9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

AS1M/ASM/ASW2020/ASN/ASB and other PNB funds V3, lending your money to the government

lucifah
post Jun 29 2013, 08:55 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jun 28 2013, 06:19 PM)

I recently went to Maybank branch to discuss regarding opening ASB account and packages that Maybank provides.

Below is the screenshot of the pamplet.

Front;

Back;
*sorry, need to censor some personal data.

The red box on the back page is for RM 30,000.00 sijil, and the payment will be RM 180.00 (RM 175+RM 5 for Islamic services charge) for 25 years. The payment will be deducted automatically from my Maybank2u account.

My question are;
1 - Is it recommended to get this package? I am somehow prefer this one instead of manually adding the money into ASB due to busy-ness.

2 - If I count correctly, RM 175 x 12 months x 25 years = RM 52,500 (EXCLUDING 8.00% bonus [consider the mimimum rate for example]).
So what does this actually mean? I pay RM 175 per month for 25 years but I only get RM 30,000 instead of RM 52,500? Or I am missing something?
I don't have chance to ask the second question because our meeting was interrupted by personal business and also just thought about that on the way home.
Please kindly advise ya.
to make everything simple, let's make a few variables as constant. they are:

1. ASB return @ 8% / yr
2. BLR fixed @ 6.85%
3. BLR - 1.85% for the whole loan tenure

whatever the amount and length of loan you choose, you will definitely earn:

8% - (6.85% - 1.85%) = 3%

to answer your question:

1. Yes & No. depending on your financial commitment. if you take an ASB loan, your chances to secure a housing / car loan in the future may or may not be affected by your existing ASB loan

2. you haven't included the loan interest amount. this means that in the 30 yr tenure, the total interest is 22,500 for a 30k loan. in contrast with your ASB investment:

Assuming that you do NOT disturb, i.e. take out any dividend earned:

Year Total
1 30,000
2 32,400
3 34,992
4 37,791
5 40,815
6 44,080
7 47,606
8 51,415
9 55,528
10 59,970
11 64,768
12 69,949
13 75,545
14 81,589
15 88,116
16 95,165
17 102,778
18 111,001
19 119,881
20 129,471
21 139,829
22 151,015
23 163,096
24 176,144
25 190,235

by year 25, you'll have 190k

in contrast with the 22,500 interest charged, you earned a nett sum of rm167,500 over the 25 years

edit: changed the years from 30 to 25

This post has been edited by lucifah: Jun 29 2013, 09:03 AM
lucifah
post Jun 29 2013, 09:01 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

As someone mentioned before, why no auto-deduct rm 175 per month until 30 years? let's make a comparison for that (this is a very simple and not too accurate calculations, i can do a more accurate one, but it takes my time, and someone hs to pay for my time)

assuming all variables remain constant, and RM 175 x 12 = RM 2,100 per year is added

1 2,100
2 4,368
3 6,817
4 9,463
5 12,320
6 15,405
7 18,738
8 22,337
9 26,224
10 30,422
11 34,956
12 39,852
13 45,140
14 50,851
15 57,019
16 63,681
17 70,875
18 78,646
19 87,037
20 96,100
21 105,888
22 116,459
23 127,876
24 140,206
25 153,522

you'll end up with 153k at the end of the 25 yr tenure, vs 167k if you take the loan

of course this is just a simple variable, and hasn't included the real life calculations of taking the lowest amounf of the month into the dividend calculation (which will make the final amount lesser)

edit: changed 30 yrs to 25 yrs calculations

This post has been edited by lucifah: Jun 29 2013, 09:04 AM
lucifah
post Jun 29 2013, 09:12 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(smsbusiness2u @ Jun 14 2013, 11:46 AM)
Please do not make any conclusion without fact which might confius other read...

moderator, should we create confusion info for other reader?
u can take his advice or u can ignore it

he is not forcing your idea, and no one here is confused by his statement either smile.gif
lucifah
post Jun 29 2013, 06:31 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jun 29 2013, 10:46 AM)
I thank you for your explanation as well as time consumed to enlighten me on this issue for start and in advance.

1 - Are we talking about CCRIS, that will kacau me during my house and/or car loan?

2 - If I agree to proceed with this loan, it mean that I will have RM 30,000 credited into my account, and start receiving 8%* dividend per year? And I am paying back to Maybank RM 175 (+RM 5) for 25 years to clear this RM 30,000 loan? Is it the idea?

2.1 - Based on your calculation, by 25 years (based on RM 30,000 loan - if Question 2's answer is yes), I will have nett RM 167,500 within 25 years, and it will be 100% mine?

2.2 - The staff did said that "once you completed the payment for 25 years, you can claim your sijil worth of RM 30,000 in this particular branch". This is the point where I start to confused; I can't integrate the idea of Question 2.1 with her statement.
*example
EDIT : adding some points.
EDIT2 : Bolding Question 2.2, for better emphasization.
1. bank will take your ASB loan as one of your commitments, so you will have reduced limites

2. u got it wrong. the bank will issue you an ASB CERTIFICATE worth 30k. they will HOLD the cert for you as collateral against your loan

2.1 yes. 137,500 is in the form of dividend, in your acc while another 30k is in certificate form

2.2 see my no 2. they will surrender the cert to you once you clear the loan
lucifah
post Jun 29 2013, 06:34 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jun 29 2013, 10:59 AM)
Thank you lucifah for the comparison.

On the bolded statement, the calculation proves that the loan is relatively more profitable within 25 years.

1 - The PROS of this method (not applying for RM 30k loan) are I will not have problem with applying for future loan for car and house, yes? Do I have any other major PRO with this method?

2 - The CONS is since my starting capital is low, hence my dividen will be not as much as with the help of RM 30,000 loan. Apart from this sole point, do I have any other major CONS with this method?
EDIT : typo.
1. you will have more difficulties or maybe easier to loan

for most cases, your available nett income is lesser after minusing your loan, so you will have lower loan limit

for my case (isolated ones), servicing the loan lets other banks know i am a good paymaster. it's not a matter of being able to afford the loan or not, it's more like if you can have loan history or not (they call it credit profiling)

2. see my first sentence from my first reply. whatever you do, having the loan will earn you additional +3% should all variables remain

cons? mayhaps you default the loan due to suddenly being unemployed or something.

This post has been edited by lucifah: Jun 29 2013, 06:34 PM
lucifah
post Jun 30 2013, 08:55 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(nelanga @ Jun 30 2013, 12:19 AM)
to me, if i have money..i keep the value of money back to my revenue.
dun let others 3rd party collect/use the value from my own money to share profit.

my 10cents..

my asb saving http://brunialamira.blogspot.com/
u're good. keep that good habit of saving into asb
lucifah
post Jun 30 2013, 12:29 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jun 30 2013, 12:27 PM)

2 - Even if they hold the cert, what will written in my ASB book soon? If I am not mistaken, the minimum needed to open an ASB account is RM 10, and for example I bank in RM 10 into my account, it will written only RM 10 OR it will written RM 30,010.00?

ur book will be written as RM 10

ur 30k is in cert form

when dividends come, it will be based on RM 30,010

the dividend will be refelcted in your book

the cert will be 30k from day 1 until year 25
lucifah
post Jul 1 2013, 12:17 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(barneysteinsson @ Jun 30 2013, 11:42 PM)
the loan must be more than 1 year than u can ignore it. ASB loan will come with special codes in CCRIS so we know when to ignore it in the commitment
this is new info. can you confirm it?

although i've seen a few cases where a person with 200k asb loan over 20yrs can still manage to get a 300k home financing
lucifah
post Jul 1 2013, 10:27 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(hyelbaine @ Jul 1 2013, 09:10 AM)
At least we haven't reached the stage of those in the states where even your behavior in paying bills such as your mobile phone actually contributes to your credit/FICO scores tongue.gif
unfortunately, i am in that category liao

no credit profile as i never had any loans under my name

sad.gif

lucifah
post Jul 1 2013, 08:08 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(AMINT @ Jul 1 2013, 08:05 PM)
Wah u buy everything cash ka?
wink.gif

it makes things easier

lucifah
post Jul 2 2013, 09:08 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Jul 2 2013, 01:12 AM)
So Nice  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
it is nice up to a certain time

when u want to buy that 1.5 mil semi detached house, u can't secure a loan
then u want the credit card to go travelling overseas with your family, they rejected your application

true story for the cc... sad.gif
lucifah
post Jul 2 2013, 03:51 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Jul 2 2013, 03:47 PM)
so sad  sad.gif
based on my bank manager's advice, i took out a 100k loan for a very short 5 year tenure

after 1 yr, now banks are sending me cards w/o my approval. stupid banks. if want to send me cards oso dun send me mc world or visa infinite with just 10k limit... laugh.gif

anyhow, the 100k i w/drew was placed in AS1M fund, as explained before, for leveraging purposes

now, instead of just earning 8% from ASB, i earn a total of 9.3% for the 100k sum, after deducting the interest rate smile.gif

lucifah
post Jul 2 2013, 04:04 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Jul 2 2013, 04:02 PM)
I don't like when the banks would send all kind of "rubbish" to me. Offering me Insurance (they even given me insurance account number), calling me on my h/phone, Pre-Approved card etc. 

Anyway, it's good decision to use your 100k loan to invest in as1m. ASB already max out? hmm.gif  What my understanding, those already max ASB would be investing in as1m smile.gif 

Enjoy your dividend compounding effect after few years biggrin.gif
quite some time max liao

defintiely > 200k since all the dividends pile up

i am not too fond of the idea owing anyone's money

lucifah
post Jul 2 2013, 04:45 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(navink @ Jul 2 2013, 04:34 PM)
Is AS1M still available?
for bumiputra quota, yes. always available

lucifah
post Jul 2 2013, 04:49 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(navink @ Jul 2 2013, 04:46 PM)
thanks for the reply.. may i know what is the max quota for bumi? is it 200k like ASB?
i don't think so

as long as the units are still available, u can subscribe
lucifah
post Jul 3 2013, 09:19 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Jul 3 2013, 12:45 AM)
Just looking at old thread V2.  Saw a lot of people commented that AS1M Non-Bumi portion won't be sold out, expected dividend rate only 4%, suspicious why gomen open so many scheme etc. That time a lot of people don't wanna invest.

Now year 2013, AS1M non-bumi portion already sold out. Some people are going to the ASNB offices & banks daily to ask if there's any unit available. No one expected this scheme to be sold out  smile.gif
QUOTE(hyelbaine @ Jul 3 2013, 07:44 AM)
If those people (who complained initially) ever read the quote by Buffet in your signature, they wouldn't be in such a predicament eh? tongue.gif hehehehe
QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Jul 3 2013, 09:08 AM)
Yape, I managed to pump in most of my monies into the AS1M account during the time where everyone is so negative about the fund..

Unfortunately, when the fund first declare the dividend, everyone of the non-bumi rushed in to invest, making it full now..

As for ASW2020, I did not have the account so i dont even have the chance to trial and error at the counter unlike ASM and AS1M which I have the account and can try over the counter..
that's why i feel sad for my fello bumiputra friends

got money, go buy cars, hp and gadgets, holidays, vacations, and other tangible purchases

don't want to invest in AS1M, let alone ASB. others are fighting for the tiny funds left from the non-bumi quota...
lucifah
post Jul 3 2013, 02:47 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(anz87 @ Jul 3 2013, 12:02 PM)
just came back from maybank....first intention to apply for 2nd housing loan 
and suddenly switch to asb loan....accidentally applied for 50k asb loan...hopefully everything will be ok
u can always cancel the ASB loan anytime after 2 yrs w/o any penalty

before this you can cancel anytime w/o any penalty

lucifah
post Jul 3 2013, 02:50 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(hyelbaine @ Jul 3 2013, 01:53 PM)
It's a malaise affecting the Malays in my books. To be fair, those who were part of the baby boomers generation were awesome savers. The savings rate back in the day was easily triple to what it is today. I guess these generation knew how hard money was to come by and wanted to be sure that every single cent is made to work just as hard for them.

However, it would be quite simplistic to generalize that all Malays save poorly. I think because in general the majority of Malaysians are Malays, even if 1% of the entire Malay population have little or zero financial literacy, the number can easily look very big. What I've realized is that financial literacy is highest among the Chinese but that too, only in the Gen-X age group. This generation still went through a rather "tough" growing up phase where wealth was still quite limited.

Gen-Y and millennials however are a different story. These are the one's where wealth has already been built-in to their respective families and the story of "how hard it was to make money" may not have been repeated nor felt by them. Ask any UTMC and they will tell you that these age-groups represent the smallest number of customers (exclude amount in comparison) compared to the other age groups. Some may say that this is due to the fact that they don't have much to save but I'm of the opinion that these people do not see the reason to save and/or invest because wealth seems to be already part of their lives.

When it comes to these age groups, savings rate are at an all time low while private/personal debt levels are the inverse of the former. Again, just my 2 cents based on my own personal observation and hypothesis.
actually, it's not just malays, i was referring to bumiputras as a whole - ibans, bidayuh, kadazan, melanau included

not taking dvantage of the ASB

lucifah
post Jul 3 2013, 03:30 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(anz87 @ Jul 3 2013, 03:24 PM)
don't understand  flex.gif
both argument same meaning
what the differences after and before
previously, you can make the loan toady, and tomorrow you can cancel the loan w/o any penalty

now, there's a lock in period of 2 yrs IINM from maybank

lucifah
post Jul 3 2013, 03:35 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(anz87 @ Jul 3 2013, 03:34 PM)
but the officer from maybank said that there is no lock in period for islamic asb loan,
can terminate anything
Check your loan agreement for confirmation.

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0420sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:08 AM