142 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Raspberry Pi, Rm100 computer that beats iPhone4S

CocoMonGo
post Sep 17 2012, 09:02 PM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 17 2012, 01:29 AM)
If nothing broken. Probably dont need to update.

I am not 100% familiar with raspbmc. While I dabble with debian wheezy/squeeze and then raspbian. I did do the firmware update via the command line.

Now, I think with raspbmc, it is suppose to update itself. The kernel??? I would not update unless instructed via the raspbmc website. I know that running sudo apt-get update/upgrade via the command line did break my first installation of raspbmc.

(Let us know if other Sifu knows otherwise.)

Note: I played one of my oldest 1080p file of Final Fantasy movie via network share smb on a win7pc. It lags  every 5-8seconds.

I noticed that, I have mainly just 720p files. 1080p files just takes too long to down and upload. So I have given up on those. 720p files mostly played fine. Some do give problems. I say about 8 out of 10 were fine.
Since I setup my network share, I was able to try out lots of different files.

IDx subtitle files dont work with xbmc.
I give the Pi a score of 7.9 out of 10, as a stream to output unit in the living room, it is cheap and relatively good. If your playing mainly 720p, you should encounter problem 1 in10. 1080p, probably a bit more problem, since streaming might lag things up more. Hardly possible to move a 10gb 1080p on the Pi.

200-500mb 1080p Music videos - those are very very good. Even tested networked shared 1080p of that size, seems to work... may just be the particular file and audio encoding.

I think the multi-subtitle, multi audio track files, will encounter more problems.***just a guess
I have not had much problem with 720 or 1080p so far... 1080p i dont have many files to try but so far so good. slowdowns occured in some videos today but no problem after restarting smooth throughout the whole 2 hours plus. the OC of the GPU really helped. but the chip is blurdy hot, I even put a "massive" heatsink from a old south bridge chip and it was hot. still waiting for the RAM heatsinks for the other power transistor and ethernet/usb controller.
skywardsword
post Sep 17 2012, 11:58 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Sep 17 2012, 09:02 PM)
I have not had much problem with 720 or 1080p so far... 1080p i dont have many files to try but so far so good. slowdowns occured in some videos today but no problem after restarting smooth throughout the whole 2 hours plus. the OC of the GPU really helped. but the chip is blurdy hot, I even put a "massive" heatsink from a old south bridge chip and it was hot. still waiting for the RAM heatsinks for the other power transistor and ethernet/usb controller.
Heatsink - i cut one up. But didnt put it on.

Installing flexget to get my anime episode downloaded automatically via nyaa's rss feed.

http://flexget.com/wiki/InstallWizard/Linu...ronment/FlexGet

lol failed at sudo pip install flexget

unable to located package flexget

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Sep 18 2012, 12:00 AM
LickGuy
post Sep 19 2012, 03:55 PM

Highly Flammable Material
1,520 posts

for those whom bought the case for raspberry ...
does it have battery slot?

last time i read from official site the board can be powered by 2x AA battery or something
loonsave
post Sep 19 2012, 06:25 PM

1,635 posts

Anyone experience the CEC not working sometimes after boot up? Mine sometimes not recognize the CEC after boot up and require restart.
skywardsword
post Sep 19 2012, 09:15 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(LickGuy @ Sep 19 2012, 03:55 PM)
for those whom bought the case for raspberry ...
does it have battery slot?

last time i read from official site the board can be powered by 2x AA battery or something
Dont think just any case would have it. Currently, the case available not from raspberrypi.org

It will need like 4 AA battery. since it requires 5v. 4X1.3V =5.2V

Normal alkaline battery starts at 1.5V per AA cell. ~ drops below 1.5 under heavy draw.
Ni-Mh rechargebles such as not specific to Eneloop is 1.2V ~ maintains at 1.2 V under heavy draw.

If you really want, can get these as suggested by Rpi verified peripherals ~ this is community driven.
http://elinux.org/RPi_VerifiedPeripherals#...lated_output.29

"External Battery packs (with 5V regulated output)
Anker Astro3
Anker Astro3 10000mAh with Dual 2A USB Output
Duracell
PPS2 Instant USB Charger
Energizer/XPAL
XP18000 18000mAh Power Pack
Generic - eBay no brand
6000T Pocket Power 5000mAh - eBay item 271009959140
Power Bank for iPad/iPhone 5000mAh (looks the same as a New Trent IMP50D or TeckNet iEP380) - eBay item 280914455938
New Trent
iCurve IMP70D 7000mAh (Approx 12hrs from full charge)
IMP120D 12000mAh
Sinoele
Movpower - Power Bank 5200mAh (8hrs with Wifi active)
TeckNet
iEP387 Dual-Port 7000mAh External Power Bank (The charging lead can be used to connect the Tecknet to the RPi. Ran the RPi with wifi dongle and wireless keyboard receiver for over 9 hours of light use.)
iEP392 Dual-Port 12000mAh External Power Bank (1A port, ~16.5 hours)
Rayovac PS60 5v 800mAh
VINZO
Power Bank 5000mAh Grey Output 5V 1000mA"

Added on September 19, 2012, 9:18 pm
QUOTE(loonsave @ Sep 19 2012, 06:25 PM)
Anyone experience the CEC not working sometimes after boot up? Mine sometimes not recognize the CEC after boot up and require restart.
Raspbmc development say CEC is currently broken... dont know the details other then some buttons not working as intended.

I restarted my Raspbmc couple of time. No problem so far. Sony TV remote works each time.

My keyboard on the otherhand..... started to have problem after CEC was enabled. Keyboard would become undetected... requiring me to replug it.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Sep 19 2012, 09:18 PM
loonsave
post Sep 19 2012, 09:54 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 19 2012, 09:15 PM)

Raspbmc development say CEC is currently broken... dont know the details other then some buttons not working as intended.

I restarted my Raspbmc couple of time. No problem so far. Sony TV remote works each time.

My keyboard on the otherhand..... started to have problem after CEC was enabled. Keyboard would become undetected... requiring me to replug it.
For a quick solution, I just turn off the tv and on again. tongue.gif
And I can't add my workgroup folder in music while I can do it at video.
buyoq
post Sep 20 2012, 03:06 PM

hat ni sebulan...........
1,305 posts

Raspbian Wheezy latest updates released
You can now play with the overclock presets via raspi-config

Update command :

CODE
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install raspberrypi* raspi-config

This post has been edited by buyoq: Sep 20 2012, 03:08 PM
skywardsword
post Sep 20 2012, 11:26 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(buyoq @ Sep 20 2012, 03:06 PM)
Raspbian Wheezy latest updates released
You can now play with the overclock presets via raspi-config

Update command :

CODE
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install raspberrypi* raspi-config

according to raspbmc developer. RC 5 of raspbmc will be out soon( probably less then 1week)

For me, i will have to take some time to migrate my torrent over as it will be a complete reinstall.

http://forum.stmlabs.com/showthread.php?tid=2868
tanseehua
post Sep 21 2012, 02:17 AM

519 posts

RPi is run out of stock again on Element14, aiyo wanna get another need to wait again.............hehe
skywardsword
post Sep 21 2012, 09:44 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(tanseehua @ Sep 21 2012, 02:17 AM)
RPi is run out of stock again on Element14, aiyo wanna get another need to wait again.............hehe
Dont worry lah... should be very fast replenish.

Some Code stolen from Raspbmc by Xbian--- http://www.raspbmc.com/
Story on main page.

Added on September 21, 2012, 12:06 pmAnyhow knows if I can use this.

http://www.amazon.com/Anker%C2%AE-10000mAh...4/ref=de_a_smtd

Plugged into Pi and at the same time have it charged. Much like a plugged in laptop, battery is kept top up. Then when the socket power gets tripped or loses tnb power, the battery will continue taking over like a Un-interrupted power supply?(UPS)

Add a 15inch monitor and half a laptop would result. Then it will have cost like $800RM+

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Sep 21 2012, 12:08 PM
loonsave
post Sep 21 2012, 11:00 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 21 2012, 09:44 AM)
Dont worry lah... should be very fast replenish.
Some Code stolen from Raspbmc by Xbian--- http://www.raspbmc.com/
Story on main page.

Added on September 21, 2012, 12:06 pmAnyhow knows if I can use this.

http://www.amazon.com/Anker%C2%AE-10000mAh...4/ref=de_a_smtd

Plugged into Pi and at the same time have it charged. Much like a plugged in laptop, battery is kept top up. Then when the socket power gets tripped or loses tnb power, the battery will continue taking over like a Un-interrupted power supply?(UPS)
Add a 15inch monitor and half a laptop would result. Then it will have cost like $800RM+
Mind to enlight why you need an external battery act as UPS?
skywardsword
post Sep 21 2012, 11:14 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(loonsave @ Sep 21 2012, 11:00 PM)
Mind to enlight why you need an external battery act as UPS?
I keep the pi on 24X7X365. So having a battery would be nice during those power outage.

Plus lose power also can watch some videos mah.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Sep 21 2012, 11:34 PM
totally_skint
post Sep 22 2012, 01:54 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 21 2012, 09:44 AM)
How to connect 15" monitor?
RasPi got no VGA output. 15" monitor got no HDMI
Why build a half laptop? A full 2nd hand laptop would be cheaper.

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 21 2012, 11:14 PM)
I keep the pi on 24X7X365. So having a battery would be nice during those power outage.
I don't think anyone anywhere can yet claim 24x7x365 yet. biggrin.gif

loonsave
post Sep 22 2012, 09:42 AM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Sep 22 2012, 01:54 AM)
How to connect 15" monitor?
RasPi got no VGA output. 15" monitor got no HDMI
Why build a half laptop? A full 2nd hand laptop would be cheaper.
I don't think anyone anywhere can yet claim 24x7x365 yet. biggrin.gif
Haha, maybe 99.9% uptime.
stan001
post Sep 22 2012, 10:48 AM

623 posts

Finally got my Pi & case.. ordered on Tue from E14, Pi arrived on Thu, case arrived on Fri..

This post has been edited by stan001: Sep 22 2012, 10:49 AM
loonsave
post Sep 22 2012, 12:01 PM

1,635 posts

The powered usb hub is useless. It only able to power up the Pi, but seems not enough juice to power up the network. sad.gif

Added on September 22, 2012, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(stan001 @ Sep 22 2012, 10:48 AM)
Finally got my Pi & case.. ordered on Tue from E14, Pi arrived on Thu, case arrived on Fri..

I think I will DIY the casing since I want to add heat sink for it.

This post has been edited by loonsave: Sep 22 2012, 12:01 PM
CocoMonGo
post Sep 23 2012, 09:29 PM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

Well guys, after a whole week of testing I finally decided to used Xbian vs Raspbmc. These are my opinion and your mileage may very depending on setup and hardware.
I personally find that Xbian is a better XBMC distro than raspbmc as I find it more responsive. Even when overclocked to Xbian speeds, raspbmc is more sluggish and unresponsive when compared to Xbian. It might be a power issue as when I plug in extra power the issue is gone, HOWEVER, with Xbian this issue is not present with the lower power supply (currently running on a 1A adaptor).
I find Xbian to be easier to install too (writing a complete image into the SD card) rather then installing from the pi over the internet with raspbmc. and after installation, i notice in the raspbmc setup there is an allocation of 0.1GB space, which while does not do anything, doesnt look as neat.
I am currently using the pi with a Rapoo wireless keyboard and a USB wifi dongle with a Realtek RTL8188CE chip. while raspbmc gets working with the Realtek out of the box, I personally do not find it a big deal to install and setup the dongle through Xbian.
In conclusion:
Xbian - more responsive, lower power consumption(?), easier to install, cleaner install

This post has been edited by CocoMonGo: Sep 23 2012, 09:32 PM
jinaun
post Sep 23 2012, 10:31 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 21 2012, 11:14 PM)

Plus lose power also can watch some videos mah.
but if lose power ur tv oso got no power... how to watch.. unless u hook your tv to a UPS
stan001
post Sep 25 2012, 08:21 PM

623 posts

I keeps getting this error when running perl or other bins...

Any idea on how to fix this ?

CODE
perl: warning: Setting locale failed.
perl: warning: Please check that your locale settings:
LANGUAGE = (unset),
LC_ALL = (unset),
LC_CTYPE = "UTF-8",
LANG = "en_US.UTF-8"
   are supported and installed on your system.
perl: warning: Falling back to the standard locale ("C").

This post has been edited by stan001: Sep 25 2012, 08:22 PM
viruz019
post Sep 25 2012, 08:28 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

Any idea where to get one of this?

and what OS is it capable of running? O.O

142 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled