5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Preve's Excellent Body Quality - Hi-Tech Welding, I have the pictures now, come in and see

Eithanius
post Apr 18 2012, 09:53 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Apr 18 2012, 09:49 PM)
My toyota and honda don't look like this.  To me its just poor quality.  If steve job is still alive and he see the welding spot, he wouls say "its shit car". Lol
If he is alive he wouldn't even wanna set his eyes on this car... let alone that little welding spot...

RM 72k car vs RM 1,500k car... you say leh...?
turbocharged
post Apr 18 2012, 09:54 PM

250 posts

steve jobs?

there is one.....

he is either now in mclaren or zonda icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
mikro
post Apr 18 2012, 09:58 PM

486 posts

Cost issue, if they cover the spot wield the car will cost slightly more with those extra fitting, I think that why they cut it.

But spot wield really make the chassis stronger.
SUSbe7a
post Apr 18 2012, 10:02 PM

161 posts

look at vios door how bersih.

this wat u call u pay money u get quality.

if accident i bet preve kemek and the door pecah 2 pieces
Johnix
post Apr 18 2012, 10:09 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(be7a @ Apr 18 2012, 10:02 PM)

that is not even a vios ..

P.s. I think my bicycle welds looks so much better than potong shitty job
BuFung
post Apr 18 2012, 10:14 PM

8,407 posts

This proton welding( proton shit ) is better/safer ( smell nicer / taste nicer ) than other ( better than other shit) ... laugh.gif
lightning69
post Apr 18 2012, 10:15 PM

2,298 posts

Malaysia boleh. If you so love this piece of junk, go ahead and buy it. Why care about those lousy looking welding or cheap plastic that fall apart which you are not suppose to touch!

But if you really want to compare, you should go and look at some imported car which when you minus out the tax and excise duty is much cheaper than the potong car yet they and so much better.

BuFung
post Apr 18 2012, 10:17 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(Monkey King @ Apr 18 2012, 09:01 PM)
i am not basher nor supporter, i've been working in 1 of the reputable local assembly plant for Japanese vehicle before.

judging from the photo, i may conclude

1. yes it is spot weld, nothing wrong with that.
2. the quality of spot weld is not acceptable by JIS body shop standard (pre assemble the metal part before send for paintworks)
3. 1 of the photo clearly shown misalignment of the 2 panels, should the panels involve mechanical movement, ie window glass railings, this may distort the movement thus case premature power-window issues.
4. the poor welding finishing may cause water ingression and develop rust in future (as you can see on top right photo, there might already be some rust mark there)

Just my 2 cents. Hope that proton can improve in this
The misalightment clearly in the photo n I repost in the preve thread.... But this shit is smell damn good there... Nothing is wrong...

Added on April 18, 2012, 10:19 pm
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Apr 18 2012, 10:15 PM)
Malaysia boleh. If you so love this piece of junk, go ahead and buy it.  Why care about those lousy looking welding or cheap plastic that fall apart which you are not suppose to touch!

But if you really want to compare, you should go and look at some imported car which when you minus out the tax and excise duty is much cheaper than the potong car yet they and so much better.
Can u imagine the story can create here saying rival send team to the show room n damage those display car... N ppl buy the story... doh.gif laugh.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by BuFung: Apr 18 2012, 10:19 PM
rlky
post Apr 18 2012, 10:23 PM

186 posts

No comments on the quality of the welding process but to those uninformed those are definitely not the finishing of spot welding.

Spot welding is a type of welding and not welding at specific spots.
mhsey75
post Apr 18 2012, 10:28 PM

Global car wannabe? Haha............
Imagine if Jeremy Clarkson seen this car?
harpyboy
post Apr 18 2012, 10:32 PM

38 posts

look at those gaps between the 2 metal parts welded. Proton design probably use water leaked into the chassis as a form of noise insulation. eco friendly....
MR_alien
post Apr 18 2012, 10:49 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(theanswer @ Apr 18 2012, 09:28 PM)
i see no problem..except for cosmetic eyesore only. but if it's for safety..no problem.
as u know...malaysian is all abt looks
it has to be done nicely (view frm malaysian)
but i do agree...it can be done nicer....maybe skim it lil bit to make it smoother
mdnurman
post Apr 18 2012, 10:51 PM

738 posts

tried to inspect my exora bold and also gen2 cps... got no spot welding or 2-part door... all doors are one-piece...
MR_alien
post Apr 18 2012, 10:54 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

HAHA
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif doh.gif doh.gif
mdnurman
post Apr 18 2012, 10:57 PM

738 posts

quite unusual for proton to build preve door using 2 metal panels while for exora and gen2.. one metal panel... still couldnt see the 2-metal-penel door in paultan web though.... i try to see in preve again in few days time to confirm

http://paultan.org/2012/04/16/proton-preve...3k/dsc_0187b-2/

This post has been edited by mdnurman: Apr 18 2012, 10:59 PM
TSDiamondBar
post Apr 18 2012, 10:57 PM

125 posts

My Wira door has welding joint/mark just looks like Preve..,
but wira's is fully welded and without seeing any gap...
MR_alien
post Apr 18 2012, 10:59 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Apr 18 2012, 10:51 PM)
tried to inspect my exora bold and also gen2 cps... got no spot welding or 2-part door... all doors are one-piece...
old tech vs new tech bro
its always like that...and if ppl say why so late...reason very simple..cost
just as same as "crumple zone"
old car dn't have...so when crash..no kemek
new car have...so when crash...the engine compartment crush and absorb the force..it looks uglier after crash but it saves lives
example vios no crumple zone...crash and only dent...ppl say wah..see the car so strong
proton include crumple zone...crash and the whole front is finish....thn ppl come and say "wah, proton so low quality, the whole front is gone"

hailiss8384
post Apr 18 2012, 11:04 PM

323 posts

ni perodua viva lah...aduyaii...failed jugak!

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Kalist0
post Apr 18 2012, 11:17 PM

119 posts

the difference is, those spots that you mentioned are usually hidden. the one on preve is.. well, obvious and now even more obvious with the viral 'marketing' of how good the welding is lol. i cant stop laughing look at the comments on facebook. everyone's spreading the word, faster than anwar gay topic.

the problem i see is the marketing, in fact over hyped marketing i would say. marketing is good, look at the koreans and iphone(?) well, at least they are decent looking and live up to the expectations of what they market. for proton, there were over exaggerated reviews even before the launch, like how nice the interior would be and putting it on par with continentals. there's no wrong here, but only if you actually provide something that can be compared to. Another would be the power, 1.6 equivalent to 2.0? yes, average joes who had no idea whats a turbo will be excited. those who had experience/own on turbo cars calls it crap the moment they drive it. Then, comes the quality issue(not gonna elaborate more, enough hate is going around lowyat regarding the button brows.gif ) As for handling and safety, well they did it right this time. Besides that, i don't see any reason buying this car but for those who have a budget of less than 80k, i think this is their only choice.

i tend to believe the only ones that will actually buy preve are those upgrading from saga/persona/waja etc. which have limited budget. the ones driving vios or city, i highly doubt so. there may be a few but overall, neh. another factor which is pretty irrelevant yet is so damn relevant rclxub.gif , is the badge. thats a barrier that i don't see proton overcoming within the next few generations of their car. people tend to compare inspira as well but that model is a different case, its a rebadge. a mitsu car. mitsu design. except where proton screwed up alil bit on the nose design (sorry @turboja notworthy.gif sweat.gif ). people will buy it for the mitsu DNA.

This post has been edited by Kalist0: Apr 18 2012, 11:21 PM
MeToo
post Apr 18 2012, 11:19 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(hailiss8384 @ Apr 18 2012, 11:04 PM)
ni perodua viva lah...aduyaii...failed jugak!

doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
This one major FACEPALM.COM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0188sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:54 AM