Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

TSalexwsk
post Sep 25 2012, 01:11 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 25 2012, 12:51 PM)
Bro, it is not advisable to go with installement plan if you don't have any savings on hand. And if you go and purchase an item with installment plan when you don't have the money on hand, it simply means you are living beyond your means or as I put it, Pay Now Earn Later (i.e. you are in debt).

Just to add on, even if you have the cash in hand, you still need to make sure you will be discipline enough to keep the cash and pay the cc bill in full when it comes
TSalexwsk
post Sep 27 2012, 10:47 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(nightwalkertzs @ Sep 27 2012, 08:59 PM)
Thanks. SO untill now, if mainly purpose for petrol...is UOB is the best choices?
if u only pump once a week and can time it to weekend, then i would say Maybankard2 Amex
and do read the article by genx, surely u can decide after reading it doh.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Sep 27 2012, 10:47 PM
TSalexwsk
post Oct 5 2012, 08:11 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(rickkywong @ Oct 5 2012, 04:06 PM)
Another new credit card for Air Asia frequent flyer to be share.....
For more details, log in to http://www.citibank.com.my/english/credit-..._AirAsia_021012

er, why is the gold card white in color rolleyes.gif
TSalexwsk
post Oct 25 2012, 04:00 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(Devil4life @ Oct 25 2012, 03:32 PM)
First thing first, I have no issue paying extra upfront. My telco maxis bill also paid up early upfront using the recent OCBC rebate.

I signed up the autobilling at TM directly

The reason I have signed up for autodebit : To have RM2 off from autobilling rebate
The reason I have paid up using Amex : For the additional 5x points, 5% is covered by OCBC as well

Call me kiasu or whatever, I was thinking to pay up using Amex before OCBC transaction go through so i maximise both the autobilling rebate and Amex 5x points.

Maxis is efficient in that sense, the autodebit only pays whatever remains (as long i pay upfront before autobilling kicks in). If there's none, then it would not pay. Unlike TM.

Added on October 25, 2012, 3:36 pm

What I always do:
1. Call up the CS say I want to cancel the card (they'll talk you through about keeping your card by giving some benefits etc)
2. Stand firm in cancel the card, CS will say ok.
3. Make sure to get the CS name
4. Fax/email them a copy of your cut CC (I normally didn't cut as I want to keep as remembrance, so i photostate the card and cut the paper instead)
5. Call and follow up to make sure it's cancelled.
normally i received sms from TM-Unifi to notify me the payment has been made from M2U or scb online after roughly 3-5 working days
hope that helps
TSalexwsk
post Nov 15 2012, 01:02 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Nov 15 2012, 12:34 PM)
may i know that the RM50 government tax is charge as soon as you active your card thru phone call?

my friend activated her card but didnt use it till now, hsbc charge her for late payment for the government tax of extra rm10 each month..
some will charge it immediately even without you activating it
by rights your friend should received the monthly statements sent by HSBC
TSalexwsk
post Nov 15 2012, 10:32 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Nov 15 2012, 01:39 PM)
no it didnt.. sweat.gif cause that is second card (amanah) offered by hsbc..where she already holding conventional one. if we plan to cancel it will she have to pay the rm60?
u can request to waive the RM10 but i don't thk hsbc will waive the RM50 as your friend activated the card
TSalexwsk
post Dec 8 2012, 09:46 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ Dec 8 2012, 01:38 PM)
hi guys, want to get advice about cc

i want to apply for maybank cc, not platinum, just normal 1.
but dont know want to apply which card, can recommend me?
- want use cc for online payment like apps store and filling petrol only.
- not very frequent shopping and normally less than rm200.

visa or mastercard prefered? thinking about petronas maybank visa, izit good enough for me?
working at private and my friend recommend me to get cc just for financial record since i just working.
go for maybankard 2 AMEX + Master
else if u prefer to pump petronas, your choice is obvious
TSalexwsk
post Dec 20 2012, 08:29 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 20 2012, 09:19 AM)
Please remove SCB cards from all the categories. SCB cards are useless until further adjustment from SCB.
done, long time no see, winner

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Dec 20 2012, 08:53 PM
TSalexwsk
post Dec 21 2012, 06:59 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 21 2012, 08:58 AM)
This thread has been quite boring recently. Most people ask about how to get a CC, CL increase, BT, etc. Also there is no more CC war, most new products are not attractive. That's why I seldom appeared here.

By the way, I am thinking of how to fully maximise the RM600 cash back from JustOne Titanium by end of this year. I can then say goodbye to this card before the annual date next year.
wow, say goodbye to it?
still got RM600 per year leh

Added on December 21, 2012, 7:21 pmduh, got the answer from scb thread, time for me to get OCBC Tit

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Dec 21 2012, 07:21 PM
TSalexwsk
post Dec 22 2012, 07:28 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 22 2012, 07:56 AM)
Even though SCB indicated that the removal of cash back and points will be temporary, SCB may not restore the 5% cash back feature for JustOne Titanium. I shall wait until my card annual date coming May 2013. What works best is if I can fully maximise the RM600 cash back cap by end of this year.
fully agreed, will not hesitate to cancel mine b4 next GST due too
TSalexwsk
post Dec 31 2012, 11:43 AM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Dec 31 2012, 12:55 AM)
** End of 2012 / New Year Greetings **

It's that time of the year again for me to write that New Year Greetings

Happy New Year Folks !
nicely done rclxms.gif
thanks hye and other mods for the effort in looking after this section

Happy New Year everyone and hopefully some great cc rises in the near future
then this thread will be exciting once more laugh.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Dec 31 2012, 11:44 AM
TSalexwsk
post Jan 19 2013, 10:02 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Jan 19 2013, 09:16 PM)
Even for this situation also need to pay it? I tot bank will wavier for housing loan approval for a year.

Any idea that where can spend for this card with benefits?

But I seldom see this card got promotion.
yes, you will need to pay, as you have sign on the cc application form
i'm having a housing loan with pbb as well and i refused to sign on the cc application form
TSalexwsk
post Jan 20 2013, 01:12 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Jan 19 2013, 11:59 PM)
oh i see, thanks for your sharing

Between, this card can cancel right if seldom use after a year ? but still having the loan with them
if you have not use it at all, try calling their CS and ask whether you can cancel right away with the GST waived
explain nicely to them that their housing loan agent asked you to apply for it together with your housing loan

if they are not willing to waive, then just keep and use it, cancel it anytime before your annivesary
TSalexwsk
post Feb 7 2013, 11:54 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Feb 7 2013, 03:48 PM)
RM0.00 StanChart: JustOne Credit Card 5% CashBack on retail transactions offer to be discontinued effective 1/3/13. Pls refer to our mailer & website for info
winner
actually is it jan 3rd or 1st mac? as i hv not received any 5% since jan 3rd
how bout urs?
TSalexwsk
post Feb 8 2013, 12:05 AM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 7 2013, 06:47 PM)
So the speculation is proven right.
Human Nature
did u try it? My transaction on and after 4th Jan did not get any cashback at all
so i'm wondering whether 1/3/2013 actually meant 3rd Jan 2013. Oledi email to chk, will update back
TSalexwsk
post Feb 8 2013, 01:03 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Feb 8 2013, 09:49 AM)
This link says 1st March. Why I never receive the cash back?

http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...n/en/index.html
laugh.gif, received a printed letter on the above just now
time to write complaint thru online banking brows.gif

UPDATED:
before everyone starts calling, according to CS, Jan cash back will be credited by 28 Feb and Feb cash back will be credited by 31 Mac
winnersimplesmile

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Feb 8 2013, 01:41 PM
TSalexwsk
post Feb 8 2013, 10:05 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Feb 8 2013, 03:18 PM)
Thanks for the update.
So... my plan is intact. Spend all my remaining rebates available by 28.02.2013.
This means excluding today, there are only 2 more Fridays in this month.  hmm.gif
bingo, after that keep the card until b4 GST month to see if there is any updates on the rewards program
TSalexwsk
post Feb 9 2013, 02:21 PM

4,092 posts

Happy Chinese New Year to all celebrating and happy holidays to all forumer

恭喜发财、万事如意
TSalexwsk
post Mar 3 2013, 11:46 AM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(a-ei-a @ Mar 3 2013, 12:12 AM)
Thanks David83. Assume is 18% per year, the interest rate would be Amount withdrew x 18/365 X number of days from the day of withdrawal right?
not to mentioned all your current outstanding balance and future uses will be charged interest as well

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 3 2013, 11:47 AM
TSalexwsk
post Mar 5 2013, 12:30 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(subaiku @ Mar 5 2013, 12:25 PM)
Hey, thanks for the advice fly126, Gen-X... hey but if I get the Maybank 2 Cards, doesn't that mean I also have to pay double government tax?  sad.gif
no, only RM50 in total for 2 cards
check out the individual thread for M2 cards

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0512sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:10 PM