post Feb 25 2013, 11:41 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

IP conflict?
decypher
post Feb 25 2013, 01:29 PM

低头族
864 posts

IP no conflict... only about 5 connected devices (incl RPi) at that point of time.
munk3y
post Feb 25 2013, 02:39 PM

343 posts

Hey guys, ive heard of rasberry Pi before, but i just dont get what is it for. sorry, not really an expert when it comes to this kinda stuff.

Ive tried googling it, still dont have a clear idea of what it is capable of, and what ppl are using it for.

I would very much appreciate if anyone could help me out with this.

Thank you in advance.
decypher
post Feb 25 2013, 02:57 PM

低头族
864 posts

Hi munk3y

The Pi is a Linux box. Don't let the minimalist design fool you. It has the basic things in a box you need for a computer. Just attach a USB keyboard/mouse, power it up and you are good to go!
C-Fu
post Feb 25 2013, 03:17 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

QUOTE(munk3y @ Feb 25 2013, 02:39 PM)
Hey guys, ive heard of rasberry Pi before, but i just dont get what is it for. sorry, not really an expert when it comes to this kinda stuff.

Ive tried googling it, still dont have a clear idea of what it is capable of, and what ppl are using it for.

I would very much appreciate if anyone could help me out with this.

Thank you in advance.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2597262
eric_tan
post Feb 25 2013, 10:07 PM

264 posts

Did you know if you have a CEC-HDMI enabled TV, you could use your TV remote to control your XBMC?

I just found out and it works flawlessly on with my TV remote...
urra901109
post Feb 27 2013, 02:50 AM

45 posts

guys, can you confirm that we can no longer buy raspberry pi from element 14 sdn bhd? when i try to order one today, they give me links to other site. one being thundermatch. they sell it for rm160. a bit expensive, especially when you already bought one for RM110 before. i owned one but recently think it is not enough. want to make new project. smile.gif
CocoMonGo
post Feb 27 2013, 08:01 AM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Feb 25 2013, 10:07 PM)
Did you know if you have a CEC-HDMI enabled TV, you could use your TV remote to control your XBMC?

I just found out and it works flawlessly on with my TV remote...
since XBMC 11. But if you dont hav a CEC remote you can also download remotes for your android device and control through your home network. try yatse, i like it very much
C-Fu
post Feb 27 2013, 08:55 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Feb 27 2013, 08:01 AM)
since XBMC 11. But if you dont hav a CEC remote you can also download remotes for your android device and control through your home network. try yatse, i like it very much
yeah I actually prefer yatse than the tv remote man. so convenient, especially the homescreen and notification widget
eric_tan
post Feb 27 2013, 10:49 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(urra901109 @ Feb 27 2013, 02:50 AM)
guys, can you confirm that we can no longer buy raspberry pi from element 14 sdn bhd? when i try to order one today, they give me links to other site. one being thundermatch. they sell it for rm160. a bit expensive, especially when you already bought one for RM110 before. i owned one but recently think it is not enough. want to make new project. smile.gif
RM111 + RM29 (Casing) = RM140 also about the same as the shop already.

You can only buy from them directly if you have an account with them.
stan001
post Feb 28 2013, 12:38 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(decypher @ Feb 24 2013, 10:45 PM)
Guys, I just got mine but I am not able to get it online.

I plugged in the Ethernet cable, but there is no indication of Raspbian being online. Tried accessing www.google.com using Midori but it doesn't work.

I used the Internet cable and slot previously used for my current HyppTV setup (the Ethernet cable used to connect the wireless router to the HyppTV box). HyppTV works fine, even now. I tried changing cables and slots... doesn't work as well.

Please help... if it cannot go online then I can't download any applications.
First thing to check is the USB power supply/USB hub... when not enough power, it causes other issues...

Check yr ip address, ifconfig, look at eth0 , what is the ip addr ...

In command line, type tail -f /var/log/messages

Look for eth0 and other errors like below...
CODE

kernel: [44813.532421] smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0: eth0: Failed to read register index 0x00000114
kernel: [44818.532491] smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0: eth0: Failed to write register index 0x00000114
kernel: [44823.532560] smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0: eth0: Failed to read register index 0x00000114

I face this strange problem, when I plug in my USB mouse, the eth0 get a lot of errors and when I plug out, everything works fine... I suspect it could be power supply issues but even using 2A iPod USB power supply still same issue...

Now running command line mode with HDMI to DVI converter to LCD monitor...

eric_tan
post Feb 28 2013, 12:47 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Feb 28 2013, 12:38 PM)
First thing to check is the USB power supply/USB hub... when not enough power, it causes other issues...

Check yr ip address, ifconfig, look at eth0 , what is the ip addr ...

In command line, type tail -f /var/log/messages

Look for eth0 and other errors like below...
CODE

kernel: [44813.532421] smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0: eth0: Failed to read register index 0x00000114
kernel: [44818.532491] smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0: eth0: Failed to write register index 0x00000114
kernel: [44823.532560] smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0: eth0: Failed to read register index 0x00000114

I face this strange problem, when I plug in my USB mouse, the eth0 get a lot of errors and when I plug out, everything works fine... I suspect it could be power supply issues but even using 2A iPod USB power supply still same issue...

Now running command line mode with HDMI to DVI converter to LCD monitor...
Yes, the max current output from the Pi is limited. By removing unused devices, you may free up enough current for the devices who need it.

I bought a Belkin 4port Powered hub, which solved most of the problem.

Also remember to use a quality (branded) USB Power supply. From the forum, most problems are also solved when you swap your RM10 charger with a REAL Apple/Samsung/branded charger....

C-Fu
post Feb 28 2013, 12:49 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

apple charger gives out 4.6v only, not 5v.
binjai
post Feb 28 2013, 12:50 PM

333 posts

no need connect monitor, just use putty to remote control... ez...
eric_tan
post Feb 28 2013, 01:05 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Feb 28 2013, 12:49 PM)
apple charger gives out 4.6v only, not 5v.
This link (http://www.righto.com/2012/10/a-dozen-usb-...b-apple-is.html) has a review on all the branded charges that are provided with your phone/tablets. Most original charges will works fine....

I am using my HTC 5V1A and it works fine, even without a powered hub. I have a Asus N10 Wifi and Logitech Wireless for KB/Mouse dongle connected.

But I did notice the Wireless dongle can get really hot after long usage....

This post has been edited by eric_tan: Feb 28 2013, 01:06 PM
decypher
post Mar 1 2013, 09:08 AM

低头族
864 posts

Thanks friends! It's back up online. I have no idea why, I think it's the problem with my router.
cha.968
post Mar 1 2013, 04:49 PM

117 posts

It’s the first anniversary of the Pi’s launch day.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Happy Birthday Raspberry Pi Foundation!
wish.gif

(Note: Raspberry Pi launched on a leap day last year, 29 Feb, 2012) - http://www.raspberrypi.org
MaGNiFiCo
post Mar 2 2013, 10:33 AM

weeeeeeeeeeeee
1,604 posts

is raspi gonna release a new version soon? or is there any slightly hint that they gonna do so?

thinkin wanna get another unit hmm.gif
jinaun
post Mar 2 2013, 11:33 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

i saw online, i think on element14, thundermatch is a distro for pi, wondering whether i can just walk into lyp and get one?
C-Fu
post Mar 2 2013, 11:43 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Mar 2 2013, 11:33 AM)
i saw online, i think on element14, thundermatch is a distro for pi, wondering whether i can just walk into lyp and get one?
no. traditionally thundermatch is a bit bodoh, they wouldn't understand what you're asking.

142 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0388sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:47 PM