16 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

QoS/Bandwidth Control, <cleanup> Wanna shape your traffic ?

normeck
post Jan 6 2008, 03:54 PM

3,158 posts

where the solution leh?.....can somebody quide QOs setting for Aztech 605E....
ah_fui
post Jan 17 2008, 10:04 AM

technical potatoz
858 posts

QOS for DSL600ER too.
bazet
post Feb 10 2008, 10:14 AM

469 posts

You can use radius server to shape traffic. http://mamakspot.blogspot.com/2008/02/mama...creenshots.html

see the first 2 pictures on that site. Uisng iperf for bandwidth testing
cutegurl
post Feb 22 2008, 03:54 PM

150 posts

gosh ... everybody is facing the same problem as me !

Added on February 24, 2008, 12:23 pm
QUOTE(ah_fui @ Jan 17 2008, 10:04 AM)
QOS for DSL600ER too.
and this one too DSL-2540T

Thanks cry.gif

This post has been edited by cutegurl: Feb 24 2008, 12:23 PM
normeck
post Feb 25 2008, 09:07 PM

3,158 posts

nobody want to guide us?
cutegurl
post Feb 26 2008, 09:27 PM

150 posts

wo~wo~ no body wan to save me
deckerz
post Mar 14 2008, 09:46 PM

34 posts

hello

i'm having problem with my housemate who' always download movies and tv series.i think 24h a day,even she's sleep.its ok for me until my surfing becomes slow and sometimes cannot open.i'm using netgear wireless router WGR614 and maxis broadband.how to devide those bandwidth fair enough between us?

internet--->maxis modem---->netgear wireless router WGR614----->all share using wireless

please help me,other housemate started to complained

tq
Hoodlums
post Mar 19 2008, 05:51 PM

598 posts

How to block P2P like Ares using Billion Bipac 5112S??
Guide me, wanna block P2P at my office icon_question.gif
normeck
post Mar 21 2008, 12:13 AM

3,158 posts

help us!
he post you entered in was too short. You must have at least 10 character(s) in your post before it will get posted.
juine
post Apr 2 2008, 01:43 PM

618 posts

my setup is like this, a cable modem, router dlink dir-615 (no qos function), 2 nic card.

I have 1 desktop (act as a gateway) and 1 laptop in my room, and sharing my connection with a fren beside my room. currently i live in sg with starhub 8mbps connection, every device is in my room so he just pull his network cable to my room. total is 3 pc.

I put my main pc with 2 nic card, 1 nic card connect with the cable/dsl modem, and another nic card connect with the router. remember to share your internet connection in your nic setting to the nic used for the lan. then I use softperfect bandwidth manager to limit the rest of the pc to 2mbps per pc and blocking port 6000-65000.

I'm thinking to get dir-655 soon coz this kinda setup is troublesome, I had to constantly put my desktop pc online only they can connect.

I'm still looking for software that could let me stop p2p program within my local area network. anyone can help me with this thx?

utopian86
post Apr 11 2008, 02:27 AM

1,239 posts

if my router doesnt have QnS features, what should i do?
normeck
post May 4 2008, 12:17 PM

3,158 posts

icon_question.gif help us configuring QoS on aztech modem...with ss will be good...tq icon_question.gif
alexjiezhen
post Jun 5 2008, 11:30 PM

45 posts

untill now no one can give goos solution yet
come all the sifu sifu..
mikka
post Jun 24 2008, 04:05 AM

37 posts

OK, since I very seldom read this topic, here it goes for those having slow internet when using BT or any other P2P software

there is few choice, here is the best 3 choice

First, explaination,
- QOS is a useless thing, dont bother about it. QoS is only to limit or block the connection, user under QoS control will not happy.
- If you got modem router and wireless router both working together, turn either one of the router to bridge mode, which mean only one working as a router.
- P2P is using very heavy internet traffic, your router is not a big fast server, it will hang or slow down when handle so much traffic.
- what i mean in traffic is, BT connect to lots of people, too many connection, example like too many cars (connection) and the toll(router) cannot handle that much amount of traffic, then there will be traffic jam. Either build a bigger toll (faster router, but will still jam) or using touch n go or smart tag(too bad internet dont have smart tag).
- its not your bandwidth problem, even thought total download only 30kb/s on a 1mbps line, the internet will still slow down or even disconnect.
- when the router is overloaded, the symptoms are, msn fail to send message, msn keep disconnect, download cannot be complete, webpage take long time to load or stuck at halfway, youtube cannot finish download video, webpage cannot display any picture. The worst are, no connection, mean your router hang.

Solution:
1, Limit your half open and TCP connection to 10 half open and 100 TCP, normal router can only handle around 300 both TCP + half-open, If you exceed these number of connection, the symptoms will come out, then you need to restart the router.

2, For one user only. Set your modem to Bridge mode and connect using your PC, just like 56K dial-up, mean there is no router, no firewall and no need port forward, your PC will do all the stuff. Don't worry about the wireless router, it won't disturb you. Together with a Internet traffic shapping will be nice. If you want to share you internet connection to other user, then you need to know how IP works, it got many procedure, and I'm lazy to explain.

3, Change a router, buy a faster one, but still the TCP and half-open cannot be set to high value, you only can increase a few hundred.

4. Limit the Upload!!! total upload must not reach 40kb/s, or you will surf like turtle. TMnet upload only got 384kbps or 48kbyte/s, max you can get is 45kb/s, download require small amount of upload for request data, like if you got kancil only, how you gonna fetch 50 chicks? Of course get a bus lah...

Conclusion:
P2P kill router, housemate keep download porn 24/7, there is no way you can play dota online...

badzeugene
post Jul 3 2008, 01:02 AM

305 posts

how to close port?
ahnien
post Jul 3 2008, 01:22 AM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

i tot this thread got steps to QoS??

wher's the guide ar??

need some help with QoS on D-link DSL-2640T.
cant seems to get the QoS settings for the wireless....
n doesnt seems to work.

anyone one knows how to block p2p, thunder5, other torrent programs from the router??
need some help here.
K for Ketamine
post Jul 4 2008, 12:15 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ahnien @ Jul 3 2008, 01:22 AM)
i tot this thread got steps to QoS??

wher's the guide ar??

need some help with QoS on D-link DSL-2640T.
cant seems to get the QoS settings for the wireless....
n doesnt seems to work.

anyone one knows how to block p2p, thunder5, other torrent programs from the router??
need some help here.

can post clear screenshot for QoS for D-Link DSL-2640T.
badzeugene
post Jul 4 2008, 03:05 AM

305 posts

QUOTE(molok @ Oct 1 2007, 01:33 AM)
http://www.clarkconnect.com/(one i'm using, get the commnunity edition(free), not the paid version), http://www.ipcop.org/, http://www.ipcop.org/ or netlimiter if you using windows xp. You need atleast 2 network cards. Works like a charm because i'm sharing 10 pc's for 1 internet connection. The pc i use pentium 3 with 256 sdram to serve this purpose. For instructions & guides please refer those respective websites i lazy teach so much. One more thing this is for who have good experience with computers.(ehem basic networking knowledge.......) 
Screenies:user posted image
can i use it in my windows vista?

i need to use restrict my housemate connection, can this software helps?

chinseng85
post Jul 6 2008, 07:17 PM

513 posts

hi, i had juz tried out NetSense which mentioned in the previous post. it can control all computers bandwidth which connected with the same router/switch.

besides that you, (control pc), can block other computer from using p2p application or messenger, setting a daily "fair usage" policy like what other wireless broadband do, and etc policies.

now i juz manage to find the chinese version. sorry for those who cant understand chinese word.

there is a trail version available for download at www.grabsun.com/index.asp

this app realy help me to reduect my hsemates p2p dlwonload bandwidth so that i can play online game lagness.

This post has been edited by chinseng85: Jul 6 2008, 07:19 PM
blushedd
post Jul 14 2008, 09:36 AM

hi im new & noob to qosing
ive read a lot of things, but i dont know how to find the QoS settings in the first place
right onw im using windows vista home premium, my router is linksys.
thank you ^^

16 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:27 AM