9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V9, Phone? Tablet? It's Note!!!

benny888
post Mar 29 2012, 10:55 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Mar 29 2012, 10:54 AM)
yup.. did exactly what you mentioned in the Address Book.
When it syncs (rotating "recycle" icon), does it shows progress? when it's completed, does it show completed?
When sync complete, it will stop rotating
benny888
post Mar 29 2012, 11:56 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Mar 29 2012, 11:46 AM)
just found out that financial times for Android doesn't support Note.
vmad.gif
It supports . I am using it

benny888
post Mar 29 2012, 12:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(CcL @ Mar 29 2012, 12:13 PM)
Stock dpi ft looks like this on mine. Is yours a tablet version or something?
Mine is FT Mobile. It is default like that - my Note is on default dpi 320
benny888
post Mar 29 2012, 12:43 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Mar 29 2012, 11:57 AM)
sorry, my bad. I was referring to TheEdge Financial app
It supports too The Edge Financial Daily

Now downloading it - no error message saying is not incompatible

Added on March 29, 2012, 12:44 pm
QUOTE(Superman7 @ Mar 29 2012, 12:33 PM)
Tapatalk app works with LYN forum?
Lowyat forum does not support tapatalk yet

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 29 2012, 12:44 PM
benny888
post Mar 29 2012, 02:36 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Mar 29 2012, 01:37 PM)
hmm.gif still can't download. Can you send me the link of the app?
Download it from playstore

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...Y2lhbERhaWx5Il0.

Added on March 29, 2012, 2:40 pm
QUOTE(phearfiery @ Mar 29 2012, 02:15 PM)
hei guys i wanted to root my galaxy note but i kinda confuse with those rom and kernel all that. some i read they said is not root it is rom or something. should i backup only i root? i just wanted to like get to use those paid apps for free >< can anyone please help me T_T and izit different kernal version need use diff rom or root ? pls help me thx all the bros over here ^^
We do not encourage users to use paid apps for free
It is equivalent to stealing intellectual property making one a petty thief
Android apps are cheap. If you can afford a rm2k phone why stoop so low to use such pirate apps
And you need not to root to use such apps. It is not IOS
Using such crack pirate apps often bring system instability

Added on March 29, 2012, 2:43 pm
QUOTE(vin39 @ Mar 29 2012, 02:31 PM)
guys how to directly download from samsung apps to my memory card?
You cannot. This is decided by apps developer whether it install on ext card. You can manually force install it or move to ext. Card after install at settings/applications

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 29 2012, 02:43 PM
benny888
post Mar 29 2012, 02:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Mar 29 2012, 02:46 PM)
ROFL xD that's the stock launcher rite?

Also i set GO launcher EX as my permanent launcher.. now i cant figure out how to get back to TW launcher LOL!!  doh.gif
Settings/applications /manage applications locate go launcher select clear default
benny888
post Mar 29 2012, 08:59 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Interesting video on android OS vs IOS

benny888
post Mar 30 2012, 08:01 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 30 2012, 07:33 AM)
Wanted to try rooting to use titanium backup and other stuff but totally confused.The only 1 that's easy to understand was Dr.Ketan's rooting guide.Will it still produce yellow triangle using his method?
That is easiest guide to root. No it will not give you yellow triangle
benny888
post Mar 30 2012, 09:26 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Mar 30 2012, 09:01 AM)
why is there a need to reset the firmware counter?
There is a maximum firmware flashing possible?  rclxub.gif
Some users are just paranoid over this. Because they think they can cheat service center that they did not flash their phones. Infact all Samsung phones has hidden files that the tech can check how many times you have flash the phone with unofficial kernels or roms. However my past 5 experiences has proven that the Service Center never bother whether your phone is rooted or even flash with cook roms - warranty is still given FOC>

however the Service center still reserves the right to void warranty if they wishes to. Many users in this Note forum and SGS II, Tab, Tab 10.1, Tab 7.0 plus has proven their claims are often processed FOC with phones/tablets obviously rooted and flashed

I always like to quote my personal experience sending in to Spore Service Center my previous SGS as it was bricked after flashing and phone failed to go to download mode even with USB Jig plug in. The center even advise me how to flash and the phone was an AP set which I bought at Plaza LowYat. I send in to Spore myself as the irresponsible seller gave me tons of excuse of how difficult it was to claim warranty as need to send in to Spore as it was a Spore Singtel set. After the phone was with him for 2 weeks I asked him to return it and I brought it to Spore to reflash the rom and service was FOC ; I need not even show proof of purchase - they just key in phone IMEI and serial number to verify warranty
benny888
post Mar 30 2012, 10:04 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mikeis18 @ Mar 30 2012, 09:40 AM)
Great explanation Benny! smile.gif Personally I think people who intend to root their Android phone should know what they're doing in the 1st place, and not worry so much about warranty. If so worried, then don't root, it still works very well on stock. It's not like jailbreaking, u won't get "free apps". Rooting gives u superuser access, which tampers with stuff you don't want to accidentally make a mistake on.

BTW, have u tried the new Midnote 2.1 Benny? Any takes on it?
You are absolutely tight. I always advised those who wished to root and flash be mentally prepared you lose warranty. If you are not, DON'T DO IT !! All the tricks to hide your root n flashing ( eg thro removing flash counters, reverting to stock rom etc ) are all efforts in vain,. You can cheat the counter staff who take in your set but not the tech working behind. If the Service center wants to void warranty, no matter how you hide they will still know
I NEVER bother doing such stuffs ; once even with yellow triangle booting up but failed to boot I can still get claim FOC

I have posted my comments on v2.1 midnote yesterday morning. Trace back the posts yesterday morning. If you are already on v2.0 basically no point to upgrade unless you want the latest
benny888
post Mar 30 2012, 10:19 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Mar 30 2012, 10:17 AM)
i'm not sure how samsung test their device.

last night i watch a 2hrs movie on my gnote.

well, the dark scene is..... i seriously dunno how they test this device and release it.

the movie is act of valor, so when the soldier is moving in the dark, they look really really ugly with all black pixalated thingy. oh my.

only when its black though.
This is display issue - go and claim warranty if you are unhappy. Why live with such an issue after all the phone cost you RM 2K not 2 hundred !!
benny888
post Mar 30 2012, 10:45 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Mar 30 2012, 10:40 AM)
huh? isnt this the common issue for gNote? the dark scene will alway be pixelated? or banding whatever the name is? no ?
NO lah ! Just because you hear some users complaining doesn't make it it a common issue. Both my SME and AP sets do not have such issues. Banding does occur but is slight and that is due to the nature of the SuperAmoled. Dark scenes being pixelated is definitely an unacceptable issue

Added on March 30, 2012, 10:46 am
QUOTE(kronikloops @ Mar 30 2012, 10:43 AM)
hi guys, one quick question. is there any difference between AP and SME set note's battery?thx smile.gif
Mine is exactly the same - at least it looks the same to me ; one is local SME while the other is AP ( UK set )

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 30 2012, 10:46 AM
benny888
post Mar 30 2012, 11:27 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(phearfiery @ Mar 30 2012, 11:25 AM)
thx all da bros specialy y haha for explaining to me ^^  rclxms.gif  i now have a better understanding haha after bit more of research then i wanted to root d haha so how did you root your note? which way have u used? anyway link or software can suggest to me and some fellow newbie here?  rclxub.gif
Refer here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1329360
benny888
post Mar 30 2012, 11:43 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 30 2012, 11:38 AM)
After reading few sources,I believe Dr.Ketan's rooting guide is the easiest to understand  thumbup.gif

This is wat I've learnt so far.Do correct me if I'm wrong.

1.My current Rom N7000DXLC2,so it's not direct rootable.I have to downgrade it KK1 (older rom?Any older rom also can?I saw N7000DXKK1,N7000ZSKK1 and N7000DXKK1 using Odin) (PC)
2.After that my phone should be rooted.I can flash to latest stock rom which can be found here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1424997 or other custom rom? (I am quite tempted to try Rocket Rom tongue.gif )
You can use any 2.3.5 rom after all is only a temporary rom to root/CWM it. KK1 is a good choice
Once you have CWM installed you can flash any custom rom you want

Refer my guide here:
http://leemn.wordpress.com/2012/01/11/sams...e-kl-and-above/

benny888
post Mar 30 2012, 11:46 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(entaro @ Mar 30 2012, 11:31 AM)
You have to view the dark scene in a slightly dark environment... all the note I tested have the same issue....
I tested mine in a completely dark room - don't see any pixelated issues. It does not affect all users only some users. And frankly if you can only see such in a dark rom, you either accept it or you can go claim warranty. If me I will accept it as 99 % of the time I don't view my Note in a completely dark room
benny888
post Mar 30 2012, 11:47 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 30 2012, 11:46 AM)
Huh?Installing CWM is a must?Must install CWM before able to install Mobile Odin Pro?
No need CWM to install Mobile Odin. Your phone just need root
You use CWM to do a backup/restore ofr oms and to flash roms/kernels/modem. And Mobile Odin can do similar tasks too as long as the files are in tar format

Added on March 30, 2012, 11:48 am
QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 30 2012, 11:44 AM)
Lol?!This 1 terus root without the need of downgrading? shocking.gif
Yes you can use this method too as the roms come prerooted. Your choice

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 30 2012, 11:48 AM
benny888
post Mar 30 2012, 12:03 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

All new users this is the master guide to all things related to rooting, flashing kernels, modems, roms etc
You can get almost 99.99% of your required stuffs here

http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1349
benny888
post Mar 30 2012, 01:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

What configuration fees? I have also bought several phones from spore never need to pay for such. All phones work all right out from box

benny888
post Mar 30 2012, 03:40 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(eddmecha @ Mar 30 2012, 01:47 PM)
guys i wanted to ask about TB..actually can i uncheck not to back up apps thats in RED colour?or RED colour means MUST back up?please advise tq
The red items are phone default system files n apps
You can always choose just to backup only your 3rd party apps

benny888
post Mar 30 2012, 04:51 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Mar 30 2012, 04:31 PM)
where to see unwanted widget in home screen? And i don't see dustbin too

I am in Running Services there and should I stop those 'email. social hub, accuweather.com, ap mobile, samsung, voice talk, digital clock, samsung keypad'?
Just drag down app or widget you will see thrash can

Yes you can safely freeze all these apps if you don't use it. Root phone n freeze with titanium backup

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0452sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:13 PM