124 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Mechanical Keyboard Club V5, For Gamers and Typist Enthusiasts

kaysa
post Mar 22 2012, 06:34 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(stille nacht @ Mar 22 2012, 06:13 PM)
anyone know CM Storm trigger?

http://www.cmstorm.com/en/products/keyboards/Trigger/

It looks nice biggrin.gif
fail to mention the materiel of keycaps, abs probably? since its backlignt.

keys roll over, no ps/2 connector.......

Non-slip rubber coating? how lasting is this? and what happen when it come off?

BWU 2?

Price?
SUSHuman10
post Mar 22 2012, 06:48 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(kaysa @ Mar 22 2012, 06:34 PM)
fail to mention the materiel of keycaps, abs probably? since its backlignt.

keys roll over, no ps/2 connector.......

Non-slip rubber coating? how lasting is this? and what happen when it come off?

BWU 2?

Price?
AFAIK, most BK keycaps out there are made of clear ABS, coated black. Some others use PC(polycarbonate).
I don't trust any rubber coating to be durable enough to resist wear and shine, not even electroplating...

It's CM branded. Ignore bout the iOne make and built quality part, I will choose this over BWU for a more ergonomic design(hate BWU's semi wrist rest and highly elevated design) and proper layout(except the bigass enter...)

EDITED: Just realised that they did make a proper US ANSI layout keyboard instead of the BIGASS ENTER(probably for Taiwan) I saw b4.

Also, is the picture in their webpage rendered? The keycaps profile seems so fake...

This post has been edited by Human10: Mar 22 2012, 06:55 PM
rurushu
post Mar 22 2012, 09:19 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Mar 22 2012, 06:48 PM)
AFAIK, most BK keycaps out there are made of clear ABS, coated black. Some others use PC(polycarbonate).
I don't trust any rubber coating to be durable enough to resist wear and shine, not even electroplating...

It's CM branded. Ignore bout the iOne make and built quality part, I will choose this over BWU for a more ergonomic design(hate BWU's semi wrist rest and highly elevated design) and proper layout(except the bigass enter...)

EDITED: Just realised that they did make a proper US ANSI layout keyboard instead of the BIGASS ENTER(probably for Taiwan) I saw b4.

Also, is the picture in their webpage rendered? The keycaps profile seems so fake...
Erm.... Human, i got this question puzzling me all this while.
If you really hate Razer's BWU so much, then how you get yourself to buy it in the first place? hmm.gif hmm.gif
ZeneticX
post Mar 22 2012, 09:28 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

CM Storm Trigger is selling for 129.95 euro.....that's like RM500+ here ? sweat.gif

i still can;t get over these CM branded gaming stuffs. they are still good casing and cooler makers to me

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Mar 22 2012, 09:30 PM
JonSpark
post Mar 22 2012, 09:32 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

when is the MXBoard 2.0 coming? Hand itchy wanna mod something le........
SetsunaFSeiei Exia00
post Mar 22 2012, 09:32 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 22 2012, 09:28 PM)
CM Storm Trigger is selling for 129.95 euro.....that's like RM500+ here ? sweat.gif

i still can;t get over these CM branded gaming stuffs. they are still good casing and cooler makers to me
Waaah, so expensive.
ZeneticX
post Mar 22 2012, 09:52 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

i just went through the specs. it have gold plated switches just like the 7G, with options to choose diff switches. no wonder its RM500+

i'd say its a better bargain compared to 7G with better design and backlid, with more flexible options. and 2x USB 2.0 ports. but lack PS2 connector, and the quality is unknown yet
faeizx
post Mar 22 2012, 10:09 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Feb 25 2012, 11:10 AM)
Spreading more poison:

Pictures by reaper@geekhack
really hazardous! drool.gif
SUSHuman10
post Mar 22 2012, 10:21 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Mar 22 2012, 09:19 PM)
Erm.... Human, i got this question puzzling me all this while.
If you really hate Razer's BWU so much, then how you get yourself to buy it in the first place?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
I bought it in 2 months after it reached Malaysia. Back then there is really no much choices out there.
Also there isn't must reviews on its flaw b4 I buy, so I buy it as both test water of mech kb and check quality.
Like a Malay quote - tak kenal maka tak cinta, so do with the counterpart - hate...

Added on March 22, 2012, 10:33 pm
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 22 2012, 09:28 PM)

Not necessary be that pricy(but for Malaysia pricing I unsure, RRP may be that pricy, need wait for cheaper retailer price). The RRP for Taiwan market is around 380-400ish(depend on type of switches).
http://www.armygroup.com.tw/shop/category-57-b0.html

Added on March 22, 2012, 10:39 pm
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 22 2012, 09:52 PM)
i just went through the specs. it have gold plated switches just like the 7G, with options to choose diff switches. no wonder its RM500+

i'd say its a better bargain compared to 7G with better design and backlid, with more flexible options. and 2x USB 2.0 ports. but lack PS2 connector, and the quality is unknown yet
Actually a lot electronic stuffs out there, even those el cheapo one are claiming having "gold plated USB". Just that how many of them are actually gold plated and how much do it actually affecting...

Multiple switch option is like a normal tactic to win the market for ppl with different interest. Only some early "gaming mechanical keyboard" like to tok kok sing song(no offence, just that they often misleading ppl. I also don't deny that some of the "kok" are actually true) around with their "choice of switch", while the real reason behind is the price of switch(blue and black are cheaper back then, not sure the current market trend).

I will rather judge with the build quality first than those aesthetics and features. Aesthetics and features can still be sacrificed but hell not for quality.

For no ps2 part. If USB can somehow manage to provide a flawless USB 10KRO, ps2 no longer needed. The Trigger being in the R&D stage for too long(more than half a year since we saw it's prototype/working sample), in fact they can take a look at Tesoro Durandal(another board by iOne) which offer USB 64KRO(can count as NKRO already).

Added on March 22, 2012, 10:40 pm
QUOTE(faeizx @ Mar 22 2012, 10:09 PM)
really hazardous! drool.gif
You want one? brows.gif

This post has been edited by Human10: Mar 22 2012, 10:46 PM
torino
post Mar 22 2012, 11:04 PM

><
978 posts

sorry for asking reallly noob question, what is the differences between mechanical and conventional keyboard that we've used before...and why is it so expensive....just to gain some knowledge bout this... biggrin.gif

kaiserreich
post Mar 22 2012, 11:07 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(torino @ Mar 22 2012, 11:04 PM)
sorry for asking reallly noob question, what is the differences between mechanical and conventional keyboard that we've used before...and why is it so expensive....just to gain some knowledge bout this... biggrin.gif
Signup for my keypad tester in my sig, then you can tell. No need to ask
SUSHuman10
post Mar 22 2012, 11:20 PM

6,774 posts

Ok, long story short. When PC first being introduced/popularised, all keyboard is mechanical and cost over few hundred bucks. If the diminishing in size and price of PC, they know that keyboard should also be cheapen. Thus, they invented something called rubber dome. The rise of rubber dome is like a irreversible process, directly kicking mechanical keyboard out of the market.

Now, after decades the glory of mechanical keyboard had fallen, PC had becoming even cheaper and more affordable. People start to realise a need for something more comfortable, durable and quality and they seeking the answer back in the past. They found and revived the trend of mechanical keyboard(undeniable, mechanical keyboard is also become popularised thanks to those GAMING MECHANICAL KEYBOARD sweat.gif out there). As the snowball roll larger(mean larger market for mechanical keyboard), more and more parties are interested to join the trend and share a piece from the big cake.

TLDR: Mechanical keyboard is keyboard that actuate mechanically(normally with spring) while most(or can say all) conventional/normal keyboard out there is using a rubber dome to actuate, which is cheap to be manufactured large scale. Thats why the huge price different.

Mech KB normally offer more durability, comfort and thus satisfactory than rubber dome does(again, it may be subjective).

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Mar 22 2012, 11:07 PM)
Signup for my keypad tester in my sig, then you can tell. No need to ask
LOL, thats somehow true... But some ppl are not really that "sensitive" enough to detect there is different typing feel. For them, keyboard is something that "can type then OK lo", not necessary need to be quality or comfortable... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Human10: Mar 22 2012, 11:21 PM
lucidlts
post Mar 22 2012, 11:30 PM

brain powder
2,906 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 22 2012, 09:52 PM)

i don't think the switches are gold plated, unless someone disassemble it and prove that i'm wrong whistling.gif
marketing gimmicks i'd say.

It reaches me yesterday actually, just got my cable back for transferring photos from my phone.
If you ask me, i'd prefer linear switch more because i don't like the bump. personal preference, that's all tongue.gif
Also, Original Red is now on numlock and /, so i hope the next guy will enjoy it, so does the others in the sink list after him.
And the picture... that's my desk, since I don't travel a lot and not wanting to take the tester and let it fall into the lake rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by lucidlts: Mar 22 2012, 11:38 PM
JohnDiew0107
post Mar 22 2012, 11:32 PM

ガンダム、行きます!
1,628 posts

google for "mechanical keyboard guide"... head over overclock.net or geekhack, there's bunch of info on mechanical keyboards. smile.gif

sorry that the first page isn't update yet, because TS PC got problem
SUSHuman10
post Mar 23 2012, 12:04 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(lucidlts @ Mar 22 2012, 11:30 PM)
i don't think the switches are gold plated, unless someone disassemble it and prove that i'm wrong  whistling.gif
marketing gimmicks i'd say.

It reaches me yesterday actually, just got my cable back for transferring photos from my phone.
If you ask me, i'd prefer linear switch more because i don't like the bump. personal preference, that's all tongue.gif
Also, Original Red is now on numlock and /, so i hope the next guy will enjoy it, so does the others in the sink list after him.
And the picture... that's my desk, since I don't travel a lot and not wanting to take the tester and let it fall into the lake  rclxub.gif
Cherry claimed that their goldleaves/contact points in the switch are gold plated. tongue.gif
kaysa
post Mar 23 2012, 12:07 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(JohnDiew0107 @ Mar 22 2012, 11:32 PM)
google for "mechanical keyboard guide"... head over overclock.net or geekhack, there's bunch of info on mechanical keyboards. smile.gif

sorry that the first page isn't update yet, because TS PC got problem
You are dragging him into HELL!
rurushu
post Mar 23 2012, 12:08 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(kaysa @ Mar 23 2012, 12:07 AM)
You are dragging him into HELL!
well... this is to increase our 'comrades"....
brows.gif brows.gif
SUSHuman10
post Mar 23 2012, 12:14 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Mar 23 2012, 12:08 AM)
well... this is to increase our 'comrades"....
brows.gif  brows.gif
LOL, this is also what I had think about b4.
Will ppl out there thinking we are some sort of zombie, blindly "cheating" other to join us to justify our purchase/hobby? sweat.gif
JohnDiew0107
post Mar 23 2012, 12:21 AM

ガンダム、行きます!
1,628 posts

we need to breed, that's how nature works. hehehe

Btw, PLUM keyboard is quite nice for that price actually.

SUSHuman10
post Mar 23 2012, 12:22 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(JohnDiew0107 @ Mar 23 2012, 12:21 AM)
we need to breed, that's how nature works. hehehe

Btw, PLUM keyboard is quite nice for that price actually.

Except from strange layout, other seems fine.
But there is something more nice around that price too.
Especially Keycool(if you can except the strange look for their 104).

This post has been edited by Human10: Mar 23 2012, 12:24 AM

124 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0425sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:18 PM