8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V3

geek8585
post Jun 18 2012, 12:18 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jun 18 2012, 08:48 AM)
Since 5N native iso support is higher than the F3,
my rough guess still that 5N is better in terms of iso control.

but don't have proper review yet, still thinking.
Not sure when F5 come out unsure.gif
yes, i personally think 5N is still better in performance wise... for F3, maybe getting better in features...
n most important, i love touch screen,... laugh.gif
geek8585
post Jun 28 2012, 01:03 PM

923 posts

but 5N flash also can adjust the angle right? just that the 5N flash will keep on stay outside... not like F3... pop out type...
geek8585
post Jul 5 2012, 11:10 PM

923 posts

the lens and camera sensor cap from ebay finally arrived... quality very good... better than the one selling at pavillion... quote me RM58 per pcs... @@...
geek8585
post Jul 5 2012, 11:33 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(jimmyyap03 @ Jul 5 2012, 11:14 PM)
What lens you bought?
i bought lens "CAP" only... not lens cool2.gif
i got a 18-55mm, 16mm and 30F35 to play for a while d... dont think will get any new lens near future...
geek8585
post Jul 6 2012, 09:20 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(jimmyyap03 @ Jul 6 2012, 12:12 AM)
Poison you, get the last 2 for SEL50 and SEL55210  rclxms.gif
hahaha... nono for SEL55210... i dont like to play zoom zoom so much unless i have extra to spare...
SEL50F18 yes... maybe later i got bored with 16mm then prob go for 19mm sigma...
still waiting for new line up of emount lens... too little of option lar cry.gif
geek8585
post Jul 7 2012, 12:04 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(weikoon @ Jul 7 2012, 11:12 AM)
pls add me in Nex-5n user list. Thanks.

Anyone know where can still get SEL50F18 with lowest price u know?
no lowest price for this lens... to be safe, get your wallet ready RM900...

Added on July 7, 2012, 12:06 pm
QUOTE(Kierrs @ Jul 7 2012, 12:43 AM)
I'm sorry for the stupid question as I've never owned DSLR, but if I have two lenses, how do I protect the other end of the lens which is not protected by lens cap when it's not in use? (very sayang my camera) Surely I can't just dump it in my bag?
go to ebay... purchase in malaysia sony will make yr wallet pain only nod.gif
if you are not in rush....

This post has been edited by geek8585: Jul 7 2012, 12:06 PM
geek8585
post Jul 7 2012, 12:24 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(weikoon @ Jul 7 2012, 12:08 PM)
i'm more than happy if can get it RM900...haha...u know anywhere can get the stock now?
some ppl say sony revise their price to RM950 from RM990... if 950 is RRP, 900 street price shudn't be a prob...
where to get ar? i really can't tell la...

anyone tried minolta rokkor 50mm f1.4 previously with 5n?
geek8585
post Jul 9 2012, 11:25 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(deen8081 @ Jul 9 2012, 10:24 AM)
Hi there all sifu i'm just new with my nex 5n
just bought at keep around 2599................ is it ok  unsure.gif with the price it come with two lens 1855 & 1628
reasonable i would say wink.gif
geek8585
post Jul 10 2012, 12:19 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Jul 9 2012, 08:17 PM)
has anyone tried mounting canon EFS lenses (e.g. cheapo legendary 50mm F1.8) onto the NEX 5N/F3 and do manual focus with the focus peaking feature? if that is possible, it is another good option instead of the expensive sony 50mm 1.8.

update: fuh... anyone here tried something like that? http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp...essage=41772022

for the price of the sony 50mm 1.8, you can get a canon 50mm 1.4 and do manual focus! smile.gif
hi there, after i tried on some legacy lens... seriously, learn how to use manual focus...
this is where u can learn... with the peaking, it is really useful for newbie like me to learn how to manual focus...

one i must mentioned is legacy lens is made to last and unlike plastic lens nowadays... i love to auto focus n refrain from manual focus, but recently i invest an amount and try it out... damn!!! i'm poison-ed and really addicted to manual focus ad...

if u r really going for legacy lens, try brands other than canon... i believe there is much more choices... at the 70's-80's, minolta, cz, olympus zuiko also give delicious photo biggrin.gif

Added on July 10, 2012, 12:23 am
QUOTE(samsungfreak @ Jul 9 2012, 08:12 PM)
I have a Nex 5N and 18-55. Until today I still think is the the best "value for money" mirrorless combo, it is giving ur APS-C image quality on such a small form factor. On my last trip I ask my mum to take it for his shoot. You know old people are noob on camera and they don't even understand how to half press to pre focus or things like focus and recompose. So everything have to be auto. The pictures come back all sharp without misfocus (as long as the subject is not at the corner/border when the background will be in focus). Old people also like to print and the prints are just amazing and have all the SLR look. [I am referring to image quality, nor artistic value, lol]

When you use 18-55 at 18mm, you can use f3.5. If you buy 19mm, you can use f2.8. The difference is only 2/3 step, other than smaller size, there is really not much benefit.

If you buy the 30mm, it is effectively a 45mm view on Full Frame camera. That is quite an interesting view. And if you shoot 30mm with 18-55 you probably are now at f4 something which means now this lens can really give you more than 1 stop advantage in both low light and bokeh (background blur). So this look more interesting. But for me, it is still not interesting enough.

The 50mm is very interesting. It can shoot wide open and still get very sharp results [but not on Nex 7 which the megapixels outresolved the lens capability]. The 1.8 will give very good bokeh when needed and quite a good low light performer compare to the sigmas. It will be a good match for 18-55 because the 50 of 18-55 will need to be shot at near f5.6, you can getting 3 stop advantage! Also while not related, the silver lens look more cool then the black sigmas. biggrin.gif

Please don't sell the 18-55, you can't get much for selling it and it is really value for the money.
zoom lens is born for versatility... just like some ppl new to camera, the first thing they will ask is the pixel offered by the cam, the next will be how much it can zoom...

but if for bokeh effect wise, prime lens rule... anyway, i agree with samsungfreak... u nvr know when u will use 18-55 but i always stick with my prime lens now... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by geek8585: Jul 10 2012, 12:23 AM
geek8585
post Jul 10 2012, 11:48 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(deen8081 @ Jul 10 2012, 11:40 AM)
Owh..... for the sigma and the samyang do you need adaptor to mount it for the camera
it is already e-mount... can plug n play flex.gif
geek8585
post Jul 10 2012, 12:31 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(gaTO @ Jul 10 2012, 12:24 PM)
Just check with you guys, can I activate focus peaking in manual focus mode using the SEL lenses? Or do I have to use a manul focus lens only?

Camera is sleeping at home at the moment. lol..
yes u can use peaking in SEL lens as well...
but even you set the peaking to HIGH, it won't be highlighted nicely as well because SEL lens will help to autofocus...
unless u change it to manual focus brows.gif
geek8585
post Jul 11 2012, 08:52 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(destfull @ Jul 11 2012, 12:50 AM)
bokeh is not lens dependable, almost all lens can do it  doh.gif
i would say all lens capable in doing bokeh... but it is easier and the effect is better if you with a lens with a wider aperture...

let's shooting a same object attached with backgroundnear to that object... you will see the different when you shoot in typical zoom lens and prime lens...

This post has been edited by geek8585: Jul 11 2012, 08:52 AM
geek8585
post Jul 13 2012, 08:48 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Jul 13 2012, 08:35 AM)
How come 2 years warranty? I thought it's 1 year only?
different seller do offer different package bro...
and the warranty might come from the shop its own or Sony Malaysia as well..
geek8585
post Jul 14 2012, 05:55 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Jul 14 2012, 12:27 PM)
I'm not happy with NEX7 high ISO and the purple fringing on legacy wide angle lens (appears on my Samyang 8mm fish eye lens)
Now waiting for the Home Minister approval to jump ship to OM-D, as reviews show that OM-D high ISO is almost as good as 5N, plus the Pan 12-35 f2.8 is too tempting for a single lens walk-a-bout camera
Hahaha.. Home minister!!! I got you bro...
Actually you move from 5n to 7?
geek8585
post Jul 15 2012, 10:49 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jul 15 2012, 07:12 PM)
Some newbie in action tongue.gif :

Added on July 15, 2012, 10:35 pmAnyone of you guys bought the "E30mm F3.5 Macro Lens" and the "SEL50F18" ?

how much ??
Sony page Retail Price is RM 999.00 and RM 1,099.00 *....
hi there... i got the 30M35 =)
good lens i would say.. by the way, the flower u shooting is with macro lens?
the colour is quite rich rclxms.gif
geek8585
post Jul 15 2012, 11:19 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jul 15 2012, 10:56 PM)
I using 1855 stock lens... tongue.gif  this photo i got edit abit that why color so rich~~~

how much you bought the 30M35 ?
900 sharp but to be honest... i still have much to learn on this lens...
and macro lens glass at front seems more flat than the other smile.gif
i went to the flora expo in cyberjaya past few weeks... most of my photo is over exposure...
maybe i should make the aperture smaller...

geek8585
post Jul 16 2012, 12:41 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jul 15 2012, 11:37 PM)
Ya, over exposure smile.gif  but not bad too....
welcome bro smile.gif
I'm still learning.. Thanks for your comment bro.. Btw what software r u using to make the colour "richer"?
geek8585
post Jul 16 2012, 08:38 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(nlik @ Jul 16 2012, 07:54 AM)
The background bokeh is as what you wanted, so keep the aperture as it is. Reduce ISO to a smaller number, alternatively increase your shutter speed. maybe can do abit of sharpening in PP.
thanks nlik for your comment... from my exif, the ISO is just set at 100 only...
perhaps shutter speed is the only thing i hv to set it up...
i'm in a windy situation when i taking this photo... will upload more photos soon..

may i ask one question? usually when i take photos of flower, i tried to macro those inner part of the flower brows.gif
but for some flower like orchid or hibiscuit which the inner part is deep inside.. it looks dark when i snap, the outside part looks ok... is flash needed in this situation? icon_question.gif
geek8585
post Jul 16 2012, 09:49 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(samsungfreak @ Jul 16 2012, 05:32 PM)
Try underexpose and then dragged clarity slider in LightRoom or Camera Raw to the right.
thanks samsungfreak... will try it out...
but i guess will only do once i receive my MBP...
i'm not dare to burden my recent laptop with those software... hahaha flex.gif
geek8585
post Jul 17 2012, 12:03 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(nlik @ Jul 16 2012, 11:48 PM)
Oh windy  whistling.gif .  If not windy and the flowers are totally still, I have an other idea to use 2 exposures. First exposure is to fully blur the background flowers, so you set the widest aperture. The next exposure you set maybe F8 to get the sharpest single flower subject. After that in Gimp/photoshop/whatever that can cut and paste the sharp flower on top of the blurrer background. 

Can also layer both pictures, 1st exposure blur background on top of the 2nd sharp flower exposure. Then slowly eraser/smart delete the blur 1st exposure flower until the sharp flower layer below can be seen. Or can do some blending la. Have fun wink.gif.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As for the macro of the flowers, maybe an external flash or maybe flashlight/reflector can be placed at an angle below the flower, then you take a shot at it from the top?  Just an idea, maybe I'll try it out when i'm feeling bored and not running around.

Anyone else here used a ring flash before and would it help in this situation??
Flowers.. Aaah..give them during graduations, courting, when friends r sick... they're not just for pictures u know!!
[attachmentid=2950464]
Wow the flower pic snap by you not bad.. But I think it has been processed by Lightroom ad right?

If use external to shoot on the flower, every single setting must have recalculate.. The blending skill sounds workable I do prefer something more natural indeed.. Or my photo edit skill really isn't that good.. Haha.. Still hv lot to learn..

Bro nlik, may I know what lens u equipped with your nex? I mean your list of gadget...

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:58 PM