192 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Nokia N9 - V03 - [Fluidity King For Nokia], Let~~~ SWIPE~~~ all~~~ the~~~ way~~~

KennyKB
post Mar 1 2012, 06:55 PM

1,765 posts

Excellent summary of smartphone os, Andy. If one wants a simple os which works smoothly, go for iphone and benefit from the huge number of apps, if one wants power and customization go for Android. MeeGo is a sort of hybrid with the best of both worlds - simple yet optionally powerful with developer mode. As for WP I don't see what segment it occupies unless one wants a simple os but can't afford an iphone.

Apps for MeeGo will keep on improving. It's only 4 months since N9 hit the shelves and it is already quite good. I think most users will be able to find 80%-90% of apps they need now. Give another 4 months and I don't think apps will be a factor any more.

Andy214
post Mar 1 2012, 07:04 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 1 2012, 06:55 PM)
Excellent summary of smartphone os, Andy. If one wants a simple os which works smoothly, go for iphone and benefit from the huge number of apps, if one wants power and customization go for Android. MeeGo is a sort of hybrid with the best of both worlds  - simple yet optionally powerful with developer mode. As for WP I don't see what segment it occupies unless one wants a simple os but can't afford an iphone.

Apps for MeeGo will keep on improving. It's only 4 months since N9 hit the shelves and it is already quite good. I think most users will be able to find 80%-90% of apps they need now.  Give another 4 months and I don't think apps will be a factor any more.
Thanks~
yes, want simple OS but can't afford iPhone; Or don't need those apps/games, but into social networking, the People Hub will be an interesting and nice feature.

Still, MeeGo is still the best, it has social integration, smooth as well, and simple yet powerful and best of all have TRUE multi-tasking. The new PR1.2 really is gives much better experience with the notifications plus the upload feature is the best so far, so many options and ability to post to album and creating albums. PR1.2 incorporates face tagging recognition as well.
For those not really care much about apps, N9 is still the best, it's just lacking WhatsApp as it's like something widely used now (some people will not reply normal SMS, till this extend; or you won't get updates from them cause they only send to WhatsApp contacts.)

Anyway, as for apps; As long as it have the good and popular ones, it's good enough. For me, I installed many apps on the Android, I can say that I hardly touch any of those apps, but you know human, we see we install, but do we really need it? tongue.gif
So, I believe most people also same. As long they bring those important and popular apps/games, it should be enough.

justie
post Mar 1 2012, 07:09 PM

52 posts

finally updated to 1.2! lost most of my n9qtweak stuff and msn sad.gif any way to get them back? scared to use it because someone mentioned a few pages back that it will cause damage to the device

edit: tried to update my applications but it still keeps saying device is up to date :/

This post has been edited by justie: Mar 1 2012, 07:16 PM
arsaa
post Mar 1 2012, 07:32 PM

234 posts

love the new firmware PR1.2 lot's of usefull updates..
KennyKB
post Mar 1 2012, 07:34 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(justie @ Mar 1 2012, 07:09 PM)
finally updated to 1.2! lost most of my n9qtweak stuff and msn sad.gif any way to get them back? scared to use it because someone mentioned a few pages back that it will cause damage to the device

edit: tried to update my applications but it still keeps saying device is up to date :/
Just install back your msn client. As for n9qtweak I would hold it off first.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Mar 1 2012, 07:35 PM
jasonlaminx
post Mar 1 2012, 07:35 PM

148 posts

yeppp 1.2 rocks.. but guys, any news bout video call? cant find any option for front camera
KennyKB
post Mar 1 2012, 07:35 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(arsaa @ Mar 1 2012, 07:32 PM)
love the new firmware PR1.2 lot's of usefull updates..
So you're going to keep your N9?
eaglehelang
post Mar 1 2012, 07:37 PM

1,075 posts

Tried the continous shutter. Not bad, fast and clear, as long as hand dont shake. Can move it around the room also. Considering my photography taking skills is so so,this will compensate. More pro description of course wait for sifu aspire's pics.
arsaa
post Mar 1 2012, 07:37 PM

234 posts

it felt smoother even without performance tweak inside the developer mode..

Added on March 1, 2012, 7:41 pm
QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 1 2012, 07:35 PM)
So you're going to keep your N9?
Hi Kenny..most probably yes since it looks like impossible to sell it though..hahaha

It's a good phone anyway..

With more development I must say it will be a better phone in the future

PR1.3 is coming soon right?

This post has been edited by arsaa: Mar 1 2012, 07:41 PM
Upsilon
post Mar 1 2012, 07:50 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Mar 1 2012, 07:37 PM)
Tried the continous shutter. Not bad, fast and clear, as long as hand dont shake. Can move it around the room also. Considering my photography taking skills is so so,this will compensate.  More pro description of course wait for sifu aspire's pics.
should produce a good enough panorama smile.gif
however gotta go do the stitching manually :/
KennyKB
post Mar 1 2012, 07:58 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(arsaa @ Mar 1 2012, 07:37 PM)
it felt smoother even without performance tweak inside the developer mode..

Added on March 1, 2012, 7:41 pm

Hi Kenny..most probably yes since it looks like impossible to sell it though..hahaha

It's a good phone anyway..

With more development I must say it will be a better phone in the future

PR1.3 is coming soon right?
PR1.3 coming soon? Aiyah...you are too greedy la!

If a Whatsapp clone is developed for N9 and if Android 4 successfully ported you won't regret your decision. Both projects are in an advanced stage.
justie
post Mar 1 2012, 08:13 PM

52 posts

does everyone's manage applications>check for updates work? mine is still not working :/
Upsilon
post Mar 1 2012, 08:20 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(justie @ Mar 1 2012, 08:13 PM)
does everyone's manage applications>check for updates work? mine is still not working :/
what do u mean not working?
did u flash ur PR1.1 to some other variant?
drexar
post Mar 1 2012, 08:20 PM

Drexar21.my
718 posts

QUOTE(jasonlaminx @ Mar 1 2012, 07:35 PM)
yeppp 1.2 rocks.. but guys, any news bout video call? cant find any option for front camera
do check back on our earlier discussion. you'll need to download the plugin from Nokia Store first. Download Gtalk Video Call by Nokia. For the time being only Gtalk Video Call are allowed.
justie
post Mar 1 2012, 08:44 PM

52 posts

I couldnt get OTA updates so I used NSU instead. It updated and I have PR1.2 but I still cant detect app updates
k@|i0s
post Mar 1 2012, 08:48 PM

915 posts

QUOTE(justie @ Mar 1 2012, 08:44 PM)
I couldnt get OTA updates so I used NSU instead. It updated and I have PR1.2 but I still cant detect app updates
only on OTA u can see update for apps..since u update via NSU i think i come in pakage...

aspire2oo6
post Mar 1 2012, 08:49 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

guys check it out there a media sharing with DLNA devices cool

justie
post Mar 1 2012, 08:50 PM

52 posts

hmm...so i have to revert back to 1.1 and update via OTA to be able to get OTA app updates? sad.gif
aspire2oo6
post Mar 1 2012, 08:51 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

I also notice the qwerty keyboard is more accurate now on PR1.2
KennyKB
post Mar 1 2012, 08:51 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(justie @ Mar 1 2012, 08:13 PM)
Are trying on wi-fi or 3G? It may not work on 3G.

192 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:58 AM