142 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Raspberry Pi, Rm100 computer that beats iPhone4S

loonsave
post Oct 10 2012, 07:58 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Oct 10 2012, 12:08 AM)
It seems like not just xbian user is having problems. even raspbmc latest rc5 is like ... problem.
Not really sure what is the problem with RC5. I can't flash my SD card with the tool they provide. And now my SD card sort like bricked, able to detect but cannot format.
skywardsword
post Oct 10 2012, 08:19 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(loonsave @ Oct 10 2012, 07:58 PM)
Not really sure what is the problem with RC5. I can't flash my SD card with the tool they provide. And now my SD card sort like bricked, able to detect but cannot format.
damn scary.... just yesterday, I reinstalled xbian 0.8-0.81 X 3 times. Raspbmc RC5- I tried one time. but it got stuck in a loop updating... so I turn it off and re-did another xbian 0.8-0.81.
(you use the raspbmc tool to revert back?)

Now I have transmission running, with openssh, plus the xbmc. Interesting thing I noted, in the past for Raspbmc, even if my tv's hdmi isnt plug in, if I do reboot. I can still usually just plug in the pi's hdmi to tv and get it to work... like hot plugging.

But for xbian, if the hdmi is not connected... it will not push out the signal if I hot plug it. If it is connected and booted up, then disconnected. Then reconnecting would be fine though, minor thing.

And also, booting the xbian up = tv will power up by itself and to the correct input too... quite neat.

Downloaded one piece yibis 566 720p mkv. plays fine, no lag what so ever. (upload and download speed limit is out of wack... I put in 50 down and 8 up... it will shoot up to 60++ and 10 up...)

Added on October 10, 2012, 8:21 pm
QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Oct 10 2012, 03:29 PM)
element14 and rs-online still no stock. sad.gif
aiya, just place order lah. They are quite fast one lah. usually batch come like 1-2000+++ sell out in 3+ weeks.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Oct 10 2012, 08:21 PM
loonsave
post Oct 10 2012, 09:02 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Oct 10 2012, 08:19 PM)
damn scary.... just yesterday, I reinstalled xbian 0.8-0.81 X 3 times. Raspbmc RC5- I tried one time. but it got stuck in a loop updating... so I turn it off and re-did another xbian 0.8-0.81.
(you use the raspbmc tool to revert back?)

Now I have transmission running, with openssh, plus the xbmc. Interesting thing I noted, in the past for Raspbmc, even if my tv's hdmi isnt plug in, if I do reboot. I can still usually just plug in the pi's hdmi to tv and get it to work... like hot plugging.
But for xbian, if the hdmi is not connected... it will not push out the signal if I hot plug it. If it is connected and booted up, then disconnected. Then reconnecting would be fine though, minor thing.

And also, booting the xbian up = tv will power up by itself and to the correct input too... quite neat.

Downloaded one piece yibis 566 720p mkv. plays fine, no lag what so ever.  (upload and download speed limit is out of wack... I put in 50 down and 8 up... it will shoot up to 60++ and 10 up...)

Added on October 10, 2012, 8:21 pm
aiya, just place order lah.  They are quite fast one lah. usually batch come like 1-2000+++ sell out in 3+ weeks.
Yeah, I am looking for another card reader to try it out again. I can't restore the SD card now. Maybe I should try with ubuntu liveCD.

Better don't place order now, if UK stock up same time as SG, it will ship from SG instead of UK and it take longer time to arrive.

--------------------------------

Finally updated to RC5. But the libcec kinda broken with my viera. It don't have play/pause/stop button for me to choose. Any idea that I can map the button myself?

This post has been edited by loonsave: Oct 13 2012, 01:06 AM
7thsky
post Oct 15 2012, 11:35 AM

351 posts

Hi everyone,

Just update - element14 has The newly released 512mb pi version just in - i ordered this morning & they called me to confirm it'll b delivered in about a weeks' time. the enclosure is outta stock, will take 12weeks to come in if ordered bytheway.

Cheerio!
skywardsword
post Oct 15 2012, 11:51 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(7thsky @ Oct 15 2012, 11:35 AM)
Hi everyone,

Just update - element14 has The newly released 512mb pi version just in - i ordered this morning & they called me to confirm it'll b delivered in about a weeks' time. the enclosure is outta stock, will take 12weeks to come in if ordered bytheway.

Cheerio!
no shit!

7thsky
post Oct 15 2012, 12:04 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Oct 15 2012, 11:51 AM)
no shit!
Oh, and 512mb price iskept same as for 256mb (tho 256 ones r not in stock). Farnell community forum & pi org forum has some ongoing discussion as of how d price structure r more in line with 256mb. The uk/aust stock came in 2 days earlier; ours/singapore just updated tp 'avalable' stat this morning @11am. Wohoo, we'll c hows d update ram stack up when i receive mine!

Cheerio!
skywardsword
post Oct 15 2012, 12:14 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(7thsky @ Oct 15 2012, 12:04 PM)
Oh, and 512mb price iskept same as for 256mb (tho 256 ones r not in stock). Farnell community forum & pi org forum has some ongoing discussion as of how d price structure r more in line with 256mb.  The uk/aust stock came in 2 days earlier; ours/singapore just updated tp 'avalable' stat this morning @11am. Wohoo, we'll c hows d update ram stack up when i receive mine!

Cheerio!
Just completed my order. + rasp-pi with 512mb ++ other stuff.

Finally, waited to order my soldering iron, braid, solder wire, digital multimeter, got some led lamp that I will probably adapt into 12V touch light. (the led lamp was flickering, maybe the ac-dc driver fried or some smd spoiled, but I think they are 2V cree XPE leds, so at 1.5-2V series X4 = 8 V, I might just connect 8 together and get 15-16V and run it off 12V SLA battery(which is probably 14V....) no need for voltage regulator I think??? just that under volted the led will be less bright.

Edit: Lowyat forumer delivers! I check Raspberrypi website on average 2-3times a day. To think that someone else noticed the 512mb before me... haha.

Official announcement 512mb for all model B from now on.(even backordered ones)

http://www.raspberrypi.org/archives/2180#comments

Added on October 15, 2012, 5:45 pm
QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Oct 10 2012, 03:29 PM)
element14 and rs-online still no stock. sad.gif
btw did you order already and get the 256mb version... if yes... I apologize.

(if it was backordered and you ordered then, you probably would be safe and receive the 512mb first!)

Edit: Public service announcement - Ordering at element14

1. Free shipping for Malaysian orders - with no minimum purchase. *Under "Special Instructions" dropdown, select the option "Other" and type "Free Freight".
<I actually forgot about it in my previous RM$300plus order luckily it was over 150 so auto free shipping.

2. I forgot about the usb micro cable, so I went back to buy one... shipping is $20... but I tried the free frieght and see how it goes.

3. I am looking for a good usb 2.0 hub that provides 2-3amp power adapter... yet to find it. I will probably power this latest rasp-pi with my dell monitor's usb out.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Oct 15 2012, 09:52 PM
totally_skint
post Oct 15 2012, 10:51 PM

1,184 posts

Now if they only crank up the clock speed...
1GHz anyone? biggrin.gif
skywardsword
post Oct 15 2012, 11:05 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Oct 15 2012, 10:51 PM)
Now if they only crank up the clock speed...
1GHz anyone? biggrin.gif
Hmm someone overclocked to >1ghz, with overvolting. But also added passive heatsink mah.

I think with 800mhz even most stuff plays quite well. Probably with increase ram, video playing should be alot better since dont need to use swap file which slow stuff down?

CocoMonGo
Well guys last night I finally decided to overvolt my pi initially by using the preset turbo mode in the new kernal then overvolt to 8. I am now at 1.15GHz, 600mhz core & sdram clock. The reason I overvolt and overclock like mad was because the pi (running Xbian) had trouble keeping up with high bitrate movies smb streaming from my samba server - WiFi or cable. I deduced it was not my network problem since my laptops can stream all my movies without problem. With the new kernal and overvolt it now plays 95% of my movies without problem, except for some really high bit rate DTS 1080p movies.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Oct 15 2012, 11:07 PM
binjai
post Oct 16 2012, 02:29 PM

333 posts

hi guys... finally decided to order from element14... still got available units, but I think less than 300 units around...

casing will take a few months... really no problem wif dat...

28.70 ENCLOSURE, RASPBERRY PI, CLEAR
111.00 SBC, RASPBERRY PI, MODEL B, 512MB
9.92 LEAD, HDMI, HIGH SPEED, 2M
0.61 DIODE, HIGH SPEED, DO-35
total of rm150.23 hehe... didn't notice the 'free freight' but anyway rm20 waived on my order...

total noob in linux... hope will get some serious help here... tq guys...

cheers

skywardsword
post Oct 16 2012, 03:44 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(binjai @ Oct 16 2012, 02:29 PM)
hi guys... finally decided to order from element14... still got available units, but I think less than 300 units around...

casing will take a few months... really no problem wif dat...

28.70 ENCLOSURE, RASPBERRY PI, CLEAR
111.00 SBC, RASPBERRY PI, MODEL B, 512MB
9.92 LEAD, HDMI, HIGH SPEED, 2M
0.61 DIODE, HIGH SPEED, DO-35
total of rm150.23 hehe... didn't notice the 'free freight' but anyway rm20 waived on my order...

total noob in linux... hope will get some serious help here... tq guys...

cheers
download your distro first.

If you want to try out linux, Try raspbian, I have yet to try Arch, but if you like to customise and get fast boot times. Arch would be a natural progression.

http://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads

Keep a note file with list of commands you would find useful.

eg typing this in the console command line will let you change your password.
CODE

passwd

http://elinux.org/RPi_Guides

If you want to try out multimedia player/streaming, got three option.

Openelec
Xbian.org < will download a big 793++ mb file and install from 0.8 onward >
Raspbmc.com <a small installer and will download and install RC5 >

I have tried raspbian,xbian and raspbmc. each have their fair share of bugs.

Browse around those couple of forums and search in them if you have specific problem. If got general stuff, shoot a note here, if I know, i will just mention it.

arcalius_7
post Oct 16 2012, 04:45 PM

158 posts

Hi all,

just make an order from element14..the delivery fee waived so I only pay rm111. received a call from them said my pi will arrive tomorrow or thursday. so quick rclxms.gif
Freakyzoid
post Oct 16 2012, 11:19 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(arcalius_7 @ Oct 16 2012, 04:45 PM)
Hi all,

just make an order from element14..the delivery fee waived so I only pay rm111. received a call from them said my pi will arrive tomorrow or thursday. so quick rclxms.gif
Hi, I also order 2 pies from element14. They didn't call me but I see my order is complete in the order status.
Btw, how do u tell the fee is waived?
skywardsword
post Oct 16 2012, 11:33 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(Freakyzoid @ Oct 16 2012, 11:19 PM)
Hi, I also order 2 pies from element14. They didn't call me but I see my order is complete in the order status.
you will receive an invoice/acknowledgement if i am not wrong.

shipping = zero

For my usb cable order. says shipping waived for limited time only

for my 300++ order. the total on the acknowledgement does not tag on shipping.
arcalius_7
post Oct 17 2012, 09:42 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(Freakyzoid @ Oct 16 2012, 11:19 PM)
I followed the instructions given here. then during checkout it still add the standard delivery fee. I e-mailed element14 msia and they replied me its waived so just pay the board only. Few moments later their sales call me my pi will be arrive before thursday right after i made the payment. rclxm9.gif

Here's what i got in my last e-mail from e14. So you guys better hush up biggrin.gif

With Effect from 21st October 2011. Delivery charges will be imposed as follows
SG: Delivery charge of SGD$10/- for all the orders below S$70/-
MY: Delivery charges RM20/- for all the orders below RM150/-

skywardsword
post Oct 17 2012, 10:11 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(arcalius_7 @ Oct 17 2012, 09:42 AM)
I followed the instructions given here. then during checkout it still add the standard delivery fee. I e-mailed element14 msia and they replied me its waived so just pay the board only. Few moments later their sales call me my pi will be arrive before thursday right after i made the payment.  rclxm9.gif

Here's what i got in my last e-mail from e14. So you guys better hush up biggrin.gif

SG:  Delivery charge of  SGD$10/- for all the orders below S$70/-
I might have to buy more stuff. But I dont know what I need.

What is a simple cree XPE led light circuit running 4 led, on a 12 Volt SLA battery?
Freakyzoid
post Oct 17 2012, 10:36 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(arcalius_7 @ Oct 17 2012, 09:42 AM)
I followed the instructions given here. then during checkout it still add the standard delivery fee. I e-mailed element14 msia and they replied me its waived so just pay the board only. Few moments later their sales call me my pi will be arrive before thursday right after i made the payment.  rclxm9.gif

SG:  Delivery charge of  SGD$10/- for all the orders below S$70/-
Maybe I shud give them a call.
very excited, I just found out about r pi last week n now I gonna own 2.
skywardsword
post Oct 17 2012, 10:59 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(Freakyzoid @ Oct 17 2012, 10:36 AM)
Maybe I shud give them a call.
very excited, I just found out about r pi last week n now I gonna own 2.
wah, you serious! it may be cheap, but you just buy 2 like dat!

the stock of pi is out! < i am at element14 site asking question about what to do with my led downlights that started to flicker. >

Freakyzoid
post Oct 17 2012, 12:29 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Oct 17 2012, 10:59 AM)
wah, you serious! it may be cheap, but you just buy 2 like dat!

the stock of pi is out! < i am at element14 site asking question about what to do with my led downlights that started to flicker. >
That's fast. Place the order in Monday night, received in Wednesday noon.
binjai
post Oct 17 2012, 04:12 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Oct 16 2012, 03:44 PM)
download your distro first.
If you want to try out linux, Try raspbian, I have yet to try Arch, but if you like to customise and get fast boot times. Arch would be a natural progression.

http://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads

Keep a note file with list of commands you would find useful.

eg typing this in the console command line    will let you change your password.
CODE

passwd

http://elinux.org/RPi_Guides

If you want to try out multimedia player/streaming, got three option.

Openelec
Xbian.org   < will download a big 793++ mb file and install from 0.8 onward >
Raspbmc.com     <a small installer and will download and install RC5 >
I have tried raspbian,xbian and raspbmc. each have their fair share of bugs.

Browse around those couple of forums and search in them if you have specific problem. If got general stuff, shoot a note here, if I know, i will just mention it.
thanks for the heads up... will need to read up a bit hehe... and in the midst of d/l the distros...

cheers

Added on October 17, 2012, 4:17 pmim hunting for the 5v 1000mA power adaptor ler, any suggestion? maybe i shud scout around for my old h/p chargers, if i got a few i might be able to test 'em when i receive my raspi...

already read 'bout the UK adaptor, but that might be my last resort if cudn't find anything suitable + decent here...

cheers

This post has been edited by binjai: Oct 17 2012, 04:17 PM

142 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:36 PM