Bodybuilding Thread V11, Bodybuilding Q&A

mikehuan
post Dec 20 2012, 12:38 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(akiratm @ Dec 19 2012, 08:13 PM)
May i raise a question here, how many Bowel Movement u all had in a day? After start took 6 meals per day, my BM seen being 2 times per days. @_@ all solid one.
It is normal?
first time ive seen someone initialize bowel movement.

"hey how was your BM"

"awesome BM just now"
mikehuan
post Dec 31 2012, 05:24 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(VaLeNrUdOn @ Dec 31 2012, 03:50 PM)
guys..need some input here...
what do you do when you start to realise that the muscle growing is not as symetrical as you'd want them to be?
e.g. my right delts are growing more than my left..and that's probably because right's my dominant arm..
question is..how do you fix this? my left can't cope with the weight my right can handle..do i drop both? meaning right hand training not optimum to suit the left? or i mix up the weights? i have this issue particularly in db presses and left form gets messed up half way thru sets coz it's weak like shit..
i would say drop poundages till both sides are the same.

reasoning for this is as you go heavier, you will switch to barbell workouts, and uneven strength will seriously deter your progression. better to address this problem as soon as you can. until both are even, stick to db movements for areas you feel the imbalances.
mikehuan
post Jan 8 2013, 09:32 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(zoraya @ Jan 8 2013, 12:02 AM)
eh, good ke that exercise? :/ Guess I must be wrong then..

Hope so.. he looks mighty offended. Even the gym owner was rude... and sigh, I've already signed up and paid for three months. sad.gif
Im a big believer that a trainer should focus on what a his or her client wants, and not simply stuff programs down their throats. Youre paying after all.

What gym did you sign up?

Reminded me of the time ff offered me a pt session on my bday and then the pt backed out last minute lulz. Must have seen me do compounds.
mikehuan
post Jan 8 2013, 03:17 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(Sunny soo @ Jan 8 2013, 03:08 PM)
thanks,but so difficult.hehe... sweat.gif
Then go slimming center lor. We here all cheapskates dun wanna spend money. Slimming center easy just lie down pay money all your fat gone get six pack.
mikehuan
post Jan 8 2013, 06:58 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jan 8 2013, 03:27 PM)
No wonder I'm still fat. I know Mike's secret now!
obviously. now only you know. i spent thousands leh to get my avatar pic, dont play! flex.gif flex.gif

btw, after reading for some time i got curious, how do you guys know a supplement "works"?

i mean its fine with preworkouts and mass gainers, you see the effect, but things like casein and whey protein? how you know it "works"? its pure protein leh (well, most of it is protein la) how is it gonna differ from other brands of whey?

/endrant
mikehuan
post Jan 16 2013, 07:44 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jan 16 2013, 04:45 PM)
Okay then.  smile.gif
I think I should phrased that a little better.
I mean that the benefits of calisthenics can be better achieved in calisthenics (mainly proprioception, flexibility and joint conditioning). It carries over to weight training better than if I train weights and then learn the skills in calisthenics. And.........it's a lot cooler than yoga and pilates for proprioception.  laugh.gif  And yes, seeing how gymnasts and calisthenics masters (e.g. Hannibal for King is the most "marketed" but there are many who are big) can get big and epicly strong I do believe that it will have a great carryover to free weights.

Sometimes I like to look into this thread not because I am striving to be a bodybuilder, but I like to get references of how you train with weights and how you get mass. Couple that with the skills I can get from calisthenics, hopefully I can achieve a more all-rounded performance. Meaning, decent mass with big strength and co-ordination. I see things in this bodybuilding thread that I can use in the future in my training as well as now. Such as diet, how often you increase intensities, and so on. I like to be big, but just not as big as a bodybuilder.

In the future I am planning to combine the best of both worlds - weighted calisthenics.
...why not do em both at the same time then? i kinda get where moe is coming from. i mean, its funny to think you wanna do calisthenics in preparation for weightlifting when its so much simpler to just lift. you dont need a carryover you just need to do it.
mikehuan
post Jan 22 2013, 12:01 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jan 21 2013, 10:05 PM)
Qft.
When dogma is no longer heeded.
i peeded
mikehuan
post Jan 26 2013, 06:57 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(GodTier @ Jan 26 2013, 06:09 PM)
lol

i see u are being silly instead

what else u can reply to me?, troll, retard, idiot lol

so funny, not that i harass you.. reading my posts wont cause u any harm lol
I felt my iq dropping after reading your posts. So yes it causes harm.

Regarding ss. I dont see why u guys should be butthurt if its popular. Its meant for beginners, not advanced trainees. As long as it brings up the trainees poundages for compound movements I dont see whats so bad about it. You could always change to a different program once youre sure on what you want to do

Imo, if a newb starts off with ss rather tHan just doing a chest arms routine id say hes off to a good start.
mikehuan
post Jan 26 2013, 07:00 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(Manlet @ Jan 26 2013, 06:38 PM)
guys is it good to do some calisthenics exercise on off days

now i work out about 4 days a week and in between the rest days i felt really boring.... but i do not wanna waste my time playing computer games (im a university student so i have plenty of free time LOL) so is it good that instead i spend the time doing some push ups or crunches or other exercise for muscle endurance... my workout routines are doing as heavy weight as possible for 4~6 reps... so my muscle endurance pretty sucks

well i know im suppose to let the muscles rest and recover on rest days but im just really too free

so i think it cant hurt to do a few bodyweight squats or push ups or crunches on off days right?
Go ahead. No harm with it. Do some cardio instead? Or sports?

Im usually so gassed out that I literally do nothing on my rest days. Youth certainly has its advantages lol
mikehuan
post Jan 26 2013, 07:40 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(GodTier @ Jan 26 2013, 07:21 PM)
implying ur IQ can increase or decrease by reading my explanation and analogy LOL

as i said, u can agree or disagree of what I post but this is a post count section so dont quote me unless u can prove my points otherwise

please come up with sound logic next time if u shall
why are you so worried about post counts? you seem to have a fine time trolling the other regs here. either that or you really believe what you post made sense? it isnt even worth replying
mikehuan
post Jan 26 2013, 11:11 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(Manlet @ Jan 26 2013, 11:03 PM)
but is it safe to push up the day after chest day arh.... chest will feel sore and sometimes pain when flex wo  hmm.gif
then dont do chest.
here's the thing, recovery is as important as the workout. no point stressing it out again giving it less chance to recover.
mikehuan
post Jan 27 2013, 02:17 AM

6,160 posts

note that he ignored my post. idiot didnt have a comeback lol.

heres something to think about; how long can an obese person survive without food? given the case scenario he gets all the liquids (water only) that he wants. Shouldnt he be able to burn off all his fat stores before dying of starvation?
mikehuan
post Jan 27 2013, 10:58 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jan 27 2013, 03:34 AM)
Heh... I just lift.
How long can you survive without alcohol? =P

On a serious note, I heard of a grossly obese individual surviving a year without food with just multivites. Some study done.
so it is possible, lol. must be murder though to live without food for a year
mikehuan
post Jan 28 2013, 12:14 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jan 28 2013, 11:42 AM)
Lol. Get used to it if you hang out with me at malls. I learnt to tune things out but it does get annoying when some make it too obvious. I met up with lilredridinghood, mikehuan and another guy who was with me at Cleo bachelor. We had a shisha night. Funny dat, we all are hardcore gym goers but the shit we talked about........
U forgot one more person. WHY NEVER MENTION THE OTHER PERSON. WHY WHY WHY WHY SHY ISSIT
mikehuan
post Jan 29 2013, 01:41 PM

6,160 posts

Why cant you squat and deadlift on the same day? Explain.

Just because you dont agree with SS does not make it stupid. Youre just narrow minded. If the program can increase the trainees poundages then its working. No difference with the split you suggested.
mikehuan
post Jan 29 2013, 03:29 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(joeblows @ Jan 29 2013, 02:06 PM)
Okay, let me re-phrase that.

Technically, you can squat and DL on the same day, sure. I seriously doubt it is optimal, though, since many of the stabilizer muscles used are the same ones. You also use up a lot of energy on either exercise so I am pretty sure the one done second will suffer in terms of poundage lifted.

Seeing as the person in question has two shoulder/arm day, I think he could pretty much fit in squats and DLs on different days and benefit. I'm fairly certain he would find an increase in poundage lifted in the traditional second exercise (probably squat if his routine is as stated) if he did so. JMHO.

Also, yes, I think SS sucks.

Call me narrow-minded if you wish, but I've been on enough boards and seen enough of SS "results" (or lack thereof) to come to that conclusion. No, I have never done it myself, but then I never have had that wish after seeing its effects.
Im sorry, but I disagree. I have not done SS myself and I honestly believe I dont think I would say it sucks before trying it out.

Sure, its not optimal to do two compounds on the same day, regardless if it uses the same muscles or not. Its tiring as hell and I dont hit my usual numbers. BUT, not hitting your numbers dont mean youre not improving. Its not all about PRs, sometimes.

As I said before, and im sure a lot of strength types would agree, if the program adds poundages to your lifts, then its working. Means to an end. Thats it.

mikehuan
post Jan 30 2013, 09:45 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(Alphaproject @ Jan 29 2013, 07:04 PM)
i know i can't brah, probably due to the volume of my workout, cuz either one of the workout zaps too much of my energy...
QUOTE(theCrab @ Jan 29 2013, 07:44 PM)
tbh if i put maximum intensity on squat or deadlift,i cant proceed to other superheavy compound move ady
for me,squat and deadlift is mean to be heavy,relatively heavy and good form
QUOTE(x-199Tx @ Jan 29 2013, 08:07 PM)
Got to agree with both you boys. Prefer to split them.
Completely agree. Even I cant hit my usual numbers if I did two a session. Hard stuff. However, there are people out there squatting 5 times per week. I suppose its all about getting used to it. Its always hard in the beginning but once you get used to it you will always improve. Given everything is done right

QUOTE(joeblows @ Jan 30 2013, 12:23 AM)
I respect your view but I need to say one thing on this.

Considering SS is a newbie program, ALL programs will add poundages to lifts. Assuming one does not subsist on a diet of doritos, carlsberg and coke, all newbies CAN and WILL make newbie gains. I once helped a LYN member out via PM and he was running Kris Getthin's program as a newbie (for those not in the know, Kris Getthin's program is an insane program popularized on BB.com) and even then he made some gains on the program.

All I am saying is:

1) There are far better programs which will help you make much better gains than on SS
2) Doing SS for long periods has the potential to introduce imbalances
3) If your goal is BB, SS will not do much for you anyway.
Like you said, its a newbie program. The name itself implies the function and goal of the program. I dont think its meant to be done for long periods of time.

How many trainees in your gym u seen have started compounds right off the bat? Im not saying ss is the best program out there, none of the programs are. What im saying is that its not useless.

If you doubted gethins program for a newbie why would u consider ss to be the inferior one?

mikehuan
post Jan 30 2013, 09:46 AM

6,160 posts

Double post argh where my coffee

This post has been edited by mikehuan: Jan 30 2013, 09:47 AM
mikehuan
post Feb 3 2013, 12:24 PM

6,160 posts

Wtf dont lump me in with dl. Hes a different league altogether.

Im not that impressive compared to most of the guys here. Honest truth. You dont give the other regs justice at all.

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0485sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:38 PM