5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Oil & Gas Career v3, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

mhyug
post May 21 2012, 01:54 PM

1,551 posts

this industry does pay well but doesnt mean you get paid buta2 big money from day 1...big paycheck = big responsibilities and = big work.bkn duduk goyang kaki wait the bloody oil to spurt out from the sea bed.

oil workers ive met thus far all said same thing along the lines "ong is 24/7" you work and work and work.

i did the hard way to enter this field and now enjoying every moment of it.just gonna bid my time gain as much as i can and plan my future.
mhyug
post May 22 2012, 12:14 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(alpha_mid @ May 21 2012, 06:56 PM)
well said, big paid = big responsibilities.. 24/7
p/s
ada can ka main ps3 hari2 kerja day & night tongue.gif
mana ada chan...ps3 dah beribu batu jauh dr lokasi aku sekarang kehkeh...missing it lol.but at the same time every working day is an adventure. tongue.gif

coming to work every morning to be greeted by a semi-sub parked here hehe.

QUOTE(preakzz @ May 22 2012, 01:31 AM)
*high five!*

Even scrolling until now. One of the tab I never close in my browser. Haha
QUOTE(echobrainproject @ May 22 2012, 10:25 AM)
i guess i was pretty lucky. been reading through the whole thing for a few days, then applied when someone posted an opening. after emailing my cv got called within a few hours for interview.
but yes, this forum + google really helped
agreed with both of you.i also been milling around for 4++ months before getting an oppurtunity posted right here.tried my luck and got the interview and then the job. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by mhyug: May 22 2012, 12:17 PM
mhyug
post May 24 2012, 04:44 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(GaussSeidel @ May 24 2012, 03:34 PM)
Their HQ is in Singapore (for Asia Pac region, HQ for global operation is somewhere Middle East/US if i am not mistaken) while their base for AsiaPac region is in Batam where their reputation is well known over there. They have a fleet of installation barge mainly caters offshore installation segment (structures, jacket, pipelay). Most well known amongst all is DB101 (crane capacity monstrous 3500 ST) where i am currently now at/onboard. Facilities onboard is superb (PS3 in every bunk/room) while the food is marvellous.

Career wise is very good as Field Eng where you will basically manage the project and oversee the completion and ensure successful execution to meet clients' requirement where u'll be assisted by very well experienced barge supritendent, captain, foreman, riggers etc. A very good place to start your career IMHO.

P/s: Am not working for them but as a client to oversee my project's execution/completion.
just 3 alphabets man, WOW.....the pay must be very hansome too. rclxub.gif
mhyug
post May 25 2012, 09:07 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ May 25 2012, 09:04 PM)
OVERKILL...lol
they might as well add the word "senior" in front of all those positions lol biggrin.gif
mhyug
post May 29 2012, 01:47 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(paradox @ May 28 2012, 09:24 PM)
Hye Sifu's,
I want to ask something about the tubular service.
1.This job is usually done in offshore or onshore?
2.Is it appropriate for a career in the future (the value salaries paid)?
3. What company do the work turbular service in Malaysia?
offshore for oil found offshore, onshore for oil found onshore smile.gif in simple word both, and where ever you can find oil or to be found.

as for companies thus far ive come to know is one youve mentioned earlier, weatherford(spelling mungkin salah disini hoho) and 1 other wch slipped my mind right now. hmm.gif
mhyug
post May 30 2012, 07:55 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ May 30 2012, 12:22 AM)
Oil and Gas can be found offshore and offshore so specifying offshore as upstream is incorrect. Upstream in Oil and Gas industry relates to exploration and production of oil and gas from those fields. Once it leaves the platform via pipeline on to ships or into the gas gathering system then that's where downstream activities starts
just as bro azreil pointed out here. rclxms.gif tubular services is found on both off and on shore projects, just simply where ever a drilling process is required.how and what tools are done will be different tho. smile.gif
mhyug
post May 31 2012, 09:06 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(hj.pet @ May 31 2012, 08:55 AM)
talking about onshore field, currently there is one that being drilled in the town of miri rite? under nippon oil? pls correct me if i'm wrong.
i heard some of the oil workers here talk about it yesterday not sure wch part of miri or whose the driller/operator etc.was surprised too to here we have some reserve onshore smile.gif who knows maybe there is more to be tapped in biggrin.gif
mhyug
post Jun 2 2012, 01:58 AM

1,551 posts

what are the odds of the cooks on a rig going on strike lol.

sounds funny but it happened and poor guys on the rig had to resort to maggie mee's for food.
mhyug
post Jun 2 2012, 02:20 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jun 2 2012, 02:05 AM)
Seriously?  hmm.gif

Added on June 2, 2012, 2:13 am

Project engineer normally will not require to go offshore.. Yes for Service engineer for equipment offshore.
yup, happened during middle of this week. not sure if i can openly say wch rig tho biggrin.gif
mhyug
post Jun 4 2012, 07:34 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(camel_active @ Jun 3 2012, 09:57 PM)
at last, after 1 year trying to get in this industry, finally i'm one of the O & G family members. smile.gif
congrats man, and if any chance you stop by kemaman maybe we can meet and have lunch together here.
mhyug
post Jun 10 2012, 05:25 PM

1,551 posts

tesco...slb recently bought their man and equipment..world wide summore...anyway quite the troublesome their cds
mhyug
post Jun 11 2012, 12:37 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(kucinggemok @ Jun 11 2012, 12:29 PM)
Tesco drilling?
one and only i think.
mhyug
post Jun 13 2012, 10:03 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Jun 12 2012, 10:21 PM)
Oil drilling platform catches fire
for those who always think "easy" life and $ only and wanna go offshore.
got the news right after it happened from my crew manager. that rig won the hse for last year. smile.gif (no rig name on the news ehh i bet us in the industry know wch one)

This post has been edited by mhyug: Jun 13 2012, 10:06 AM
mhyug
post Jun 13 2012, 10:16 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jun 13 2012, 10:09 AM)
From the pictures and the news, i believe that the Tukau B Platform was in fire, not the drilling rig...even no derrick in the pictures?
yeah the drilling rig was intact.the platform yg kena.

This post has been edited by mhyug: Jun 13 2012, 10:26 AM
mhyug
post Jun 13 2012, 10:27 AM

1,551 posts

quite surprised the news only came out today.
mhyug
post Jun 13 2012, 05:27 PM

1,551 posts

every one pointing some where la.in the end every single person needs to be point but not to blame but to improve.
mhyug
post Jun 20 2012, 07:27 AM

1,551 posts

applications to applicant to luck all may vary so if you're applying keep on applying and dont just bank on one or a few.

thats what i did before joining my comp and being jobless for quite a period of time.
mhyug
post Jun 20 2012, 04:07 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(lovebattery @ Jun 20 2012, 04:02 PM)
we have a newcomer for the downstream business as well..

anybody here have anything to say about petron?

saw their 'new' petrol station along the sg besi h/way just after the toll gate.

so far has anybody here been hired by petron?
hoo i wonder if they can last and btw it seems they are taking control over esso, exxon and exxon-mobil wch is based here.in a sense they are just the arm of san miguel corp to run what esso/exxon here wch was sold to them.

This post has been edited by mhyug: Jun 20 2012, 04:09 PM
mhyug
post Jun 26 2012, 06:15 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jun 26 2012, 04:40 PM)
I think Bintulu & Miri consider okay. still got night life.

Try Kerteh & Kuala Belait. boring liao  yawn.gif  yawn.gif

I still can't understand why most outsiders, from Peninsular actually, madah Bintulu boring. Aiyoh~ Bersyukur mun takorang sik kenak posting pegi Kerteh, sik pun Gurun. Mun ndak, biuk nyawa laugh.gif
i feel you bro, kerteh at least ada a mall and mcd now, gurun you mean gurun, kedah or??(gurun kedah ok pa-->org kedah sini kohkoh)
mhyug
post Jun 27 2012, 07:54 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jun 26 2012, 06:17 PM)
Gurun, Kedah bro biggrin.gif kat sana ada PFK
gurun quite expanding but seem to be ceasing the past 4 yrs or so with the current administration there. kulim n sp might be a bit modern then gurun la since they started way earlier.

This post has been edited by mhyug: Jun 27 2012, 07:55 AM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0394sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:13 AM