5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.15, Get your D800/D4 now !

tctham
post May 19 2012, 09:06 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ May 19 2012, 09:03 PM)
I like the school girl picture alot.. she looks really innocent!
yea~~ her face so smooth.. i can tell you it's not the effect of my NR.. even without NR, her face looks that smooth~~ didn't take many shots.. got a few more, but this 2 nicest smile.gif teehee
tctham
post May 22 2012, 12:18 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 21 2012, 11:35 PM)
Err, you didn't noticed Canon Msia sponsors more events than Nikon Msia? DCIM for example... last year Super GT too, Canon had a workshop for shooting panning and also be in the track etc... Nikon? None...

But in Singapore for SIN, Nikon users have special privileges...

Once you go for Bangkok Motor Show... all the other shows in Malaysia seems dull... KLIAF... Auto Saloon..
Nice picture yo.. the girl reminds me of a korean girl from a group (Hyomin from T-ara).. @_@ though i prefer straighter pictures instead of slightly slanted.. kekeke~ personal preference cause when i see slanted pictures, my head cocks 1 side.. feel uncomfortable.. teehee~
tctham
post May 22 2012, 07:42 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(MrAkay @ May 22 2012, 04:23 AM)
Oh in that sense. In Singapore what kind of privileges do nikonians get?
Should we call U darth celciuz now since u went over to the dark side  tongue.gif haha
should be calling him Sir Celciuz.. cuz he went over to the white knights.. this side is the dark side.. kekkee
tctham
post May 23 2012, 11:43 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ May 23 2012, 11:34 PM)
Yea! Its a lil more expensive wanted to try how the manual focus feels like!
Zeiss manual focusing and nikon's are two totally different thing!
Very nice and smooth but still not used to it!

Added on May 23, 2012, 11:38 pm

Currently street, got poisoned by a friend and the way how street photographers used ranger finders and manually focus on their subject! Just wanted to try something different.
But this lens would be mainly for portrait, but still learning how to make stunning photos from others! Just wanted to try how zeiss feels and the Bokeh is much pleasing although this could be personal!
On 2nd thought. Im next in line for the d800! No3 currently... Nikon delivers to my shop every two weeks.. Hopefully can get by tomorrow if they do deliver! Haha
someday if we meet up, can let you try my samyang 85mm.. also nice lens to manual focus since it has such a long throw.. smile.gif if you like it then you can consider adding that 85mm into your arsenal of manual focus lens smile.gif
tctham
post May 24 2012, 07:50 PM

653 posts

now i also start to scrap the advance DX plan.. can consider the d600 liao.. hahaha..
tctham
post May 25 2012, 01:06 PM

653 posts

looked again.. somehow still feel the FX standard lens are expensive sad.gif getting the d600 gonna blow another huge hole in my savings just to get it a decent lens.. need to see if the new nikon 24-70 costs how much and how does it perform 1st.. sad.gif at this rate, i think i just get a 2nd hand d7000 better sad.gif
tctham
post May 25 2012, 08:44 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 25 2012, 02:23 PM)
Buy d600 with some primes lens, it can save u alot, not every time we need zoom haha
the zoom is mainly for event, where the number of people fluctuates alot, and i have limited space.. also it's for my sister to use, for convenience sake.. i am more of a prime lens guy.. i go out with 35mm and 85mm usually..
QUOTE(MrAkay @ May 25 2012, 02:43 PM)
it performs absolutely freaking perfect!  biggrin.gif  only downside is its damn heavy & i wish it had VR!
last i check it was 5.5-6k
fx prime lenses also expensive what..
QUOTE(jchue73 @ May 25 2012, 04:19 PM)
Unfortunately, good lenses don't come cheap. Just like good things in life. The 24-70mm f/2.8 is a fantastic lens on FX. Just concentrate on one lens.
LOL A DX mode that you can actually use. They say the D800 kills the DX bodies. You literally get a two (FX and DX) in one camera body.
I not referring to the 27-70 f/2.8 wor..
from the nikon rumors on the d600. one of the last points:
One or more low-priced f/4 lenses will be announced with the D600. For example, Nikon recently filed a patent for a 24-70mm f/3.5-4.5 full frame lens which seems to be designed for a cheaper FX DSLR body

Read more on NikonRumors.com: http://nikonrumors.com/2012/05/23/newupdat.../#ixzz1vsuvDLU7

QUOTE(Agito666 @ May 25 2012, 04:28 PM)
>everytime i head 24-70 lens i feel i made a good choice  tongue.gif
> D800 kills the DX bodies, D800 is FX and DX in one camera body? ya...in before i need get 10k first  cry.gif

** tongue.gif *
yeah.. you made a darn good choice.. seems like the d600 was made for you.. haha

This post has been edited by tctham: May 25 2012, 09:35 PM
tctham
post May 27 2012, 11:42 AM

653 posts

here's a quick spam..

tctham
post May 27 2012, 11:57 PM

653 posts

@amduser: teach me also.. sad.gif
tctham
post May 28 2012, 12:00 AM

653 posts

you got take a lot of nice pictures too.. kekeke
tctham
post May 28 2012, 09:52 PM

653 posts

ytd i saw this dude with full frame camera (i think 5dm2 but i am not too sure) with a 70-200 f/2.8 + battery grip trying to take picture of the artists at paradigm mall.. well.. enuff said that he have trouble lifting up the lens amidst the huge amount of crowd.. even my primes have chances of bumping to peoples' heads..
tctham
post May 29 2012, 10:57 PM

653 posts

wheez.. long discussion for Acquainted..

I am user of D5100.. I admit that it is a stellar body for its price.. but I also admit, I am hungry.. My biggest concern is the lack of dedicated buttons for WB, AF, ISO which made me need to dive menu alot (last time).. now i set the custom button to ISO, and i just try to make do with others as i go..

the top LCD on the D7000 is also very useful for quick check on settings.. (for the d5100, i learnt to use the info display in the viewfinder to check quick settings)

And the twin command dial made it much easier to shoot in manual mode.. (one reason why i often shoot in A mode more than M mode because of the lack of two command dial).. Not a real deal breaker.. i still manage to get alot out of my camera, but twin dials is useful..

I am contemplating to upgrade to d7000/d7100 because of the reasons i have stated above.. Also d7000 onwards and above, supports metering with older lenses (such as AiS lens)..

The lack of motor is not a real deal breaker for me because:
1. Nikon will try to replace most (if not all) of their lines up to AF-S lens which will (usually) focus faster, and give better image quality.
2. new lens have better quality image (as stated above) so if you can afford the newer lens, you can get better image quality and (usually) faster af speed..
3. since i cannot use af-d lens to its full potential, i practice manual focus so i utilize AiS lens or other 3rd party lens (samyang)

i strongly suggest people to buy the kit lens.. it's very useful for alot of situations.. i have a friend that insisted to buy ONLY the 50mm.. he was happy with it at the beginning, then finally he owiz lack the wider end to take group pictures, and then he finally bought another 18-200 to complement his lenses.. not that the 50mm is no good, but it's difficult to use it for every situation especially group pictures or closed space..

my kit lens can use for:
1. landscape
2. group pictures
3. indoor pictures (for the lack of space.. not the aperture)
4. macro lens (focus closer than 50mm 1.8, 35mm 1.8, 85mm 1.4) although not as good as a dedicated macro lens, but it does a decent job..
5. day-to-day pictures..
6. video taking (because of the VR that both my prime lens don't have)

for the 35mm vs 50mm, it depends on you..
if you have budget, i suggest to go for 35mm.. so future you can complement it with an 85mm.. (like i did)
if you no budget and wish to use 1 prime only, can go for the 50mm (in between 35 and 85) and do the zoom adjustment using your legs..
35mm is easier to take alot of pictures, be it group or friendly outing or street.. (note: 50mm also possible if you are used to it.. but i personally prefer the 35mm).. but for portrait shots, 35mm would be quite close compared to the 50mm.. if you shy shy, then 35mm abit hard to take portrait.. 50mm will give you more distance between your subject.. but if you owiz go out with friends, then the 50mm is difficult to get pictures with alot of people in it, or shoot food pictures from your seat..

everything got its pros and cons.. slowly learn lo.. kekeke.. i think i typed too much.. hahaha
tctham
post May 30 2012, 12:32 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ May 30 2012, 12:18 AM)
wah.. so many technical discussions... but.. not a single photo.. LOL la u all.. wants to compare which camera is good and bad.. but.. the important thing is the result maaa
susah nak buat comparison la bang~~ if i have the d5100, the odds of me having another d7000 with me is rather low.. if i have a 35mm f/1.8g with me, the odds of having a 50mm f/1.8d/g is low... hahaha.. not impossible.. but chances are low le~ i might get a 50mm, but i think i'd rather upgrade the body, or invest on a tele lens 1st.. phew~

not much picture to show.. mainly because i cannot upload to digitalrevtv.. hahaha~~ most pictures in fb.. and fb pictures looks huge if display here..
tctham
post May 30 2012, 12:47 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ May 30 2012, 12:38 AM)
what a lame excuses for not uploading pic here.. cakap je la gambar tak up to standard...  laugh.gif j/k yoo
nah~ show you my tak up-to-standard gambar.. wakakakaka.. gambar ku tak begitu baik.. cuma saiz-nya besar.. kekekeke

ok la.. since gnome say leng lui category celciuz edi take finish.. i added guy pictures instead la~~

This post has been edited by tctham: May 30 2012, 12:53 AM
tctham
post May 30 2012, 12:54 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ May 30 2012, 12:51 AM)
need my honest comment? no need to know la.. nanti u kecik ati.... tongue.gif
i dare to post up.. edi dare to hear.. kekeke.. let razuryza sifu teach me how to take better pictures.. sifu, what can i improve on?

edit: food, "fake macro" with 18-55 and street i also got take.. no worries.. i not tied to bokeh and girls only.. wakakaka

This post has been edited by tctham: May 30 2012, 12:56 AM
tctham
post May 30 2012, 01:00 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ May 30 2012, 12:56 AM)
i no sifu.. so cant teach u.. but one think i can tell.. here.. all giler bokeh one...
for that event.. if i dun utilize bokeh.. then you all can play the "spot-the-handphone-model" game.. wakakaka.. ALOT of handphones (and ipads) lolz~

now these are from 35mm f/1.8g
Street at Tsim Tsa Tsui, Hong Kong

Some park at Taman Paramount

Added on May 30, 2012, 1:01 am
QUOTE(razuryza @ May 30 2012, 12:56 AM)
i no sifu.. so cant teach u.. but one thing i can tell.. here.. all giler bokeh one...

ada bokeh.. tada compo pun u all say nice... rclxms.gif
nicely pointed out.. totally agree that there was no compo.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by tctham: May 30 2012, 01:01 AM
tctham
post May 30 2012, 01:02 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ May 30 2012, 01:01 AM)
wah.. u all very brave ha... pick up my challenge at prompt.. lol.. if i dont say anything.. i bet no pic will be uploaded.. hahaha
need thanks you alot lor.. no you, no pictures uploaded~~ now waiting yours.. kekeke tongue.gif
tctham
post May 31 2012, 08:51 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 31 2012, 02:05 PM)
The one who can afford bmw wont go for proton, ppl will just say "why not save it up more to get the best?" yes u can save up til 6-7k for d700 (straight the best) but end up u got no money buy lens (same as no money for service) no point.

And within the period u save save save ur money, other who buy d3100/5100 already can start their basic photography journey,  i really dun understand why huma cant start with the basic and upgrade later? Pls tell me what do u lost if u learn and get from basic? 

Button not enough for entry level? Newbie doesnt need it. Dont tell me u will be pro within 1 month and think for upgrade? A body use for 1 year or more consider (untung balik). Technology is fast nowaday, Let say next year something come out with d7100 and beat d7000 , then u upgradin from d7k to d7100 mean u earn more than those d3100 upgrading ==> d7100?

Just my 2cents, not always need to be the best, it depend ur need.
totally agree.. well said

QUOTE(Acquainted @ May 31 2012, 07:45 PM)
LOL my dad got me a d7000! im finally a nikon user now!
Congrats... hope you will enjoy your journey with your d7000.. smile.gif it will be your trusty pal now smile.gif

Added on May 31, 2012, 8:55 pmby the way, i would like to ask.. when you all attach an external flash onto the camera.. how does the camera handles the shutter speed? it seems like it ignored my settings of shutter speed more than 1/30s.. sometimes it goes down to 1/20s when i still have a lot of ISO to spare (ISO 500)

This post has been edited by tctham: May 31 2012, 08:55 PM
tctham
post May 31 2012, 09:08 PM

653 posts

yeap... that mode.. i should not be in that mode?
tctham
post May 31 2012, 09:20 PM

653 posts

they let us set minimum shutter speed.. which it follows the rule all the time.. EXCEPT.. when i am using the external flash.. sad.gif then it screws up the rules.. sad.gif not sure is it because i using nissin? luckily i can still manually override the ISO.. so IF i notice, i will push the ISO up until i get the minimum shutter i want, but sometimes i dun notice.. sad.gif then i get shaky pictures =.=

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0438sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:36 PM