7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V3

TSnlik
post Mar 19 2012, 11:16 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(-Panadol- @ Mar 18 2012, 10:49 PM)
Yup I was there but without my camera...
QUOTE(ngcmn @ Mar 18 2012, 11:10 PM)
i was there and left early...
icic.. I was the tall guy at the back asking most of the questions. After class, the instructor took us outside for practical session and end with a Teh Tarik session.
TSnlik
post Mar 23 2012, 11:36 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 23 2012, 07:45 PM)
Seem like i have bad luck with NEX 7. Being FFK twice by 2 individuals (one body only, another time is kit set).

Today I called Sony Center and the manager answered my phone. I asked her, where's my NEX 7 kit? She asked her staff to check and said got another unit in the storeroom. Told her I put my name for reservation for a month already but no one called for collection. Apparently they overlooked my name. So I went to the store just now and damn, failed for third time. It's actually a display unit. But gosh, those black len with NEX 7 just pure awesomeness.

SGD1999 for kit set plus bag, 16gb MS high speed pro (50MB/s), screen protector and a booklet.
X-Pro1 lo. D7000. D800. A77.A65, K-X... still have many choices smile.gif if can't get NEX. Camera is just a tool; if a person has the skills and experience, the pictures will come out nice irregardless of the brand.

This post has been edited by nlik: Mar 23 2012, 11:37 PM
TSnlik
post Mar 24 2012, 11:41 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(jimmyyap03 @ Mar 24 2012, 01:33 AM)
Agreed!! So when can you teach us some photography skill so that we can learn more?tongue.gif
I can teach but MySony giving us all free workshops even in JB, Ipoh, Penang. Got even Bikini model shooting at KK. So which would u choose??.

QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 24 2012, 07:25 AM)
Agreed but my priority is size/weight. Those dslr not an option. X-pro 1 being considered but again, size issue.. Else I already grab those 5dmII for the same price of nex7 lol

Anyway, Sony center called me last night to pick up my virgin kit later straight from factory.
ar?! You're in Thailand??!! But congrats on your new equipment.
TSnlik
post Mar 25 2012, 12:41 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Mar 24 2012, 02:05 PM)
Still prefer you to teach  laugh.gif
Better yet... Teh Tarik Session, so that everyone can share info with everyone else + sembang on other stuff. Can schedule after 5th April, since my NEX has been borrowed by a relative for an overseas trip.

Hmm.. if anyone were to run such a class, still have to cover what the sony basic workshops cover (aperture, shuttter, rule of thirds, iso, how to hold, available scene modes on the camera... ), but I would say:

It's also about planning, location,Interaction and practice? (darn.. a new acronym PLIP)

Planning: For example, hanging around shopping malls, I try to get the events schedule before hand. Like the Sunway CNY dragon dance, I was there 15 minutes before it started because I checked the schedule, and could do a few test shots to set it up. This may also help you decide which glass to bring, if the tripod comes along or not, which route to take, and so on.

Location: Test shots should reveal whether where you are standing is ideal or not, otherwise move around to pick another spot. This obviously affects composition. It's harder when the crowd is already there and u can't break through them to be on the front row. It is more difficult when guys with 1 feet tall flashes are in front of you yawn.gif! Be prepared to move around.

Interaction: Hmm, you're not just a shadow figure behind a glass, you're an Intelligent being. So I guess where possible when photographing people, interact with them. On whether you are intelligent or not, Rene Descartes said "I think, therefore I am".

Practice: Shoot more meaningfully, Shoot more often . In a book by Matthew Syed titled "Bounce", he saw a recurring pattern where world sports champions spent about 10 years of meaningful practice + growth mindset to have mastery of their art. Instinct then manifests out of dilligent practice.

Just my 2cents non-Pro thoughts. laugh.gif

QUOTE(hokuan @ Mar 24 2012, 11:19 PM)
Will the stock replenish or just gone?
Maybe a NEX C3 replacement is coming in 1 or 2 months? The NEX-F3!! . Perhaps hold your horses till April and see if the new launch causes a discount for the older model.

TSnlik
post Mar 25 2012, 01:24 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 25 2012, 12:57 AM)
24MP is awesome

Original photo, resized
Shoot using jpeg, little WB adjustment in LR4 then resize.
[/spoiler]

100% crop
[/spoiler]
14.2 mpx is also enough to do macro tongue.gif. Closeup of my Casio G-shock:.

But no doubt, 24mpx offers more options for high quality crops.

This post has been edited by nlik: Mar 25 2012, 01:24 AM
TSnlik
post Mar 25 2012, 03:02 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(jimmyyap03 @ Mar 25 2012, 11:38 AM)
Can too...I going to attend the sony Beginner training at 14 Apr 2012 for 1st time training 1st  hmm.gif  Still newbie in photography, appreciate can get some sifu/friends'sharing

Any idea for economic zoom lens for me to start learning?
The supplied kit lens 1855 laugh.gif .

Hope you enjoy your training and meet new friends there.

TSnlik
post Mar 27 2012, 11:26 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Mar 27 2012, 11:11 PM)
add me to NEX 3 list  rclxm9.gif
Hello William. Ur so Pro already laugh.gif sure it is NEX-3 and not 7 ar??

QUOTE(fansoption @ Mar 27 2012, 12:24 AM)
Sekinchan

Nice nice thumbup.gif . Your pics seem to have that calming, nostalgic feel.

Anyway, As of today we have:
76 NEX-3/C3
73 NEX-5/5N (after fixed LinaLHY double counted)
3 NEX-7

This post has been edited by nlik: Mar 27 2012, 11:40 PM
TSnlik
post Mar 31 2012, 11:35 AM

876 posts

Hmm.. some Tamron Photography Competition and Workshop (IPOH) Rundown is happening on the 15th at Ipoh. Organized by FUturomic.
http://www.facebook.com/events/269559786456955/

Looks interesting for RM50, when it includes 5 bikini models photoshoot @ poolside.
TSnlik
post Apr 1 2012, 12:44 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(-Panadol- @ Apr 1 2012, 11:55 AM)
Ya lar, didn't adjust the WB when I switched off the flash. 
Wanted to do some PP to correct it, but decided to keep the "warm" feeling.

One thing I observed is photos look nicely exposed on the NEX's screen, but when I look at the same photos in my PC,
they look underexposed. Is this normal for the camera?
Underexpose is good. Overexpose is not good. With underexposed images, you can turn up the brightness and still have the details intact. Overexposed images, even if you turn down the brightness, the details may be lost. If you are in P mode, adjust the EC to compensate for the brightness contrast. In M mode, select a slower shutter speed number (smaller number) or select bigger aperture( a smaller F number). For portraits I guess a bigger aperture is more desirable.

TSnlik
post Apr 7 2012, 02:41 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(shukrie @ Apr 5 2012, 11:33 AM)
Labuan
im using babybeercan for this shot .. im lucky enough coz get a clear sky that day and very low light pollution here.. i can locate milkyway with my eyes ..
QUOTE(shukrie @ Apr 6 2012, 12:34 PM)
up !
Camera Sony NEX-5N
Exposure 20
Aperture f/2.8
Focal Length 16 mm
ISO Speed 3200
Yes. nice smile.gif. Keep it up thumbup.gif and thanks for sharing the exif.

In Peninsular, I used to look at skies like this in Nilai, Negeri Sembilan, at the rooftop of Inti college. However this was at least 7 years ago.

-----------------------------------------------------

I've just registered from the Home portraiture workshop 1st session on 29th April. Should i bring in the external flash sweat.gif ? Anyone else going for this , so maybe can have TT session.

TSnlik
post Apr 8 2012, 11:06 PM

876 posts

Oh no.. this thread is starting to look like a showcase instead. shakehead.gif

Wonder if I could get an opinion. Would it be better for everyone to just show a max of 2 best pictures here and provide a link for the rest ? A flickr link or to the NEX showcase thread perhaps? Thanks.

I can identify with the joy of sharing all our creative works, and we're in the era of broadband internet and browser caches, but still...

This post has been edited by nlik: Apr 8 2012, 11:07 PM
TSnlik
post Apr 11 2012, 12:50 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(shukrie @ Apr 10 2012, 11:11 PM)
my 2nd photo on the flickr explore

imho.. I think the post processing, saturation, sharpening is slightly overdone. The color banding of the orange above the horizon, looks unnatural to me, but the top half of the sky looks good. I guess it may help if the boat was places on the 3rd line on the right side instead of the left, so that there is space in front of the boat. Just sharing my opinions icon_rolleyes.gif .
TSnlik
post Apr 14 2012, 10:36 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(jimmyyap03 @ Apr 12 2012, 08:46 PM)
Will it worth to buy La-EA2 or just get 3rd party MF lens for nex5n?
my opinion is, if you require low light or long zoom (let's say 70mm to 300++mm) then LA-EA2 would serve a good purpose as Steady Shot (IS) would be available. Or maybe you require the EXIF data.

Those manual lenses like 16mm to maybe 50mm (i'm just roughly estimating here) may not require steady shot that much. Especially if it is a fast 1.8 lens which enables higher shutter speeds to compensate for camera shake.

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Apr 13 2012, 06:26 AM)
I think overheating during video mode is pretty common in NEX. I got this on my 5N after 15min of shooting. I heard lifting the screen can help reduce it.
Yes, lifting the screen does help.

QUOTE(serewen @ Apr 13 2012, 09:59 AM)
I have heard from a NEX owner, which he said not to shoot video on NEX more than 15 mins, because it will damage the sensor. It's not mean to shoot video but still picture.
From the Sony Video workshop, 30 minutes video is ok and won't damage the sensor. However the amount of Noise in the video will increase.

QUOTE(zombie @ Apr 14 2012, 05:03 PM)
Guys, what is the main purpose of having a viewfinder on the NEX system?
A plus for the viewfinder is that the camera is resting on your face, which should naturally help to reduce camera shake.

When I taking shots in bright daylight, the screen will appear to be washed out, can hardly see anything on it. So a viewfinder will enable you to see the information and image clearly in that situation, i guess because when u place your eye there, you effectively block out the external light pollution.

DSLRs viewfinders are generally optical, so u see the scene as it is. Changing the iso, aperture and what not will not change what u see in this type of viewfinder, which makes it more challenging. NEX and other EVF's make it much easier, as the screen simulates the settings you have choosen in realtime.

This post has been edited by nlik: Apr 14 2012, 11:36 PM
TSnlik
post Apr 16 2012, 12:45 AM

876 posts

Just share 2 pics from Pantai Sekinchan. Weather that day was drab and kept drizzling shakehead.gif .

Instead.. i offer something more mouth watering from Sekinchan drool.gif smile.gif in our Nex photo gallery

Paddy fields ?? .. yes yes very lushfully green brows.gif . KeanHui already did an excellent coverage of it.

This post has been edited by nlik: Apr 16 2012, 09:36 PM
TSnlik
post Apr 21 2012, 01:45 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(LinaLHY @ Apr 19 2012, 04:33 PM)
can't have too much light as well because there's nothing to block any excess light hitting the sensor. i used a flash and it's only decently okay in the middle (very small area)

also, this method exposes your sensor to some nasties.. not good at all. D:
QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 20 2012, 03:54 PM)
JANGANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!

Get nex 7 and pair with Sigma 30 or get 5n and pair with Sigma 30/24Z tongue.gif
Yea.. agree... this is taking an unnecessary risks, because you have alternative methods!!

Here's one that I just took of a wrist watch using 1st gen NEX-5 adapted with a hacked Canon lens.

This post has been edited by nlik: Apr 21 2012, 02:07 AM
TSnlik
post Apr 22 2012, 02:19 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(zerouzer @ Apr 21 2012, 11:16 PM)
hey guys. im planning on getting a nex 5n for my wedding hantaran this july but im contemplating getting it now or wait til last minute. will there be good stock supply by then (most shops i go to say have to order first) or should i order now? will the price be the same or lower by june/july? also any recommended shops? thx
err.. did you factor in the time it would take you to get familiar and skillful with a new camera ?? Learning curve thing la if you want to use more of the M mode.
Hm.. using old NEX-5 as a comparison.. the price in Feb 2011 and now has a difference of RM 400.(comparison made based on best denki price)

So I may guess the price difference won't be more than that Rm 400 amount, or they probably will take it off the shelf, margin is too low.

-----------------------------------------

on another note, I am however curious whether the D3200 will dent the sales of NEX7 or not. Since NEX7, A77 and D3200 using the same amount of Megapixels. Not sure if all 3 sensors are the same though.
TSnlik
post Apr 22 2012, 11:56 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(Ghosthunter @ Apr 21 2012, 06:23 AM)
Nice shot there,
How did u manage to modify your lens
I followed the information from this place smile.gif
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showth...t=190428&page=5
TSnlik
post Apr 22 2012, 08:49 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(zerouzer @ Apr 22 2012, 02:10 PM)
probably shouldve made myself clearer, im not taking wedding photos with the camera, itll be one of the wedding gifts (for me hehe). but for nex 5 to drop RM400 in around 2 months.. o_O. guess ill wait a bit.. see if the 5n can go lower even by a bit wink.gif
erm... Feb 2011 to now.. alittle bit more than a year lar. so I guess NEX cameras depreciates about RM400 to RM500 in a year..? 1/2 year maybe RM200+ depreciate. I can't remember the NEX-5N launch date at the moment..
TSnlik
post Apr 28 2012, 12:38 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 25 2012, 06:48 PM)

Who's interested? tongue.gif

Local set with 2 years warranty is finally here ~
19mm looks interesting.

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Apr 27 2012, 10:37 PM)
hey guys,

would like to know what you guys have in mind when you see the topic "The Future Now". like what sort of scenery or pictures
The movie Minority Report. The user interface where Tom Cruize gestures in the air, a few years back is now available in real life.
TSnlik
post Apr 28 2012, 09:33 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(1212345656 @ Apr 28 2012, 03:56 PM)
i just wan sony nex-3 body 1 lens kit. offer plss?
Wait a while. NEX-F3 is coming!!

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Apr 28 2012, 05:29 PM)
testing new sigma 19mm f/2.8 biggrin.gif

Hows your impression of it so far??

ON another news.. someone listed to the users and manufactured an actual Hotshoe for Nex-5, 5n. I just wonder.. is it a little too late? (since we can already trigger external flash via SYK-5)

Is this real or just some fake coldshoe?

http://www.engadget.com/2012/04/26/hot-sho...e-hands-on-tre/

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:48 AM