5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career v3, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

mhyug
post Mar 20 2012, 07:26 PM

1,551 posts

how do you do a background check on your interviewer lol gla hebat, magnum p.i style woo laugh.gif
mhyug
post Mar 20 2012, 07:56 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Mar 20 2012, 07:38 PM)
resourcefulness  smile.gif
It's easy to show them academic achievements with your resume and certificates. It's hard to show them streetwise + work ethics unless they give you the opportunity to work.
agreed nod.gif
mhyug
post Mar 21 2012, 12:21 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(yss88 @ Mar 21 2012, 10:22 AM)
Btw, it seems like most of you guys prefer ONG field,
well this is the OnG thread smile.gif and practically the posters here are either seniors in that industries + grads/juniors whom are looking to enter the ong industries.

This post has been edited by mhyug: Mar 21 2012, 12:21 PM
mhyug
post Mar 23 2012, 03:28 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(eandi @ Mar 23 2012, 03:10 PM)
Murphy usually hire "otai2" in O&G and salary minimum RM25k/month..
To join Murphy, u must have experience in Offshore Hook Up & Commissioning..
It's a "gift" if you can join them as a graduate engineer..
somehow this feels the same for most of the well known companies lol rclxms.gif maybe the only thing differs is the "25K" may go below or may go up.
mhyug
post Mar 25 2012, 07:22 PM

1,551 posts

most big companies do offer scholarships, part of their corporate responsibility back to the community.
mhyug
post Mar 28 2012, 03:45 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Mar 28 2012, 01:42 AM)
Usually they offer for those who are currently working in Petronas. They also take in EE and Chem E students who they want to convert to PE/RE.

I have not heard Petronas sponsoring students from Bachelors Degree to Masters degree without first having them work with Petronas for a couple of years.
some thing similair to what TNB does. UNITEN itself when it was initiated and started(from Ilsas) was full of tnb staffs whom were sent to further their studies in various fields.when they finished instead of going back to tnb, they were channelled back to the university to be academics staff+carrying on some rnd work for TNB.
mhyug
post Mar 28 2012, 06:48 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(ltykor @ Mar 28 2012, 11:32 AM)
Anybody knows of Misi Setia Oil & Gas (MSOG). How's the working environment, prospect of the company. It would be much appreciated if someone could provide me with some information. Thanks a lot!!
they are having a raft of positions with adds on jobstreet. hoping the best on one of my applications there smile.gif
mhyug
post Mar 28 2012, 09:19 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(ltykor @ Mar 28 2012, 09:16 PM)
Which position did u apply? Do you know anything like working environment, job prospect all that regarding this company?
i applied for junior positions, as for the company, i dont know much about them besides what they have in their webpage. smile.gif
mhyug
post Mar 30 2012, 03:00 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Mar 30 2012, 01:54 AM)
Question question...

Mechanical or piping people, do u guys usually issue out GA drawings in A1? I am confuse of the title block in the drawings, the 'size' column. Drawings I found is varied from A and B, originally by JGC. Might be a Japanese standard then, so how do I indicates what size the drawings should be? Wasn't it normally just in A3?
you mean size of the paper???i think any cad software can print out on the sizes you want, more over what angle you want it to be and what scale you want the drawing to be(it will be different depending on the paper sizes)
mhyug
post Apr 9 2012, 06:52 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(nanabobomomo @ Apr 9 2012, 06:11 PM)
Anyone know about Kejuruteraan Samudra Timur Berhad? How is the working environment?
hmmm got a call from them i presume? smile.gif
mhyug
post Apr 9 2012, 06:56 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(nanabobomomo @ Apr 9 2012, 06:54 PM)
Yea. Got call. Do you know more info regarding this company?
i my self not sure, check their webpage should have the info on what they do and so on, as of internal stff i oso dont know, good luck tho. biggrin.gif
mhyug
post Apr 10 2012, 05:18 AM

1,551 posts

management trainee, does it differ from company to company?or does it differ from industry to industry?

iinm those in this position or program is given the exposure in various fields or sub fields and then after a certain period of time they are assigned to the dept or field they are best suited, is this the same case if an OnG company were to hire a management trainee?

can anyone provide further info on this post?(been applying to it a lot and did some reading but cant come to final say on what they actually do or train).do they do management stuff as the name sake or its mix of things/skills trained?

This post has been edited by mhyug: Apr 10 2012, 05:57 PM
mhyug
post Apr 11 2012, 06:22 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(bendonarticx @ Apr 11 2012, 05:39 PM)
Haha really? heard Kebabangan field running dry soon
wasnt that said to the whole industry in Malaysia back then?, and here we are still going strong.
mhyug
post Apr 12 2012, 05:14 PM

1,551 posts

hi guys, anyone have experience in working/operating wire ropes, chains, slings and lifting gears?

almost every engineering industry have applications for these equipment, besides what were thought in uni(selection process, calculations and etc), is there anything else we should know bout if were to work in this line?got an interview coming up with a manufacturer/provider of the equipments coming up.

my thoughts are on about the technical test(wch im unsure if there will be any) and what they normally ask, any suggestions on what should require focus on?thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by mhyug: Apr 12 2012, 05:14 PM
mhyug
post Apr 12 2012, 09:44 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Apr 12 2012, 09:06 PM)
hii bro..
i've little bit knowledge on lifting gear..
usually i inspect those lifting gear both in-service and brand new (pre-use).
but i dont have any idea of what will be ask on your interview.
are u fresh grad?
hi bro thx for the reply, im not exactly a fresh grad but i do have working experience. when you inspect do you do calibration and certification on them too?(this was one of the services the company i will attend the interview offer).

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Apr 12 2012, 09:34 PM)
i hope the following help. whatever is in my mind right now. Shell is practicing color code for the webbing sling. the webbing sling width normally >10% wear & tear must be replaced. MPI/PT inspection & load test. safety latch at the hoist, limit switch sensor. the 5M: machine, material, medium, man and method. risk assessment & permit to work. wind speed. signal man & rigger man....
LOLER
if you can find the book from National Safety Council, Accident Prevention Manual Engineering & Technology 12th Edition, 2001. @ chap 15 Hoisting and Conveying Equipment.

Added on April 12, 2012, 9:38 pm
many years ago when i was fresh grad, was offered on-spot in the Sat morning by the MD. the office that time was not in shah alam. can't recall the post need to go offshore by boat, arrange equipment packages logistic, installation, etc... but i did not take the offer. that time the office was like a 1-man show sweat.gif ...from the website, now it looks improvements...
thx bro, thats some new info there you provided to me appreciated it, i will read more on them smile.gif

This post has been edited by mhyug: Apr 12 2012, 09:45 PM
mhyug
post Apr 12 2012, 10:00 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Apr 12 2012, 09:53 PM)
may i know what company? calibration for what item? wire rope/chain/web sling doesnt need calibration.. if u say pull/load test that another story.
for load cell, load indicator..yes..need to do calibration.
my mistake, yes wire/rope/chain sling dont need calibration(i was occupied with load cells/cranes)

its a company in kapar klang, Goforth mlaysia. they do service for a wide range of industries that require the equipments. smile.gif (according to their webpage)

This post has been edited by mhyug: Apr 12 2012, 10:01 PM
mhyug
post Apr 12 2012, 10:09 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Apr 12 2012, 10:06 PM)
owh yea.. near my house.. biggrin.gif
in fact last week i witnessed their pull test on wire rope sling... IINM they are one of the biggest supplier for lifting equipment in M'sia..
owh kay..now im a bit more risau d haha.big company you say...got to be tough their assesment, but they called me so i must have hit 1 of the pts they seek lol biggrin.gif

anyway anything else you can advise me for the interview? biggrin.gif any technical part i should flip back from my uni days etc? smile.gif
mhyug
post Apr 12 2012, 10:22 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Apr 12 2012, 10:18 PM)
also API RP 2C & 2D if you are interested. one of our plants in indonesia is doing lifting gear inspection.
will search more on them bro thx.

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Apr 12 2012, 10:19 PM)
hahaa.. i dont have idea what they will ask...

btw who familiar with crane inspection?
i just finished my crane inspection training.. but have many more to learn..
no prob bro.wish me luck tho biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mhyug: Apr 12 2012, 10:24 PM
mhyug
post Apr 13 2012, 08:21 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Apr 13 2012, 05:45 PM)
Email received from a friend;

Job Vacancies.

Please be advised that our Company will put up an Advertisement in the THE Star tomorrow (14/04/2012) for various job vacancies.
The job vacancies are also posted in our Company website i.e. www.sbmoffshore.com

ENGINEERING

Engineering Project Management
-              Engineering Project Managers

Electrical & Instrumentation
-              Senior Electrical Engineers
-              Senior ICSS Engineers
-              Senior  or Lead Electrical Designers
-              Senior or Lead Instrument Designers
-              Fresh  / Junior Graduate Engineers in Electronic, Mechanical or Chemical Engineering

Mechanical
-              Mechanical Equipment Department Manager
-              Principal Rotating Equipment Engineers
-              Principal Gas Processing Package Engineers
-              Senior Rotating Equipment Engineers
-              Senior Gas Processing Package Engineers
-              Rotating Equipment Engineers
-              Gas Processing Package Engineers
-              Mechanical Handling Engineers
-              Fresh  / Junior Graduate Engineers in Mechanical Engineering

Naval Architecture
-              Senior Hydrodynamic/Mooring Engineers
-              Senior Naval Architect Engineers
-              Senior Marine Engineers
-              Metallurgist & Welding Engineers

Piping
-              Principal / Lead Piping Engineers
-              Senior Stress Engineers
-              Piping Engineers
-              Stress Engineers
-              Senior Piping Designers
-              Fresh  / Junior Graduate Engineers in Mechanical or Material Engineering

Process & Loss Prevention
-              Principal Process Engineers
-              Senior Process Engineers
-              Senior Safety Engineers
-              Senior Loss Prevention Engineers
-              Process Engineers
-              Fresh  / Junior Graduate Engineers in Chemical Engineering

Structural Engineering
-              Senior / Principal Hull Structural Engineers
-              Senior Hull Structural Designers
-              Senior PDMS Structural Topside Designers
-              Fresh  / Junior Graduate Engineers in Electronic, Mechanical , Piping, Material, Chemical Engineering and Structural Engineering
-              Junior PDMS Structural Topside Designers
OPERATIONS
Project Management
-              Project Engineers
-              Regulatory Compliance Engineers
Construction
-              Construction Engineers
Commissioning
-              Commissioning Managers
-              Commissioning Engineers
-              Commissioning Discipline Leads (Mechanical , Electrical, Instrumentation, Fire & Gas, Telecoms, ICSS)
-              Commissioning Database Administrators

Supply Chain
-              Project Procurement Managers
-              Package Managers
-              Buyers
-              Expeditors
-              Project Inspection Coordinators
Project Control
-              Project Control Managers
-              Contract Managers
-              Senior Cost Engineers
-              Senior Planning Engineers
-              Contract Engineers
-              Cost Engineers
-              Planning Engineers

Document Control
-              Vendor Document Controllers
-              Document Controllers
-              Document Control Assistants
-              E-Comment Administrator
FINANCE
-              Accountant (Financial Reporting)
-              Account Executive (Accounts Payable)
-             Cost Controllers

FPSO MANAGEMENT CREW
-              Offshore Installation Manager (OIM)
-              Production Superintendent
-              Maintenance Superintendent
-              Cargo Superintendent
thanks for the heads up smile.gif

btw per say for an add like this, if a candidate were to apply for multiple positions so how to proceed??single email/mail resume application stating the various positions interested or multiple emails/mails according to the number of positions to be applied? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by mhyug: Apr 13 2012, 08:22 PM
mhyug
post Apr 16 2012, 01:43 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(alhakam88 @ Apr 16 2012, 02:26 AM)
Hi everyone, I am new to this forum and just started today. I just graduated in Petroleum Engineering last year in August. After few months of job seeking, I finally get offer with Geoservices as mudlogger. Plus I have contract with Geoservices for three years and penalty of 12K if break the contract (working with other company).

After reading few threads in this forum, I found a lot of bad experiences working as mudlogger. For me, I need to start somewhere in oil and gas and working as mudlogger is the first job that I managed to secure. I joined Geoservices by the end of March 2012 and currently is undergoing full modlogging training at Abu Dhabi for a month.

My ambition is to work as reservoir engineer and I see mudlogging job as my stepping stone to reach my dream. At the moment, I am not sure whether this job will lead me to become a reservoir engineer. The career path that I see is mudlogger -->data engineer -->specialized product engineer (FLAIR, Geonext)--> other segments in Slb. From what I see, it is going to take me at least 8-10 years before I switch to other segments (maybe reservoir engineering) in Slb and at that moment I have to start again. Most likely I will have to stay with Geoservices for the rest of my life.

For me, the first 3 years of my career is very important to achieve my dream of becoming reservoir engineer. I really need good advises so I shape my career to what I want. I hope you guys can advice me. Thanks.
good place and good opportunity i see.i think for your age, and the 3 years they tie you down could help you to achieve your dream of being a reservoir engineer.maybe you need to work around a bit, like take some certs with your expenses etc .

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:03 AM