Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

PepsiCo
post Mar 1 2012, 04:55 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Mar 1 2012, 04:51 PM)
me not fancy of Jap food. And ever since i came here, i seldom have chance to go try KL fancy food. My last jap food is at Jakarta inside Grand Hyatt....very good...... One chef serve 8 customers onli.
Harder to find one that serve pork In Msia tongue.gif

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Mar 1 2012, 05:20 PM
PepsiCo
post Mar 1 2012, 11:21 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 1 2012, 10:19 PM)
tomorrow st.james power house... interested please go gathering thread and discuss there.
Where is St James power house and what do we do in a power house hmm.gif ? Play electricity ? I only know there's a St James Power Station near vivo. I've never been there but heard quite happening icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on March 1, 2012, 11:22 pm
QUOTE(calvint78 @ Mar 1 2012, 10:43 PM)
I just give a wise advise n i dont like to racun racun. Better work hard n save more come back do some business rather than working for ppl whole life.
It really depends. Some might not wanna go back.

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Mar 1 2012, 11:22 PM
PepsiCo
post Mar 5 2012, 12:38 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(slater_iz @ Mar 5 2012, 12:24 AM)
anyone here go to work using 2nd link?u take malaysia bus to CIQ then after malaysia immigration take another bus right?that bus going until where?how r we going to pay?using what card?where can we buy it?
same bus, all the way to Jurong East Interchange

Added on March 5, 2012, 12:40 am
QUOTE(chanti-sama @ Mar 4 2012, 09:05 PM)
Sg docs dun give u ubat for simple flu or coughing. Ask u natural heal... My foot la i got job todo, how to perform in ur best. Ask mc is like ask can do free anal check, applies to clinics in paya lebar.
funny coz my company panel of doctors always give what I need, at times including vitamins smile.gif

Added on March 5, 2012, 12:43 am
QUOTE(sapapa @ Mar 4 2012, 09:02 PM)
Anyone here commute daily from jb to sg to work? Can you cope with it? Share your experience
really depends on your work timing, where you stay, where you work and mode of transport.

Added on March 5, 2012, 12:44 am
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Mar 4 2012, 11:38 PM)
Damn lo, all my frens here in SG... work, work, work, day and night... no time to find GF and almost reaching 30 yrs.
what ever time they have they will probably go back home town smile.gif , so foreveralone.jpg in Sg . Unless you have a schedule like King Lester, work 15days/month. But then again he doesn't work for money.

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Mar 5 2012, 12:47 AM
PepsiCo
post Mar 5 2012, 07:47 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(slater_iz @ Mar 5 2012, 12:52 AM)
oic..so pay fee in RM la...the bus is from where?larkin?
and the bus will only stop at Jurong east interchange not anywhere else right?
tq so much for the info
bus from Bkt Indah or Gelang Patah, all the way non stop to Jurong East Interchange

Added on March 5, 2012, 7:48 am
QUOTE(singaporestreet @ Mar 5 2012, 03:02 AM)

i probably can.. so you suggest for me to just rent a room in singapore?
is it cheaper?
of coz JB rental is cheaper

Added on March 5, 2012, 7:53 am
QUOTE(singaporestreet @ Mar 5 2012, 02:09 AM)
guys plzz help.. there are several questions i'd like to ask..

1 - living in jb or singapore? (which one is cheaper)
2 - if in jb, if my company is at queen street, should i live at gelang patah or jb city?
3 - motorcycles vs car commuting (do i need to pay toll at custom?)
4 - car vs motorcycles (time to destination.. is it really motorcycle faster?)
5 - i tried by bus it took around 1.5 hours to reach my office from jb sentral..

plzz..plzzz... help..sorry just noobie..
1. JB
2. almost same distance ?
3. toll at old causeway (exit Sg and enter My) & for 2nd causeway (in/out of Sg/My)
4. No
5. Good for you

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Mar 5 2012, 07:53 AM
PepsiCo
post Mar 5 2012, 10:30 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Mar 5 2012, 09:09 PM)
of course jb
anywhere will do
never use motorcycle. I got a friend died from accident. Life is not cheap. Just an advice.  icon_idea.gif
the statistic is not really that high if you considering that every day there are ten of thousands of bikes crossing the border each day.
PepsiCo
post Mar 6 2012, 12:03 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Mar 5 2012, 11:19 PM)
I know you ride bike.

Few case over 50k vs rare case over 100k bus passenger. It is simply math, whether you kiasi or not. 

Given the number of cases on one hand then stated that it is low risk is plain lying to the unknowing newbies. My ex-supervisor die on 2link leaving behind young wife and children. Tell the widow bike is safe but is just bad luck? 

Whatever you say, I wish all have safe journey. But when shit happen, the one who give wrong advice will get it.

Face it, biker takes higher Risk for cheaper transport cost. In life when there is no other option then ride the bike safely. When there are safer options available, I will never advise people with dependant to ride bike in out sg on daily basis. << that's my message.

If you are single and no dependent, you are free to take what ever risk you like.
think you got him wrong. He's actually right in saying the odds are low based on statistic BUT the risk are high. No matter what precaution one takes, it's still dangerous to ride bike. That's the fact.

Added on March 6, 2012, 12:06 am
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 5 2012, 10:44 PM)
depends on how alert is the rider, if u are experience enough, shouldn't be an issue.

have this mentality and you'll be in serious sh|t in no time.

Added on March 6, 2012, 12:10 am
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 5 2012, 10:44 PM)
there was a case at causeway, a car trying to slit through a group of bikes, there is this 1 bike blocking the car lane, the car horn him and the bike doesn't give a damn, the driver go bang him and slowly push him to move, the biker gone and and knock his glass (not smash, just knock and scold him apa mau? wan fight come out...) when all the other bike behind start banging that fellow's car until he don't dare to come out. that's how unite we are even its the bikers fault to block the car lane.
i think it's an irony that the biker's balls shrink when they enter Sg coz i've never see or experience this kinda cowboy behaviour in Sg road ? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Mar 6 2012, 12:10 AM
PepsiCo
post Mar 6 2012, 01:05 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 6 2012, 11:46 AM)
Wah COE price just hit $57k (<1600cc) and $78k (>1600cc).

bidding for one sweat.gif ? It'll remain that way for the rest of the year.
PepsiCo
post Mar 8 2012, 11:34 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 8 2012, 08:32 PM)
Eh guys ... PC Show 2012 coming this weekend. Is it worth it to go and buy things there? Or is it like KL where no point going cos it's not any cheaper than directly buying from LowYat?
going tomorrow. Looking for good printer smile.gif
PepsiCo
post Mar 10 2012, 04:49 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Mar 10 2012, 12:17 PM)
Hello guys,

Going SG on coming Monday, need some advice on prepaid number and mobile internet without contracts

very minimum usage for internet

which carrier or package would you suggest? hmm.gif
please advice thanks
Singtel. Large area coverage.

Added on March 10, 2012, 4:51 pm
QUOTE(ntick @ Mar 10 2012, 10:22 AM)
icic...by right cannot 1...

but by left........erm... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

any one here just start work then sign out a mobile broadband plan with 2 years contract....actually  i lost my galaxy s in malaysia...now just use laoya phone in sg....always go mcD on9....

it was too high risk for me to take to 24 month plan....
i actually i like the HTC sensasi phone...
actually Galaxy S also lauya phone

Added on March 10, 2012, 4:54 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 10 2012, 11:07 AM)
You already work few years still dunno this? hmm.gif People who are unhappy with a company will tend to "stick it out" until get bonus then only leave ... therefore there will/may be additional vacancies opening.
makes no different if you are in a big corporation. you will still get prorated bonus of you leave early. Just ask the King, he leave Apple in style with prorated bonus smile.gif

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Mar 10 2012, 04:54 PM
PepsiCo
post Mar 10 2012, 11:31 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Mar 10 2012, 11:08 PM)
Emm..  biggrin.gif

Keppels Shippyard is hiring...
Shipyard industries have the highest fatalities compare to others. So the $$$ is good.
PepsiCo
post Mar 11 2012, 12:37 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(ntick @ Mar 11 2012, 12:34 PM)
when economy down EP people will die 1st....

Saturday just went to IT show, very disappointed....Compare to Malaysia....the SG IT show girls quality...is like    cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

But looks like SG people like iphone alot..50% stall sell ipad/iphone related product...

And in KLCC conventional hall more organize...in SG just like pasar malam....

just that feeling....... sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif
here iPhone price with telco plan cost an average S$200. Even the bangla is using one and whatsapp his boss with it.
PepsiCo
post Mar 11 2012, 08:45 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 11 2012, 04:52 PM)
anybody can share their driving experience driving from singapore to KL ?
cost ? time ? speed ? car type ? thanks  nod.gif
decided a car is the only way to go for my weekly commute  sweat.gif 
am estimating to reach within +-3 hours if singapore to kl is 360+ km  hmm.gif
It already take 30 minutes or more clearing the immigration on fri nite and when coming back on sun nite.
PepsiCo
post Mar 11 2012, 10:08 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 11 2012, 09:39 PM)
I went today, wahlau, first and last year I go on Sunday ... SO many people.
I went on Friday noon. still got plenty of room to move around, dragging my new printer along rclxms.gif
PepsiCo
post Mar 12 2012, 11:28 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 12 2012, 02:30 AM)
put it this way, i don't know the time you depart from SG, so don't know how long it takes.

cost ? Petrol around RM50-RM60 (depends on how hard i press the accelerator)
time ? between 2 hours to 2 hours 30 mins (toll to toll) if constant 140kph without much lorry blocking, 2 hours 15 mins is enough for 140.
speed ? around 140kph,  sometimes i will drive till 150-170 depends on my needs.
car type ? Perodua myvi .
FYI, the speed limit in Msia highway is 110kph biggrin.gif

coffee $;
Msia car = RM50
SG car = SGD$50 (~RM100)

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Mar 12 2012, 11:30 AM
PepsiCo
post Mar 12 2012, 09:28 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Mar 12 2012, 04:04 PM)
140 kph small car very keng leh..
it's not the car, it's the driver. Royalties can't drive slow one, later get ambush.
PepsiCo
post Mar 13 2012, 01:37 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(RabbitS @ Mar 13 2012, 12:37 AM)
u trying to cheat hdb to buy flat?  hmm.gif
ep 36k p.a. / 10k fd

stand chart ep 30k p.a.
stand chart also got mahattan card no req but limit sgd 500
36k p.a basic ? Meaning $3k per month ? Wah ! Me can't afford, unless includes allowance then cukup-cukup makan sad.gif
PepsiCo
post Mar 13 2012, 11:16 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Mar 13 2012, 10:32 AM)
^ Still pass for all the requirement mentioned. laugh.gif laugh.gif
But the thing is the UOB guy in fair is saying something diff from what the UOB guy at the bank branch I met yesterday.
why don't you print the thing out and show it to them ?

Added on March 13, 2012, 11:18 am
QUOTE(tailtwist @ Mar 13 2012, 10:20 AM)

From UOB singapore's website
You must be a Singapore Citizen or Singapore Permanent Resident and at least 21 years old.
A minimum annual income of S$30,000.
Foreigners require a minimum annual income of S$36,000, or if you do not meet the income requirements, a Fixed Deposit collateral of minimum S$10,000 is required
Supplementary card applicants must be aged 18 years and above.

Sourcesource

So i think it still varies from bank to bank and probably the credit card type as well
So UOB have the least stringent requirement, but still SGD$3k per month shocking.gif

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Mar 13 2012, 11:18 AM
PepsiCo
post Mar 14 2012, 05:15 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(chanti-sama @ Mar 14 2012, 04:04 PM)
only PR and SG citizen require SG license to drive cars in spore.... EP holders can drive msian cars in here.

my coll told me.. just submit msian driving license and NRIC can register for the written test adi. if pass then can convert.
you can if only you meet the criteria stated
PepsiCo
post Mar 14 2012, 06:17 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 14 2012, 05:54 PM)
this is true and not true... if you read lta rules correctly, u are only allowed to drive using your msia driving license for the 1st year, anything more than that you need to convert to SG license.
but the reality is, they won't bother to check you if you are driving a msia registered car. But to be safe, better get your self a SG license.
that statement is for Sg car only, not Msia.
PepsiCo
post Mar 14 2012, 06:20 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(hokin @ Mar 14 2012, 06:07 PM)
Looks like this is an interesting topic. I am still no clearer as to what will happen when I apply at JPJ!, i.e., will JPJ 'batalkan lesen saya'? Anyone here has actually applied for the license record at JPJ? If so, kindly share. Thanks in advance.

join us yumcha lar. We'll explain to you in details

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0451sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:37 PM