Wedding Photos Gone Bad

TSgoldfries
post Apr 22 2012, 05:04 PM, updated 14y ago

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Just saw this today http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-21...urry-shots.html

Are these Britain's worst wedding pictures? Newlyweds devastated as photographers fail to get couple in frame and took blurry shots
Shots were out of focus, blurry, showed the back of guests' heads and not a single pictures of the groom's parents was taken

A newlywed couple were devastated after bungling wedding photographers ruined their big day by taking 'horrific' pictures - including one which featured a spooky floating hand.

Thomas and Anneka Geary commissioned professional photographers Ian McCloskey and Nikki Carter £750 to cover what should have been the best day of their lives.

But they were stunned when the pictures arrived and included out of focus shots of the couple, the back of guests’ heads and a snap of the bride’s mother whose face was completely obscured by her hat.

I did a search and found http://www.westgatephotography.com/ LOL.

Please note that we are in no way associated with the Westgate Photography mentioned in the article published by the Telegraph and the Mail Online on the 20th April 2012. We pride ourselves on delivering the best possible service to our clients and maintaining successful and long lasting relationships.

Poor thing company with same name also probably got some bad press. biggrin.gif

I saw some commented "you get what you paid for." - while the statement is true in many areas of life, I don't think it's a reason to deliver horrible photos just because one is lowly paid. Delivery is delivery.

Looking at the execution, the photographers clearly lack the knowledge of critical elements that are involved in photography (eg settings to freeze motion) and also the lack of knowledge / understanding of weddings, and even anticipating events.

It also looks like there's a huge lack in attention to detail, and also the lack of skill to control the crowd (as photographer, you do have some authority that day to move people around. most people would oblige to the request.

I think the more alarming matter is how the service provider could even deliver images that failed. For me, I make it a point to NOT show failed photos, unless so happened the failed photo has some redeeming points, eg slightly out of focus but composition and moment looks decent.

---------------

2 things for people to realize.

1) Check the photographer portfolio. Some photographer uses other people's portfolio. One way to check is to notice the styles, usually a photographer will have a similar style across his / her portfolio. If in doubt, ask for their qualification (not everyone has them, you don't need qualification to be a good photographer. Not having them doesn't make you any less a photographer either).

2) Don't bother getting into the industry if you can't deliver.
sniper on the roof
post Apr 22 2012, 07:44 PM

23,414 posts

Tru story bro
hidden830726
post Apr 22 2012, 09:58 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

Read that too, aha u link it here.

The photo seems bad enough, but im just wondering, is it a few bad pics among the many good or seriously the photographer submit these bad picture as end product?

Im sure some of the bad stuff can pp out
lwliam
post Apr 23 2012, 12:34 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

hidden, I'm pretty sure that if those are just a shot or 2 of bad ones, the couple wouldn't make such a big fuss out of it. Looks like the hired photog really screwed this up pretty badly..
beelze_gpwk
post Apr 23 2012, 12:48 AM

632 posts

doh.gif

my cousin in secondary school can take pictures better than that...
saw his shots taken during his schools prom nite and it is rather nice...
akcatzstudio
post Apr 23 2012, 07:17 AM

PureAwesomeness
1,316 posts

lol XD
Amzach
post Apr 23 2012, 09:13 AM

43 posts

That's the worst wedding shot paid at £750...
Even my first wedding shot are way better than those shots...
And most importantly... no family photos and newly wed potraits?
That really is sucks...
PAC_3467
post Apr 23 2012, 09:29 AM

102 posts

Gosh...just checked the photos. @@

It seems like those shots are taken with compact cameras?? Or even compact cameras can do better job tho!
onghy
post Apr 23 2012, 09:42 AM

395 posts

Saw something similar 2 years ago, also happen at UK, and the couples sue the photographer.

Most people's perception -> using a DSLR=pro, which could end up with situation like this.
hilmiangah
post Apr 23 2012, 09:44 AM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

thats the trend nowadays

and mat,raju and ah chong with a dslr nowadays is a "photographer"
beelze_gpwk
post Apr 23 2012, 10:31 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Apr 23 2012, 09:44 AM)
thats the trend nowadays

and mat,raju and ah chong with a dslr nowadays is a "photographer"
agree... once upon a time, when DSLR is only a luxury to own, whoever has it = photographer...
but nowadays when DSLR is as cheap as your high end compact... it makes everyone think they are good photographer by holding one in their hand
sometimes i really dislike the availability of "entry level" DSLR... cos wherever i go there will be people hanging it on their shoulder and swinging it around just like a shopping bag... and i have seen old grandpa and granny with their hand shaking and taking pictures with DSLR... (wonder who cheated them to buy a DSLR... i hope the anti-shake works for them)
but come to think of it, if such entry level DSLR is not available, we may have miss a lot of great pictures as there are a lot of great eye out there who doesn't have the bucks to go for pro level gear.

anyway, all in all i still think that it is back to the human being... just greed for money and start becoming a "photographer" for "quick money" and spoiling the industry...
PAC_3467
post Apr 23 2012, 10:42 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Apr 23 2012, 10:31 AM)
agree... once upon a time, when DSLR is only a luxury to own, whoever has it = photographer...
but nowadays when DSLR is as cheap as your high end compact... it makes everyone think they are good photographer by holding one in their hand
sometimes i really dislike the availability of "entry level" DSLR... cos wherever i go there will be people hanging it on their shoulder and swinging it around just like a shopping bag... and i have seen old grandpa and granny with their hand shaking and taking pictures with DSLR... (wonder who cheated them to buy a DSLR... i hope the anti-shake works for them)
but come to think of it, if such entry level DSLR is not available, we may have miss a lot of great pictures as there are a lot of great eye out there who doesn't have the bucks to go for pro level gear.

anyway, all in all i still think that it is back to the human being... just greed for money and start becoming a "photographer" for "quick money" and spoiling the industry...
Yea, there are a lot of Photographers out there. Whether to be one of the photographers, or THE rephotograph, it is very much depends on a person's skills and experience. Perhaps go for M4/3 is good! hehe
hilmiangah
post Apr 23 2012, 11:18 AM

5,602 posts

LOL

i use an entry level dslr and i hung it around my neck all the tiem

are u gonna disleik me
TSgoldfries
post Apr 23 2012, 11:29 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ehh, what has this got to do with people hanging camera on their neck? smile.gif
Joseph Hahn
post Apr 23 2012, 11:33 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Should've just used the green box mode. whistling.gif But worse is the shooter don't have any communication skills at all.

But maybe dailymail is just trolling... sweat.gif
edan1979
post Apr 23 2012, 11:41 AM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,517 posts

poh... i'd rather pay a lot for my wedding than have no great picture to keep for my really important day of life...

even i'm confident to take picture i will always tell people to hired a truly pro... and tagging along with them helping with communication and such... haven't dare to took an important work like this by myself...
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 23 2012, 11:49 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Well u cant take 10 photos and 10 would turn out great no? especially when these are spontaneous snap..

Isnt that is why the snappers usually took like 100+ pics and then filter the bad ones and only give like probably 20% of the good ones to the client?
Cynox
post Apr 23 2012, 11:54 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

this situation happened to my wife's boss's daughter. Not so bad lah but she engaged a freelance photographer which she know has a DSLR. End up the photos taken just like normal photos taken by point and shoot cameras, no feel at all. rclxub.gif

my wedding event photographer who has shot some of my friend's wedding too, was introduced by a photog friend. Cannot simply trust any guys who just own a DSLR nowadays. tongue.gif
kel_jink
post Apr 23 2012, 11:55 AM

411 posts

I carry a camera with me all the time too. I was like you once, bitter about kids from 10-80 y.o. all carrying a camera around their neck. Then I read an article in TOP, it shouldn't matter what people using that matters to you, or professional photographer, because most are having cameras to take snap shots of their daily lives, and they have the right to demand for high quality pictures as well even though they don't make any money from that.

Just like pickup truck, not everyone who's driving one is utilizing the truck to transport stuff, they just like the convenience of having one. BTW, not everyone owning an expensive piece of equipment is greedy for money. Take Leica for example, people who owns Leicas treasures its history and value.

If you are good at what your do (in this case photography), then you shouldn't worry about the general public/layman owning a cameras too! **i remember I read an article from Goldfries somewhere as well but I'm too lazy to search for it sorry =P
hilmiangah
post Apr 23 2012, 11:56 AM

5,602 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Apr 23 2012, 11:49 AM)
Well u cant take 10 photos and 10 would turn out great no? especially when these are spontaneous snap..

Isnt that is why the snappers usually took like 100+ pics and then filter the bad ones and only give like probably 20% of the good ones to the client?
not to be an arse or what but that really a bad shoot to keep ratio there

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 23 2012, 11:54 AM)
this situation happened to my wife's boss's daughter.  Not so bad lah but she engaged a freelance photographer which she know has a DSLR.  End up the photos taken just like normal photos taken by point and shoot cameras, no feel at all.  rclxub.gif

my wedding event photographer who has shot some of my friend's wedding too, was introduced by a photog friend.  Cannot simply trust any guys who just own a DSLR nowadays.  tongue.gif
that's saying much for a hobbyist like u and me bro sad.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:10 PM