12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.15, Get your D800/D4 now !

amduser
post Apr 30 2012, 08:51 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 30 2012, 03:45 PM)
is that not good for chop off the part of the hand? 
kinda blur with human photography haha... include the hand will looks better ar?
because if zoom out a bit to include hand...will the face too small to see?  unsure.gif

if that picture show the hand in frame it will look more pleasant, if me i will do that, if i want to crop the hand i will crop until just before the elbow

sometime you doesn't need to show the face only, if can show the environment is great as well nod.gif

QUOTE(Beanie2304 @ Apr 30 2012, 05:54 PM)
Ah, how I wish I have a 70200. I'll definitely bring it up in a nearer range.

I was quite behind opposite Burger King (MJ station), near Lee Rubber building. Got some shots only, not much. =)

I kena tear gases also. No sign of gas can be seen but the smell and sting of it just... ahhh ==
Awesome man, I can see you were quite near and moving around a lot. We must form a team for the next (if the election still keeping their dirty stuff under).
Anyway, my not-so-great write up on my blog http://www.aprilfy.com/2012/04/428-bersih-30.html

428 Bersih 3.0 Set on Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/seohyun-beani...57629559839638/
i dont think forming a team in this kind of event is a good idea, better just split up and go different section to get more shots, if stick together you all need to frequently check out on each other make sure everyone stay together, good for own safety but you wont be able to take much picture compare to when you are alone

that's just my assumption anyway, never went to this kind of events like bersih before
amduser
post May 1 2012, 08:14 AM

5,542 posts

i also forget got KLIMS and it is just 10 mins away from my house doh.gif

gonna do some event coverage there later and today is the last day sad.gif
amduser
post May 2 2012, 11:10 AM

5,542 posts

Yesterday went to KLIAF, one thing that never failed to impress me in this kind of event is the buaya uncle who take shots of girls in weird pose i take their picture better than shotting the girls laugh.gif

I only take one picture then shamelessly go in front and ask for facebook contact tongue.gif
amduser
post May 2 2012, 10:32 PM

5,542 posts

mari tengok buaya laugh.gif
amduser
post May 2 2012, 10:40 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(zhinsara @ May 2 2012, 10:36 PM)
Goddamn is that a race prepped Lotus Elise?
i think so tongue.gif
amduser
post May 3 2012, 01:24 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(zhinsara @ May 2 2012, 11:34 PM)
tongue.gif like you I like taking pictures of buayas too  rclxm9.gif hahaha

Todays dump :

Arty at Zouk Club KL

ISO3200 on a D300s. Shot RAW, applied NR in LR3 then added fill light, that might explain the grain. I WANT A D700  icon_question.gif (or even better a D3s lolol  doh.gif )
because showgirls is too mainstream tongue.gif

see a group of photographer there also no mood to take picture la, later the girl also dont know where to see and dont know when will be my turn doh.gif

i saw someone wearing a white color "I AM NIKON" T-shirt, inside the picture i posted there, who is that huh? brows.gif

amduser
post May 3 2012, 07:29 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 3 2012, 07:13 AM)
Simple... frame your shot, then wave to the girl and start shooting ho ho ho... no need wait tongue.gif
i'm too shy to do like this la, i normally will go look for other girls to shot first instead of joining other photographers laugh.gif

want to ask how to improve my panning? i tried using zoom lens that day with slow shutter speed at 1/30, many picture appear blurred due to handshake, only some of this picture usable, but still quite blurry sad.gif

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.2...09147537&type=3

amduser
post May 3 2012, 09:39 AM

5,542 posts

shutter speed to fast it will freeze the motion la, i want those panning effect to show the car is moving
amduser
post May 3 2012, 10:28 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ May 3 2012, 10:08 AM)
but too slow will be more worst right ? whistling.gif

P.S: PS can make motion blur.  brows.gif  whistling.gif
dont rely on post process la, get it right in the shot is more important tongue.gif

QUOTE(Andy214 @ May 3 2012, 10:21 AM)
PS can make Panning effect?
If you use fast shutter, the tyre's won't be spinning the background also will be clear. It will look like the car stop there for you to shoot. That's why people use panning for moving objects.
The shutter speed depends on the speed of the moving object and you need to follow the object as you pan and press the shutter.
this is that kind of panning i wanted to make, but sometime my zoom lens cant track the subject well with AF-C because it is a crop lens and AF is slow sad.gif

hard to hold zoom lens steady without monopod especially after running around the area for different angle
amduser
post May 3 2012, 11:08 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 3 2012, 10:43 AM)
wow. everyone so extreme. notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  haha I seldom go past ISO800. Normally shooting at ISO200-400

Added on May 3, 2012, 10:47 am

This was shot actually at 5kmph.. but looks like going at faster speed. Shutter speed was 1/30 of a second.\

If you look at water drop photography, they use high shutter speed to freeze the water drop. The same concept applies. try go shooting at a water fountain. Try fast to slow shutter speeds, its easier to understand smile.gif)
ISO 200-400 cannot shot indoor without flash la, many of my indoor photos are shot at ISO 1000+ especially during pc fair, nikon no need worry about low light la tongue.gif

i use 1/30 shutter speed but cannot pan well, got those minor blur/handshake sad.gif
amduser
post May 3 2012, 09:58 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ May 3 2012, 03:22 PM)
Based on latest reports, you should want a D800 instead.  biggrin.gif

Meanwhile, I think most have come across these but just in case you missed them, I have listed the ones I found very good and well thought out reviews of the D800/D800E.

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/...pressions.shtml

http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/content_p...d=7-11676-12555

Lastly, some samples of the D800 as a sports camera shooting polo !  notworthy.gif

http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1108889
Practice, practice and practice. 1/30 maybe ok for wider angle shots depending on your focal length. If longer focal length, you may want to use a faster shutter speed until you're most comfortable. This may differ from person to person unfortunately. A VR lens would give you better advantage of using slower shutter speeds.
In relation to panning? That's a very generic question ! Depends on your focal length and how fast the car is actually moving.
Usually bodies with AF motor built-in are Pro bodies with better AF module. So therefore most of those bodies with built-in AF motor will indirectly have faster focus with AF-S lenses.
Who says? Tamron is good bang for the buck but if you compare just performance alone, the Nikkor is almost always the better lens.
i didnt shot with VR when i'm using my 55-300mm because i want to save my battery for the rest of the day, i follow use the shutter vs focal length rule but that would mean lesser panning effect for the photos

i cant even get sharp image with my 35mm on 1/40 shutter speed sad.gif
amduser
post May 4 2012, 01:08 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 3 2012, 10:41 PM)
no need vr for panning, because it will be fighting with you to stabilize vertical and horizontally. where we will be moving horizontally. I also tried the 55-300 for panning with VR.. for me I swtich it off. I was told by my friend that Canon's IS can swtich on both axis or only one... maybe thats their secret  hmm.gif

just before you pan, do a few mock swings, get comfortable. Track the object for a while before you hit the shutter. the effect is amplified if the subject is far, going very fast and you have a tele, most likely no need to slow the shutter down much. But if your on wide and the subject is close like go karts zipping by, even 1/60 shutter can give some effects already. Hard to describe in text, best is to go out there and shoot. Find your sweet spot.
ic....but that time the space is really limited and a lot of tiang and barricade blocking sad.gif

i might be able to do better if i can use my 35mm which i am more comfortable with

i dont think there is any car racing events, japan GT clash with another event that i'm going to attend vmad.gif
amduser
post May 4 2012, 08:30 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 4 2012, 08:08 AM)
U can try going to GRA Round 1 this sunday at shah alam car park W4 not as glamour as SuperGT but u can to try out some panning and see some cool driving skills. Entrance to see is free.

ahhh~ good to know  thumbup.gif  thanks for the info bro
sure is free?

i see here say RM150/entry
http://www.grassracingautosports.com/gra-a...ps&c=2012entry1
shocking.gif

but see if i got the mood to go or not la tongue.gif

QUOTE(tctham @ May 4 2012, 08:25 AM)
How close can you go? cause I only have an 85mm lens and that's my furthest.. if that is not enough, probably i might not go. sad.gif
the website says it is at a car park, i dont think it will be so big, maybe need to say "excuse me" and go closer
amduser
post May 4 2012, 08:43 AM

5,542 posts

oh....if i go i'll try to ask them to let me go as close as possible, better if i can go inside the track there and shot tongue.gif

amduser
post May 4 2012, 07:40 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 4 2012, 12:54 PM)
haha nah. still alive and burning rubber. But recently there are more competing championships popping up.
you make me wanna go there already sweat.gif

cars is more poisonous than girls

QUOTE(jchue73 @ May 4 2012, 02:18 PM)
Speaking about the 17mm TSE, Nikon apparently is going to make one as well as other lenses.

http://nikonrumors.com/2012/04/27/nikon-pa...-4-lenses.aspx/
I've been seeing samples of the Sigma 150mm f/2.8 macro lens lately. Nothing short of superb. The latest ones come with OS / VR. Perhaps you should aim for that one.
When you pan, you almost always have to break the 1/focal length rule i.e. shutter speed slower than what is normally allowed for hand holding without VR. 
Practice lor... When you pan, press your camera to your face, pull in your arms closer to your body and your whole upper part of the body right down to your waist moves from left to right (or right to left). Not just with your hands alone. Try to follow and pan the same speed as your subject. Fire continuous shots

With wide angle, it's usually much easier to pan but to get more effect, you need to be very close to the subject which can be dangerous at times.
Depends... If your VR is version 2 or the latest one, it should detect horizontal or vertical panning motion and compensate for it.
Yup. Active is for shooting in helicopter or on the boat.
Wah... Where are you going what are you going to shoot?  sweat.gif
i did move my body together, and sometime after walking and running around big events, heartbeat too fast i can feel my viewfinder jump up and down when i tuck in both of my hand laugh.gif
amduser
post May 4 2012, 10:34 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 4 2012, 10:27 PM)
Flickr does quite some big of sharpening to pictures you upload which I don't like at all.
picture being resized, that's why you see sharper image when posting
amduser
post May 5 2012, 01:14 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ May 5 2012, 12:44 AM)
hie sifus,i bought a 70-300mm lens.Can someone teach me how to use this lens? I realised it cannot take pics of stuff that are near to you..
you bought a lens and you dont know how to use it? sweat.gif sweat.gif

DX telephoto zoom lens is not for close distance focusing, 70-300 and 55-300 minimum focusing distance is 1 meter if i'm not mistaken, 70-300 should be nearer because of its internal focus
amduser
post May 5 2012, 12:04 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ May 5 2012, 02:38 AM)
Read many tutorials on how to bounce/diffuse built in flash and most of them failed.. So I just grabbed a piece of paper and angled it and put it in front of mah flash. Worked like a charm laugh.gif
Combo by BenSow, on Flickr
maybe you can try using torch light and diffuse the light with masking tape or A4 paper
amduser
post May 5 2012, 10:19 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ May 5 2012, 08:59 PM)
think i wun be going to the motor show.. broga + waterfall today make me feel so tofu edi~~ i think i need to exercise more..
that's why you have to go to GRA to further stressing yourself biggrin.gif

amduser
post May 5 2012, 10:33 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ May 5 2012, 10:27 PM)
so sad la~ all my friends dowan bother about me.. i ask them go~ all dowan~ sad.gif i go rest ba~ next event i will go.. keke this mth too hectic edi.. today morning broga.. 2 weeks later, broga again but diff group of friends.. keke~ so you confirm going?

p/s: noobing during the climb also.. brought tripod, then 3 of my lens.. climb up halfway, raining.. sad.gif dun really have mood to change lens.. wakakaka.. stick with 35mm all the way until on the way down and rain stop, then only i swap to 85mm to take portrait of colleagues..
i will go but going there alone la since my friends all not going

35mm also can take portrait what, just go closer only la tongue.gif

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0506sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:16 PM