Health Type 1 diabetes & Type 2 diabetes

samuraikacang
post Jun 8 2013, 05:23 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(LoveMeNot @ Jun 7 2013, 08:32 AM)
hmm....I didn't know diabetes can be cured  hmm.gif . Prolly the correct term to be used is is under control with proper diet and lifestyle.

I think your insulin produced is just enough to act on the minimal glucose taken by you through your current diet. The GTT test would be beneficial to see if this is true.
GTT done today

will have to wait for the accurate result from hospital

thru my own gluco metre

Fasting blood = 5.4
30 minutes after consuming that sickly sweet drink = 8.6
1hour 30 minutes later = 7.9

will update once know the accurate result.
whuffy_aniki
post Jun 10 2013, 02:05 AM

104 posts

i`m a diabetes patient,type 1,diagnosed in 2006,when the doctor told me i have diabetes,i couldnt believe it,coz i exercise/sports either basketball/futsal almost everyday i only didnt play during rainy days..so i jez act like nothing happened,keep continue what i do,what i eat everyday until mid of 2008.i started to feel the effect,i easily dehydrated,i got the eyes problems the 1 like snowblind disease,easily hungry,frequent to pee,and i was hospitalized for diabetic comma in dec 2009,so i asked my doctor i didnt consumed too much sugar before i was diagnosed with diabetes in 2006,why i get diabetes?my doctor sometimes its genetic,at 1st i was really feel down couldnt do things like i did before,i mean not like it used to be coz nowadays im back to play sports but not so roughly like i did,i quit drinking sweet drinks like milo,totally no carbonated drinks,no ice drinks either,well its not like i give up on sweet things,its jez i want to eat rice,so i have to sacrifice something for it..n nowadays my glucose reading kinda good between 6-8.5 jez sometimes above 10 but not more than 5 times in a month..and i really wanna ask,if there`s any protein powder product that suitable for diabetic patients?

This post has been edited by whuffy_aniki: Jun 10 2013, 02:07 AM
stimix
post Jun 10 2013, 11:58 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(whuffy_aniki @ Jun 10 2013, 02:05 AM)
i`m a diabetes patient,type 1,diagnosed in 2006,when the doctor told me i have diabetes,i couldnt believe it,coz i exercise/sports either basketball/futsal almost everyday i only didnt play during rainy days..so i jez act like nothing happened,keep continue what i do,what i eat everyday until mid of 2008.i started to feel the effect,i easily dehydrated,i got the eyes problems the 1 like snowblind disease,easily hungry,frequent to pee,and i was hospitalized for diabetic comma in dec 2009,so i asked my doctor i didnt consumed too much sugar before i was diagnosed with diabetes in 2006,why i get diabetes?my doctor sometimes its genetic,at 1st i was really feel down couldnt do things like i did before,i mean not like it used to be coz nowadays im back to play sports but not so roughly like i did,i quit drinking sweet drinks like milo,totally no carbonated drinks,no ice drinks either,well its not like i give up on sweet things,its jez i want to eat rice,so i have to sacrifice something for it..n nowadays my glucose reading kinda good between 6-8.5 jez sometimes above 10 but not more than 5 times in a month..and i really wanna ask,if there`s any protein powder product that suitable for diabetic patients?
Yeah most newly diagnosed diabetics were like that initially smile.gif I was diagnosed in late 80s' smile.gif That was >24 yrs ago. Your glucose level is almost similar to mine nowadays after going thru insulin treatment since Mar this year. I believe you're also on insulin right now.. What is the type of insulin & dosage you are taking right now?
tusongi
post Jun 11 2013, 05:50 AM

QUOTE(whuffy_aniki @ Jun 10 2013, 04:05 AM)
Having diagnosed with diabetes type 1 is really not because of you having binge drinking sweet drinks but rather due to the fact that your immune system is being manipulated. Your pancreas would not produce enough insulin to counteract the exogenous glucose from your dietary intake. Therefore, you might sometimes experience the symptoms of hyperglycaemia. Yes, what your doctor said its true, diabetes type 1 is brought about by the mutation in your gene. By now, I guess you have already adapted to it. To answer your question about the protein powder, I guess you can take any protein powder that does not have any glucose in it? (Not sure whether all of the protein powder contains glucose ingredient or not, sorry). As long as the protein powder does not have any glucose in it to fluctuate your blood glucose level in your body, then probably it's alright to be consumed. (Correct me if I'm wrong anybody).
P.s, stay strong and fit buddy. I'm sure you will cope up with this.

whuffy_aniki
post Jun 11 2013, 04:40 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 10 2013, 11:58 PM)
Yeah most newly diagnosed diabetics were like that initially  smile.gif  I was diagnosed in late 80s' smile.gif That was >24 yrs ago. Your glucose level is almost similar to mine nowadays after going thru insulin treatment since Mar this year. I believe you're also on insulin right now.. What is the type of insulin & dosage you are taking right now?
yea,im already on insulin,im using novorapid flexipen(doctor put 8 for this 1,but since i eat rice more than half plate so my injection varies to my food portion,sometimes i inject 10) for short term insulin and glargine for long term(night,20 unit injection)

QUOTE(tusongi @ Jun 11 2013, 05:50 AM)
Having diagnosed with diabetes type 1 is really not because of you having binge drinking sweet drinks but rather due to the fact that your immune system is being manipulated. Your pancreas would not produce enough insulin to counteract the exogenous glucose from your dietary intake. Therefore, you might sometimes experience the symptoms of hyperglycaemia. Yes, what your doctor said its true, diabetes type 1 is brought about by the mutation in your gene. By now, I guess you have already adapted to it. To answer your question about the protein powder, I guess you can take any protein powder that does not have any glucose in it? (Not sure whether all of the protein powder contains glucose ingredient or not, sorry). As long as the protein powder does not have any glucose in it to fluctuate your blood glucose level in your body, then probably it's alright to be consumed. (Correct me if I'm wrong anybody).
P.s, stay strong and fit buddy. I'm sure you will cope up with this.
ahaha yea,but most malaysian including myself doesnt really have knowledge about diabetes,when i was hospitalized my doctor said my pancreas already stop producing insulin..yea i will try my best to avoid from getting amputated n other complication as kidney disease n etc..
stimix
post Jun 11 2013, 05:03 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(whuffy_aniki @ Jun 11 2013, 04:40 PM)
yea,im already on insulin,im using novorapid flexipen(doctor put 8 for this 1,but since i eat rice more than half plate so my injection varies to my food portion,sometimes i inject 10) for short term insulin and glargine for long term(night,20 unit injection)

Hmnnn u probably with private Hospital because I was told earlier in this thread, govt Hospital only giving the older gen Novo- Insulatard (long acting), mixtard (Mid-acting) and short acting - Actrapid hmm.gif

I was prescribed 8 units each of Insulateard (B4 sleep daily) and 8 unit of actrapid 1/2 hr b4 meals (3 times daily), Just like you, I alo eat >1/2 plate of rice i.e ~ 3/4 plate blush.gif + fruits (apple / Gauva/ pear)..That's why my result also so-so only. I actually increased my actrapid to 9ut per meal instead of 8...I'm going to visit my Doctor again, dunno whether they agreed if I suggest them to increase me to 10ut for each meal hmm.gif biggrin.gif
samuraikacang
post Jun 11 2013, 05:11 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

Good News at least for me

My Glucose Tolerance Test results

Fasting blood sugar : 5.3

2 hours after intake of Glucose Solutions : 5.6
stimix
post Jun 11 2013, 06:21 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wah.. you almost cure???? Most probably you are on borderine previously with your obese sized and now with the weigh reduction & stringent diet + exercise.. you got it controlled.

samuraikacang
post Jun 11 2013, 10:01 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 11 2013, 06:21 PM)
Wah.. you almost cure???? Most probably you are on borderine previously with your obese sized and now with the weigh reduction & stringent diet + exercise.. you got it controlled.
when i was diagnosed in 2003, i was 125kg and it wasn't borderline, it was 30+ mmol. possibility of diabetic coma since the meter itself display error because of too high of sugar. immediately admit to ward and hospitalized for 1 week to stabilize the sugar. I was 23 years old.

was put with insulin regime since then.
whuffy_aniki
post Jun 12 2013, 12:30 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 11 2013, 05:03 PM)
Hmnnn u probably with private Hospital because I was told earlier in this thread, govt Hospital only giving the older gen Novo- Insulatard (long acting), mixtard (Mid-acting) and short acting - Actrapid  hmm.gif

I was prescribed 8 units each of Insulateard (B4 sleep daily) and 8 unit of actrapid 1/2 hr b4 meals (3 times daily), Just like you, I alo eat >1/2 plate of rice i.e ~ 3/4 plate blush.gif + fruits (apple / Gauva/ pear)..That's why my result also so-so only. I actually increased my actrapid to 9ut per meal instead of 8...I'm going to visit my Doctor again, dunno whether they agreed if I suggest them to increase me to 10ut for each meal  hmm.gif  biggrin.gif
no la,im not that rich kid to follow up in private hospital,all my follow up appointment now in selayang hospital,before this i used humulin R n actrapid but both of it doest suit me well,i ended up around 9-11 glucose reading until doctor prescribe me with novorapid,only glargine never changed,ahh i see,i only eat fruit once per week,same goes to vitamin C supplement,btw have u ever experience 1 weird situation where ur glucose reading kinda go haywire?there`s a situation happened to me,once every 3 months,where my glucose reading goes crazy,like 15,14 sometimes 20,i didnt changed my diet or my insulin injection,not to mention there`s also a time im easily turn hypo,1.8-3.4 kinda weird i never changed my insulin intake unit or my meal,too bad for since im categorized not that serious diabetes patient anymore i seldom meet with head doctor during my appointment only "kid" doctor so they cant give me reasonable explanation..im turning 26 years old this august by the way

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Jun 11 2013, 10:01 PM)
when i was diagnosed in 2003, i was 125kg and it wasn't borderline, it was 30+ mmol. possibility of diabetic coma since the meter itself display error because of too high of sugar. immediately admit to ward and hospitalized for 1 week to stabilize the sugar. I was 23 years old.

was put with insulin regime since then.
ahaha,high 5 mate,there`s a time i get HI and LO reading too xD

This post has been edited by whuffy_aniki: Jun 12 2013, 12:33 AM
mushashi87
post Jun 12 2013, 12:45 AM

223 posts

Hey guys i am also diagnose with diabetic 5 years ago at age 21 heard from doctor it is a genetic since i am getting it in young ages not mistaken reaching 8 above but i did not take any medication because heard lots of people saying that medication will slowly damage our kidney and end up heard attack....etc so i am just cutting down on sweet like drinks, choc, ice cream but not rice...... until last 3 month I got sick and i just reach 12.9 after that I am taking Noni (not sure anyone heard before) Been diagnose last month without medication also but my sugar level came down to 10.9. I have not went for checkup for this month yet so not sure about my sugar level now.

Heard that this noni helps regenerates back your cells. Stlll under testing if anyone interested to give it a try can look for me. Will update once I went for check up for sugar level again.
SUSslimey
post Jun 12 2013, 02:17 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(mushashi87 @ Jun 12 2013, 12:45 AM)
Hey guys i am also diagnose with diabetic 5 years ago at age 21 heard from doctor it is a genetic since i am getting it in young ages not mistaken reaching 8 above but i did not take any medication because heard lots of people saying that medication will slowly damage our kidney and end up heard attack....etc so i am just cutting down on sweet like drinks, choc, ice cream but not rice...... until last 3 month I got sick and i just reach 12.9 after that I am taking Noni (not sure anyone heard before) Been diagnose last month without medication also but my sugar level came down to 10.9. I have not went for checkup for this month yet so not sure about my sugar level now.

Heard that this noni helps regenerates back your cells. Stlll under testing if anyone interested to give it a try can look for me. Will update once I went for check up for sugar level again.
untreated diabetes mellitus cause problem.

a lot of people are stupid. thus most hearsay is full of bs. most probably you have type 1 diabetes mellitus. the drug you need is insulin. and it is normally produced by the human body. if used properly, insulin is very safe, in fact, diabetic people who are pregnant will switch to insulin instead of other diabetic medication.

and this noni sounds like snake oil to me. don't be cheated.
stimix
post Jun 12 2013, 07:18 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(whuffy_aniki @ Jun 12 2013, 12:30 AM)
no la,im not that rich kid to follow up in private hospital,all my follow up appointment now in selayang hospital,before this i used humulin R n actrapid but both of it doest suit me well,i ended up around 9-11 glucose reading until doctor prescribe me with novorapid,only glargine never changed,ahh i see,i only eat fruit once per week,same goes to vitamin C supplement,btw have u ever experience 1 weird situation where ur glucose reading kinda go haywire?there`s a situation happened to me,once every 3 months,where my glucose reading goes crazy,like 15,14 sometimes 20,i didnt changed my diet or my insulin injection,not to mention there`s also a time im easily turn hypo,1.8-3.4 kinda weird i never changed my insulin intake unit or my meal,too bad for since im categorized not that serious diabetes patient anymore i seldom meet with head doctor during my appointment only "kid" doctor so they cant give me reasonable explanation..im turning 26 years old this august by the way

Yeah I got what u mentioned above. There was time when its gone kuku. but that because I tokk starchy food.. for eg, once I took cantonese fried ying yong (big portion) and the reading gone up 18 rclxub.gif There were time my reading touching 12 to 14 too bcos I took bananas, pinneapples or even papaya.. all these with high sugar content blush.gif

stimix
post Jun 12 2013, 07:25 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(mushashi87 @ Jun 12 2013, 12:45 AM)

I was diagnosed when I was 18. Just like youm I went on diet without medication until I got married and that was the time my result getting from bad to worse. Thereafter on medication for the past 15 yrs and out of control again in recent years b4 switching to insulin.

I have tried all kinds of alternative medications, noni, spirulina, OMX, all kind of algaes, and even into negative Ion therapy. Most of it is a joke. well except few alternatives like bitter gourds seeds that have good result.
Play safe..go for insulin or exercise + super strict diet like samuraikachang... His control is something unbelievable shocking.gif
samuraikacang
post Jun 12 2013, 09:29 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

go for insulin if you are young. really. it works for me. ask your doctor about victoza if you are type 2. yeah victoza comes with side effects but the good its bring at least for me is worth more than the side effect which by the way i haven't experience any since i started using and stopped using it last march.

also discuss with your doctor type of insulin that don't promote appetite. Levemir would be a good choice for weight control.
rjb123
post Jun 12 2013, 11:20 AM

1,820 posts

A Type 1 diabetic of 5 (I can't remember the date now) years or so here, an expensive hobby being a diabetic sad.gif

Using Levemir + Novorapid here
rjb123
post Jun 12 2013, 11:22 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Jun 12 2013, 09:29 AM)
also discuss with your doctor type of insulin that don't promote appetite. Levemir would be a good choice for weight control.
Most important is to get the basal insulin dosage correct - if you're taking too much and always going low, having to snack to top-up will for sure make you increase weight
samuraikacang
post Jun 12 2013, 11:31 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jun 12 2013, 11:22 AM)
Most important is to get the basal insulin dosage correct - if you're taking too much and always going low, having to snack to top-up will for sure make you increase weight
Yes. Always discuss with doctor any incident of lows and his. so he can adjust your insulin. But for veteran diabetic, they should be able to figure out which food to be avoided so the sugar don't goes up suddenly.
rjb123
post Jun 12 2013, 11:34 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Jun 12 2013, 11:31 AM)
Yes. Always discuss with doctor any incident of lows and his. so he can adjust your insulin. But for veteran diabetic, they should be able to figure out which food to be avoided so the sugar don't goes up suddenly.
Yup, but no matter how - sometimes highs / lows are unavoidable unless you stick to the same routine day in day out (with regards to food, sleep, excersize)

I'm going to be investing in a CGMS (constant glucose monitor) soon to help me improve control, especially overnight levels which are the trickiest ones for me.

http://www.dexcom.com/dexcom-g4-platinum

This post has been edited by rjb123: Jun 12 2013, 11:37 AM
samuraikacang
post Jun 12 2013, 11:40 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jun 12 2013, 11:34 AM)
Yup, but no matter how - sometimes highs / lows are unavoidable unless you stick to the same routine day in day out (with regards to food, sleep, excersize)

I'm going to be investing in a CGMS (constant glucose monitor) soon to help me improve control, especially overnight levels which are the trickiest ones for me.

http://www.dexcom.com/dexcom-g4-platinum
Insulin pump?

14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:47 PM