4,707 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Feb 14 2012, 08:32 AM)
Malaysia have many ignorant people!
Malaysia have many tree people! <fixed

enter also kecoh ..not enter also kecoh

LisaSurirumah
post Feb 14 2012, 08:57 AM

43 posts

Chinese New Year is celebrated by all Chinese kan?
ceohyominfanclub
post Feb 14 2012, 09:03 AM

QUOTE(katejing @ Feb 13 2012, 07:26 PM)
Malaysia has citizens who are of Chinese ethnicity but practice Islam. Do they celebrate Chinese New Year? How do they feel about
reconciliing their Chinese cultural heritage with their religion?

Who is one of them? Or know your friends who are from this group? Need help on this topic..Thanks thanks.. =)  thumbup.gif
chiniese arab reporting in
yes ts we celebrate chinese new year like all chinese only we do not pray does that answer your question

This post has been edited by ceohyominfanclub: Feb 14 2012, 09:04 AM
kymanhalim
post Feb 14 2012, 09:10 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(Michael_Light @ Feb 13 2012, 07:42 PM)
I have a chinese muslim friend. His father is chinese but his mother is malay. He celebrates chinese new year and most of his friends and buddies are chinese. Back to then, he studied agama Islam but he fails almost every time. I guess he more comfortable with chinese culture than his religion.
same as me smile.gif my mom are chinese and my father are malay... same situation as ur fren biggrin.gif
ALeUNe
post Feb 14 2012, 09:11 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(Turiaf @ Feb 14 2012, 09:06 AM)
most chinese who convert is becoz want to get goverment contract or anything that can make them earn easy money ...
Do not generalize lah... silly sweeping statement.
The most common reason is inter-racial marriage.
enCORe
post Feb 14 2012, 09:18 AM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

IMHO, I support the moslem chinese for Chinese mosque established like beautiful Xian Mosque

then I can eat itik gantung ot nasi ayam hainan with no worries (halal) smile.gif
valkyrie5034
post Feb 14 2012, 09:23 AM

92 posts

My sister is a Chinese Muslim. She ran away from home during highschool and then converted to Muslim under the influence of her "mak angkat" who is also a Chinese Muslim. She got married to a Malay guy last year. I can tell you that things are awkward when we go out with her family. People walk by also turn around to look twice.

During CNY, things are even more awkward with her wearing tudung surrounded by all Chinese relatives.

kymanhalim
post Feb 14 2012, 09:25 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(valkyrie5034 @ Feb 14 2012, 09:23 AM)
My sister is a Chinese Muslim. She ran away from home during highschool and then converted to Muslim under the influence of her "mak angkat" who is also a Chinese Muslim. She got married to a Malay guy last year. I can tell you that things are awkward when we go out with her family. People walk by also turn around to look twice.

During CNY, things are even more awkward with her wearing tudung surrounded by all Chinese relatives.
many ppl think in moslem = masuk melayu ~ same mean as... "once u go black, u never go back"
valkyrie5034
post Feb 14 2012, 09:32 AM

92 posts

Frankly, I don't mind my sister converting her religion. The problem is that she was still young back then, and her "mak angkat" convinced her to convert without the consent of her real parents. This is like brainwashing which is wrong IMO.

We came into terms with her and her Muslim family, even attended her wedding/kenduri last year along with our relatives.
kymanhalim
post Feb 14 2012, 09:34 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(valkyrie5034 @ Feb 14 2012, 09:32 AM)
Frankly, I don't mind my sister converting her religion. The problem is that she was still young back then, and her "mak angkat" convinced her to convert without the consent of her real parents. This is like brainwashing which is wrong IMO.

We came into terms with her and her Muslim family, even attended her wedding/kenduri last year along with our relatives.
maybe... she follow that family so hav to lor.... btw if me ah... i wait her reach 18 only i let her decide lor smile.gif
scorps
post Feb 14 2012, 09:37 AM

Something you call love, but I call sex
9,572 posts

aikkk ? tak habis lagi thread ni?
__mill
post Feb 14 2012, 09:38 AM

112 posts

my bf is a converted chines muslim, he celebrates CNY just like any other. CNY is just a culture thing, not a religious thing. so it's ok to celebrate it. As long as you know the boundaries.
scorps
post Feb 14 2012, 09:40 AM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(__mill @ Feb 14 2012, 10:38 AM)
my bf is a converted chines muslim, he celebrates CNY just like any other.  CNY is just a culture thing, not a religious thing. so it's ok to celebrate it. As long as you know the boundaries.
so he's a good muslim? do a 5 times solat/prayer a day? brows.gif
kymanhalim
post Feb 14 2012, 09:40 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(__mill @ Feb 14 2012, 09:38 AM)
my bf is a converted chines muslim, he celebrates CNY just like any other.  CNY is just a culture thing, not a religious thing. so it's ok to celebrate it. As long as you know the boundaries.
+99999999999 many people dun understand this...
scoop7
post Feb 14 2012, 09:42 AM

orly? mai pen rai
1,154 posts

QUOTE(__mill @ Feb 14 2012, 09:38 AM)
they celebrate CNY, chingming, valentine also
valkyrie5034
post Feb 14 2012, 09:42 AM

92 posts

So nobody thinks the system is flawed? Anyone is welcome to convert to Islam but not the other way around? How is this fair in a country that claims to have free exercise of religion.
kymanhalim
post Feb 14 2012, 09:44 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(valkyrie5034 @ Feb 14 2012, 09:42 AM)
So nobody thinks the system is flawed? Anyone is welcome to convert to Islam but not the other way around? How is this fair in a country that claims to have free exercise of religion.
free exersice in religion? u tok wat? if not i christian oledi lor..... haiyo
valkyrie5034
post Feb 14 2012, 09:49 AM

92 posts

In that case, they should prohibit people to convert in the first place. It's like one way ticket where you join the "darkside" and never to return.

I don't know if there is a specific law in Islam which specify you really can't convert to another religion or does it only happen in Malaysia, where they give tons of excuse and procedure to convert until you give up.
kymanhalim
post Feb 14 2012, 09:51 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(valkyrie5034 @ Feb 14 2012, 09:49 AM)
In that case, they should prohibit people to convert in the first place. It's like one way ticket where you join the "darkside" and never to return.

I don't know if there is a specific law in Islam which specify you really can't convert to another religion or does it only happen in Malaysia, where they give tons of excuse and procedure to convert until you give up.
ya moslem is a one way ticket........ once in no go out one..... so many ppl scare to convert lar...... this country has no freedom for religion.... esspecially <insert religion>
scorps
post Feb 14 2012, 09:53 AM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(valkyrie5034 @ Feb 14 2012, 10:49 AM)

why? you boring being muslim? brows.gif

10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » 

0.0152sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:19 AM