Health Type 1 diabetes & Type 2 diabetes

stimix
post Mar 25 2013, 11:38 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Mar 25 2013, 11:03 AM)
Or bring some snack with you. One bottle of 250ml milo can help with hypoglycemia.
Yeah...Should start keeping stock of sweet/ glucose tablet liao.. blush.gif - Yesterday 2 hrs after dinner result - 6.4 (Wantan mee + apple & mango for dessert) and this Morning 6.3...hmnnnnn.. sad.gif ...really funny result.. Expecting <6 this Morning wth the result a night earlier rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 25 2013, 11:40 AM
samuraikacang
post Mar 25 2013, 12:05 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 25 2013, 11:38 AM)
Yeah...Should start keeping stock of sweet/ glucose tablet liao.. blush.gif  - Yesterday 2 hrs after dinner result - 6.4 (Wantan mee + apple & mango for dessert) and this Morning 6.3...hmnnnnn..  sad.gif ...really funny result.. Expecting <6 this Morning wth the result a night earlier  rclxub.gif
Usually the morning will depend on what you eat and did last night.

not enough sleep/ less quality sleep will bring the sugar high. stress also contribute to high sugar.

This post has been edited by samuraikacang: Mar 25 2013, 12:05 PM
PPARS88
post Mar 26 2013, 10:08 AM

we found the root cause of all human suffering: DISEASE!

stimix
post Mar 29 2013, 10:46 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

After a week on 100% insulin jab i.e 8 ut Insulatard b4 bed and 8ut of Actrapid on every meals during day time.. My results seems to be yoyo doh.gif rclxub.gif Certain days..I'm getting good result of ~ 4.8-5.6 FSB and also reasonable 2hrs BS reading of ~ 6.8 to 8.8

But during last week, I got 2 incident of Hypo..i.e last Sunday afternoon as mentioned earlier and 2 nights ago when I woke up middle of the night and feeling so cold & hand shaking. I straight away took the reading and it was 3.9! And on certain day..my random hrs after meals reading wer horrible..ranging from 11 to the high of 18 damn rclxub.gif

I suspect all those high readings were due to the timing I took the reading & also more carbo food I took..for eg.. the reading of 18 was ~ 3.5hrs after lunch and ~4 hrs after insulin. and I took one big canto fried ying yong that day rclxub.gif

Hopefully my 2nd week will be better as I started increasing to 9 ut MYSELF from Today brows.gif
samuraikacang
post Mar 29 2013, 11:00 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

Medical journal on incretin type drug i.e victoza.

http://diabetes.diabetesjournals.org/conte...7d-651738e22e43

summary: finding show potential of tumor arising from the usage of incretin type medication

anyone using victoza, byetta or anything incretin should discuss with your doctor.
samuraikacang
post Apr 4 2013, 04:12 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

I stop using Victoza since two weeks ago. No changes in appetite, blood sugar or weight.
stimix
post Apr 7 2013, 05:15 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Apr 4 2013, 04:12 PM)
I stop using Victoza since two weeks ago. No changes in appetite, blood sugar or weight.
Hmnnn Why? I thought you are on clinical trial hmm.gif .So now you on what drugs since u said everything OK?

BTW, I visited my Doc on last Friday. She asked me to maintain my day insulin at 8 ut instead of 9 that I administered myself blush.gif .. My reason, certain time esp breakfast & Lunch result >8 and few times >10. but there are many occasions of result below 5 too and she told me she rather me to be ~ 6-8 rather than below 5!...so go back to 8ut blush.gif
samuraikacang
post Apr 8 2013, 12:44 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 7 2013, 05:15 PM)
Hmnnn Why? I thought you are on clinical trial  hmm.gif .So now you on what drugs since u said everything OK?

BTW, I visited my Doc on last Friday. She asked me to maintain my  day insulin at 8 ut instead of 9 that I administered myself  blush.gif .. My reason, certain time esp breakfast & Lunch result >8 and few times >10. but there are many occasions of result below 5 too and she told me she rather me to be ~ 6-8 rather than below 5!...so go back to 8ut  blush.gif
just on metformin 750mg. morning results between 4.8 - 5.2 and after food between 6.4 - 7.5
stimix
post Apr 8 2013, 07:18 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Apr 8 2013, 12:44 AM)
just on metformin 750mg. morning results between 4.8 - 5.2 and after food between 6.4 - 7.5
Wah.. Your diebetic probably still in infancy..Metformin totally failed me years ago before I added in - glicamide & thereafter to Glicazide smile.gif

However I still on metformin bcos the Doc said it is a cancer prevention drug rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Apr 8 2013, 07:19 AM
samuraikacang
post Apr 8 2013, 09:15 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 8 2013, 07:18 AM)
Wah.. Your diebetic probably still in infancy..Metformin totally failed me years ago before I added in - glicamide & thereafter to Glicazide  smile.gif

However I still on metformin bcos the Doc said it is a cancer prevention drug  rclxms.gif
I had diabetes since 2003 so basically 10 years already. Doctor said since I'm losing weight the condition has reversed. Currently the body no longer diabetic. Technically they said (i have two doctors on my diabetic) cure but since diabetes has no cure they just remind me to keep up whatever i did with the diet and exercise.
stimix
post Apr 8 2013, 02:21 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Apr 8 2013, 09:15 AM)
I had diabetes since 2003 so basically 10 years already. Doctor said since I'm losing weight the condition has reversed. Currently the body no longer diabetic. Technically they said (i have two doctors on my diabetic) cure but since diabetes has no cure they just remind me to keep up whatever i did with the diet and exercise.
So nice of you and most probably you're confirmed type 2 with obesity and now going normal weight already? For me.. > 20 yrs ago. and my weight is also lesser than what I initially weighted when 1st diagnosed. I was 76kg and now avg 68kg. However far from the reading when I managed to reduced my weight to 58kg within 2 yrs after 1st diagnosed blush.gif doh.gif

However at current lifestyle not easy although possible to go back to 58kg blush.gif - At this 58kg.. my reading avg 6-8 only for fasting compare to b4 insulin of 11-12. Atleast with insulin, I am maintaining my reading of 5-8 right now rclxms.gif
samuraikacang
post Apr 8 2013, 08:25 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

for elder people, diabetes is a progressive disease. my dad also have diabetes, he is 65 yo. so having a blood sugar at 8 in the morning is already good.

my case is different since i'm a young diabetic.
stimix
post Apr 9 2013, 07:30 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Apr 8 2013, 08:25 PM)
for elder people, diabetes is a progressive disease. my dad also have diabetes, he is 65 yo. so having a blood sugar at 8 in the morning is already good.

my case is different since i'm a young diabetic.
I'm still young mah (At heart too brows.gif ) just mid 40. so my target is getting below 7 most of the time..so if result showing >7.. really frustrated lor sad.gif Yesterday result was good & so do this Morning. No more going below 5 for the past few days. Yesterday on brown rice dinner + 1 pear & apple for dessert. Got 6.4 after 2 hrs and this Morning -6 rclxms.gif ..During weekend abit yoyo (6.9 to 10.8) bcos, took hokkien mee for dinner & lotsa junk blush.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Apr 9 2013, 07:33 AM
samuraikacang
post Apr 9 2013, 09:30 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 9 2013, 07:30 AM)
I'm still young mah (At heart too  brows.gif ) just mid 40. so my target is getting below 7 most of the time..so if result showing >7.. really frustrated lor  sad.gif  Yesterday result was good & so do this Morning. No more going below 5 for the past few days. Yesterday on brown rice dinner + 1 pear & apple for dessert. Got 6.4 after 2 hrs and this Morning -6  rclxms.gif ..During weekend abit yoyo (6.9 to 10.8) bcos, took hokkien mee for dinner & lotsa junk  blush.gif
then you already know which food will help which food dont help hehe
stimix
post Apr 9 2013, 09:52 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Apr 9 2013, 09:30 AM)
then you already know which food will help which food dont help hehe
Still not perfect yet and costing me atleast RM84/mth for the OneTouch test strip to monitor atleast twice a day. Prior to insulin, I only monitor once a week!! and mostly neglect and naïve about the food I took.. blush.gif There are few things I found:

- I can't take 1 bowl of rice anymore. By just cutting down to 1/2 or 3/4 bowl of rice for each meal, my result after 2 hrs will be perfect at 5.5- 6.8. If I took 1 full bowl - the result is about 8-9 sad.gif

- Apples & pears are 2 best fruits that will not increase my blood sugar compare to mango, guava, oranges, banana (2nd worse) & grapes (Worse)..I have yet to try durian/rambutan/langsat/longan yet blush.gif biggrin.gif

- Contrary to my earlier belief of taking so called hi-fibre biscuits as normal breakfast, This is not a good option as just 3 pc of Jacob hi-fibre crackers & another 3 of Hwatai vege coated cream cracker also can resulted in avg 8.8-9,5 reading after 2 hrs. Later on I found out avg biscuit having Carbo reading of >65gm for every 100gm of meal...bad actually..

From my research, it's best taking food wth glycaemic reading of below 55 and also carbo level of below 60gm for every 100gm.. and with that, I started taking only hi-fibre wholemeal bread /wheat germ bread for a start...with avg 48gm per 100gm of carbo. Maybe will continue with something I hate most- OATs!! blush.gif

samuraikacang
post Apr 15 2013, 01:52 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

I'm going to experiment with Sweet Potato see if it going to rise the BS after taking it.
Jo C
post Apr 25 2013, 09:33 AM

55 posts

You can manage ur diabetes with proper nutrition. Insulin injection wil usually control it to a certain period of time n then it gets worse n u hv to inject more n more n more till its uncontrollable. then ur organs starts to fail one after another. beware!
samuraikacang
post Apr 25 2013, 09:51 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(Jo C @ Apr 25 2013, 09:33 AM)
You can manage ur diabetes with proper nutrition. Insulin injection wil usually control it to a certain period of time n then it gets worse n u hv to inject more n more n more till its uncontrollable. then ur organs starts to fail one after another. beware!
that only true for people with working pancreas. they can control diabetes with proper nutrition and exercise like me but elderly people and people with type 1 whose pancreas not producing insulin have no choice but to take insulin. the notion of insulin promotes organ failures is baseless and unfounded. Organ failures happen when you don't managed your diabetes.
Jo C
post Apr 25 2013, 05:14 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Apr 25 2013, 09:51 AM)
that only true for people with working pancreas. they can control diabetes with proper nutrition and exercise like me but elderly people and people with type 1 whose pancreas not producing insulin have no choice but to take insulin. the notion of insulin promotes organ failures is baseless and unfounded. Organ failures happen when you don't managed your diabetes.
why do ppl with workin pancreas who can produce insulin but somehow the body is not sensitive to insulin yet stil hv to take more insulin?
samuraikacang
post Apr 25 2013, 05:36 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(Jo C @ Apr 25 2013, 05:14 PM)
why do ppl with workin pancreas who can produce insulin but somehow the body is not sensitive to insulin yet stil hv to take more insulin?
most of this particular type are obese. when you are obese insulin resistance increase.

14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:17 PM