9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Hyundai Elantra MD V4, Launching now!

caddilac
post Apr 9 2012, 10:18 AM

QUOTE(WieBoy @ Apr 9 2012, 10:04 AM)
Any1 from singapore molested malaysia hyundai elantra interior? or jb fellow maybe can helps to identify is our elantra is made from korea!

my 1st touch ady told me, weiii, that build in quality is made from cheap labor. I cannot accept that

May i request i m the only one to get a CBU elantra in bolehland?
I been visited the singapore showroom and molested the one in klims as well as australlian version. Seriously i didnt notice any significant difference between theirs and ours.
caddilac
post Apr 9 2012, 10:22 AM

QUOTE(gregy @ Apr 9 2012, 10:08 AM)
And I thought ppl said Hyundai quality is much better than Kia?
To me it is. Even though both forte and elantra using hard door panel, you definitely can feel their difference when u knock at the panel. The japs may not be as solid as elantra too.

Added on April 9, 2012, 10:24 am
QUOTE(Nick-87 @ Apr 9 2012, 10:19 AM)
Hm... am suspecting we are getting 2011 model..

Hyundai elantra 2011
Hyundai elantra 2012
Manufactring year and model year is two different things. Which one u mean?

Added on April 9, 2012, 10:26 am
QUOTE(ryanliew87 @ Apr 9 2012, 10:16 AM)
i tot they only locally assembled the engine parts other than tat fully import ?? hmm.gif or mayb for 1st batch ??
Those curious shud go to showroom and take out some parts and take a look whether inside is written korea or malaysia.

This post has been edited by caddilac: Apr 9 2012, 10:26 AM
caddilac
post Apr 9 2012, 10:46 AM

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image
user posted imageu

Added on April 9, 2012, 10:48 am
QUOTE(Nick-87 @ Apr 9 2012, 10:31 AM)
Bro.. i mean model year for my previous post.. next batch will be 2012 model?  +2k  hmm.gif
If u are familar with us market, you will notice tha t they upgrade their model every year. Thats why we cannot compare with them bcoz our car is from korea and follow the worldwide model and not the us specific model.

This post has been edited by caddilac: Apr 9 2012, 10:48 AM
caddilac
post Apr 9 2012, 10:51 AM

QUOTE(WieBoy @ Apr 9 2012, 10:37 AM)
i suggest dun do it at showroom, do it during the test drive!

Check the particular parts isit made from korea.

Forte Koup no doubt is CBU from korea, the parts all with korean made tag.
How about forte? Did u see any parts of forte made in malaysa?
caddilac
post Apr 9 2012, 11:12 AM

QUOTE(WieBoy @ Apr 9 2012, 10:58 AM)
hehe, i think no need to prove it.

The moment i open the door, ahem it tells me everythng.

i cant see any tag made in malaysia. i could oni feel the touch and texture is similar like potong made.

Not sure about the 4 speed forte, cuz 1st batch is CBU rite!

Added on April 9, 2012, 11:02 am
Haha, but the problem is, the material quality feel the same when i sat in elantra. So disappointed.

The elantra LCD navi i suspect is china made.
if you feel the quality is same as potong, then why spend 112k on the car? Walk away sounds more sensible rite?

Added on April 9, 2012, 11:14 am
QUOTE(WieBoy @ Apr 9 2012, 11:10 AM)
I already make up my mind to wait for 2nd batch or i shall say the upgrade features with bodykit.

For the moment, you guys who get the car, please share some view thoughts of your lovingly "baby sonata"!

May i knw any1 already submit docu and is actually waiting to get your car? As far i knw is only bro tony.
My documents all submitted and loan also approved 2.59% 40k 5yrs. 1.6hs.

This post has been edited by caddilac: Apr 9 2012, 11:14 AM
caddilac
post Apr 9 2012, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(WieBoy @ Apr 9 2012, 11:19 AM)
Bro, cuz i waited for long time and i knw the quality may not as wad i tot, i can accept the sluggishness of this car.

My requirement of this car is only for styling design, comfort, spacious, new generation and simple build in material quality.

i am actually waiting hyundai bring in CBU units if possible.
Then i strongly recommend you to make a trip to singapore or korea to make a comparison first.
caddilac
post Apr 9 2012, 11:31 AM

QUOTE(WieBoy @ Apr 9 2012, 11:24 AM)
Looks like you knw sumthng! Dun mind sharing?
I have already said above that i visited komoco motors in singapore last year when the car was launched. I also touched the car in klims and in perth australia. I really cant see any difference between ours and theirs.
caddilac
post Apr 9 2012, 02:21 PM

QUOTE(BuFung @ Apr 9 2012, 11:43 AM)
WieBoy.. the quality like that.. means is like that already.. u cannot expect it to be a miracle to match what u expect or u imagine..     biggrin.gif 

seriously...  this is still a korean car...  biggrin.gif
People here very high std. The car was.praised by so many critics andbget so many awards yet lyn people tonnes of complaim. People outside saying korean car damn close wif japs yet ppl here are saying : this is still a korean car#happy.gif

Added on April 9, 2012, 2:22 pm
QUOTE(WieBoy @ Apr 9 2012, 11:56 AM)
haha laugh.gif  laugh.gif But in fact is true.

Bcuz i think i am the only one knock every part of the car, do it for forte, forte koup and elantra. And you will knw the different.

Seriously, even the LCD, BF told is confirmed made from China.

Added on April 9, 2012, 11:58 am
Bro this shows that, i love this car alot. Hoping the 2nd batch would have better quality.
U r not the only one doing so. But then did u cross shop other car or only tried forte and elantra?

Added on April 9, 2012, 2:24 pm
QUOTE(666devil @ Apr 9 2012, 12:14 PM)
This is wat tempted me to buy the elantra after seeing all the on paper specs compared to altis/civic. But during actual testing, space, engine noise, width all tell different story. Shoulder to shoulder space is soooo tight compared to altis. Only the legroom is good, which is the same as civic and slyphy. So, I also dunno wat to decide now..
How come i sit three people across in elantra and felt wider than altis and civic?? U mean ur body touching the door or u feel u touching the side bolster?

This post has been edited by caddilac: Apr 9 2012, 02:24 PM
caddilac
post Apr 9 2012, 02:39 PM

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Apr 9 2012, 02:28 PM)
Ya la, y don't give a single thing? at least emblem and car registration number.  blink.gif
tinting voucher if not full tinting. i think u better take back ur deposit and buy else where bro.  nod.gif
ask the SA fly kite better if no freebies  icon_rolleyes.gif
The only thing i got is emblem. Even fossil oso dun hv since i booked so early.
caddilac
post Apr 9 2012, 02:45 PM

QUOTE(WieBoy @ Apr 9 2012, 02:42 PM)

Added on April 9, 2012, 2:22 pm
U r not the only one doing so. But then did u cross shop other car or only tried forte and elantra?
Yes i did same thing on m3, altis, civic! haha.

My bro-in law driving altis 2.0, He actually do not recommend me a elantra but a Preve!

Oh god, he told me his frenz SA confirm with him the 1st batch is quality assured. Worth to buy.

However my deposit fully reserved for the baby sonata! so, i will book for the 2nd batch. Good luck to me.
U find altis, mazsa and civic satisfying?
caddilac
post Apr 9 2012, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(WieBoy @ Apr 9 2012, 02:49 PM)
i love Altis material, civic interior, mazda exterior styling...when you combine all into one, it became "All new GS 250".

One day i will get it. Cuz it will be my wedding car

Added on April 9, 2012, 2:55 pmAny1 knw in which country elantra would hav the power FOOD mirror??? very funny, i love to misspell this word.

I almost mis-pronounce this word in front of SA. Who started it ya? BF, is you rite
GS still in the 6AT era behind the Germans and Infiniti:P
You like wood trim? Altis material is kinda mixbag for me coz the upper dash is nice but those plasticky fake wood are quite nasty and the door handle like a stick only feel fragile. sweat.gif
caddilac
post Apr 9 2012, 04:34 PM

QUOTE(MeToo @ Apr 9 2012, 04:22 PM)
Heheh if that is how you feel the go for Elantra.

As for Hyundai, my family have 3 hyundai before, now still have 2 in use, for me its very dependable, never give me any major problem.... heck I even drive one until radiator no water (long story) and engine shutdown.... now 2 years later still using no problem!  thumbup.gif
Yup. After owning a Hyundai in my family for couple of years, it lefts me and some of my friends wondering why spend more on Japanese when Korean can provide such a similar level of standard, better features yet at a lower price and better warranty IF resale value and driving dynamics are not your main concern (at least until now). Obviously I am not the only one to have such feeling coz even in the US, Hyundai is the brand with the highest customer retention smile.gif
caddilac
post Apr 9 2012, 04:56 PM

QUOTE(666devil @ Apr 9 2012, 04:47 PM)
Dunno why but altis somehow feel more up market when driving inside. Maybe bcoz of its beige interior? NvH wise altis totally sucks. Or maybe it's because mine is first batch built quality sucks, or tat time thai yellow fighting red sabo the car. biggrin.gif
Maybe beige colour feels upmarket but the design is way too uncle for my like. The dark grey paint on center console in Altis quite similar with the silver paint in Elantra which some describe plastic feel.
I never try the 4At Altis before only the scvt. Engine noise is good in normal driving because CVT gearbox always keeps the rpm low but if you rev it also pretty loud same as Sylphy. So far only Civic sounds sweet when it is being revved. biggrin.gif
caddilac
post Apr 10 2012, 09:48 AM

QUOTE(ihatemyguts @ Apr 10 2012, 09:35 AM)
Is it possible to get the 1.8 minus the gps and all?
I kinda prefer the one on the 1.6hs to be frank.
Ya. If got 1.8high spec then wiol be more appealing. Now they are like force buy.
caddilac
post Apr 11 2012, 02:21 PM

QUOTE(adrianocy @ Apr 11 2012, 12:46 PM)
does any1 know the Escort Headlight System actually working? in the brochure doesnt say anything bout this feature.
Normally escort headlight will turn on the headlight for a short period of time (maybe 30secs) after switching off engine to escort you at night. Some cars will work together with the auto light sensor so the car will not turn on the light at day time. Not sure with the Elantra.
caddilac
post Apr 12 2012, 05:39 PM

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Apr 12 2012, 03:39 PM)
just to confirm, elantra's gearbox no need to change ATF?
Someone told me on that and I'm quite surprise, but feels like not possible.
Anyone has the service schedule for elantra?
Tucson and Sonata are maintenance free. Not sure the Elantra though. Better check the owner's manual
http://paultan.org/2010/03/09/hyundai-tucs...pecs-confirmed/
All models will come with a six-speed automatic gearbox with tiptronic function. Developed in-house by Hyundai, this gearbox is said to be maintainence free. To back up the claim, Hyundai ran the gearbox for one and a half months, 24 hours a day, cycling through all six ratios. In that situation, the transmission lasted 300,000 km, so we can presume that it’ll last even longer with normal use.
http://www.autoblog.com/2008/12/23/hyundai...peed-automatic/
The unit is also maintenance-free: the gearbox is 'filled for life' with automatic transmission fluid and needs no topping up, reducing servicing costs.

caddilac
post Apr 12 2012, 06:13 PM

QUOTE(tishaban @ Apr 12 2012, 06:03 PM)
Filled for life is a dangerous word in my opinion. No question that it's been tested etc. but RM200-400 to replace ATF every 2 years is cheap insurance.
Their gearbox are using SK4 ATF so is it better?
caddilac
post Apr 13 2012, 03:41 PM

QUOTE(jusjus88 @ Apr 13 2012, 03:27 PM)
doh.gif  ah sorry i mean i took it, saw it and gave back  blush.gif

Added on April 13, 2012, 3:33 pm

lol, are you sure test drove the real elantra? is it the 1998 model?
Maybe some people are comparing a 96k Elantra with 400k 528i tongue.gif
caddilac
post Apr 13 2012, 05:54 PM

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Apr 13 2012, 05:46 PM)

I just came back from 3S and asked for the schedule and he said not ready but did mentioned that it's cheaper than Sonata (DUH!!) and gave me some figures (pluck from the sky of course).

Body kit will be coming in (after market) next month and expect to fork out 2.5K for it.  rclxm9.gif  drool.gif

As for warranty worries on the installing OEM HU on the car. No issue. As long as you are using back the same socket from the original one. Which I think isn't an issue. LED or DRL as mentioned must not disturb the original wiring. No cutting or re-wiring is allowed or VOID.  rclxm9.gif

And the ATF need to be change every 100K. It's not maintenance free. It is just LESS/LOW maintenance according to him. They will check if they need to change after 100K or else just continue driving lo.  thumbup.gif
ATF can last 100k quite good oso... Low maintenance thumbup.gif
caddilac
post Apr 14 2012, 03:44 PM

QUOTE(jusjus88 @ Apr 14 2012, 03:04 PM)
a curious question : since i haven't saw the 1.6StandardSpec yet, does the front grill (chrome) differ from the 1.6HighSpec?

HS and SS diff 5000, is it worth?

apart from the VSM braking system, what are the other differences? saw many brochures.. all give partial comparisons only. if 5k only for supervision cluster, leather steering, VSM, then i think the 5000 can do so much more for ICE in the workshops outside.

anyone can enlighten?  hmm.gif
Depends on individual view on safety. For me VSM alone worth more than 5k edi. In Altis you need to pay 10k to get VSC from E to G so I consider the HS to be a bargain smile.gif

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0473sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:50 PM