7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Jobstreet, Profile viewed by employer

esaulk
post Mar 8 2012, 11:18 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Mar 8 2012, 11:13 AM)
esaulk,

Are you or are you not a HR person?? Yes or no?? Easy enough question to answer...

There is no need for you to hide that...

It is OBVIOUS from your answer that where your interest is.

Dreamer
I don't see the need to answer you. That's why. And, for courtesy sake, when you ask someone who are them, you should start by introducing yourself first.

It is also obvious for me to see that you are giving out extreme opinions to Jobseekers and cannot seem to accept anything else except your own point of view.

By the way, every Company has its own standard when it comes to salary proposal. Unless, the Company do not respect their own employees.

This post has been edited by esaulk: Mar 8 2012, 11:24 AM
dwk2112
post Mar 8 2012, 12:09 PM

519 posts

Hi all,

My name is Daryl and I'm from Jobstreet. Let me do my best to ask your question and concern. And by the way, if you want to interact with us, we have our own forum so that our team can answer your questions as best as possible.

http://forum.jobstreet.com/

The CV viewed refer to how many times the employer view your resume. If you have x number of views, means that the employer are really checking you out and even the hiring manager could be reading your resume. It means your chances of getting an interview is good but it is not a guarantee. We merely telling you what is going on. Employer could be reading a few resume and deciding which one to call for interview. Or maybe they have found the one they are looking for and decided not to interview the rest. The reason is many...But one thing is sure, if you got x no of view, it means that your CV is working for you!!!!! You have attract the attention of the employer with what you stated in your resume.

I have stress many many times to the jobseeker the importance of the resume. You spend 3-4 years studying your degree or you have been working for number of years, slaving from 9 to 9...but when its time to write your resume, some just spend 15 mins on it. It does not make sense. Resume is your ticket to a better job!! Its your marketing document. Its the first time you are been introduce to the employer. Please spend some time to write a kick ass resume that highlight your achievements and your deliverables of you current and previous jobs.

As for the perception of having a better chance of emailing your resume directly to the employer. Well, its really up to the employer choice on how they would like to process the application. But many prefer the application to go through Jobstreet as we provide a system for them to sort out and manage all the resume. Its easier for them to read, search and identify the right candidate for them. If you email to them, imagine yourself as the HR suddenly open your inbox and it has hundreds of people emailing their resume. Would you read them all?

I welcome any questions or suggestion for us to improve our system and our process. We truly want to help all jobseeker to find and get their next jobs but do understand you need to do your part too. If possible, please post it in our forum as we have a team there to address your questions.

This post has been edited by dwk2112: Mar 8 2012, 12:16 PM
dreamer101
post Mar 8 2012, 12:28 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(esaulk @ Mar 8 2012, 11:18 AM)
I don't see the need to answer you. That's why. And, for courtesy sake, when you ask someone who are them, you should start by introducing yourself first.

It is also obvious for me to see that you are giving out extreme opinions to Jobseekers and cannot seem to accept anything else except your own point of view.
By the way, every Company has its own standard when it comes to salary proposal. Unless, the Company do not respect their own employees.
esaulk,

I have 11K+ post on lowyat.net. Anyone that wants to know me can do a simple search. Meanwhile, you are giving out advice IN FAVOR of the employer but dare not admit that you are from HR.

To be precise, you are the NEW KID ON THE BLOCK for lowyat. You should introduce yourself before giving out advice.

<<By the way, every Company has its own standard when it comes to salary proposal.>>

And, they do not tell the applicant aka the salary range right out front. Meanwhile, they EXPECT the applicant to fill in EXPECTED SALARY?? How can that be FAIR??

<< It is also obvious for me to see that you are giving out extreme opinions to Jobseekers and cannot seem to accept anything else except your own point of view.>>>

Extreme from you aka HR / Employer point of view. In that case, it must be GOOD from employee aka applicant POV.

Dreamer

TScheekychee
post Mar 8 2012, 12:34 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(dwk2112 @ Mar 8 2012, 12:09 PM)
Hi all,

My name is Daryl and I'm from Jobstreet. Let me do my best to ask your question and concern. And by the way, if you want to interact with us, we have our own forum so that our team can answer your questions as best as possible.
http://forum.jobstreet.com/

The CV viewed refer to how many times the employer view your resume. If you have x number of views, means that the employer are really checking you out and even the hiring manager could be reading your resume. It means your chances of getting an interview is good but it is not a guarantee. We merely telling you what is going on. Employer could be reading a few resume and deciding which one to call for interview. Or maybe they have found the one they are looking for and decided not to interview the rest. The reason is many...But one thing is sure, if you got x no of view, it means that your CV is working for you!!!!! You have attract the attention of the employer with what you stated in your resume.

I have stress many many times to the jobseeker the importance of the resume. You spend 3-4 years studying your degree or you have been working for number of years, slaving from 9 to 9...but when its time to write your resume, some just spend 15 mins on it. It does not make sense. Resume is your ticket to a better job!! Its your marketing document. Its the first time you are been introduce to the employer. Please spend some time to write a kick ass resume that highlight your achievements and your deliverables of you current and previous jobs.

As for the perception of having a better chance of emailing your resume directly to the employer. Well, its really up to the employer choice on how they would like to process the application. But many prefer the application to go through Jobstreet as we provide a system for them to sort out and manage all the resume. Its easier for them to read, search and identify the right candidate for them. If you email to them, imagine yourself as the HR suddenly open your inbox and it has hundreds of people emailing their resume. Would you read them all?

I welcome any questions or suggestion for us to improve our system and our process. We truly want to help all jobseeker to find and get their next jobs but do understand you need to do your part too. If possible, please post it in our forum as we have a team there to address your questions.
Thanks so much for you sharing, i learned a lot today..
and if you do no mind, can i ask about the priority services?
How it work, and how it can help us in finding job? it just merely put our resume to the top?
dreamer101
post Mar 8 2012, 12:34 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(dwk2112 @ Mar 8 2012, 12:09 PM)

dwk2112,

<<If you email to them, imagine yourself as the HR suddenly open your inbox and it has hundreds of people emailing their resume.>>

+1

Do not e-mail resume to HR. It is USELESS. Plus, unless you are INTRODUCED to the Hiring Manager by someone, e-mailing resume to the hiring manager will not work either.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Mar 8 2012, 12:34 PM
TScheekychee
post Mar 8 2012, 12:35 PM

61 posts

peace.. dreamer and esaulk,
forum mean to be sharing, i learned a lot from you guys.. thanks
dwk2112
post Mar 8 2012, 02:01 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(cheekychee @ Mar 8 2012, 12:34 PM)
Thanks so much for you sharing, i learned a lot today..
and if you do no mind, can i ask about the priority services?
How it work, and how it can help us in finding job? it just merely put our resume to the top?
Priority services will do the following:

1. Push your application up. Meaning the employer will see your resume first
2. Highlight the resume to the employer
3. Email to inform the employer that this applicant is serious about the job as it is a paid services. There are a lot of spamming application and employer do not want to waste time and ended up that applicant are not serious about the job or the interview. Bear in mind, in Malaysia, we have a huge issue with jobseeker not showing up for a confirm interview (no show). And with priority services, it gives some form of reassurance for the employer

Hope i answer your question but if you need more information, feel free to ask or post in our forum

Added on March 8, 2012, 2:03 pm
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Mar 8 2012, 12:34 PM)
dwk2112,
<<If you email to them, imagine yourself as the HR suddenly open your inbox and it has hundreds of people emailing their resume.>>

+1

Do not e-mail resume to HR.  It is USELESS.  Plus, unless you are INTRODUCED to the Hiring Manager by someone, e-mailing resume to the hiring manager will not work either.

Dreamer
Yes, dreamer. Unless if someone refer to you, then emailing the resume is no harm as the person or HR expect it. Sorry that i din make it clear or i have misunderstood your original comment.

This post has been edited by dwk2112: Mar 8 2012, 02:07 PM
TScheekychee
post Mar 8 2012, 03:44 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(dwk2112 @ Mar 8 2012, 02:01 PM)
Priority services will do the following:

1. Push your application up. Meaning the employer will see your resume first
2. Highlight the resume to the employer
3. Email to inform the employer that this applicant is serious about the job as it is a paid services. There are a lot of spamming application and employer do not want to waste time and ended up that applicant are not serious about the job or the interview. Bear in mind, in Malaysia, we have a huge issue with jobseeker not showing up for a confirm interview (no show). And with priority services, it gives some form of reassurance for the employer

Hope i answer your question but if you need more information, feel free to ask or post in our forum

Added on March 8, 2012, 2:03 pm

Yes, dreamer. Unless if someone refer to you, then emailing the resume is no harm as the person or HR expect it. Sorry that i din make it clear or i have misunderstood your original comment.
okay, thanks!
stephy22
post Mar 8 2012, 05:58 PM

Hi Daryl,

Thanks alot for advice. biggrin.gif

Meantime, I would just like to comment on the 'Company Confidential' advertisement which is quite annoying at times.

Sometimes, the employer from "Company Confidential' will call us, and expect us to know which Company there are calling from.

When I started asking them from which Company they are calling from, they sounded unhappy because they think we are not prioritizing our application. blink.gif

Those Companies must understand also that we have applied many other jobs at the same time. shakehead.gif

And I realised, lately, there are more and more of these advertisement of Company Confidential. rclxub.gif

Any particular reason why these companies need to hide themselves?? hmm.gif

Last but not least, we have stated our expected salary, and expect those companies who invite us for interview, must somehow or rather can meet such demand...but when we attend the interview, they will tell us they can't meet such expectations or what not..

If we can be blacklisted from ffk-ing an interview, why can't these companies be penalised for simply inviting the candidates when they know they can't meet our expectations??? vmad.gif

Appreciate your kind and fair advice.. icon_question.gif

Cheers!!

bafukie
post Mar 8 2012, 11:49 PM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Mar 8 2012, 12:28 PM)
esaulk,

I have 11K+ post on lowyat.net.  Anyone that wants to know me can do a simple search.  Meanwhile, you are giving out advice IN FAVOR of the employer but dare not admit that you are from HR.

To be precise, you are the NEW KID ON THE BLOCK for lowyat.  You should introduce yourself before giving out advice.

<<By the way, every Company has its own standard when it comes to salary proposal.>>

And, they do not tell the applicant aka the salary range right out front.  Meanwhile, they EXPECT the applicant to fill in EXPECTED SALARY??  How can that be FAIR??

<< It is also obvious for me to see that you are giving out extreme opinions to Jobseekers and cannot seem to accept anything else except your own point of view.>>>

Extreme from you aka HR / Employer point of view.  In that case, it must be GOOD from employee aka applicant POV.

Dreamer
Enough la.... I don't expect such answer from u the 11k poster. Like that is going mean anything. U can move aside if u can't stand ppl criticism. Likewise, we can stand aside if we don't like ur critics too. whistling.gif
fastreader
post Mar 9 2012, 12:28 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(AZT @ Mar 2 2012, 05:29 PM)
pay money to the jobstreet using maybank2u acc...then apply the job..sure ur profile will be view by the big2 company..ur resume will b on top.. thumbup.gif

but..when u go for the interview session..its up to u to manipulate the interviewer to select u as their employee.. brows.gif
what service is tat?..
ace.princess
post Mar 9 2012, 12:58 AM

713 posts

QUOTE(stephy22 @ Mar 8 2012, 06:58 PM)
Sometimes, the employer from "Company Confidential' will call us, and expect us to know which Company there are calling from.

When I started asking them from which Company they are calling from, they sounded unhappy because they think we are not prioritizing our application.  blink.gif

Those Companies must understand also that we have applied many other jobs at the same time.  shakehead.gif

And I realised, lately, there are more and more of these advertisement of Company Confidential.  rclxub.gif
Agree. There was one time, this "Confidential" employer called up, expecting me to know who they are. They admitted that they did not advertise with their actual name. Appointment set, and I politely asked them to send me the Job Scope and Requirements as per the one advertised (just simple copy+paste will do, fast and easy), and they seem offended. I mean, how the heck am I supposed to know which "Company Confidential" advert is the right one??? I usually read the advert again to prepare myself before going for interview for better reference and understanding.

If we can be blacklisted from ffk-ing an interview, why can't these companies be penalised for simply inviting the candidates when they know they can't meet our expectations???  vmad.gif
[QUOTE]

Exactly!! I've met enough employers who are not prepared to pay my expected salary, even though I stated it CLEARLY. It's fine if they wanna nego down just a little lower, but most of them actually intend to push WAY DOWN from the amount stated. Got me so damn turned off.

This post has been edited by ace.princess: Mar 9 2012, 12:59 AM
dreamer101
post Mar 9 2012, 03:32 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Mar 8 2012, 11:49 PM)
Enough la.... I don't expect such answer from u the 11k poster. Like that is going mean anything. U can move aside if u can't stand ppl criticism. Likewise, we can stand aside if we don't like ur critics too.  whistling.gif
bafukie,

Do you or do you not have ANYTHING to contribute to this thread??

If not, WHY are you helping an HR person to offer BAD ADVICE to people so that employer can make lower offer??

What in it for you?? Are you another HR person??

Stop trolling...

WHY are you so BUSYBODY hurting people?? Aka, helping HR to make people earn less??

How many times that we had read on this forum that people filled in expected salary and then they find out that the company budgeted a lot more money for the job?? But, they got the lower offer because they got conned by the HR with the expected salary.

WHY should I be nice to people that make employee earn a lot less than their worth??

Which side are you on??

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Mar 9 2012, 03:52 AM
stephy22
post Mar 9 2012, 10:31 AM

[quote=dreamer101,Mar 9 2012, 03:32 AM]bafukie,

Do you or do you not have ANYTHING to contribute to this thread??

If not, WHY are you helping an HR person to offer BAD ADVICE to people so that employer can make lower offer??

What in it for you??  Are you another HR person??

Stop trolling...

WHY are you so BUSYBODY hurting people?? Aka, helping HR to make people earn less??

How many times that we had read on this forum that people filled in expected salary and then they find out that the company budgeted a lot more money for the job?? But, they got the lower offer because they got conned by the HR with the expected salary.

WHY should I be nice to people that make employee earn a lot less than their worth??

Which side are you on??

Dreamer

[/quote]

rclxms.gif

thumbup.gif

Added on March 9, 2012, 10:38 am[quote=ace.princess,Mar 9 2012, 12:58 AM]
Agree. There was one time, this "Confidential" employer called up, expecting me to know who they are. They admitted that they did not advertise with their actual name. Appointment set, and I politely asked them to send me the Job Scope and Requirements as per the one advertised (just simple copy+paste will do, fast and easy), and they seem offended. I mean, how the heck am I supposed to know which "Company Confidential" advert is the right one??? I usually read the advert again to prepare myself before going for interview for better reference and understanding.

Correct...that's what I normally do too...but please, sometimes, they just don't use their common sense... shakehead.gif

As if, we apply one and only job and wait for their calls.. doh.gif

[QUOTE]

Exactly!! I've met enough employers who are not prepared to pay my expected salary, even though I stated it CLEARLY. It's fine if they wanna nego down just a little lower, but most of them actually intend to push WAY DOWN from the amount stated. Got me so damn turned off.

[/quote]

vmad.gif Yes, TOTALLY..!!

Just faced another situation yesterday, sometimes, I just feel like telling them off..!!

I don't think they know it takes alot of time and preparation for us to prepare for an interview...

And with high hopes and what not, it feels like we kena tsunami only once they mention they couldn't come out with our expectations...and my case yesterday, they pushed 1K LOWER...!!!! vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif

This post has been edited by stephy22: Mar 9 2012, 10:38 AM
dreamer101
post Mar 9 2012, 11:00 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(stephy22 @ Mar 8 2012, 05:58 PM)
If we can be blacklisted from ffk-ing an interview, why can't these companies be penalised for simply inviting the candidates when they know they can't meet our expectations???  vmad.gif

stephy22,

Who say YOU cannot do that?? Except, do not do it PUBLICLY or you get hit with defamation suit.

We (senior people) check out the employer and the hiring manager through our social network before we even apply for the job. And, we BLACKLISTED certain employers.

It is a small world. In each industry, everyone know everyone. Once that the news is out, anyone that is good will not work for those kind of employers.

Everything goes both ways.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Mar 9 2012, 11:00 AM
stephy22
post Mar 9 2012, 11:08 AM

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Mar 9 2012, 11:00 AM)
stephy22,

Who say YOU cannot do that??  Except, do not do it PUBLICLY or you get hit with defamation suit.

We (senior people) check out the employer and the hiring manager through our social network before we even apply for the job.  And, we BLACKLISTED certain employers.

It is a small world.  In each industry, everyone know everyone.  Once that the news is out, anyone that is good will not work for those kind of employers.

Everything goes both ways.

Dreamer
Yeah, we only share it among ourselves, i.e. colleagues in the same line..so, sometimes we do share stories on which companies who practise this kind of act.. vmad.gif

Yup, it is a small world indeed. We may never know who we will bump into if we were to offend that person in the past...therefore, how unhappy we were when leaving a company, we must still leave in good hands... sweat.gif

Thanks for your advice..just at times, it can really frustrates us when we face this kind of situation. The recruiters / employers must always put themselves in our shoes (as if they will shakehead.gif )

I always tell my friends, what goes around, comes around.... nod.gif
dwk2112
post Mar 9 2012, 12:12 PM

519 posts

[quote=stephy22,Mar 8 2012, 05:58 PM]Hi Daryl,

Thanks alot for advice.  biggrin.gif

Meantime, I would just like to comment on the 'Company Confidential' advertisement which is quite annoying at times.

When I started asking them from which Company they are calling from, they sounded unhappy because they think we are not prioritizing our application.  blink.gif

Those Companies must understand also that we have applied many other jobs at the same time.  shakehead.gif

And I realised, lately, there are more and more of these advertisement of Company Confidential.  rclxub.gif

Any particular reason why these companies need to hide themselves??  hmm.gif

Last but not least, we have stated our expected salary, and expect those companies who invite us for interview, must somehow or rather can meet such demand...but when we attend the interview, they will tell us they can't meet such expectations or what not..

Appreciate your kind and fair advice..  icon_question.gif
Cheers!!

[/quote]

Believe me when i say we don't encourage company to advertise as Company Confidential. But there is some valid reason some company do that. For once, they do not want their competitor know that they are on a hiring mode. Some position are too sensitive to let the public know.usually CEO or President position.

However, when these company called up, you have all the right to ask for Company name and the detail of the job scope, etc etc. But there are many cases when the company put the name and when they called, the candidate ask...which company ar?? what position again?? Im sorry, i applied for many position and forgot which one already...Of course the employer not happy. Its like you taking up all the courage to call this girl that you like a lot and ended the girl respond was...which eric is this ar?? I know a lot of eric...kind of potong stim, right??? smile.gif

As for meeting expectation...yes, some companies are bad at this. Reason, miscommunication between the HR and the hiring manager on the salary for the position. Or they just want to squeeze you to work for lesser..etc etc....I do know that it feel like a waste of time. But i look at every interview as an opportunity to sharpen your skill. I have been working for more than 10 years and i still go for interview whenever someone invite me. I take it as a game to improve my skill to sell myself. And each time, i want to the power of choice back to my court. By the time, the job that i really really want, i can sell myself better. I know not everybody feel the same way. The next time, you encounter this, please do let us know either by writing to us or post it in our forum. We will inform the employer about this.

Added on March 9, 2012, 12:16 pm[quote=ace.princess,Mar 9 2012, 12:58 AM]

[QUOTE]

[/quote]

I'm sorry that you have this bad experience. But look at it this way. If they behave like this, would you want to work for them?? Going for interview, is not only allowing the employer to see whether you fit for the job but it is also for you to see whether you like the job, salary, culture, environment, etc etc....By them lowering down your salary beyond what you earning now...then it should tell you what kind of company this is and what kind of future you going to have with them if you deicide to work for them.

This post has been edited by dwk2112: Mar 9 2012, 12:19 PM
debbieyss
post Mar 9 2012, 01:36 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

dwk2112, I'm glad that someone from Jobstreet is sincerely sharing thoughts and experiences with us here. smile.gif
vyro12
post Mar 10 2012, 01:55 AM

hi all, just wanted to touch a little bit on both sides, as a jobseeker my belief is similiar to that of daryl's. an interview is always an opportunity...on the top of that u mite nvr know where you'll land yourself.let me tell u a true story which i myself experienced recently. i was in the job market and was kind of recomended by a friend to go for this interview as he thinks that i will fit very welk in that job, and so i went for the interview...then came the funny part, i was given a few options to join the company with few differnt roles that they think i would fit but not the job i was being interviewed for...so here's a classic example of you dont know where it mite lead you....another thing that happen was, that same company that i attended the interview called me up again. this time it was for ther subsidiary company. so u see one application, one interview, many doors can open...from here you can chart your career path and decide where you wanna go...
there's also a lot of arguement nowadays within the employers and hr people themselves if you log on to one of their forums on hiring people as there have been a good number of cases and rising rapidly on the attitude of some of the jobseekers...
i did read some comments above as there's a discussion on employers not being professional as well. i guess it happens as to put in plainly, not all employers are perfect as they're just humans rite, and not all jobseekers are perfect either. so there's always two sides to the situation, just be positive over stuff that happens ya smile.gif
another point i would like to touch on is on marketability...its very important to allow your resume to speak for you in an outstanding way. a good way to do it would be to provide a summary of yourself as an opening as some1 did mention that some HR has many2 resume's to look at. so in order for your application to stand out, you'll need some powerful words and description as your summary to knock the hr person off balance so your resume would get noticed. also you could use tools that are provided like 'priority applications' and such to help out stand out from the crowd if you're serious about nailing that particular job with that particular company.
i believe that jobstreet do organize resume clinics as well to help out jobseekers in getting their resume up to speed with the current market trend. normally is held at their career fair in mid valley. and one of the rule of thumb in job application is to tweak your resume to suit the requirements and responsibilities of the job advertised to stand a higher chance in your application. so if ur resume is just a resume that generally describes your experience then before you apply, look at the job advertisement and see how you can use ur experience in a similiar capacity, and change it to the nature of the job, then only submit your application. remember, its not one size fits all yea...good luck people in your job huntin
OMG!
post Mar 11 2012, 07:45 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

I am a little bit confused here, most companies advertised in Jobstreet do not include the commencement date for those who are shortlisted for the job. So what if those who are final year students, who could only start after their final exams? should they state their preferable commencement date in the resume or during the interview?

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:09 AM