9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

°°Official LYN Toyota Prius C Owners/Fans V1°°

Salamander
post Jun 12 2012, 06:30 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(lkp857 @ Jun 12 2012, 06:19 PM)
How's your autolock combination? manage to get it done? I followed the Manual (US version), nothing happen.
Yeah, I hope it's not the previous methods we've already tried ehhe. Please be the right method for our cars *crosses fingers*
Salamander
post Jun 13 2012, 12:28 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(schdmitz @ Jun 12 2012, 08:20 PM)
is there any issues for prius drive over flood during raining season? i only will get my prius C end of the year o new year.....its ok for me.......
Today there was weirdass clouds and strong wind and rain and I had no problems, made it go into bigass puddles and all and it's fine, nothing came up on the display but I remember there was a user who said some warning lights came on when he drove it through heavy rain, I did not experience that at all (yet) so it's been ok for me.

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jun 12 2012, 11:25 PM)
I think if you complain to SC they might repaint for you. Last tme my old Myvi (sold off ord) hv the same problem and Perodua repainted for me. I complaint directly to SC. I didn't bother to go through the SA at all because that guy's name is Ah Beng! Serious.

If Perodua can repaint, UMW must be able too...
Thanks, I will try to go through SC if I can, I wonder how long that process will take (from filing a complaint to getting the bonnet repainted) so I might get it done one shot when I go for my first service. There won't be any issue with getting the color to match will there? Or maybe they will just take the short route and try to polish those marks out and say they repainted it?

Damn todays clouds were sinister looking.

This post has been edited by Salamander: Jun 13 2012, 12:30 AM
Salamander
post Jun 13 2012, 11:03 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(calyxhybrid @ Jun 13 2012, 02:06 AM)
After many moons of waiting, I finaly rcv my silver C-Wing yesterday.  Complained to my SA about the rear left side plastic panel just below the rear left fabric seat that always pops out even after your press it in. SA told me it's common but i presume it's a manufactured defect. Does anyone face this problem..?
Congrats on receiving smile.gif hmm, about that plastic panel I will go check mine and let you know. Whenever I'm told something is "common" that instantly makes me think it's the opposite lol (I mean when it is coming from a sales type of person).

QUOTE(EVA01 @ Jun 13 2012, 09:22 AM)
Filter I made myself lol...just like how i make for my Desktop. Just a normal dust filter.
I didn't take out the fan part. Just stuck it at the opening hole there.

Just got OBD check on PC. The autolock function is disable by default, presumably by Toyota Asia decision.
Will try get the latest diagnose software for Prius C to enable the function back.

I think the decision is not to autolock to prevent people stuck in car when Accident happen.
I hope there's something us owners can do to get the autolock back. Keep us informed smile.gif

QUOTE(zorross @ Jun 13 2012, 10:26 AM)
By the time come, the whole exhaust will be get rusted because of this piece of crap.

http://img40.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=...65_122_77lo.JPG

Added on June 13, 2012, 10:30 amThis is the defect of the rear seats. There is small hole. You guys experience the same?

http://img265.imagevenue.com/img.php?image...4_122_125lo.JPG
I will check mine and let you know (rear seat defect thing). As for the exhaust I am telling the SC to treat it (I'm going today I think).

QUOTE(zorross @ Jun 13 2012, 10:34 AM)
This is the first scratch! I'm not sure whether the tinted guy accidentaly scratch.. Sh*tla no 100% take care

http://img192.imagevenue.com/img.php?image...7_122_142lo.JPG
Well I can positively tell you that the people who Toyota got to tint mine were careless as well, they split one window rubber and just superglued it back together, they left some leftover tint there too, the windows have water spots all over and parts of the window were dirty on the inside. Not only that but whenever there is dew or the window is wet my window has numbers showing where the dew/moisture is (location is front windshield on bottom right side in front of driver position). I tried wiping both inside and outside but I cannot seem to get rid of it much if at all.
I'm sure they left it out somewhere baking in the sun which explains the water spots.

@beck_ken
I'm not sure if you already said this before, but is your car still spitting out gas at refills?

Check out these springs and strut bar. Well no pictures of the actual springs but it shows the height difference, and they do show the bar.

This post has been edited by Salamander: Jun 13 2012, 12:10 PM
Salamander
post Jun 13 2012, 04:00 PM

46 posts

Ok, done my first servicing, I will take a picture of the receipt soon. Total was about 131RM. There were 3 choices of engine oil - mineral, semi-synthetic (95'ish), and fully synthetic (200'ish), I took semi-synthetic. Not sure what oil filter but it was around 31RM or something. I told them about the problem with the scratches on the bonnet and the SC guy basically just shrugged it off saying, "there's one thing you should know about black colored cars blah blah blah" (as if I don't know about marring, microscratches,holograms,swirls, etc...I did NOT do these ones, the car came with it) and pretty much they aren't going to do anything about it. I told him I received the car like this and that I only brought it up now cos I wanted to do it in one shot (because there were several other things they got wrong like my insurance, etc). Even then he was adamant that there was nothing they could do about it - I felt like I was more like being brushed off and the issue ignored like they didn't want to do anything about it. I'm definitely writing it up in my survey anyway. The SC person also told me a place to "go wash, polish, wax, shine" my car... I do feel quite disappointed that I couldn't get my car in an immaculate condition (this sort of thing is not just a simple buy buy purchase, gonna be using it for years to come) - any scratches and defects, *I* want to be the one to put them on there, not someone else. It should be spotless and perfect upon receiving. Not dusty, dirty, scratched, etc. Anyway enough ranting about that. I told SC about the rusty struts etc, they said something about the metal and that they could not treat it because if they do it would heat up and give off a "burnt smell". I don't think he realised that I was referring to two parts - not just the one on the exhaust but another one. I will bring it to their attention again on next service. They didn't wash my car but they gave me a voucher so maybe I'll send it tomorrow morning.
Salamander
post Jun 13 2012, 05:59 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(zorross @ Jun 13 2012, 04:56 PM)
Salamander i am really sad for you too... Haih. But I still love the car..^^
Me too, my love for this car grows exponentially haha. The defect/problems were not the cars fault anyway, it was the fault of those who handled it in the process.
BTW, that semi-synthetic they used was 10W30. I'm not sure if I am feeling a placebo effect on the car but I'll have to drive it for a day or two more just to be sure and also see how it affects my mileage any. It'll probably be fine. Any thoughts on 10W30 instead of OW20?
Salamander
post Jun 13 2012, 09:11 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(alrasla @ Jun 13 2012, 07:49 PM)
yup.. if someone want brake-into PC, easily for them to rob coz no BEEP BEEP sound... i just hear from adviser
shocking.gif
What options do we have for an audible alarm? I've seen a few of the Viper ones for PriusC on youtube but no idea if it's available here.

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Jun 13 2012, 08:23 PM)
Finally got my Blue PC. Blue colour really nice.

Had a great drive, but still not use to the PC & auto.
Good looking car, was it in perfect condition when you received it?Check everything?
Salamander
post Jun 14 2012, 12:35 AM

46 posts

Ok, just looking at my car again like I always do I noticed something that pisses me off. I just went and wanted to look at the plastic defect you guys were talking about in the rear seat, and I noticed that whichever ******* serviced my car, they scratched pretty much everywhere on the plastic under the rear seat and the plastic parts that are under the door that meet the rubber. WTF kind of service is this? They don't know how to NOT mess customers cars up? It's like the rip stuff up and just throw it on the ground probably, not to mention one panel wasn't properly stuck back. The plastic part that is on the bottom of the door part, there is bigass scratches where the plastic meets the metal... I know for a fact this was not there before because I always look at the car everyday from top to bottom, especially with the fact like I mentioned earlier about cataloguing all the scratches. Can I complain to them about this?
Salamander
post Jun 14 2012, 12:19 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(SkyGig @ Jun 14 2012, 10:02 AM)
Yesterday I send my PC to SC in Puchong and it cost me RM 109.80.The SC told me the rusted part under the car is common and nothing serious.They even told me Toyota is no longer using 10W20 oil instead it is replaced with 10W30 oil.The SC situated at remote industrial area in Puchong,therefore not many cars to service(the way i look at it).The service staff there also try to be as friendly as possible,I think.Experience on servicing cars?Well,I don't know.
That seems to be the case, mine was 10W30, though I did ask about whether OW20 was available. The staff is very friendly but I have to say my car got handled roughly as there were marks all over the plastic panels under the rear seat and some other parts where plastic meets metal at the rear doors. Not sure if the scratches on the metal are visible now due to repositioning of plastic or if it was from carelessness during handling but both sides have it now.

QUOTE(sjsk @ Jun 14 2012, 10:54 AM)
So for those who have sent their car for 1st service, anyone managed to get the rusted bracket changed?

Due to send mine in soon.
No, I don't think they will change or treat that rusty part. Not from what I've asked them and what I've heard from other people.

QUOTE(cuz @ Jun 14 2012, 12:00 PM)
just did my 5k service... haha..
anyway... anyone planning to get some visors/ car mats/ kits etc etc?
5k? Wah hehe. Well I do plan on getting all those especially a horn addon (only if it doesn't affect warranty). But for now as for mats I will just cutup some cheap one. Where I am I don't think anything specific to PC will be coming anytime soon so just have to custom make or find something that fits by trial and error.
Salamander
post Jun 14 2012, 03:24 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(colinkit @ Jun 14 2012, 02:01 PM)
I was checked with service engineer, they mentioned Prius c and Prius both do not have auto-lock.

My friend also claimed that even Mazda do not have auto-lock due to US ppl complaint and sue car manufacturer for safety reason when the passenger in emergency and locking system breakdown.
That's weird because the prius c in US has ability to enable/disable autolock, wonder why they allowed that then (in the US if they complained).

QUOTE(Kiding @ Jun 14 2012, 02:49 PM)
auto-lock is not a must to me, but it should be an option for customer, auto-lock may cause passenger unable to escape during accident, so does the security film. I personally think I can tolerate thief break in my car, but I can't afford to risk my life when in the emergency situation such as falling in the river or car is burning but unable to get out.
I agree it should at least be an option given. When I think about it though, no matter what the situation, if a car gets it's door smashed it's not like whether it's locked or unlocked will make much difference, they'll break the glass or cut through alot of the times. I suppose there is also times when locked doors pose high dangers like what you said above, so much better to be safe than sorry. Still, I want that option tongue.gif
I'm getting used to the no autolock anyway because my hand automagically locks the door lol, it's a practice that is highly embedded into my brain. I am still trying to get used to remembering to fold the mirrors before turning the car off, and then when it's off I press the side mirror button again so it will automatically unfold when I turn it back on (thanks to the person who suggested this many posts back!).

Does anyone have a definite answer about the car alarm being audible? I'd like to test mine but not sure how to go about it. I thought in the manual it says there's a button you can press on the fob to activate it?

Which malfreemap is compatible with the DVD-AVN (I haven't gotten an answer about this yet). The page is at:
http://www.garmin.com.sg/mapupdate/

This post has been edited by Salamander: Jun 14 2012, 03:27 PM
Salamander
post Jun 14 2012, 04:54 PM

46 posts

The details of my service:
Service Type Parts Number Parts Quantity Parts Description
FREE SERVICE 1 9043012031 1 GASKET $1.80
FREE SERVICE 1 90915YZZE1 1 OIL FILTER $30.70
FREE SERVICE 1 SSMCF10W304L 1 SYN FORMULA TGMO 4L $97
FREE SERVICE 1 08808003L 1 WINDOW WASHER 30ML $2.30

Altogether $131.80 (I did not use any vouchers. But I did get one for a car wash/vacuum cos they didn't manage to do it that day).

Added on June 14, 2012, 5:15 pm
QUOTE(EVA01 @ Jun 14 2012, 04:33 PM)
Just go to Malfree and download the Garmin normal (not 205) installer. Once done, you should get a supp.img file. Put that in the SD card. Go to Map and uncheck the Malsing POI and check Malfree POI.

The auto lock feature is build in. It just get turn off in the in car computer. If you have access to the car software Toyota (mine is old version), you can just turn it on. Is a market driven decision, we don't get land keeping assist and Auto park option like the one in US too.

Alarm and reverse sensor is install local in Malaysia. Yes. It work. Just try lock yourself in the car. Wait 30 sec, and move your hand. The motion sensor will kick in and alarm will sound for 5 min.

Didn't any of your guy read the manual? Is written there...
There is no button to press to deactivate the alarm, just get the key close to the power and start the car. Alarm will stop.
The Alarm will also keep record log in car computer where you can view from service center when it trigger and what the reason.

If you get the DVD-AVN unit, you getting a 40w Panasonic OEM Asia unit. I trying to flash the software to G-Book version but I can't find the required model number (if anyone know please share).

The DVD-AVN unit in Japan will show the HSD information when driving and is better looking in 6" rather than the 3.5" screen.
Yeah it's a pity we don't get the extended information on the 6.1" screen, that was one of my gripes about it. Thanks for all the advice, specially on the malfree maps

Added on June 14, 2012, 5:17 pm
QUOTE(GaretLim @ Jun 14 2012, 04:38 PM)
I actually have the complete servicing price and mileage paper which is useful to all of PCians but seems my iPad not suitable to attach picture to this site.
Someone PM me their email and I will email him the picture so that he could post here.
Good deal?
rclxm9.gif
What about posting to some place like imgur? Hehe I want to print that out

This post has been edited by Salamander: Jun 14 2012, 05:20 PM
Salamander
post Jun 14 2012, 06:28 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(beck_ken @ Jun 14 2012, 06:15 PM)
Why use semi for 1st service? Isn't it not recommended?

Oh ya btw, I found a shop at my house area selling floor carpet/map. I am planning to buy and DIY myself...
That's the choices they are giving now, and I thought fully synthetic was kinda overkill at the moment. I can't remember who mentioned earlier but seems 10W30 is what they are using as standard now instead of OW20. I honestly forgot what mineral oil they had, and the SC advised against it when I brought up that another SC said mineral oil until 10k (no idea why he didn't want me using mineral oil). If I get a chance when I go bring the car for a wash tomorrow I'll ask at the SC what mineral oil it was, unless someone here can answer it before then. Is there someone out there with the knowledge willing to write out something explanatory/in-depth of which oil we should be using until what mileage and the reasons why? Thanks if you can. BTW, let's say if it was indeed recommended to do the mineral oil until 10k, would it be problematic since I already used semi and then went to mineral on my next service?
Salamander
post Jun 15 2012, 01:47 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(lkp857 @ Jun 15 2012, 09:09 AM)
Dear PC owner,
After driving my car for a while, there is noticeable and annoying "eik eik" sound coming from back seat when driving on uneven road or enter pot hole and vibrating sound from the plastic cover below the steering.

The plastic sound can be eradicated when I hold it with my hand, so I suspecting is that cover issue. And the back seat, when I fold it and unfold it again, the sound gone for a while. Anyone experience this?
Not those exact problems but I think I am hearing something once every now and then from the left side of the car, possibly front or back, haven't quite isolated because it comes and goes. If it's anything squeaky I suspect maybe plastic or rubber.

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Jun 15 2012, 09:10 AM)
For the rusted part at exhaust paip, my SA confirm that this is normal for every car (even the New Camry), and the rust just only the surface of the metal, just like the disc break. He said better don't spray paint or anything, as it already protected. (Dunno how true it is)
Yes, SC told me somewhat similar things about it having been treated/protected beforehand and that they wouldn't do anything after or it'll give off weird burn smells when heated (at least the part on exhaust).

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jun 15 2012, 09:40 AM)
Toyota aim to use 0w-20. Why our local SC said now they changed to 10W-30? UMW tipu us?

http://phillipstoyota.com/OW20-Oil.aspx
http://www.toyota.com/owners/web/pages/res...hetic-motor-oil

Toyota already started to push for this since 2005 and yet UMW still using 10W-30?
Yeah now that makes me wonder... oh well, we'll see how it turns out.
Salamander
post Jun 15 2012, 05:07 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(timeonce @ Jun 15 2012, 04:13 PM)
wow keng beck_ken. do let us know how to DIY ya. Maybe we can do a forum on DIY PC here as well.
today got Toyota Roadshow in Pavalion. Saw PC and the FT86 as well.. super tempted to get the 86 ^^
You can get the 86 for me if you want tongue.gif
Salamander
post Jun 16 2012, 10:32 AM

46 posts

[quote=kevinttk,Jun 16 2012, 10:19 AM]
Now I almost reached 10k and the next service will be around 600+ if not mistaken.

[/quote]

wow ! you are really the most hypermiler among all having prius c here. mine only 3200km after 2 months.

[/quote]

@beck_ken, @kevinttk
What kind of mileage are both of you getting? Or anyone for that matter? Maybe we should have a mileage stats on the front page hehe.

Is anyone else going to post some of their routes on google maps or trip log from gps (if that's even possible) so that others can see what kind of mileage they get in comparison with other people? Would be interesting to see the kind of mileage all of us can get for the same routes.
Salamander
post Jun 16 2012, 02:04 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(beck_ken @ Jun 16 2012, 01:19 PM)
Oh yeah, car mat I got it for RM90 from the shop selling all kind of floor mat
I'm still thinking on what temporary mats I can put in, I'm sick of spanking the mat all the time tongue.gif
I don't want one that is too fugly, but I guess I'll just find one that can get the job done for now till something better is available.
Salamander
post Jun 17 2012, 01:00 AM

46 posts

Tried it, good thing it was straightforward. What's meant to be under the drivers seat btw? Just a gap for putting something under there?
Salamander
post Jun 17 2012, 07:32 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(mkhor7 @ Jun 17 2012, 10:10 AM)
Maybe a compact underseat sub-woofer...
Haha, I'm sure there is one out there that fits under that.

QUOTE(hoongss @ Jun 17 2012, 11:39 AM)
I got my door visor for my PC smile.gif fit perfectly!
Is it an actual pc one or one that's for another car but fits perfect?

Salamander
post Jun 18 2012, 12:38 AM

46 posts

The VPNS? Yup because I've never heard it activate, not to mention I can creep up on pedestrians without them even knowing I'm there heh (not that I want to, but they just don't seem to notice).
Salamander
post Jun 18 2012, 12:52 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(hunting @ Jun 18 2012, 11:20 AM)
Seems like there are quite a few new PC drivers in JB. Saw at least 4 cars over the wknd. didn't able able to do the flashing coz no head on...lol
Lol I wanted to signal to all the pc drivers I've seen in Kota Kinabalu but I always forget, but alot of them were aunties or grandmas I think, so far only seen one middle aged guy and one younger lady.
Salamander
post Jun 19 2012, 12:09 AM

46 posts

Just got myself a cargo tray, it's not an exact fit but it'll do for now, there was another one but it didn't fit. My umbrella fits perfect under the tray sides and my emergency kit fills up the gap on the side. I also have a container that still fits perfect with the tray there. Whilst it's not a perfect tray fit it is more than enough to function as one. I will put the other smaller container there just to show you guys how much fits in there snugly. If you are in KK you can get the same one in Kolombong store (sorry I forget the name, but if anyone really wants to know I can go check it for those in kk) near that Survey supermarket (past Towering). The price was $19.90RM, the bigger tray that did not fit (you could probably cut it some but prolly not worth doing that (the cost was $35RM) unless you are really good at that stuff.

The dimensions of this tray are:
H6.5 x W59 x L88 cm
I tried measuring the cargo area and it's about 91-96cm length and 66-68cm width (sorry, I just got general estimates). The height of the tray was fine, just under the height of the cargo lip so it doesn't jut out too much.

You can see the red umbrella at the top right
This is to show the fit on the right side
The emergency kit on the left side
And now with two containers and an old ass Nokia Classic 1680 for size reference (lol).

It's not exactly pretty but if you really don't want crap dripping or whatever in the back this could be an alternative for now (maybe now I can go fishing... not, I don't want to stink the car up hehe).

Btw, I was going around my neighbourhood on my motorcycle for fun just then and I spotted the house of the owner with the only orange Prius C that I've seen in KK so far. I think Prius C owners are concentrated in my area cos I've seen so many, population is growing brows.gif thumbup.gif

Added on June 19, 2012, 12:11 am
QUOTE(PriusC-i @ Jun 18 2012, 11:18 PM)
Hi Prius C owners, I'm silver PC owner here wanted to get to know all of you and sila tunjuk ajar...juz driving it for a month..fanstactic car to zip-zap around..
Congrats and welcome :> hope you enjoy the car it's really great!

This post has been edited by Salamander: Jun 19 2012, 12:11 AM

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0441sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:57 PM