V2 Kia Optima K5 club

cybermaster98
post Jun 22 2012, 08:14 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Puggy @ Jun 22 2012, 03:50 AM)
The buck stops with the dealer NazaKia. You think they can get AP etc in the first place if no guanxi with government? What nonsense? you point fingers at MITI? The real problem is crony business! Also NazaKia must let customers know of problem lah not take order, booking, payment then tell BS about documentation problem! This whole national car project needs to be scrapped n level playing field n no more crap cars with huge Govt levy lah! Cars are a necessity not luxury n the rakyat have paid the price of crazy policy for so many years!
Bro all this is is getting very tiring & is besides the point la. No point talking about Gov policies and crony businesses. If u really wanna kill off the crony business, then are you prepared to boycott every single one of them? Boycott Astro, TNB, all cars, all major eateries even nasi kandar, sugar, rice, etc? Shall i list all of them? Let's be practical.

U seem to be only making a big deal out of this just cuz u bought the car cash and u expect some world class treatment but just cuz its Korean u go on and on bashing them. Put yorself in their shoes. Would you risk losing sales but revealing facts about the delays? I wouldnt cuz i would think that a few weeks of delays wont hurt anybody and seriously it doesnt. if it was gonna be a few months then i would have. Car deliveries were always between 1-3 months in general. Go check other manufacturers. Just cuz Naza does a good job and brings in cars earlier and startrs delivering within 2 weeks of booking, you raise the bar for them and start slamming them for a delay that has alot to do with factors beyond their control. It wasnt something Naza could time estimate. Everybody wanted an early solution and having u here slamming them madly while knowing only 1 side of the story doesnt actually make it a level playing field does it?

So please take my advice and stop. There are more important issues to discuss on this thread than your i-paid-for-cash-so-Naza-cant-make-any-mistakes-whatsover attitude. There are issues with the car that need to be resolved e.g steering issues. Start doing research on it, read up on it, ask some mechanics and get some base info while waiting for your car as this issue will affect EVERYBODY on varying levels. This is more of a concern than continously harping on a few weeks delay with a car delivery.

I dont mean to be blunt or rude but seriously bro, please take this down a few notches. Its really doing the Kia reputation no good at all.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jun 22 2012, 08:15 AM
cybermaster98
post Jun 22 2012, 12:10 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Puggy @ Jun 22 2012, 10:52 AM)
Sorry lah to tell you,  you seem like  are a one eyed katak  supporting this dealership! How do you know delay does not affect people? Did you consider that I required and was promised delivery by 30 June then mucked around? promise is a promise without that even Rolls Royce tak boleh bust business! You are shareholder in Kia or Naza n i note you just offer empty platitudes to so many affected by the DELAY! Suggest you take it down a notchlah as you angkat dia punya bola banyak2! Rakyat have a right to fair treatment so stop making assumptions that I demanded unfair treatment ! I bet you never paid Full Price upfront when you ordered on promise of delivery? Anyway this isn't the way to go fwd for NazaKia when they have a good product! Anyway I will see if they keep promise next week! If NazaKia improve then we all benefit otherwise how many are going to buy if this situation continue? Cheers!

Also you say there is a steering problem with optima! Was this the legal ROADWORTHINESS issue they talked about in their letter to me? Now does this mean optima needs to be recalled to fix this problem or only persons who drive like F1 hotshot experience this steering problem? How come I never experienced this steering problem on optima I test drove before buying?  rclxub.gif
I dont even know which dealership u ordered from. Anyway, ive made my point. Im not gonna argue with you. U just come across as someone who gets obsessed with small issues but overlook the bigger ones out there.

Same with this steering issue. If u had cared to actually stop talking so much and actually start reading carefully what ppl actually say, u would have realised that i did NOT say this problem only comes at high speed. Its there even at low speed over bumps & uneven roads but the problem gets worse when you car speed increases (which is the common law of physics). The units in the US are facing more serious problems but thats probably due to the fact that their cars there are older since the K5 was launched earlier.

And i dont know why u didnt notice this problem when u test drove cuz i wasnt with u (obviously). But ive noticed this at almost all the test drive sessions ive had and in case u didnt know, i tested this car 9 times since January at 4 different dealerships under varying load conditions. Ive brought up this issue even before i collected my own car so it didnt come as a surprise when i saw it happen with my car. While i waited for my car to arrive, i had already alerted the SC to this potential problem which is probably why they responded so quickly to my problem when i brought my car in.

This is what im refering to when i say focus your energy on more important things rather than going on and on about a small delay just because u paid cash (which i think is a poor financial decision imho).

Cheers!

cybermaster98
post Jun 22 2012, 02:07 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(RlanD @ Jun 22 2012, 01:23 PM)
Cyber,

I did experience it twice on my ride when did a long curve cornering over 80kmh with bumps and uneven roads, but just thought its normal when the car tuned with stiff suspension.

What I can think now it’s probably related wif:
1) Suspension
2) Tire pressure

Since suspension has been sorted out, maybe, just maybe bro. try to reduce more your tire pressure ( – 5 from the spec ) as to reduce bouncing effect when hit uneven road. Just my two cents.
Good idea. Will do so next week once the replacements have been done.
cybermaster98
post Jun 22 2012, 02:11 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(shah mad @ Jun 22 2012, 11:05 AM)
cm98, how bad is yr steering float problem? Kia have to give you a new rear absorbers cause of that steering floating problem? The steering shaking very bad or what?
No its not bad at all. Its just the steering jumps when going over bumps / uneven road. But the allignment and balancing is fine. No side pulling or vibrations in the steering wheel. The car is still well planted on the road even at high speeds.

As i mentioned before, Kia agreed to change the shock absorbers not because anything was wrong with them but merely as part of an elimination method to find the real source of the problem. I dont think the issue is with the shock absorbers but if Kia prefers to have them replaced FOC, then who am i to complain? biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Jun 22 2012, 04:07 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Puggy @ Jun 22 2012, 03:11 PM)
So made what point ? You talking about alleged steering issue which ONLY seems to affect you ? I note that the Australian optima comes with no steering problem n msian setup is about the same! If you have steering problem n shock arborbers get changed n you don't care bcos FOC then what are u complaining about? Your steering problem is also FOC lah! Katak point of view n yes my comment to u also FOC lah!

So  test driver expert you still bought the optima after how many test drives? Oh 9 is it  n you still have IMHO about this steering prob n you still went ahead? As I said for u the steering prob is FOC netter focus on bigger things meh!
What setup u refering to? Do u know anything about the car in the first place ah? The only difference between ours and the US spec is the HPD. Even the Aussie units have a different HPD and are tuned differently. Suspension setup is the same. I trust u know what is a HPD?

Did i say i didnt care? Are u actually reading the posts or u merely shooting your mouth off for no reason? Yes i went ahead because the car is well worth the price despite the small steering issue. I wont allow small issues to cloud my better judgement unlike 'some people' here who like to hap on tiny delivery issues. And i have been raising various issues for other owners to check their own cars and take corrective action if required. This is the purpose of this thread. To share info and to assist one another since we are all proud owners of this car.

Let me put this clearly for you since u obviously have a problem comprehending simple English.

I AM CONCERNED BECAUSE CHANGING THE SHOCK ABSORBERS WILL PROBABLY NOT SOLVE THE STEERING 'JUMPING' PROBLEM

Are u sure u actually bought this car in the first place? Im beginning to have my doubts. hmm.gif
cybermaster98
post Jun 22 2012, 04:09 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(foongchai76 @ Jun 22 2012, 04:07 PM)
my sister k5 was accident by begining of may, finally sending to naza kia for repair. b4 sending they said all body part got stock, but they lying. about 2weeks later all repair was done, but they say waiting the side skirts parts. the 1st reason kia giving is they shipping wrong side skirts by korea kia, they know tht by begining of june, and reorder again.
after 3 weeks waiting, kia careline giving another reason said" shipping part from korea need tk 45days working days" not include sunday, saturday and holiday, so the estimate day for arrive the part will on 15 of july.

i note a complaint about the part supply really slow, thn they say can't coz they already giving me an answer 45days waiting. WTF of naza kia, look at this cases, 1st the order the wrong parts, 2nd how come the dealer never keep stock on spare part, thn what mean kia said tht 3s?????? if they keep on order wrong parts, thn how long will need to wait??

FOR ALL K5 OWNERS MUST TK NOTE
if got accident on k5 never send back to kia, coz they never keep stock on part. if we order parts by our self from korea it tk only 14days, how come naza kia tk 45days WORKINGDAYS!!!!!!
Which branch or dealer were u dealing with?
cybermaster98
post Jun 23 2012, 08:19 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(fer0 @ Jun 22 2012, 11:58 PM)
Hi guys, i end up with VW Passat. I pay 100rm to Kia dealer for booking and document processing. Loan was approved when I'm abroad and told them to hold until I come back.
I came back, 408 was launched and decided to go for test drive. Felt in love with the 1.6THP and booked on the spot. I cancelled k5 booking and just transfer my loan. I paid 1k for 408 booking. The Kia SA was really disappointed with me and no refund.

Last week I went to test drive Passat and decided to go for it. Gonna get my car next week. Got my refund from Pug, but 80% only. Speedier processing as i just transfer the loan again. Managed to retain 2.42% interest.

To those who still can't make up your mind, go for KIA K5, you got so many features with that price. I still go for Passat, well honestly it's because of my EGO and peer pressure. Haha. Features wise, K5 wins comfortably.

Sigh, still got time to change back to Optima (loan document only to be signed tomorrow), however malu la nk jumpa SA tu balik hahaha.
Passat is good for engine, transmission and brand name. But u need to ask yorself who are u buying this car for? You are the one driving not your peers. I too had the same problem. Ppl started saying 'for your level u should go for premium brands' but i was looking at value for money, safety, design and specs and the Optima came out tops here.

The Passat was also seriously considered as well but i knew that the design was among the worst out there. Most of the buyers of the Passat are doing it for the 3 factors i mentioned above but besides that its not really worth the money if u ask me. Most of the d segment car owners are mid age and are already established so fuel consumption is not an issue and how often are you gonna be ramming your car engine to get good acceleration?

Nobody ever looks at the Passat when its by the roadside or at traffic light stops. But u get that with the Optima. So with better warranty terms, better specs, cheaper price, better external design and larger internal space, the K5 was my clear choice. Hope it is for you as well.

cybermaster98
post Jun 23 2012, 12:21 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Jun 23 2012, 11:35 AM)
Venting out frustrations in a public forum of owners, enthusiasts n potential owners is not the way to resolve ones issues. If u wanna make a point or adress for other forumers attn, then its done. Objective met. Continuously ranting bout it will not help anybody. Move on to the level then.

Write to the press. Write to SM Faisal. Take up legal action. Start a anti naza kia facebook page. Threaten then dealer. Send thugs. I dunno.

We fellow owners n forummers can at the most emphatise n probably giv our advise or opinions if it matters at all. Some of us may hav been thru similar experiences. It could have been, i sent a letter to naza demanding an explanation, i want compensation for financial losses n oso resulting in emotional distress. Dont hang out ur dirty linen to prove a point. It will reflect badly on u. Theres no need to bash each other up. Theres no gain but more burning sensation in the heart. Gettin the car is juz part of the hurdle. Maintaining it will b next. Think abt it. Peace mates.
Well said bro. This forum is for owners and others to discuss bout the car. We dont just discuss the good points but problems as well. If its something that affects all of us, then lets stand together and get it done right. But continously ranting on and on about something that is beyond our control is not gonna do anybody any good. In fact it will do much more harm than good.

We must always remind ourselves that there are many potential buyers out there who are adopting a wait and see attitude. The Optima K5 has surely taken the D segment by storm but many are still haunted by Kia's previous track record. We dont need to cover up any wrongdoings but let's be mature in the way we voice our displeasure.

Keep in mind that if the Optima sales are poor, its ALL of us who will pay the price for it 5 years down the line.

Cheers! biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Jun 23 2012, 12:27 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(bUGG @ Jun 23 2012, 09:51 AM)
If I remember correctly, u did place your booking for the New Camry 2.5 but at the end u cancel your booking and got the Optima K5 which u r happily enjoying it now. Good decision bro. When the first time I saw the new Camry on the road, gosh, the look is even worst then the previous one. Actually the previous version is the best looking Camry so far.
No i didnt place any booking for the Camry. I didnt like the car from the first time i set eyes on it but i was hoping the Asian version would be different and better. Plus i was hoping that it would get the new engine and transmission and a new platform.

But when it was revealed in Asia and i saw the design, 2 airbags, the 4 speed auto and 10 yr old engine, i knew immediately that there was no way i was gonna spend 150K on that dinosour.

And yes ive seen 2 on the road and i would say it looks just like a facelift of the current model. The skirting actually makes the car look worse. Dashboard looks so cheapo with the wooden panel and extra cheap plastics all around.

I dont know about sales so far but the 2 Toyota showrooms i visited past 2 weekends were almost empty. The usual hype that accompanies a new launch from Toyota surely isnt there.
cybermaster98
post Jun 23 2012, 12:29 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Puggy @ Jun 23 2012, 11:27 AM)
Yeah man! Yesterday around 7pm heading south near Ayer keroh jejantas saw white k5 going like a bat out of hell doing at least 160+! First K5 I have seen on the road n hope he slows down so more people can see it eh! : : whistling.gif
160kmph is kinda normal speed for a K5 on a highway. I usually hit 180kmph average. I find it more difficult to maintain a lower speed. biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Jun 23 2012, 12:41 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Puggy @ Jun 23 2012, 12:24 PM)
Cukuplah bro! Now you want to be Sifu with your advice meh? Problem started when jaguh jinjang types start saying small matter lah about dealer breaching promise etc! How the hell do you expect proper service to customer when customer think no big deal when promise broken so blatantly! You think I didn't take action including going to higher ups to sort out problem n writing to NazaKia etc? I wrote in this blog to warn other purchasers about not getting Into prob etc!  Notice how quickly after I highlighted prob the k5 suddenly became available for release ? But until I receive delivery next week I am not going to think prob over. Also this forum only for talking endlessly about ah beng suspension, steering n how not so shock probs? When certain people talk about wanting to be Blunt then be prepared lah for blunt n sharp response otherwise shut up lah!
Im actually quite amazed that u still cant understand what we are trying to tell you here.

Nobody said your problem is NOT a problem. All we're saying is STOP GOING ON AND ON ABOUT THE SAME THING. U have already highlighted the problem and uve already told us what uve done so leave it at that. NO need to go on and on reminding everybody that u bought the car cash and that Kia didnt deliver as promised. Just update us periodically on whats happening so that we're all aware of your problem and how Kia is resolving it. No need to mention it every 2 hours.

The car becoming available had nothing to do with your letter la bro. U think ure Najib's son ah? The dealers have much more say in this than 1 potential owner who paid cash for the car. Im sure many of the dealers around the country would have put pressure on Naza including owners like you who had already paid the dp. Its a COLLECTIVE effort so dont take personal credit for it.

Anyway, we look forward to welcoming you to the Optima K5 club and im sure we'll meet at the next TT. We have just started this journey and im sure we'll all be on the thread for a couple of years down the line. biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Jun 23 2012, 12:47 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(stanum @ Jun 23 2012, 12:28 PM)
Guys, i'm 26 and really keen to own Kia Optime K5, but few people thinking better get Kia Forte so that matched with my age. Well, i don't normally listen to people, but sometime, when i looked at that car, it feel it suits better to someone who are around 30-40 plus.

Well, just to know if the owner of this car are around the age ( 30-40++) and what do you think when someone who are 26 own this great car, what is your perception towards him/her? biggrin.gif
Well i think that age should not be a factor at all. What's more important is affordability. Always remember that a car is a losing commodity. Never give in to peer pressure and always take your own personal financial situation and needs as the main consideration. Affordability is not just being able to pay for something. Its actually about proportioning expenses and investments so that you are focused on whats more important. Its actually sad to see many ppl buying bigger cars while they live in small rented properties and their families live 'kais pagi makan pagi'. If after all your expenses, you find that ure financially very stable and can afford a bigger car then by all means go for it. But always keep the future in mind. Plan for 10 years ahead not just the day after.
cybermaster98
post Jun 23 2012, 12:50 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(DJSoo @ Jun 23 2012, 12:42 PM)
Nick , add u in list .. Welcome to the club ,
Bro, i just had a look at the list. U need to change the spelling of SILVER. tongue.gif
cybermaster98
post Jun 23 2012, 03:58 PM

4,440 posts

Here's some info for all of you. I did some reading up on the net regarding my so called problem with the Distance to Empty reading (DTE). It was only in my 1st full tank that i managed to get about 750km DTE but in subsequent full tank fill-up's ive always got less than 700km.

Based on what ive read, the DTE is not calculated just on the amount of fuel in your tank. It also takes into account your average fuel consumption of your previous 300-500km. So if i was speading at 180kmph for the last 300km, then in my next full tank fill up, the car will take this FC into account to calculate the current DTE range.

Thats why i got a high DTE on my first full tank and not in the subsequent ones.

Added on June 23, 2012, 3:59 pm
QUOTE(Puggy @ Jun 23 2012, 12:51 PM)
Just do remember that at speeds over 100 kph if you involved in bad accident, our k5 not designed to save you n fmly n other people! Even the 5 star crash safety rating only done at max 80 kph! I have seen enough death, injury n madness on msian roads n overseas to know it is already lottery every time we drive! Please slow down n enjoy the great music system, the scenery n preserve your safety n your loved ones! Even at 80 kph u already traveling at 22 m a second n think about reaction time etc n also defensively about the many kopi o lesen types who share our roads with! That is my view n leave it there! Yes sometimes I go fast but very rarely! Also k5 look better when others can see it n appreciate it's sleek lines , a white bullet at 180 gone too quickly!
Yes i agree with you. I should reduce speed. But sometimes driving at <130kmph will induce sleep which is far worse than driving at 180kmph at full attention. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jun 23 2012, 03:59 PM
cybermaster98
post Jun 24 2012, 01:18 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(hitokirizero @ Jun 24 2012, 11:20 AM)
Already join and got approved  flex.gif
Its true that in the past proton's car quality is not good compare with other brand, but I can see that now the new preve is not bad at all, proton really put a lot of effort for their new coming lineup. As malaysian, I feel proud of the achievement of proton with their preve. From my POV Preve beat vios by a ten fold interm of feature/spec/price. just my two cent. Have faith in our local product, with the right people in the company and with all the support from us malaysian, maybe in the future proton can stand side by side with KIA  notworthy.gif
Preve has good specs and design is ok. But what ppl are still unhappy about is the pricing and the fact that because of Proton, we all have to pay more for cars in Malaysia. Hence the hatred towards Proton. So as long as they maintain such prices, many are hoping Proton will just die off.

Added on June 24, 2012, 1:22 pmI just passed by the Toyota showroom in TTDI and it was completely EMPTY. Despite the launch of the facelift Vios and the Camry earlier, it was EMPTY.

No wonder Toyota is worried. Serves them right!

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jun 24 2012, 01:22 PM
cybermaster98
post Jun 25 2012, 08:31 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(bomohhantu @ Jun 21 2012, 02:19 PM)
Hi Everyone.  I  book my K5 on January. Only get it in April. Nice car. Love the Infinity sound.  However I don't like the steering. Always keep to left even in low speed.
Just take it back to Kia and get them to do the allignment. Will be fine after that.
cybermaster98
post Jun 25 2012, 08:35 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(gary_ckwai @ Jun 24 2012, 02:37 PM)
anyone know what's the "elapsed time" is for?
I really have no idea. But its not accurate. If u start the clock and drive for 1 hour, the time shown will be less than 1 hour. Dunno why.
cybermaster98
post Jun 25 2012, 08:40 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Puggy @ Jun 24 2012, 07:32 PM)
Jinjang Joe what have u been smoking? U want to pay more pls go ahead but leave the rest of us out! Yes your extra paymt could be used to rehabilitate u n your weird ideas! By the way why don't u start by paying an extra 25k after that white k5 you bought may even get u a discount proton from this Govt! Cheers! You want to know about safety Go attend AAM workshop lah not watch GI Joe movies!
Bro, can you stop this crap ah? Its really getting irritating now. More and more ppl are getting fed up with your continous ranting and complaining. No educated person will talk the way u do. No point boasting about buying a car cash if you cant even converse like an educated person. If u wanna contribute to the discussion here, ure most welcome do so in a mature manner. Shooting your mouth off at the members here for no damn reason is not welcome at all. Respect is earned mind you.
cybermaster98
post Jun 25 2012, 01:01 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Jun 25 2012, 11:42 AM)
CM98 got this issue also?
Only in the beginning but once they did the allignment it was fine.
cybermaster98
post Jun 25 2012, 01:06 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Puggy @ Jun 25 2012, 10:05 AM)
Hi dude I am not afraid to say it as I see it! So adios n yes sleep walker can keep giving warnings n suspension etc so what? It only goes to show this forum has no place for frank n truthful discussion but landers to people who only want to push their own agenda ! Adios
Simple rule of thumb: When u have 1 or 2 ppl against you, they could be wrong but when you have many against you, then you gotta take a good hard look at yourself. We only hope that when u return, u will be a changed person. Or else its a permanent adios to you my friend. And trust me, registering new nicks wont make a difference. Cheers!

14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0408sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:31 AM