145 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V25, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

del_Piero10
post Jan 26 2012, 11:48 PM

+A TruE LeGenD+
1,334 posts

QUOTE(Besanth @ Jan 26 2012, 11:44 PM)
4 hours of usage and only 2% left? Wow, S2 battery sure does drain very fast.

By the way, did you surf the web? If you did, you use Data or WiFi?
just use data connection when needed only. please don't compare with BB battery with data on 24 hours
Besanth
post Jan 26 2012, 11:49 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Jan 26 2012, 11:47 PM)
Max I can hit 58hours with only SMS and calling (no data network - use like dumbphone)
Otherwise it's around 20 hours on moderate usage (with data enable + 40% brightness)
Or around 08 - 16 hours on heavy usage (data enable + 40% brightness)
Hmm, honestly is it the applications or the display that's consuming most of the battery?

Added on January 26, 2012, 11:50 pm
QUOTE(del_Piero10 @ Jan 26 2012, 11:48 PM)
just use data connection when needed only. please don't compare with BB battery with data on 24 hours
Hahaha didn't compare with BB lah. I'm comparing with my Galaxy W. My brother use Galaxy S2 also battery can't last more than 7 hours. I thought it was his only. Looks like most of you on this thread also same problem.

This post has been edited by Besanth: Jan 26 2012, 11:50 PM
antt00
post Jan 26 2012, 11:52 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Besanth @ Jan 26 2012, 11:49 PM)
Hmm, honestly is it the applications or the display that's consuming most of the battery?

Hahaha didn't compare with BB lah. I'm comparing with my Galaxy W. My brother use Galaxy S2 also battery can't last more than 7 hours. I thought it was his only. Looks like most of you on this thread also same problem.
Display consume most batt. Its not a problem, its a feature. tongue.gif Cos no one ever said the batt can last long.
-kytz-
post Jan 26 2012, 11:53 PM

12,573 posts

If heavy web browsing can easily finish in around 4 hours lah..I'm on an average of 15 hours with moderate usage...if mostly idling can easily get close to 2 days
Besanth
post Jan 26 2012, 11:53 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 26 2012, 11:52 PM)
Display consume most batt. Its not a problem, its a feature.  tongue.gif  Cos no one ever said the batt can last long.
Words of wisdom! rclxms.gif So, if I want my S2 to last longer I should crank the brightness really low? Would that increase my battery life?
nicregi
post Jan 26 2012, 11:55 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(Besanth @ Jan 26 2012, 11:53 PM)
Words of wisdom!  rclxms.gif So, if I want my S2 to last longer I should crank the brightness really low? Would that increase my battery life?
Less bright = More battery
antt00
post Jan 26 2012, 11:56 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

Words of wisdom!  rclxms.gif So, if I want my S2 to last longer I should crank the brightness really low? Would that increase my battery life?
Reduce brightness and dun use auto brightness. And use wifi over data.
del_Piero10
post Jan 26 2012, 11:56 PM

+A TruE LeGenD+
1,334 posts

its not a problem.like anttoo said, its a feature. and i'm not bothered with the battery drain any more. the best way to make it last longer:

quick and dirty guide to have less battery drain:

- use 2G-only if you don't need 3G
- monitor programs which cause wake-lock. use betterbatterystats and either uninstall or tweak them
- do not use task killers. see the previous item and find the malicious programs instead of repeatedly killing them.
- do not activate google latitude on maps.
- if you don't need pushmail, uncheck gmail sync and use k-9 mail to pull mail, lets say, every 1 hour or so.
- go to settings / location and security. disable "use wireless networks" and "use gps satellites". enable them when you need them, other than that keep them disabled.
- disabling auto-brightness and using a low brightness level helps. do you know that you can adjust the brightness by swiping your finger across the notification bar? try it...
- using juicedefender may help, but it may also cause more drain. test it yourself.
- if you need more speed than 2.5G (i.e. edge) disable HSDPA (*#301279#, select 2 then select 1). you will have 3G instead of H(SDPA) and I think it is fast enough
- disable fast dormancy. dial *#9900# and disable.
- disable auto sign in for google talk (search for talk in appdrawer and use settings to disable automatic sign in)
- disable samsung update and don't use samsung gadgets if you are not in love with them. (this part may be taken care of the rom developers)
- try several radios. I recommend you to try KE7, KG2 and KH3 and choose the one which suits you best. KG2 seems to be the best for me. however, in terms of battery life, there is not much difference between those three.
- be aware that more you use your phone more the battery drains don't complain like "my battery drains quite fast but I did not use my phone. I only played angry birds for hours without making a single call" or don't expect to have a decent battery life if you use your phone as a computer or download torrents using your phone.

taken from Siyah kernel thread, XDA: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1263838
waveweaver
post Jan 26 2012, 11:58 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

Yes..it's gonna make a lot of different on your battery when using 10% brightness compared to 90% brightness
erymanthus
post Jan 27 2012, 12:05 AM

1,279 posts

For those who likes to watch Korean movies, tv etc, do check out Viki Premiere from Samsung Apps.
nicregi
post Jan 27 2012, 12:06 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Jan 26 2012, 11:58 PM)
Yes..it's gonna make a lot of different on your battery when using 10% brightness compared to 90% brightness
Got to agree on this. We using Super Amoled -.-" But try put 100% brightness in a dark room. Lol...

But, again, if you want big battery life, bring a charger or use power bank brows.gif
ndragon
post Jan 27 2012, 12:09 AM

noob~
2,000 posts

talking about *#301279#..
wats the symbol for hsdpa?.. not hsupa which is H+
i tried disabling hsupa just now n i think it load faster cuz the fon dun need to switch to h+ everytime before receiving data.. it starts straight from 3g.. so i think its better this way... on umobile anyway..
davidlow7
post Jan 27 2012, 12:19 AM

StageMaster
8,306 posts

QUOTE(del_Piero10 @ Jan 26 2012, 11:56 PM)
its not a problem.like anttoo said, its a feature. and i'm not bothered with the battery drain any more. the best way to make it last longer:

quick and dirty guide to have less battery drain:

- use 2G-only if you don't need 3G
- monitor programs which cause wake-lock. use betterbatterystats and either uninstall or tweak them
- do not use task killers. see the previous item and find the malicious programs instead of repeatedly killing them.
- do not activate google latitude on maps.
- if you don't need pushmail, uncheck gmail sync and use k-9 mail to pull mail, lets say, every 1 hour or so.
- go to settings / location and security. disable "use wireless networks" and "use gps satellites". enable them when you need them, other than that keep them disabled.
- disabling auto-brightness and using a low brightness level helps. do you know that you can adjust the brightness by swiping your finger across the notification bar? try it...
- using juicedefender may help, but it may also cause more drain. test it yourself.
- if you need more speed than 2.5G (i.e. edge) disable HSDPA (*#301279#, select 2 then select 1). you will have 3G instead of H(SDPA) and I think it is fast enough
- disable fast dormancy. dial *#9900# and disable.
- disable auto sign in for google talk (search for talk in appdrawer and use settings to disable automatic sign in)
- disable samsung update and don't use samsung gadgets if you are not in love with them. (this part may be taken care of the rom developers)
- try several radios. I recommend you to try KE7, KG2 and KH3 and choose the one which suits you best. KG2 seems to be the best for me. however, in terms of battery life, there is not much difference between those three.
- be aware that more you use your phone more the battery drains don't complain like "my battery drains quite fast but I did not use my phone. I only played angry birds for hours without making a single call" or don't expect to have a decent battery life if you use your phone as a computer or download torrents using your phone.

taken from Siyah kernel thread, XDA: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1263838
Good guide but my only concern is I can't receive calls/sms when I am in 2G network. This pisses me off as I keep receiving missed-call alert.

Added on is because you can't receive sms when data is moving in 2G... this causes delay and people often fed up calling me. Although all your synch are turned to the most-"manual-est" possible but smart phone is still smart phone. There is no 100%-zero-synch. smile.gif

-kytz-
post Jan 27 2012, 12:20 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Jan 27 2012, 12:09 AM)
i tried disabling hsupa just now n i think it load faster cuz the fon dun need to switch to h+ everytime before receiving data.. it starts straight from 3g.. so i think its better this way... on umobile anyway..
H is HSDPA
Shizuru
post Jan 27 2012, 12:24 AM

3,699 posts

@nicregi: you back to v5 already?
game4life
post Jan 27 2012, 12:26 AM

1,943 posts

QUOTE(Besanth @ Jan 26 2012, 11:31 PM)
May I kindly ask what's the longest battery hour the Galaxy S2 can hit?
can last up to 4 hours if browsing heavily
nicregi
post Jan 27 2012, 12:29 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Jan 27 2012, 12:24 AM)
@nicregi: you back to v5 already?
Yes. Siberian Tiger released JKAY for CheckROM v5 and HyperDroid v6 just now.

The reason I revert back is because for some reason HyperDroid doesn't work well with Thunderbolt. Taking forever to load or stuck at bootloop on normal turn on or reboot. Very weird. Tried twice and was just too much work.

How about you?
ndragon
post Jan 27 2012, 12:31 AM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 27 2012, 12:20 AM)
H is HSDPA
hmm.. does not see H on umobile.. only H+ and 3g.. nth in between.. anyone can confirm this?..
waveweaver
post Jan 27 2012, 12:32 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Jan 27 2012, 12:06 AM)
Got to agree on this. We using Super Amoled -.-" But try put 100% brightness in a dark room. Lol...

But, again, if you want big battery life, bring a charger or use power bank brows.gif
I'm sure you can brighten the whole dark room if you use 100% brightness ~~LOL~~

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Jan 27 2012, 12:19 AM)
Good guide but my only concern is I can't receive calls/sms when I am in 2G network. This pisses me off as I keep receiving missed-call alert.

Added on is because you can't receive sms when data is moving in 2G... this causes delay and people often fed up calling me. Although all your synch are turned to the most-"manual-est" possible but smart phone is still smart phone. There is no 100%-zero-synch. smile.gif
You can received call and SMS with 2G but not mms. :-P
davidlow7
post Jan 27 2012, 12:33 AM

StageMaster
8,306 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Jan 27 2012, 12:09 AM)
Since *#301279# option 2... still maintain HSDPA speeds although it only shows 3G.. I think that is sufficient since I been using this and it does prolong me a lot of battery. I tried on it yesterday and the battery is draining real fast.

The network signal strength does play a role here. I am on DiGi and if the signal is strong and it doesn't keep confusing the phone to select over which network, then we won't be having such a terrible drainage of battery.

145 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:14 PM