me 3 years to save enough money to pay for higher down payment. result of that? I only pay just over rm300 for the monthly installment. but every month still need to set aside rm200 for insurance, road tax, tires and maintenance.

btw, I'm using takaful ikhlas for insurance. insured my bike as single rider and it cost rm700 for sum insured of 40k.
hamster9
post Aug 12 2012, 06:39 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

No la..not ksr... Not fr kawasaki family..
farique
post Aug 12 2012, 08:41 PM

8_8
2,147 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Aug 12 2012, 05:55 PM)
that must be the kawasaki ksr 110 bike

regarding the topic, I myself hold back a few years before jumping into owning a big bike. took me 3 years to save enough money to pay for higher down payment. result of that? I only pay just over rm300 for the monthly installment. but every month still need to set aside rm200 for insurance, road tax, tires and maintenance.

btw, I'm using takaful ikhlas for insurance. insured my bike as single rider and it cost rm700 for sum insured of 40k.
comparing to Kurnia, is takaful better than Kurnia?
sanosizo
post Aug 12 2012, 08:49 PM

4,553 posts

I don't know about kurnia. I chose takaful because it's the only insurance which still provides the single rider option. I don't know why other insurance companies decline to give single rider anymore, perhaps to get more money out of bikers pocket.
lucifah
post Aug 12 2012, 09:18 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Aug 12 2012, 06:39 PM)
No la..not ksr... Not fr kawasaki family..
Most probably momos madass
ChinHong86
post Aug 12 2012, 09:25 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 12 2012, 10:18 PM)
bt tat one very normal riding pst nia wor
hamster9
post Aug 12 2012, 09:59 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 12 2012, 09:18 PM)
Yah! Wondering if t gear is t gear same like superbike or kapchai kind?
Izwan898
post Aug 12 2012, 10:04 PM

MrNastey
937 posts

momos madass ugly bro...
ChinHong86
post Aug 12 2012, 10:27 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Aug 12 2012, 11:04 PM)
momos madass ugly bro...
beauty lies in the eyes of beholder
but no doubt it is unique
Alidavidsun
post Aug 12 2012, 10:50 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Aug 12 2012, 09:59 PM)
Yah! Wondering if t gear is t gear same like superbike or kapchai kind?
The gear is like bikes with manual clutch...1 down, 2, 3, 4 up. I rode the Madass before and i feel its a very underpowered bike. I rather ride an EX5 than a Madass. Its too sluggish IMHO.

sky80
post Mar 13 2013, 08:08 AM

42 posts

Sorry, I'm starting out in the big bike world, I'm from PJ and wanted to get a bike. Anyone knows is there any superbike shop in PJ area? Thanks smile.gif
jetmanxx
post Mar 13 2013, 10:49 AM

19 posts

waa this thread is poisonous like portugal battleship jellyfish.

Anyone can recommend humble B2 class bike for beginner? Prefer around 20k if possible
sun1989
post Mar 13 2013, 05:17 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(jetmanxx @ Mar 13 2013, 10:49 AM)
waa this thread is poisonous like portugal battleship jellyfish.

Anyone can recommend humble B2 class bike for beginner? Prefer around 20k if possible
any 250 will do.

cbr 250r, ninja 250, megelli 250, duke 200, T2 250, naza blade 250, ur choice.

Here is my 10 cents on cbr and ninja

looks : class, stylish, looks nicer if in group
top speed : this bike is not about top speed. single cylinder, lower maintenance fees. adequate top speed, lower fuel consumption (depending on riding style)
engine much quiet
good on mid range rpm torque

looks : more stylish, and more yeng
top speed : twin cylinder, higher top speed, higher fuel consumption (depending on riding style)

old ninja. plenty in the market.

SUSreshbala
post Apr 4 2013, 08:53 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(Mooneyes @ May 1 2012, 06:03 PM)
1st gear down...2 3 4 5 6 up
reverse hw? hmm.gif
azomic
post Apr 4 2013, 10:35 PM

138 posts

1. Is riding a superbike any difference from normal bike? Normal bike only use one leg change gear to 1234.superbike the same?
Push down is Gear down
Push Up (songket) is Gear Down
gear : 1-n-2-3-4-5-6

2. Is there any superbike that can max speed faster than a car? I know car can max near 200 km/h but bikes? My families Honda exe max only 90-95. (just curious, I dun have balls go 200 km/h anyways)
Sure do

3. What bikes/brands are like Ferrari lambos in the bike world? I only heard of ducatti. Any particular model is most powerful or cool?
bmw s1000rr HP4
http://www.zerotohundred.com/2013/auto-new...new-bmw-hp4-rm/

4. How much is the cheapest superbikes?(ignore second hand ones ) ducati above 100 k I think
superbike - kawasaki ninja 636 RM 6xK 600cc
http://www.mudah.my/Kawasaki+ZX+6R+636-20978289.htm
naked bike - yamaha xj6 RM 39K 600cc
http://www.mudah.my/Yamaha+XJ6+Naked-20989495.htm

5. Normal motorcycle license can ride superbike or we need get different license?
difference license, above 250 cc need full B license

[/quote]

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0249sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:13 PM