183 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Business ACCA V8, Global Body for Professional Accountants

junggle
post May 23 2012, 06:27 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(~ATI4LIFE~ @ May 23 2012, 06:21 PM)
guys please help......is foundation in arts hard?.....i registerd in utar ady...my classes starts next week.....im from science stream...so will it be hard for me sad.gif
Foundation in art?? =.= ACCA???

Added on May 23, 2012, 6:49 pm
QUOTE(VijayHari @ May 23 2012, 02:20 PM)
Np
The other thing is that i found that assessing performance is really time-consuming.
It's really hard to link the clues given by the examiner...
So long as I make sensible comment, it wouldn't be marked wrong right??
For example, Crumbly Cake (June 09).
We has been told that 'the business should use only organic ingredients in its cake production. Organic ingredients are more expensive but should produce a product with an improved flavour and give health benefits for the customers. It was hoped that this would stimulate demand and enable an immediate price increase for the cakes.'

And it turns out the material price variance is adverse.
However, we has not been told that whether previously is organic ingredients being used in production.
If it really does use organic ingredients previously, then there would have been a standard price for organic ingredients.
So the material price variance would not be an effect for changing of the ingredients used.
Thus can i say that the adverse material price variance is caused by the poor negotiation skill instead of saying that the variance is caused by changing of ingredient based on my assumption??

This post has been edited by junggle: May 23 2012, 06:49 PM
lcyeap90
post May 23 2012, 07:27 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(~ATI4LIFE~ @ May 23 2012, 06:21 PM)
guys please help......is foundation in arts hard?.....i registerd in utar ady...my classes starts next week.....im from science stream...so will it be hard for me sad.gif
no problem no matter u are from science stream or watever.
i have graduated like wat u did and now i am doing acca as well.
hrevijay
post May 23 2012, 09:07 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(junggle @ May 23 2012, 06:27 PM)
Foundation in art?? =.= ACCA???

Added on May 23, 2012, 6:49 pm

The other thing is that i found that assessing performance is really time-consuming.
It's really hard to link the clues given by the examiner...
So long as I make sensible comment, it wouldn't be marked wrong right??
For example, Crumbly Cake (June 09).
We has been told that 'the business should use only organic ingredients in its cake production. Organic ingredients are more expensive but should produce a product with an improved flavour and give health benefits for the customers. It was hoped that this would stimulate demand and enable an immediate price increase for the cakes.'

And it turns out the material price variance is adverse.
However, we has not been told that whether previously is organic ingredients being used in production.
If it really does use organic ingredients previously, then there would have been a standard price for organic ingredients.
So the material price variance would not be an effect for changing of the ingredients used.
Thus can i say that the adverse material price variance is caused by the poor negotiation skill instead of saying that the variance is caused by changing of ingredient based on my assumption??
I wasn't able to look at the question but I have done it before. If my memory serves me correctly, the new chef introduces the organic ingredients. They were definitely using non organic ingredients before. There was an unrevised standard cost card which caused the huge MPV hence it certainly is because of the higher prices of organic ingredients and not anything else. 
AgoNi
post May 23 2012, 09:22 PM

62 posts

anyone interested in buying P3 BPP kit for exams in 2012 ? It's BRAND NEW !!! please drop me an email szeyin_0227@hotmail.com smile.gif or PM me

This post has been edited by AgoNi: May 23 2012, 09:23 PM
noonies_naruto
post May 23 2012, 10:39 PM

736 posts

hey.. ya think... if got no P5 text book.. can pass aa?

i got exam kit only.. die lorh
nothingz
post May 23 2012, 11:05 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ May 23 2012, 10:39 PM)
hey.. ya think... if got no P5 text book.. can pass aa?

i got exam kit only.. die lorh
I also dont have text book for all p level papers, no problem also
~ATI4LIFE~
post May 23 2012, 11:06 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(lcyeap90 @ May 23 2012, 07:27 PM)
no problem no matter u are from science stream or watever.
i have graduated like wat u did and now i am doing acca as well.
im gona do foundation in arts...then degree...then only acca
lcyeap90
post May 23 2012, 11:27 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(~ATI4LIFE~ @ May 23 2012, 11:06 PM)
im gona do foundation in arts...then degree...then only acca
yes..i been went through all u stated smile.gif
~ATI4LIFE~
post May 24 2012, 11:56 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(lcyeap90 @ May 23 2012, 11:27 PM)
yes..i been went through all u stated smile.gif
thanks man!!!!!!!

Happy*Go*Lucky
post May 24 2012, 05:46 PM

17 posts

Hey guys, do anybody know which technical article in p5 need to study? as it seem a lot n a lot. my lecturer never teach or mention any article in class. He summore skip quite some topic in p5. I am down wif the p5

nothingz
post May 24 2012, 07:16 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Happy*Go*Lucky @ May 24 2012, 05:46 PM)
Hey guys, do anybody know which technical article in p5 need to study? as it seem a lot n a lot. my lecturer never teach or mention any article in class. He summore skip quite some topic in p5. I am down wif the p5
P5 examiner has not written any article so far, those articles at ACCA website are written by other lecturers/professionals. read questions carefully, practise your writing skills, it is not too difficult to pass
noonies_naruto
post May 24 2012, 11:13 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 24 2012, 12:05 AM)
I also dont have text book for all p level papers, no problem also
alaa.. u genius lor sweat.gif

anyway, i already bought*fotocoughstatcough* rclxms.gif konfem universal prize lah! ahahaha~
sukun
post May 25 2012, 12:51 AM

471 posts

Hi guys! I got few simple basic F3 questions i need to ask.

1. In Aug 09, Hco acquired 80% of Sco 200,000 $1 ordinary share capital. Year end is Dec 09.
At Jan 09, Sco had retained earning of $320k and made profit for the year end Dec 09 of $48k.
Asume profit accrued evenly throughout the year. What are the net assets of Sco at acquisition date?

2. Which following books are settlement discount allowed entered?
Cash book? Journal? Sales Day Book? or Purchase Day Book?

3. Aco sold goods for which it paid $140k to it's subsidiary Bco. Aco charges mark up 40%.
In 2000, Bco sold 80% of the good it purchased from Aco.
How much should be eliminated as unrealised profit from consolidated financial statement?

4. Item cost £3k to purchase. cost £300 to get the item ready. plan to sell it for £3.4k. would cost £3.7k to buy similar item of it. draft financial statement valued the inventory at £2.9k. which inventory valuation method is used?

5. In disposal of NCA in cash flow statement prepared using indirect method, is is correct to say profit of disposal on NCA should be deducted and actual proceed received are from investing activities and not from operating activities?
tzxsean
post May 25 2012, 08:35 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(sukun @ May 25 2012, 12:51 AM)
1. In Aug 09, Hco acquired 80% of Sco 200,000 $1 ordinary share capital. Year end is Dec 09.
At Jan 09, Sco had retained earning of $320k and made profit for the year end Dec 09 of $48k.
Asume profit accrued evenly throughout the year. What are the net assets of Sco at acquisition date?
Assuming acquisition on 1 Aug

(48k x 7/12) + 320k =348k

then 348k+200k=548k

3. Aco sold goods for which it paid $140k to it's subsidiary Bco. Aco charges mark up 40%.
In 2000, Bco sold 80% of the good it purchased from Aco.
How much should be eliminated as unrealised profit from consolidated financial statement?

140k /1.4 x 20% =20

4. Item cost £3k to purchase. cost £300 to get the item ready. plan to sell it for £3.4k. would cost £3.7k to buy similar item of it. draft financial statement valued the inventory at £2.9k. which inventory valuation method is used?

cost (3k) or NRV (3.4k-300), whichever lower

5. In disposal of NCA in cash flow statement prepared using indirect method, is is correct to say profit of disposal on NCA should be deducted and actual proceed received are from investing activities and not from operating activities?

Yes

This post has been edited by tzxsean: May 25 2012, 09:37 AM
caillech
post May 25 2012, 09:35 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(sukun @ May 25 2012, 12:51 AM)
Hi guys! I got few simple basic F3 questions i need to ask.

net asset at year start =200K +320K =520K

net asset at acquisition date =200k +320k +(48k x 7/12) = calculate yourself  tongue.gif

2. Which following books are settlement discount allowed entered?
Cash book? Journal? Sales Day Book? or Purchase Day Book?

all except purchase day book (correct me if i am wrong)
nothingz
post May 25 2012, 10:19 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

Discount allowed only involves Journal & Sales Day Book. no cash transaction involved.

Debit Revenue adjustment - Discount allowed
Credit Accounts receivables
caillech
post May 25 2012, 12:00 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 25 2012, 10:19 AM)
Discount allowed only involves Journal & Sales Day Book. no cash transaction involved.

Debit Revenue adjustment - Discount allowed
Credit Accounts receivables
i tot there is a discount column in cash book?? rclxub.gif
nothingz
post May 25 2012, 12:49 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ May 25 2012, 12:00 PM)
i tot there is a discount column in cash book??  rclxub.gif
when your customer purchase on credit from you for RM100 goods

Debit AR 100
Credit Revenue 100

when you give discount RM 10 on settlement

Debit Cash 90
Debit Discount allowed 10
Credit AR 100

if you are looking at the whole settlement transaction, cash book is included

Else, the transaction can be separated

Debit Cash 90
Credit AR 90

Credit AR 10

the discount allowed transaction alone does not involve cash book

This post has been edited by nothingz: May 25 2012, 12:55 PM
caillech
post May 25 2012, 01:15 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 25 2012, 12:49 PM)
when your customer purchase on credit from you for RM100 goods

Debit AR 100
Credit Revenue 100

when you give discount RM 10 on settlement

Debit Cash 90
Credit AR 100

if you are looking at the whole settlement transaction, cash book is included

Else, the transaction can be separated

Debit Cash 90
Credit AR 90

Credit AR 10

the discount allowed transaction alone does not involve cash book
he is asking whether should entered cash book ma..

wat i mean is this...

This post has been edited by caillech: May 25 2012, 01:17 PM
nothingz
post May 25 2012, 02:15 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ May 25 2012, 01:15 PM)
he is asking whether should entered cash book ma..

wat i mean is this...

lol, i never come across this kind of cash book in real life or in books, maybe it did exist. laugh.gif laugh.gif

183 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0540sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:09 PM