Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V5, Please read first page before posting!!!

beelze_gpwk
post May 5 2012, 04:23 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(lexus150 @ May 4 2012, 05:50 PM)
Hi all,

Need some advise / recommendations from you guys.

Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact / PnS
Budget : RM 1500 below
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon / Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Everything
Any specific models in mind? : nothing specific in mind yet.
Any specific features u want? : good zoom, pocket size, good in low light condition

This camera will be used for light traveling, sneak into concert and just casual usage. Already have a DSLR for "major event" and hence this should be light weight and pocket friendly smile.gif

All comments are appreciated. Thanks biggrin.gif
QUOTE(afify88 @ May 5 2012, 07:35 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : camera
Budget : RM1000
Your Location : penang
Preferable brand : any brand will do
Type of photography u want to do : all type/landscape/potrait
Any specific models in mind? : any model will do
Any specific features u want? : anything that good

basically used to take photo during vacation, i want the best camera that have the best features with affordable price..any suggestion guys? my budget about rm1k..any brand will do..important points; best features with best prices..TQ smile.gif
Can consider Canon S100

Added on May 5, 2012, 4:25 pm
QUOTE(wke002 @ May 4 2012, 11:28 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Memory Disk
Budget: None
Your Location: : Shah Alam  
Preferable brand :  : Transcend, Scan Disk
Type of photography u want to do :  Video
Any specific models in mind? :  None
Any specific features u want? :  As Above

I can't seem to find a topic on this, there are many ppl selling Memory Cards, both for Camera and Phones. One google at fake memory card, looks like lots of them. Many are selling without packing. If anyone could shed some light, if the memory card is written CLASS 10, 45MBPS, how do one authentic it is indeed the speed or spec that one is buying as I read if its a fake, it will not have this faster processor. Any possible way to plug in a computer and some online software to check the what the spec are or even originality of that Memory Disk/Card ?

Thanks In Advance.
not sure how to check, but buy reputable brand from reputable shop is the best way to avoid being cheated...
i nvr really go for those "sale" thing... even though i'm not rich, but i always believe you get wat u pay for...

Added on May 5, 2012, 4:28 pm
QUOTE(alwinc @ May 3 2012, 10:35 PM)
is Nikon J1 recommended to buy? or any other models that better than J1 with almost same price range. Thanks
Wat is your requirement? u wan to change lens? or you want compact size camera?
if changing lens is your priority, consider M43 camera. I personally don like J1/V1... there are many better camera out there... or if you are ok with Sony go for NEX series. If not, any other M43 will do...
if compact/fix lens is wat you want, go for canon G1X or Canon S100... can consider some Panasonic camera as well.

Added on May 5, 2012, 4:30 pm
QUOTE(ipohhofen @ May 1 2012, 10:29 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera + tripod
Budget : RM1-3k
Your Location : Ipoh/KL
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : portrait and landscape
Any specific models in mind? : no at the moment
Any specific features u want? : photo and video are equally important, suitable for beginners
DSLR + Tripod?
well, with your budget range nothing much to intro to you. Just go for any entry level DSLR for either Nikon or Canon will be ok. Go try out and see which one you feel comfortable with. If you have big hand, consider to go for Canon 600D for better grip but higher price.

Added on May 5, 2012, 4:33 pm
QUOTE(192vAt @ May 3 2012, 03:48 PM)
im goin to buy vivitar v3800n but few quetion pop into my mind...
- some feedback from previous user were negative.even the company was blamed to be less "friendly"? 
- the salesman claimed that the camera was left untouched in the exhibition glass for years, yet he asked me for rm 950(??)..is it worth it? 
- do they come with both 35 mm and 50mm lens or just 1 of them?
not sure about this camera, but if you are deciding to go for it, prepare to spend the bucks to buy film, to process photo, and the lens is a little rare and i believe will be expensive too? if you are looking for a fully manual SLR film camera... then this should be a good choice perhaps?

Added on May 5, 2012, 4:42 pm
QUOTE(avanpiper @ Apr 28 2012, 08:28 PM)
I'm having a Sony Cybershot W350 and now looking into trying an entry-level DSLR.

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM 2k
Your Location : Bangi
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : For now, indoors and for when I go traveling
Any specific models in mind? : Nikon D3100 atm
Any specific features u want? : Able to take good quality pictures, decent sharpness and for low-light environments
D3100 is good choice for wat you need... except for low light shot. But you are not taking 90% of your picture under low light, right? and if you shoot in RAW then you can do some post processing to reduce the noise, so D3100 is good enough.

QUOTE(Oakha @ Apr 29 2012, 09:14 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Semi Pro/ DSLR
Budget: 1.2k-1.5k
Your Location: KL/Selangor
Preferable brand : Any brand will do, as long it's good
Type of photography u want to do : travel, landscape (i'm frequent traveler)
Any specific models in mind? : I have tried on my friend fujifilm HS20, and I feel comfortable with it. Canon 1100D also not bad. I'm open to any recommendation smile.gif
Any specific features u want? : Good AF, antishake, High zoom
Besides that, I dont play setting much... so change lens probably is not my style... hopefully can get one camera with mostly automated, and fixed lens
If change lens is not wat you want, go for Canon G1X.

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Apr 30 2012, 08:26 AM)
eyeing for canon s95 or s100

which is recommended in terms of quality and price ratio?

usage: outdoor (scenery) and indoor (for hobbies)
Go for S100.

QUOTE(Oyaji @ May 1 2012, 06:54 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: Roughly RM 3.5K
Your Location: Kuala Lumpur 
Preferable brand :  Either Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : flower, landscape, snapshot, street, portrait
Any specific models in mind? :  Nikon d5100
Any specific features u want? :  good user interface, not bulky. good high iso performance

I'm looking thoroughly at Nikon d5100 & Canon 600D to replace my Pentax Kr which was lost by a friend of mine. With the budget set I think I could get these cameras with 2 lenses. But I also thinking whether if I should go for something like Canon 60D because I think I will only be able to afford kit lenses (2 zoom lens & a prime) so I'm not sure whether the more expensive body is necessary.

Here's what actually I'm trying to decide based on the budget.

Nikon D5100 with kitlens+ either 55-300mm or 35mm f1.8G whichever first.
Canon 600D with kitlens+either 55-250mm or 50mm f1.8 whichever first
Canon 60D with 18-55 lens.
60D is in different league with 600D and D5100... so first you need to decide do you need all the features in 60D.
I would suggest go for 600D or D5100 with standard kit lens + a 50mm prime first. Then you may go for macro lens. from your type of photography, do really need to have long lens up to 300mm? better spend on buying ultra wide angle lens.

This post has been edited by beelze_gpwk: May 5 2012, 04:42 PM
beelze_gpwk
post May 5 2012, 09:07 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(ipohhofen @ May 5 2012, 08:46 PM)
If I want to buy Nikon, which one do you recommend?
with your budget you can go for D5100 or D3100.
Or you can wait for the new D3200 to be available.
Go try out the camera and see which one you feel comfortable with. If the function of D3100 is already enough for you, then go for it and you got extra money to spare for another lens or filters & other accessories.
beelze_gpwk
post May 6 2012, 01:04 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(wakdol_24 @ May 6 2012, 12:14 AM)
hi, i wanna buy a dslr next weekend in KL. already decided to go with nikon but need advice and recommandation which should i get, package that i consider is

1. d7000 body + 50mm f1.8D
2. d5100 body + 18-55mm kit lens + 50mm f1.8G

please give me ur opinion...
Depends wat you need... D7000 has better AF, higher end body... but is it wat u need?
If your shooting is just normal landscape and travel photography, i think D5100 with extra lens is a good deal.
beelze_gpwk
post May 6 2012, 08:29 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(wakdol_24 @ May 6 2012, 01:26 AM)
hi, im not doing any photography business just for personal use during family gathering,parties & i travel a lot so take quite no of pic smile.gif not forget to use for work a bit  biggrin.gif consider d7000 as it has build-in motor n better build n function plus might not need to upgrade body after this..

thanks a lot biggrin.gif
considering the AF motor issue... well, then D7000 will be a better choice nod.gif

Added on May 6, 2012, 8:37 am
QUOTE(afify88 @ May 6 2012, 03:58 AM)
which one should i pick bro???

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX9V
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FT3
FujiFilm FinePix F550EXR
OLYMPUS XZ-1
Nikon CoolPix P310
CANON Powershot G12
canon s100
canon s95

which one to buy that worth my money????
which one is the best camera??
which one easy to use??
which one easy to do maintanence?

i need a professional review because i'm a noob n this gonna be my 1st compact camera
i dont want a dslr btw.TQ

No idea about Sony, Panasonic & Fujifilm.
Tested myself XZ-1, P310, G12, S95 and S100.

S100 is around 1000-1200 if i remember correctly, while G12 is around 1400 now.
If you want full control on your pictures, in other words you are going to change setting etc on the camera to get a better picture, go for G12. It is better in terms of control. but it is not really "compact" compared to others.

P310 is a good camera which is similar to S100. pricing is around 1200-1400 (the last time i ask is March)
XZ-1 is also a similar camera. I won't consider S95 if you can afford the 1000+ camera.

So, P310, XZ-1 and S100... 3 of these are all good enough for me to take daily shot, travel shot and etc. So you just go try out and see which camera feels right for you, and which camera output picture is nice from your point of view.

This post has been edited by beelze_gpwk: May 6 2012, 08:37 AM
beelze_gpwk
post May 6 2012, 10:33 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(afify88 @ May 6 2012, 05:14 PM)
so can i consider G12 if i neglect the size issue??? is it better than the other camera listed??
i might consider XZ-1 and S100...which one is better???
should i consider the ELPH 520 HS/IXUS 500 HS??? smile.gif
in terms of full control over exposure, shutter speed, aperture... i feel more comfortable with G12.
But again, it is depends on your need. do you play with all those settings? if not, just go for XZ-1 and S100.
XZ-1 VS S100? for me it is hard to compare... XZ-1 is good where it has bright lens, while S100 good at high ISO pic... so still i suggest you really try them out personally. they are both good. you can read the thread in this forum on XZ-1 and S100 for some brief idea about these camera.

Added on May 6, 2012, 10:37 pm
QUOTE(ipohhofen @ May 6 2012, 06:07 PM)
I went to a shop. The shopkeeper offered me D5100 for Rm2599. But she introduced me Sony A57. I think A57 quite nice too. The price is RM2599 too. How do you think about A57?
Sony? well, they are always not a bad choice... sometime i find sony is better in doing video than others. but A57 i never try before... so can't really comment. But you can always try both the DSLR and see which one suits you.
In terms of lens range, of cos Nikon has more lens available than sony, but if this is something that you can live with (obviously not a big issue for me as all i need is a wide angle, standard zoom + prime 50mm and all these lens are well covered), why not? (Nikon sensors are from Sony anyway...) try the handling and see which one you like about it.

This post has been edited by beelze_gpwk: May 6 2012, 10:37 PM
beelze_gpwk
post May 7 2012, 12:40 AM

632 posts

[quote=afify88,May 6 2012, 11:43 PM]
[quote=beelze_gpwk,May 6 2012, 10:33 PM]
in terms of full control over exposure, shutter speed, aperture... i feel more comfortable with G12.
But again, it is depends on your need. do you play with all those settings? if not, just go for XZ-1 and S100.
XZ-1 VS S100? for me it is hard to compare... XZ-1 is good where it has bright lens, while S100 good at high ISO pic... so still i suggest you really try them out personally. they are both good. you can read the thread in this forum on XZ-1 and S100 for some brief idea about these camera.

ermmm xz-1 lack in term of size but the review said it better than s100...i juz can make the decision lor.. sad.gif
xz-1 cost higher than s100 right??
which one of the camera have an accesories that can upgrade it?? i mean the lens or the flash?? sad.gif

[/quote]
to be honest, they are the similar... you cant really notice the difference unless you really do pixel peeping (in my opinion)... If you are looking for camera with a lot of upgrading option, G12 or XZ-1 is the choice to go. they have hot shoe for external flash and other accessories to couple with them.

There's no such "best" camera out there... people can take great picture with G12, or S100, or XZ-1, and also people can take boring picture from these camera. So it is really up to your own preference in terms of brand, handling, type of photography you do and your shooting style.

Initially when I go for G12, i decided based on simple reason:
1. I don want to change lens when tired of DSLR (during that time G12, XZ-1, P7000 is in my mind)
2. I want full control similar to DSLR (all 3 is within requirement)
3. I want it to be in a reasonable size, not too small, not too bulky (XZ-1 is out as i don feel comfortable handling it)
4. Acceptable image quality (i can work on the minor defect in post processing, so as long as the picture taken is acceptable, then no big issue. both G12 and P7000 is ok)
5. Personal preference (after trying out the camera, i prefer the handling of G12 instead of P7000. so i go for G12 in the end)

So i hope the way i narrow down my choice of camera is useful for you.

Added on May 7, 2012, 12:42 am[quote=ipohhofen,May 6 2012, 11:21 PM]
I got no chance to try the video mode of 5100 but the Sony A57 video is quite impressive. For now, I might look for the best price of sony A57. The LCD screen of A57 shows how the picture gonna look like before you capture according to the shutter speed and aperture. It is all the dslr can do this?

[/quote]
in Live view mode, no problem. In view finder... i think only Sony's EVF can do this...

This post has been edited by beelze_gpwk: May 7 2012, 12:42 AM
beelze_gpwk
post May 8 2012, 11:05 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(wakdol_24 @ May 8 2012, 08:25 PM)
ok now already decided to go with d7000  biggrin.gif but going to buy body only with 50mm lens first, after that then buy zoom lens smile.gif

there r 2 more thing i need toask but it might b out of topic:

1) what da diff between 50mm 1.8D & 50mm 1.8G?
2) any good shop to buy that u would recommend to buy from?

thanks all  icon_rolleyes.gif
1.8G is new lens, 1.8D is old
9 element 9 group for G, 6 element 6 group for D
closest focus 0.8m for G, 0.85 for D
aperture diagram 7 pieces for G, 9 for D
G is lighter despite bigger size compared to D
filter thread 67mm for G and 62mm for D

G is better in details, better sharpness, same bokeh compared to the D, less vignette compared to D...
this is wat i read from a lens review in a magazine...
beelze_gpwk
post May 9 2012, 08:07 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(c.c.lim @ May 9 2012, 12:46 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR Camera
Budget:  2 till 3 k
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand :  Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  Travel
Any specific models in mind? :  Nil
Any specific features u want? : Not sure.

Im a newbie, any nice DSLR that easy to learn n use for newbie?
refer back a few post ahead... go for any of the entry for Canon/Nikon will do...
with your budget u can get either a simple body (D3100/1100D)+ a lot accessories or a moderate body (550D/600D/D5100) with less accessories...

QUOTE(ellessecandle @ May 9 2012, 12:53 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Any except DSLR
Budget: Ard 2k
Your Location: PJ
Preferable brand : Canon, Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and portrait, mainly for traveling purpose
Any specific models in mind? : Canon G12, S100, Sony NEX C3, NEX 5N and open to any recommendation
Any specific features u want? : Light, sharp image, easy to capture nice pic, not much post processing work

I am not familiar with those camera setting, therefore prefer the camera which is easy to use and able to take sharp and nice pic when travel
if you can top up ur budget a bit, go for 5N or G1X.
if 2k or less is your budget, go for C3/S100/G12

QUOTE(Tachikoma @ May 9 2012, 02:34 PM)
^roughly the same request. Debating whether I should spring for a 5N or just settle for a C3.
between C3 and 5N, go for 5N. worth the money.
if you can wait, you may wait for the new F3 which will be similar to 5N...
beelze_gpwk
post May 10 2012, 06:11 PM

632 posts

[quote=ellessecandle,May 10 2012, 02:52 PM]
if you can top up ur budget a bit, go for 5N or G1X.
if 2k or less is your budget, go for C3/S100/G12
[/quote]

thanks for your recommendation. For 5N and C3, the pic taken will only be nice for ppl who know how to do the setting right? I am not good in that, am I still able to capture the sharp and pic?

[/quote]
erm... this is a bit hard to define. different people will have different taste against "good, nice and sharp" picture.
i suggest you try to bring your own memory card, go to the shop, try out the camera, save the picture and go home review it. if you feel ok about it, then just buy it. the auto mode for sony is actually producing quite good result in my opinion.

i don use sony, but played with the one my friend has. the image is not bad. Although sometime people may dislike some of the straight JPEG output from the camera (some complain over process picture and etc). but i believe you are not pixel peeper as well, so you won't really notice the difference. if your purpose is just take pic, post in FB, do small print, i think there's no harm.
beelze_gpwk
post May 11 2012, 02:22 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(ariffinastute @ May 10 2012, 08:36 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Compact Digital Cameras
Budget: RM599
Your Location:   Shah Alam
Preferable brand :  Canon
Type of photography u want to do :  just photo & video for my life
Any specific models in mind? :  PowerShot A3400 IS & PowerShot A3300 IS
Any specific features u want? : HD Video Camera

Help choose these camera, PowerShot A3400 IS & PowerShot A3300 IS. It has same prices, but i didnt know which is better.
hope this site will help you. I'm not too familiar with compact camera.
http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-A3300-IS-vs-Canon-A3400
beelze_gpwk
post May 13 2012, 03:22 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(lil twist @ May 13 2012, 01:29 PM)
lets just say, i have a bag full of cash worth 15k to 20k (hopefully i can get it! tongue.gif ) should i go for top notch stuffs? sweat.gif

i still dont get it.. coz as far as im aware, in the meeting room only my CEO, the journalist and the photographer.. thats all.. so why use telephoto while you can get up close with the subject? kindly enlighten me.. icon_question.gif
let's say you got 15k... buy one entry level DSLR with kit lens to serve your purpose... and a cheap flash... 3k gone... so remaining 12k will be in your pocket... brows.gif

if just for that purpose, any camera will do, not necessary DSLR...
small PnS will do the job as well. it's not that you will print it as a big banner or wat.
but for covering event also, any entry level DSLR is good enough for that. since basically no special requirement towards high IQ and etc.

This post has been edited by beelze_gpwk: May 13 2012, 03:24 PM
beelze_gpwk
post May 13 2012, 05:11 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(lil twist @ May 13 2012, 03:40 PM)
if i can, i sure buy 3rd hand ones and take the balance go holidays.. tongue.gif

we do have plans to use the photos for prints i.e. our own books.. biggrin.gif

hope i can get clearer picture on why they use telephoto lens and what combo best fit for me... nod.gif
normally, telephoto is used to isolate the subject away from other things (due to the small field of view).
let's say there's a bunch of girls standing in front of you, and if u use wide angle lens, you wil get the picture of all of them in the frame... because wide angle lens has big field of view, so it captures a lot of thing into the sensor. but if u use telephoto, u can take picture of each of them individually while u and the girls remain at the same spot... you will not be able to take everything into the frame... just like when you use normal PnS, when you zoom in you can only get very little thing into the frame, when you zoom out a lot of thing will be inside your frame.

haha... not sure this is a good example or not. but if you need to isolate a subject, compress the view, or you want to shoot from a further distance, telephoto will help you. normally i will suggest people to go for standard zoom first. when you feel that you can't include all the things u wan in the frame with your kit lens, then get a ultra wide angle. and when you feel that you can't get rid of some unwanted things in the frame with your kit lens, is time to get a telephoto.
beelze_gpwk
post May 14 2012, 10:35 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(lil twist @ May 14 2012, 10:01 AM)
ic ic... coz i asked my friend who is working as a photographer, he said that the reason why they use telephoto is because it can focus more on the subject and blurred/isolate the others... biggrin.gif

i think i get what he said.. now waiting for other sifus to suggest whats my weapon.. tongue.gif brows.gif
your fren is correct, but blur background and sharp subject can be achieve in two way: shoot in telephoto, of with aperture wide open. normally when shoot portrait (i mean single portrait) the sweet spot for the face to look noce without distortion is around 50-60mm for upper torso, 85-100mm for head and shoulders, and 125-135mm when you want some compression for fuller figured portraits. (all in 35mm equivalent)

That's why people may choose to use 50mm prime lens/telephoto lens as the portrait lens sometimes.
but let say if you have a 18-55mm kit lens on the APS-C sensor (assume crop factor 1.6x) you will get effective range of 28-88mm, which is already covering most of the range required for portrait. if you desired for sharper image or more compression and details in your shot, then you may need some better lens.

Added on May 14, 2012, 10:37 am
QUOTE(LiMcZ @ May 14 2012, 09:46 AM)
Right now I am.planning to buy s100,but o see it release for quite sometime,I'd there any better portable camera out there that better than s100?
if you like S100, just buy it... refer a few post back where we got talk about similar camera for S100 in other brand... and you may consider from there

Added on May 14, 2012, 10:48 am
QUOTE(felixfelicis @ May 13 2012, 11:50 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  dSLR or semi
Budget: Max 2.5k
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand : Canon and Nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  Mostly landscape and macro. Food photography too.
Any specific models in mind? :  Canon G12 but pls recommend some other models too
Any specific features u want? :  Prefer to have those vari-angle lcd screen

I wanted to invest more and get a dSLR but I realised it's a long term investment because I might go buy more and more and more lens in the future. Pain in the wallet lah so maybe semi is a better choice?
think properly whether you are going to be just casual shooting or learn for this hobby...
for me, i shoot casually during travelling and etc, so i go for semi most of the time and that's why i get myself G1X instead of a new DSLR. with your budget you can go for entry level DSLR with kit lens, G1X/G12 or any similar semi pro, and also you may consider is the mirrorless system camera (NEX, M43).
sorry that I seems to blur you more on your choices, but you have to decide whether you will continue to expand n invest in this hobby or you will happy to stay with your semi-pro camera for the next few years.
after you can make things clear, it will be easier to choose which type of camera to go for.

This post has been edited by beelze_gpwk: May 14 2012, 10:48 AM
beelze_gpwk
post May 14 2012, 11:07 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(lil twist @ May 14 2012, 11:01 AM)
what sort of "better" lens in your mind? brows.gif

between Nikon and Canon, which is better? im thinking of D300 S VS 7D sweat.gif

we have currently owned a D60 with kit lens... tongue.gif
i'm not too familiar with Nikon, the only thing i know is for nikon you need to deal with the focus motor, whether it is in camera or in the lens... something like that. so can't really recommend you better lens as well.
since you already have one nikon, why not just get another nikon so you can share the lens and accessories?
beelze_gpwk
post May 14 2012, 12:23 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 14 2012, 12:10 PM)
Well...

FF-ness --> checked
Pro-ness --> checked
Tahap dewa dewi low light performance --> checked
AF speed for speedy CEO's --> checked
Red ring, useable focal length, image stabilization --> checked

Apa lagi lu mau? tongue.gif

With camera like this.. if photo don't turn out nice also must jump down from twin towers di.
+1
if canon, you can consider 5D as you wan FF and Pro... either MkII or MkIII... with the kit lens or with 24-70 2.8 L is a nice combination.

Added on May 14, 2012, 12:26 pm
QUOTE(Naskah @ May 14 2012, 11:40 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera or maybe Sony NEX
Budget : RM4000 include kitlens
Preferable brand : Canon or sony (NEX)
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or maybe sports (sometimes)
Any specific models in mind? : 60D, 7D or just NEX5N
Any specific features u want? : none
for sports 7D is slightly better, but 60D can do the job as well. If you do not need the articulated screen, i would suggest you go for 7D.
if size is your concern, go for NEX 5N. although i was planning to recommend you NEX 7 initially, but it will slightly off your budget

Added on May 14, 2012, 12:30 pm
QUOTE(kiwlm @ May 14 2012, 11:25 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact
Budget : RM1500
Preferable brand : Any
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape
Any specific models in mind? : Canon S100, Olympus XZ-1, Panasonic LX5, Nikon P310
Any specific features u want? : Low light, where my phone camera sucks.

Opinion on each so far:
S100: small, its a canon, color seems dull

XZ-1: colors seems the nicest out of all camera, worried about the smearing that a lot of users complain about, in jpeg.

LX5: the oldest of the bunch

P310: small sensor, but nice F1.8

So hard to choose!
sniper has done a good comparison for you. if technical aspect is what you will consider the most, then you can see XZ-1 always has the fastest lens in the "compact" range... personal preference: S100 (if you shoot more in jpeg) or XZ-1 (if you shoot more in raw).

This post has been edited by beelze_gpwk: May 14 2012, 12:30 PM
beelze_gpwk
post May 14 2012, 09:25 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(lil twist @ May 14 2012, 08:38 PM)
but the price is sooooooo expensive! rclxub.gif sked me boss bite me when she see the price tag...  shakehead.gif

then what should i get? unsure.gif
tel ur lady boss... she will look prettier if her picture is taken with 5D mk3 than using 7D... lol
If you don want to go for such expensive one, u can get 7D. but you need so much AF and the speed of 7D?
let's say u don need, then u further downgrade to 60D... but the difference between 600D and 60D is not that much... then u further drop down... haha... sorry to further confuse you.
if you are talking about canon, that's more or less the story. Just get what you need is ok already. not necessary full frame.
beelze_gpwk
post May 17 2012, 01:04 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(adrian2020my @ May 16 2012, 05:08 PM)
Hi there,

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: Not above RM3K
Your Location:   PJ/KL
Preferable brand :  Sony/Canon/Nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  Indoor items and outdoor views
Any specific models in mind? :  Sony A360
Any specific features u want? :  fast shutter/ adjustable screen

Thanks,
Kai
For Sony, A57/A65.
For Canon, 600D.
For Nikon, 5100D.
If you shoot video more, I personally think Sony is a better choice. But if just still image, any of those can do a great job for you.
beelze_gpwk
post May 18 2012, 08:22 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ May 18 2012, 02:13 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Point and Shoot cameras / Prosumer cameras
Budget: Less than RM1600
Your Location:   KL / Selangor
Preferable brand :  Canon / Sony
Type of photography u want to do :  Macro (eg. Flowers)
Any specific models in mind? :  No
Any specific features u want? :  Priority need Macro, mainly capturing Flowers Arrangement. Second is, shooting decorations of Flowers in showcase. Third is, casual shooting.

I don't prefer those can change the lens type, I am noob in this field.
More portable the better.

So, which Camera recommended for me ?
What important Features that I need to look at to meet my above requirement ?

for "Canon + fix lens + macro", you can consider G12...
i enjoy shooting macro with my G12... which is something G1X can't really work out without additional close up lens.
For Sony... I'm not too sure they have something similar to G12, as far as I can recall they have a few super zoom prosumer, which has the size of DSLR.
If compact PnS, there's nothing much I can suggest you as I have less experience to that.
beelze_gpwk
post May 19 2012, 10:22 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ May 18 2012, 11:51 PM)
Thanks for the recommendation !
After your comments, I go survey a bit.

I see this Canon PowerShot S100 , is this okay for my requirement ?

My requirement are:-
Priority need Macro, mainly capturing Flowers Arrangement.
Second is, shooting decorations of Flowers in Showcase.
Third is, casual shooting.
if you wan more compact size, the S100 also is a good buy.
If you wan more manual control with physical dials, then G12 is easier to use.
If you won't play a lot with settings, S100 is good enough smile.gif

Added on May 19, 2012, 10:30 am
QUOTE(andreas @ May 18 2012, 09:47 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories[/B] :  Compact interchangeable lens
Budget: <3K
Your Location: KL 
Preferable brand : Nikon, Canon, Olympus] 
Type of photography u want to do :All rounders, for travel. 
Any specific models in mind? :-
Any specific features u want? :Pink colour
since your requirement is compact + change lens...
Canon: no such product
Olympus: E-PM1 (got pink color) E-P3, E-PL3 (no pink color)
Nikon: J1 (got pink color), V1 (no pink color)

Personal preference: go for Olympus instead of Nikon... if pink color is a must, E-PM1 is your only choice. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on May 19, 2012, 10:40 am
QUOTE(madmoz @ May 18 2012, 04:45 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : 4/3 ILC
Budget : RM1500 to RM2000
Preferable brand : None
Type of photography u want to do : Travel
Any specific models in mind? : Olympus Pen Mini or Pen Lite or any others to recommend?
Any specific features u want? : Was once a semi serious photographer, so would like some degree of manual control when so desired.

TQ.
With your budget range, you can consider Sony NEX-C3 (APS-C sensor, inter-changeable lens) or Olympus E-PM1.
New Sony NEX-F3 is already announced, but not sure what will be the retail price yet.
If Panasonic, you can consider GF3 which is within your budget as well.

Added on May 19, 2012, 10:41 am
QUOTE(LiMcZ @ May 19 2012, 12:02 AM)
sen Q is doing prmotion for Lumix GF-2 only 1499,
do you all think is worth getting it???
i need a camera for travel,palnned to get S100,but i see GF-2 photo much better quality
what is the lens you are getting with 1499?

Added on May 19, 2012, 10:49 am
QUOTE(wakdol_24 @ May 19 2012, 08:56 AM)
hi, which better to get d90 or d5100? d90 got build in motor but d5100 got new processor...need for personal use for travelling n famili event/party...going today...;p
i think normally Nikon user will prefer D90 over D5100? Cos i think Nikon user are very sensitive towards the AF motor issue... correct me if I'm wrong. This is because if they already have a range of Nikon lens which do not have AF motor, then they will lose the AF function when then plug those lens into the D5100...
Anyway, judging on specs alone, seems D5100 is really a good buy (i think mainly because is is a "newer" camera). If you can live with the absence of AF-motor... why not? if not, D90 should also do the job right for you nod.gif

This post has been edited by beelze_gpwk: May 19 2012, 10:49 AM
beelze_gpwk
post May 19 2012, 03:43 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(LiMcZ @ May 19 2012, 11:07 AM)
i not sure wat the lens call,but one short one,one long one
one 8 GB class 4 MMC
and ori pouch
GF3 only 1999 at SenQ, don wan to consider that?
i think if you go camera shop or garage sale can get a decent price for GF3...

0.0294sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:08 PM