498 posts

Bro tomjason, mind to pm me ur secret formula? Wanna renovate house soon too ^^
TStomjason
post May 2 2012, 07:59 AM

866 posts

PMed all that requested.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My DIY on JS Yale sink.

I would not advised forumer to buy this Yale from JS unless your contractors are expert enough to break the tap hole. The tap hole for Yale is very difficult to do and will cause your sink break.

This post has been edited by tomjason: May 3 2012, 10:24 AM
wang ^.^
post May 2 2012, 10:58 AM

681 posts

bro tomjason, can pm me the formula?? thank in advance
ageh84
post May 2 2012, 12:14 PM

211 posts

hi bro tom, can pm me the formula. thank you so much
chae
post May 2 2012, 04:52 PM

103 posts

i wanna know the formula also
apisgogo
post May 2 2012, 10:10 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

Wau great stuff!

Going to start reno for my apartment soon (totally clueless!). Appreciate if you could pm me your formula.

In your opinion, which work to start first? (for completed unit apartment) plaster ceiling? Grilling? or electrical? or bathroom?

Thanks! smile.gif
TStomjason
post May 3 2012, 10:20 AM

866 posts

hi,

I would like to inform that the tips has come to the end, i hv few more others tips....to inform that i will delete all the tips and all the formula within 1,2 days. Please read thru and captured what ever you want.

Regards

Tom
craftsnknots
post May 3 2012, 11:39 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ May 3 2012, 11:20 AM)
hi,

I would like to inform that the tips has come to the end, i hv few more others tips....to inform that i will delete all the tips and all the formula within 1,2 days. Please read thru and captured what ever you want.

Regards

Tom
Why delete? It was so great!. Anyway, i want to ask, for my back extension, can the contractor just use a backhoe to push in the bkau pile or must he use and A frame with a load?

Because all the contractors doing my area just use the backhoe but I was told these are not useful and they should use a an 'A' Frame with a load.

he quoted me RM8500 for back ext 22x5 with 36 wood pile and concrete roof with 54 wood pile for RM1,400
TStomjason
post May 3 2012, 12:14 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(craftsnknots @ May 3 2012, 11:39 AM)
Why delete? It was so great!. Anyway, i want to ask, for my back extension, can the contractor just use a backhoe to push in the bkau pile or must he use and A frame with a load?

Because all the contractors doing my area just use the backhoe but I was told these are not useful and they should use a an 'A' Frame with a load.

he quoted me RM8500 for back ext 22x5 with 36 wood pile and concrete roof with 54 wood pile for RM1,400
hi,

now you getting the right quotation...compared to your previous contractor quotation smile.gif ..or you are using same contractor?...... can you elaborate a bit "concrete roof with 54 wood pile for RM1,400"...the piling is only for pillar..the roof slab is tie to the pillar...the concrete roof nee not piling....

ok for the backhoe or not...usually using backhoe is easy job for contractor...using backhoe for bakau piling is usually if your land is soft..easy for backhoe to push the bakau..if you land is hard or if your land full with stone, then difficult for the backhoe...the other drawback for backhoe..please ensure the the road, fence etc are not damage by the back hoe..especially your neighbour fence...

using A frame is good but a bit difficult for contractor...the A frame is use if your land is hard and if you are piling using concrete piling and not bakau...

the choice is yours and depend on your house situation..

This post has been edited by tomjason: May 3 2012, 12:16 PM
craftsnknots
post May 3 2012, 12:38 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ May 3 2012, 01:14 PM)
hi,

now you getting the right quotation...compared to your previous contractor quotation  smile.gif ..or you are using same contractor?...... can you elaborate a bit "concrete roof with 54 wood pile for RM1,400"...the piling is only for pillar..the roof slab is tie to the pillar...the concrete roof nee not piling....

ok for the backhoe or not...usually using backhoe is easy job for contractor...using backhoe for bakau piling is usually if your land is soft..easy for backhoe to push the bakau..if you land is hard or if your land full with stone, then difficult for the backhoe...the other drawback for backhoe..please ensure the the road, fence etc  are not damage by the back hoe..especially your neighbour fence...

using A frame is good but a bit difficult for contractor...the A frame is use if your land is hard and if you are piling using concrete piling and not bakau...

the choice is yours and depend on your house situation..
No this is a new contractor. The other cut-throat contractor i asked him to go fly kite already..haha

This new contractor only put
1) To extend wet kitchen to single storey 22x5 c/w 36pcs of wood pile and cement work RM8500
2) To concrete roof c/w 54pcs wood pile RM1,400
3) to supply and install 2 lenght of water pipe at wet kitchen RM500
4) To supply and install 1 unit of 3-1/2 x 6 new aluminium window at wet kitchen RM750 (he said glass thickness 5mm)
5) Labour charge to lay new wall tile w/o tiles at size 570 = RM2,565 (so its RM4.5psf)
6) labour charge to lay new floor tile w/o tiles at size 150 = RM900 (so its RM6, i think this is expensive, but i've seen his work..very nice..but still exp)
7) To supply security door at wet kicthen RM1400 ( i think exp)
9) Labour charge to concrete table top at size 21ft long w/o tile RM1,785 (RM85pfl)
10) To concrete fence at size 95'long c/w 2'ft 1 pcs wood pile, to supply and install of column c/w 3 pcs of wood pile at car porch = RM11,400
he said the fence, every 2 ft, he will put 1 pile and every column he will put 3 pile
11) To modify 2 units of column (gate post) at size 2ft c/w 10pcs of wood pile = RM2,000 ( He said each side he put 5 pile and this is concrete gate post for RM1,000 each side)
12)to supply and install 3 length of water pipe at car porch = RM750 (is this exp? its from neighbour side to the opposite garden side (cornerlot) I thought only RM150 each
13) To coverup drain at car porch = RM450..this is because i move the gate post so outside that drain need to cover with a concrete slab and need to hack the pavement since i move gate post..

For plaster ceiling he charge RM2.5 psf and for step (light box) he charge RM13psf

He told me if wanna use A frame he had to increase price coz expensive and he said actually waste money

Added on May 3, 2012, 12:39 pmThe roof pile i think he means that because I want concrete roof he need to add piling to the ground so total 90 wood pile

This post has been edited by craftsnknots: May 3 2012, 12:39 PM
siauann
post May 3 2012, 12:41 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

hi can pm me the formula? i was wondering why dont u share the useful info since u need to pm each and everyone smile.gif
craftsnknots
post May 3 2012, 01:03 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ May 3 2012, 01:41 PM)
hi can pm me the formula? i was wondering why dont u share the useful info since u need to pm each and everyone smile.gif
There are contractors here..and they still need to cari makan...so cannot terang terang reveal...
zeliang
post May 3 2012, 01:09 PM

17 posts

hi there, can you pm me the formula please. thanks a lot
TStomjason
post May 3 2012, 01:46 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(craftsnknots @ May 3 2012, 12:38 PM)
No this is a new contractor. The other cut-throat contractor i asked him to go fly kite already..haha

This new contractor only put
1) To extend wet kitchen to single storey 22x5 c/w 36pcs of wood pile and cement work RM8500
2) To concrete roof c/w 54pcs wood pile RM1,400
3) to supply and install 2 lenght of water pipe at wet kitchen RM500
4) To supply and install 1 unit of 3-1/2 x 6 new aluminium window at wet kitchen RM750 (he said glass thickness 5mm)
5) Labour charge to lay new wall tile w/o tiles at size 570 = RM2,565 (so its RM4.5psf)
6) labour charge to lay new floor tile w/o tiles at size 150 = RM900 (so its RM6, i think this is expensive, but i've seen his work..very nice..but still exp)
7) To supply security door at wet kicthen RM1400 ( i think exp)
9) Labour charge to concrete table top at size 21ft long w/o tile RM1,785 (RM85pfl)
10) To concrete fence at size 95'long c/w 2'ft 1 pcs wood pile, to supply and install of column c/w 3 pcs of wood pile at car porch = RM11,400
he said the fence, every 2 ft, he will put 1 pile and every column he will put 3 pile
11) To modify 2 units of column (gate post) at size 2ft c/w 10pcs of wood pileĀ  = RM2,000 ( He said each side he put 5 pile and this is concrete gate post for RM1,000 each side)
12)to supply and install 3 length of water pipe at car porch = RM750 (is this exp? its from neighbour side to the opposite garden side (cornerlot) I thought only RM150 each
13) To coverup drain at car porch = RM450..this is because i move the gate post so outside that drain need to cover with a concrete slab and need to hack the pavement since i move gate post..

For plaster ceiling he charge RM2.5 psf and for step (light box) he charge RM13psf

He told me if wanna use A frame he had to increase price coz expensive and he said actually waste money

Added on May 3, 2012, 12:39 pmThe roof pile i think he means that because I want concrete roof he need to add piling to the ground so total 90 wood pile
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is my comment.....

1. To extend wet kitchen to single storey 22x5 c/w 36pcs of wood pile and cement work RM8500.

Reasonable.

2. To concrete roof c/w 54pcs wood pile RM1,400.
Ok i understand. RM1,400 / 54 = RM25 per piece include work. Reasonable. In this case, next time if you want to add double storey, just add the upper floor, cause you have strong pilling. If you intended to add second floor, extend the pillar a bit about 1 or to feet to the upper slab, so that easier in future to add second floor. I hope you understand what i meant...if want elaborate inform me.
3. Item 3. reasonable. DO NOT USE ABS pipe. Get PVC pipe Class 6 or 7 or stainless steel SS pipe (SS pipe expensive a bit ). Min use pipe size 3/4 inches.
4. Reasonable. Make sure color glass, white glass is cheap glass. And make sure aluminium frame is coated (eg chocolate color).
5. Item 5 , ok. But make sure the price include cement, glue etc.
6. Item 6, ok. Maybe your tile is 2x2 fts.
7. Item 7, from my suvery,ok. But check how thick the door.
9. Item 9, ok..if come with tile,cement&labor.
10. Item 10, expensive. Want elaboration, your fence is 95 ft long? and thus this price include car porch?
11. Item 11, if can get discount, better..smile.gif
12. Item 12. ok lah, if can get discount much better smile.gif but DO NOT USE ABS pipe.
13. Item 13, how long you want to cover up the drain?

For plaster ceilling, price ok....ceilling thickness at least min thickness is at least 9 mm, do go less than that.

if you 'sayang' your tile better do the ceilling first then tile excerpt for bathroom and kitchen area with tile. Hope you understand what i mean.

As i meantion b4, A frame , difficult for contractor, using backhoe is cheap...but if backhoe make sure the backhoe dont damage the road or fence etc...

This post has been edited by tomjason: May 3 2012, 01:50 PM
craftsnknots
post May 3 2012, 02:01 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(tomjason @ May 3 2012, 02:46 PM)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is my comment.....

1.  To extend wet kitchen to single storey 22x5 c/w 36pcs of wood pile and cement work RM8500.

Reasonable.

2.  To concrete roof c/w 54pcs wood pile RM1,400.
    Ok i understand. RM1,400 / 54 = RM25 per piece include work. Reasonable. In this case, next time if you want to add double storey, just add the upper floor, cause you have strong pilling. If you intended to add second floor, extend the pillar a bit about 1 or to feet to the upper slab, so that easier in future to add second floor. I hope you understand what i meant...if want elaborate inform me.
3.  Item 3. reasonable. DO NOT USE ABS pipe. Get PVC pipe Class 6 or 7 or stainless steel SS pipe (SS pipe expensive a bit ). Min use pipe size 3/4 inches.
4.  Reasonable. Make sure color glass, white glass is cheap glass. And make sure aluminium frame is coated (eg chocolate color).
5.  Item 5 , ok. But make sure the price include cement, glue etc.
6.  Item 6, ok. Maybe your tile is 2x2 fts.
7.  Item 7, from my suvery,ok. But check how thick the door.
9.  Item 9, ok..if come with tile,cement&labor.
10. Item 10, expensive. Want elaboration, your fence is 95 ft long? and thus this price include car porch?
11. Item 11, if can get discount, better..smile.gif
12. Item 12. ok lah, if can get discount much better smile.gif but DO NOT USE ABS pipe.
13. Item 13, how long you want to cover up the drain?

For plaster ceilling, price ok....ceilling thickness at least min thickness is at least 9 mm, do go less than that.

if you 'sayang' your tile better do the ceilling first then tile excerpt for bathroom and kitchen area with tile. Hope you understand what i mean.

As i meantion b4, A frame , difficult for contractor, using backhoe is cheap...but if backhoe make sure the backhoe dont damage the road of fence etc...
tongue.gif Thank you! Thank You!

Concrete table no tiles..just concrete and labour..I ask him to make it 2.6inches thick coz too thick like very ugly...was thinking if i want kitchen cabinet guy to do dunno granite slab only without concrete can tahan or not..otherwise I just concrete and tile it..cheap

My floor tile for bath is 2x1 only so RM6 i tot expensive..but he say chinese guy..

The fence coz it is corner..so it is actually 75ft long (from porch to the back garden side)+ the back about 8ft + neighbour side about 9ft + in front (next to gate post) 3ft ..so 1 ft about RM120..i tot should be like RM90 to RM100

the pipes he showed me black poly pipe.its black pipe with a thin blue lining he said now all bend and gripped/kepit..something like that..

The gate post he said each side RM1,000..actually my opposite neighbour..same size everything he charge him RM1,200..he said already discounted for me...because it is concrete..I asked him why some only RM850 he said coz RM850 is brickwork not concrete gate post,..

Btw, for electrical he sub to ppl then he charge me aircon point RM180 per point then RM400 to conceal 1.0HP air con copper pipe for 0.61mm with 4 col wiring and water pipe c/w plastering for limit 10'.

Rm450 if it is 1.5HP,
RM500 if it is 2.0HP and RM600 if it is 2.5HP.

Is this like super expensive? air con point is already RM180. He said because he use 0.61mm copper piping not those soft ones
TStomjason
post May 3 2012, 02:31 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(craftsnknots @ May 3 2012, 02:01 PM)
tongue.gif Thank you! Thank You!

Concrete table no tiles..just concrete and labour..I ask him to make it 2.6inches thick coz too thick like very ugly...was thinking if i want kitchen cabinet guy to do dunno granite slab only without concrete can tahan or not..otherwise I just concrete and tile it..cheap

My floor tile for bath is 2x1 only so RM6 i tot expensive..but he say chinese guy..

The fence coz it is corner..so it is actually 75ft long (from porch to the back garden side)+ the back about 8ft + neighbour side about 9ft + in front (next to gate post) 3ft ..so 1 ft about RM120..i tot should be like RM90 to RM100

the pipes he showed me black poly pipe.its black pipe with a thin blue lining he said now all bend and gripped/kepit..something like that..

The gate post he said each side RM1,000..actually my opposite neighbour..same size everything he charge him RM1,200..he said already discounted for me...because it is concrete..I asked him why some only RM850 he said coz RM850 is brickwork not concrete gate post,..
Btw, for electrical he sub to ppl then he charge me aircon point RM180 per point then RM400 to conceal 1.0HP air con copper pipe for 0.61mm with 4 col wiring and water pipe c/w plastering for limit 10'.

Rm450 if it is 1.5HP,
RM500 if it is 2.0HP and RM600 if it is 2.5HP.

Is this like super expensive? air con point is already RM180. He said because he use 0.61mm copper piping not those soft ones
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
yes ur right, too thick not very nice table top.....yes..if you want tahan..better concrete...unless dry kitchen...if for wet kitchen better concrete and tile...do no use solid surface..easily scratch unless dry kitchen. But the choice is yours...

you must know the game of the contractor...biggrin.gif.....to be a good contractor..he must good at game of psychology.....biggrin.gif......
some work they give you cheap but then he mark up at different work...so at the end, some work cheap but some work expensive...but you must observe the quality and the total overall cost as i mention in my formula..does the overall cost exceed my formula or not...if less you are save....smile.gif ......Another game of contractor is, they will observe the knowledge or the house owner, if the house owner do not know about that particular work..they will mark up the price..biggrin.gif.....

for the gate pillar..the reason he gave is concrete pillar..ok..can accept the reason...biggrin.gif....

for pipe ..he use poly pipe..the black pipe is poly..the blue lining is Sirim approved.....he use the new type of gripped for poly..not normal screw type..the gripped or clamp is strong compared to normal screw...poly usually for outside house...if concealed inside the house..my opinion is still 'nipis'...i donot say cannot be use...but usually concealed in the wall usually pvc.....but the choice is yours.... ask the contractor what the price different he quote for poly and pvc...

aircond RM180..ok,,check the of the air cond wiring 2.5 mm?..for copper pipe..depend of the length of the copper pipe...what is the length of your copper pipe...usually if concealed they charge extra...

for your fence...for my opinion is still expensive....why he need to pile every 2 ft..i think no need....just ensure every 10 ft i concrete pillar with piling and concrete beam column at below between pillar........ask the contractor....option...if you do not want pile every 2 ft..what is the cost different....

This post has been edited by tomjason: May 3 2012, 02:34 PM
elaine_jing
post May 3 2012, 02:49 PM

can you PM me the formula? i need to reno my house soon. thanks
TStomjason
post May 3 2012, 02:51 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ May 2 2012, 10:10 PM)
Wau great stuff!

Going to start reno for my apartment soon (totally clueless!). Appreciate if you could pm me your formula.

In your opinion, which work to start first? (for completed unit apartment) plaster ceiling? Grilling? or electrical? or bathroom?

Thanks! smile.gif
-------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi bro,

this is my sequence....and con be consider tips..biggrin.gif....

my sequences....

if comes with no tiles....bathroom, electrical,plaster ceilling and grill.....

56 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:21 PM