14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Health Type 1 diabetes & Type 2 diabetes

whuffy_aniki
post Jun 12 2013, 11:56 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(jaclynjac @ Jun 12 2013, 06:11 PM)
Hi there, just want to ask all the gurus here, my late grandpa and my father get diabetes at the later stage of their life , like after 60 yrs old, so will i get it later?? at the moment don't feel anything yet, but i'm afraid will get it later in my life, is it inherited or something....
usually female is the carrier of the genetic disease,which side grandpa is that,but if ur father u will carry it possibly ur kids/grandchildren will get it..but there`s a percentage u can get it too if u dont take precaution measures to prevent it..my ex biology teacher told me about genetic diseases inheritance,n i kinda think its a bit accurate,since i got both of diseases from my late grandma(my late mother side)there`s few more she told me,1st child/2nd child usually didnt get it,especially female becoz their genetic is dominant unlike male..
whuffy_aniki
post Jun 12 2013, 11:58 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 12 2013, 05:46 PM)
Switch to Govt Hospital..FOC  biggrin.gif  Well almost exept the RM1 registration fee & the needles  blush.gif
yea thumbup.gif only strips and needle arent covered by the govt hospitals,but strips kinda killing my pocket tho~ needles isnt that much since its 60cent for 1..

This post has been edited by whuffy_aniki: Jun 12 2013, 11:58 PM
rjb123
post Jun 14 2013, 12:59 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 12 2013, 05:46 PM)
Switch to Govt Hospital..FOC  biggrin.gif  Well almost exept the RM1 registration fee & the needles  blush.gif
I'm not Malaysian so I don't think will be eligible to discounts / using gov. hospital.

QUOTE(whuffy_aniki @ Jun 12 2013, 11:58 PM)
yea  thumbup.gif  only strips and needle arent covered by the govt hospitals,but strips kinda killing my pocket tho~ needles isnt that much since its 60cent for 1..
I import my strips from UK - cost is approx RM60 for a pack of 50, most pharmacies I see here are selling at this price for only 25 pcs. The meter I use isn't available here but can buy it in UK too for cheap (RM70 around only)

Needles I buy a few hundred at a time - normally RM40-45 per box of 100

My Dexcom G4 is due to be delivered on Monday by DHL (unless it gets held up at customs) rclxm9.gif
stimix
post Jun 14 2013, 10:37 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Oh. Now I got it.

Btw, just came back from govt clinic this morning. As usual the whole process took me ~2.5 hrs. No complain since getting free insulin and metformin. The doctor increased my insulin level to 10 ut for each jab dy. with this I scare going into hypo again... Monitoring soon.
samuraikacang
post Jun 14 2013, 11:03 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 14 2013, 10:37 AM)
Oh. Now I got it.

Btw, just came back from govt clinic this morning. As usual the whole process took me ~2.5 hrs. No complain since getting free insulin and metformin. The doctor increased my insulin level to 10 ut for each jab dy.  with this I scare going into hypo again... Monitoring soon.
need to monitor your bg level after food to see if the insulin increase is too much.
whuffy_aniki
post Jun 14 2013, 04:05 PM

104 posts

wahhhh strips only rm60 for 50?thats cheap,im using the yellow box of optium exceed T_T 50pcs=rm105 after i become member of the pharmacy i only get rm10 discount

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 14 2013, 10:37 AM)
Oh. Now I got it.

Btw, just came back from govt clinic this morning. As usual the whole process took me ~2.5 hrs. No complain since getting free insulin and metformin. The doctor increased my insulin level to 10 ut for each jab dy.  with this I scare going into hypo again... Monitoring soon.
aha,2.5hours?i really jelly..yeah hypo is really a bother,suddenly vision becomes blur,very weak sensitivity too doh.gif

This post has been edited by whuffy_aniki: Jun 14 2013, 04:08 PM
rjb123
post Jun 16 2013, 11:53 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(whuffy_aniki @ Jun 14 2013, 04:05 PM)
wahhhh strips only rm60 for 50?thats cheap,im using the yellow box of optium exceed T_T 50pcs=rm105 after i become member of the pharmacy i only get rm10 discount
aha,2.5hours?i really jelly..yeah hypo is really a bother,suddenly vision becomes blur,very weak sensitivity too  doh.gif
Yep, I'm using the Accu Chek Aviva Nano meter from UK - you can buy the meter there for less than RM50 as they make the money from the strips (NHS in UK will give a Type 1 1 box of 50 per week FOC). Unfortunately the model is different to the ones available in Asia so I also have another meter I bought here for emergency.

Now I'm using the same meter, and buy strips from eBay in UK - last time purchased 30 boxes or so and send over all together by courier smile.gif

Looks like my CGMS should be arriving by tomorrow, will need less strips and get a reading every 5 minutes drool.gif
stimix
post Jun 18 2013, 11:27 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Shocking news that I found this Morning.

Due to the current durian season, my family keeps on asking me out for a durian lunch...So I did a quick google search and found this: rclxm9.gif

http://healthylifecarenews.com/durian-bett...lon-and-papaya/
http://apjcn.nhri.org.tw/server/APJCN/Volu.../35-39-1017.pdf

Will reserve this weekend for Durian lunch at SS2 liao rclxm9.gif beh tahan blush.gif
samuraikacang
post Jun 18 2013, 11:31 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 18 2013, 11:27 AM)
Shocking news that I found this Morning.

Due to the current durian season, my family keeps on asking me out for a durian lunch...So I did a quick google search and found this:  rclxm9.gif

http://healthylifecarenews.com/durian-bett...lon-and-papaya/
http://apjcn.nhri.org.tw/server/APJCN/Volu.../35-39-1017.pdf

Will reserve this weekend for Durian lunch at SS2 liao  rclxm9.gif  beh tahan  blush.gif
always in moderation right.

still will increase you blood sugar if eat a basket of durian.
rjb123
post Jun 18 2013, 11:32 AM

1,820 posts

Durian has a lot of carbs actually - Low GI or High GI, still a lot of carbs sad.gif

rjb123
post Jun 18 2013, 11:35 AM

1,820 posts

And I've fitted my first sensor just now - approximately 2 hours before I'll start to get first readings / calibrate biggrin.gif

stimix
post Jun 18 2013, 11:36 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Jun 18 2013, 11:31 AM)
always in moderation right.

still will increase you blood sugar if eat a basket of durian.
Not-lah.. just moderate.. Will not eat any food thereafter and check my glucose level 2-3 hrs thereafter... wait for weekend biggrin.gif
stimix
post Jun 18 2013, 11:38 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jun 18 2013, 11:32 AM)
Durian has a lot of carbs actually - Low GI or High GI, still a lot of carbs sad.gif

27g / 100gm total is consider superb already rclxms.gif ..Even rolled oats that I taken every Morning also having Carbo reading of 60g/100gm! smile.gif
samuraikacang
post Jun 18 2013, 11:38 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

I am going to eat the most expensive durian I can get.
rjb123
post Jun 18 2013, 11:42 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 18 2013, 11:38 AM)
27g / 100gm total is consider superb already  rclxms.gif ..Even rolled oats that I taken every Morning also having Carbo reading of 60g/100gm!  smile.gif
Yeah but you don't eat crabs dry biggrin.gif - I mean 100g of Durian isn't much

Cooked rice has around 25g / 100G, raw rice 70-75g / 100G, 100G cooked isn't enough for a meal biggrin.gif

stimix
post Jun 18 2013, 11:46 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jun 18 2013, 11:42 AM)
Yeah but you don't eat crabs dry  biggrin.gif - I mean 100g of Durian isn't much

Cooked rice has around 25g / 100G, raw rice 70-75g / 100G, 100G cooked isn't enough for a meal biggrin.gif
huh cooked rice having low carbo? ohmy.gif Shocking weh.. What I know rice is one of the worst effect on my BS reading. Even brown rice is slightly better but still high if takes full plate biggrin.gif

BTW, do update us on your new meter...Dun you feel pain having needle (?) sitting under the skin all the time? How about taking shower?

This post has been edited by stimix: Jun 18 2013, 11:47 AM
rjb123
post Jun 18 2013, 11:58 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 18 2013, 11:46 AM)
huh  cooked rice having low carbo?  ohmy.gif Shocking weh.. What I know rice is one of the worst effect on my BS reading. Even brown rice is slightly better but still high if takes full plate  biggrin.gif

BTW, do update us on your new meter...Dun you feel pain having needle (?) sitting under the skin all the time? How about taking shower?
Well in effect cooked / raw is the same , just the cooked one has water inside hence less carbs / 100g

If I eat brown rice I normally have a 100g raw portion, equates to around 300g cooked - for me 5-7U of Novorapid depending on time of day / activity level

The insertion needle on the meter is fairly long , after that the needle that goes inside is tiny (don't even get to see it, as it's inside the insertion needle) although the tool looks a bit scary at first - it's the packet on the left

You keep the sensor / transmitter on the whole time - it's waterproof. Once taken off you need to replace with a new sensor - sensor guaranteed for 7 days - although some people report getting up to 4 weeks out of it, hope I get as long as possible as they're not cheap to say the least.

Will update over the next few days how I get on ... today not the best start as woke up with a high BG (10.2) sad.gif Unfortunately the first sensor I inserted had an error, so need to get that replaced sad.gif

This post has been edited by rjb123: Jun 18 2013, 12:00 PM
stimix
post Jun 18 2013, 12:07 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

How about the feeling of needle permanently attached to the body.. I really having phobia on this.. Anyway.. can't afford this gadget for sure haha..
rjb123
post Jun 18 2013, 12:09 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 18 2013, 12:07 PM)
How about the feeling of needle permanently attached to the body.. I really having phobia on this.. Anyway.. can't afford this gadget for sure haha..
I can only feel the adhesive / tape sticking the transmitter / sensor on to be honest - don't even notice the needle inside

Then again being a Type 1 I've injected myself so many times over the years I don't really feel those either anymore blush.gif

It does feel a bit unsual to have something stuck to you though - I'm sure I'll get used to that part soon ...

This post has been edited by rjb123: Jun 18 2013, 12:10 PM
samuraikacang
post Jun 18 2013, 12:18 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jun 18 2013, 12:09 PM)
I can only feel the adhesive / tape sticking the transmitter / sensor on to be honest - don't even notice the needle inside

Then again being a Type 1 I've injected myself so many times over the years I don't really feel those either anymore  blush.gif

It does feel a bit unsual to have something stuck to you though - I'm sure I'll get used to that part soon ...
I know that feeling of not feeling anything after 10 years sticking needle for insulin and blood check.

thank Allah, I already passed that phase. not needing any needles and frequent Blood sugar check.

14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:35 AM