high powered hybrids are really powerful in acceleration, it's super fast cos it can dump all the power and stay there.. look at the power meter on this lexus = 250KW steady..
FFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUU that acceleration...Feels like i wanna dump my forte at the junkyard after watching that
This post has been edited by FrostLance: Apr 23 2012, 01:53 PM
FFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUU that acceleration...Feels like i wanna dump my forte at the junkyard after watching that
since most of the jap high performance hybrid also very expensive in malaysia due to high CC tax, maybe the new korean hybrid range can do something about it hor.
This post has been edited by ar188: Apr 23 2012, 01:57 PM
since most of the jap high performance hybrid also very expensive in malaysia due to high CC tax, maybe the new korean hybrid range can do something about it hor.
dont think it'll come la.. I want the GDI engine of the koreans mang.
friend told me VW Passat beat Lexus Hybrid CT200H in a test drive from Bukit Mertajam to Singapore.
Passat reach at Singapore with 1 full tank petrol while Lexus runs out of petrol some where around between Melaka and Johor....
wonder, any car magazine going to do this kind of test???
if i am not wrong... it's 70 lit vs around 50 lit for CT200H... furthermore, the passat has a more efficient turbocharged motor than the CT200H...
it depends on how lexus configure the electronic motor to kick in on expressways.. but driving at stable speeds... i am not sure if the electric motor is giving assistance to lower fuel consumption... if totally none, then the 1.8L will be straining if driven at speed...
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Apr 23 2012, 01:46 PM)
yes, diesel car.
yet in Msia, there's only few selection of diesel cars. most of cars are over RM100k exclude pickup... there's no 1.5 liter or 1.3 liter diesel engine car in Msia...
Ford Focus TDCI 1 full tank diesel can clock about 1,000KM.
i think car manufacturer are afraid to bring in diesel models due to poor quality diesel in malaysia... i am sure someone will refute this.. but, i think it is generally the reason why and also the lack of interests...
there is a very famous eco friendly VW bluemotion launched in european countries some years ago... but until now never reached our shores...
QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 23 2012, 01:48 PM)
high powered hybrids are really powerful in acceleration, it's super fast cos it can dump all the power and stay there.. look at the power meter on this lexus = 250KW steady..
having to generate that much power means carrying a big battery array which means extra dead weight which is not really good...
yes, electric motor has flat torque unlike petrol motors.. but an eco hybrid has to balance between power output and consumption... the current hybrids are only concentrating on energy recovery and using an electric motor to provide assistance to reduce the usage of fossil fuel and generation of co2... else, we all be driving tesla roadsters : )
if i am not wrong... it's 70 lit vs around 50 lit for CT200H... furthermore, the passat has a more efficient turbocharged motor than the CT200H...
it depends on how lexus configure the electronic motor to kick in on expressways.. but driving at stable speeds... i am not sure if the electric motor is giving assistance to lower fuel consumption... if totally none, then the 1.8L will be straining if driven at speed... i think car manufacturer are afraid to bring in diesel models due to poor quality diesel in malaysia... i am sure someone will refute this.. but, i think it is generally the reason why and also the lack of interests...
there is a very famous eco friendly VW bluemotion launched in european countries some years ago... but until now never reached our shores... having to generate that much power means carrying a big battery array which means extra dead weight which is not really good... yes, electric motor has flat torque unlike petrol motors.. but an eco hybrid has to balance between power output and consumption... the current hybrids are only concentrating on energy recovery and using an electric motor to provide assistance to reduce the usage of fossil fuel and generation of co2... else, we all be driving tesla roadsters : )
battery from the hybrid is to store energy lost during start stop city conditions mah.. why go do long distance, high speed range test?
you have a point there...
and jeremy tried to prove that hybrid owners don't understand driving as driving is... for sure, you can argue if jeremy were to gun the m3 and leave the prius behind instead of following it around, it would have dried it's tank up in that 10 laps...
at the end of the day.. the thick headed jeremy clarkson is right...
“it isn’t what you drive that matters, it’s how you drive it”
electric motors produces peak or majority of it's torque from the start and is able to maintain it through it's rev range... this means you get to move off from standstill say a traffic light or pulling out of a corner fairly easy with the electric motor assistance... it provides torque to launch the car forwards where the petrol engine is lacking during move off...
i don't think our insights or hybrids are capable of that sort of power outputs whether they can hold it through the entire rev range or not...
it depends on how lexus configure the electronic motor to kick in on expressways.. but driving at stable speeds... i am not sure if the electric motor is giving assistance to lower fuel consumption... if totally none, then the 1.8L will be straining if driven at speed... i think car manufacturer are afraid to bring in diesel models due to poor quality diesel in malaysia... i am sure someone will refute this.. but, i think it is generally the reason why and also the lack of interests...
there is a very famous eco friendly VW bluemotion launched in european countries some years ago... but until now never reached our shores... having to generate that much power means carrying a big battery array which means extra dead weight which is not really good...
yes, electric motor has flat torque unlike petrol motors.. but an eco hybrid has to balance between power output and consumption... the current hybrids are only concentrating on energy recovery and using an electric motor to provide assistance to reduce the usage of fossil fuel and generation of co2... else, we all be driving tesla roadsters : )
Guess Hybrid is good when driving in city where constance drive and stop.
yeah, not much diesel model being brought in due to quality of our diesel. In fact, for passenger car segment, i'm only aware of Ford Focus, while others might be available but i'm cant recall of any. Guess its their marketing that get me to remember...
oh yeah, Proton Wira have diesel engine too...
If VW ever bring in their bluemotion, it's going to cost a bomb with our govt tax structure. not feasible. VW malaysia should have their reasons y until now never bring in....
electric motors produces peak or majority of it's torque from the start and is able to maintain it through it's rev range... this means you get to move off from standstill say a traffic light or pulling out of a corner fairly easy with the electric motor assistance... it provides torque to launch the car forwards where the petrol engine is lacking during move off...
i don't think our insights or hybrids are capable of that sort of power outputs whether they can hold it through the entire rev range or not...
electric motors don't have flat torque, if it peaks from the start then it doesnt peak at end right? so how can it be flat?
did you study engineering before?
OK, they have flat('ish) torque... with load, electric motors will generate an almost fixed amount of torque depending on the current being fed into it ... so, it depends if the manufacturer will vary the current being fed into the motor to control the power output...
as for petrol combustion... it requires the right amount of air fuel mixture to produce or in other words maximize the fuel being fed into the combustion chamber... dumping an equal amount of spray into the combustion chamber at 1,000rpm does not mean it will produce torque equivalent when the same is done at 3,000rpm simply because the combustion chamber does not have that much vacuum to suck in that much air at that point and full combustion of the petrol spray does not occur...
hence, the torque should be flatter than a petrol engine in comparison...
This post has been edited by butthead: Apr 23 2012, 02:46 PM