This post has been edited by gwack: Feb 5 2013, 09:55 AM

yu_wang
post Feb 5 2013, 01:08 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Feb 4 2013, 10:08 PM)
Power surge on the 5V USB power... are you sure ??

This is not 220V mains...

Unless u r using the 1st revision....

As of Model B Revision 1.0 + ECN0001 onwards, the polyfused WAS removed ...

http://www.raspberrypi.org/archives/tag/polyfuses
USB Output Power

The resetable fuses protecting the USB outputs have been removed. This feature was implemented on some later revision 1.0 PCBs by replacing the fuses with links; revision 2.0 permanently implements this modification. It is now possible to reliably power the RPI from a USB hub that back feeds power, but it is important that the chosen hub cannot supply more than 2.5A under fault conditions

So the USB power adapter you choose is important too....
The USB hub power still came from mains, so a lightning strike could potentially affect everything, but yeah that's not really a huge factor. The fuse is meant for simple over-current protection e.g. accidental short-circuits when tinkering with GPIO. I'd rather have that one blown instead of something in my USB hub.

The polyfuses you quoted refer to the USB output ports and were rated at ~100mA. There's still one more at the power input port rated at 1.1A, labeled "F3" at the back of the board and in the official schematics (first page).

This post has been edited by yu_wang: Feb 5 2013, 01:08 PM
feiming
post Feb 5 2013, 01:40 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Jan 31 2013, 05:50 PM)
If not wrong Thundermatch do sell them.  hmm.gif
The last i went searching at thudermatch,none of their staff know what i'm talking about.
DeepMemory
post Feb 5 2013, 01:57 PM

1,805 posts

QUOTE(feiming @ Feb 5 2013, 01:40 PM)
The last i went searching at thudermatch,none of their staff know what i'm talking about.
Never really visited them as I don't really like them lol Only saw the the Pi available on sale on their website.
stan001
post Feb 6 2013, 02:59 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(yu_wang @ Feb 5 2013, 01:08 PM)

The polyfuses you quoted refer to the USB output ports and were rated at ~100mA. There's still one more at the power input port rated at 1.1A, labeled "F3" at the back of the board and in the official schematics (first page).
Thanks for the clarifications about the input polyfuse...

haturaya
post Feb 8 2013, 04:15 PM

2,553 posts

My Pi have been running 24 x 7 for the past 2 months. Zero reboot. Really stable. Primarily using it as media server. Some light browsing and email checking as well.

Hook up to my LCD TV.
totally_skint
post Feb 8 2013, 08:10 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Feb 8 2013, 04:15 PM)
My Pi have been running 24 x 7 for the past 2 months. Zero reboot. Really stable. Primarily using it as media server. Some light browsing and email checking as well.

Hook up to my LCD TV.
What are you running?
stan001
post Feb 9 2013, 12:08 AM

623 posts

My RPi with USB Wifi, Bluetooth module as serial console and Nordic Wireless module nRF24L01 with external antenna via SPI connecting wireless to Arduino wireless nodes...

Running Adafruit Occidentalis V0.2 http://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-raspber...ntalis-v0-dot-2

Photo 08-02-2013 09 42 17 PM by stanley_seow, on Flickr

Arduino Wireless remote node :-
IMG_1083 by stanley_seow, on Flickr
edex
post Feb 12 2013, 10:43 AM

203 posts

Free Minecraft now available for pi. http://pi.minecraft.net/
Axalter
post Feb 12 2013, 02:57 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(feiming @ Feb 5 2013, 01:40 PM)
You probably should not expect any joe you see on the street to know what a RPi is even if they did sold them. Let's not joke ourselves, platform like the RPi are designed and built for the niche open-source homebrew developers, tinkerers and hackers not your general consumer.
momusu
post Feb 12 2013, 06:10 PM

~morning musume fanboy~
812 posts

any other places yang jual the thing?

dalam malaysia la.
entinggi
post Feb 12 2013, 06:17 PM

326 posts

here

http://malaysia.rs-online.com/web/p/products/7568308/?
zaidi
post Feb 14 2013, 10:52 PM

1,738 posts

Stripped down Pi A
http://www.raspberrypi.org/archives/3215

Slimmer casing should be coming soon ...
MaGNiFiCo
post Feb 15 2013, 06:48 PM

weeeeeeeeeeeee
1,604 posts

one thing to ask. i would like to setup rpi as a torrent box. so im going to switch it on 24hr. is there any known problem on heat issue? need extra cooling? hmm.gif

edex
post Feb 15 2013, 07:46 PM

203 posts

Should be no problem. Mine running transmission 24/7
skywardsword
post Feb 15 2013, 09:20 PM

680 posts

btw if you guys are going to update from rc5 raspbmc to final raspbmc...

be warned. Subtitles dont work on a lot of my files. And it causes problems when i fast forward skip. Patch is coming up but I dont think its up yet.

I did not figure out how to downgrade... so it is kind of problematic over the vacation and I ask my cousins over to watch hunterXhunter with no subs...sad.gif
totally_skint
post Feb 16 2013, 11:34 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Feb 15 2013, 09:20 PM)
I did not figure out how to downgrade... so it is kind of problematic over the vacation and I ask my cousins over to watch hunterXhunter with no subs...sad.gif
So, do your own live dubbing with different voices for your cousin's benefit and entertainment. tongue.gif
skywardsword
post Feb 16 2013, 12:19 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Feb 16 2013, 11:34 AM)
So, do your own live dubbing with different voices for your cousin's benefit and entertainment. tongue.gif
I had to cook and serve other guest also lah...you really thunk I have Kage Bunshi no jutsu? kakakaka
eric_tan
post Feb 16 2013, 04:58 PM

264 posts

Finally received mine.... don't even know what should I do with mine....

What do you guys user you Pi for?
momusu
post Feb 16 2013, 06:18 PM

~morning musume fanboy~
812 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Feb 16 2013, 04:58 PM)
Finally received mine.... don't even know what should I do with mine....

What do you guys user you Pi for?
where did u get yours?
how much?

thinking to go to thundermatch at the mines, see if they got any.

142 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:15 AM